We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel

Save
Share
Paternoster Row, Winchester SO23 9LQ England
E-mail hotel
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
$106
View deal
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
eDreams
Expedia.com$106
ZenHotels.com$113
View all 19 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (548)
Room & Suite (147)
Videos (1)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for guests in public areas
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
Read more
Updated 11/16/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 11/16/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#12 of 12 hotels in Winchester
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
In response to COVID-19 and government guidelines we have closed the hotel except for key workers and government approved bookings. Our thoughts remain with everyone impacted around the world. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Read more
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Restaurant
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
24-hour security
Parking
Wifi
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Centrally Located
Mid-range
Languages Spoken
English, French, German, Hungarian and 1 more
Hotel links
Special Offer:Unlock loyalty benefits
2096Reviews10Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 335
  • 700
  • 558
  • 306
  • 197
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
chrisBanbury wrote a review Jan 21
Banbury, United Kingdom158 contributions52 helpful votes
Dirty room and not enough staff.our room had partial cathedral view but window wouldn't shut tight and so was cold.they had to supply us with an electric heater.net curtains and carpet and arm chair were filthy.not much choice for breakfast either .not worth the money
Read more
Date of stay: October 2021Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid the place
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Eric-Enno Snel, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Responded yesterday
I’m so sorry that you were disappointed by your experience staying with us at The Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel four month ago. I appreciate the feedback but in future please feel free to let us know immediately if you have any concerns during your stay for us to action this as quickly as possible. We are surprised about your comments about breakfast but rest assured that we take all comments very seriously and will be looking into the matter.
Read more
Wanderingsmiles wrote a review Jan 1
Channel Islands13 contributions7 helpful votes
Hotel's Favorite
We stayed here for four lovely nights over Christmas. A great room overlooking the cathedral. A friendly and personable staff who worked really hard to make our stay safe and enjoyable. Service was above and beyond. All of this - as well as the perfect location right in the heart of Winchester.
Read more
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Eric-Enno Snel, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Many thanks for the positive comments; I’m happy we were able to make your stay with us so enjoyable. I hope we can welcome you back to the Mercure Hotel Winchester Wessex. again very soon.
Read more
JourneymanBalladeer wrote a review Jan 21
Exeter, United Kingdom3 contributions1 helpful vote
Single night stay in Jan2022 for a very good price considering the location and quality. Covid state/season may well have depressed prices. Masks for all and many handwash stations. Given a large room for the price/class, overlooking cathedral green, tea/coffee kit with sofa, chair, 4 poster, 2 windows, toiletries and real soap. Plus WiFi at least 25Mb. Fast check in with attentive and friendly staff. Even a complimentary chocolate bar as a cure for Blue Monday. The manager was very visible. Free covered parking for my motorbike too.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Eric-Enno Snel, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Responded yesterday
So glad you had an enjoyable time at Mercure Hotel Winchester Wessex! We very much appreciate the feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
Read more
429Happy wrote a review Jan 19
Chichester, United Kingdom3323 contributions301 helpful votes
+1
Often famous GOLF courses have famous hotels. The Fairmont over looking St Andrew’s springs to mind. Under the CLUB CAPTAIN and COURSE General Manager we have the famous Dutch Golfer Eric bringing such style and panache. His DRIVE often delivers a HOLE IN ONE for the guest. We also have the famous Kings Bar where Eric’s Round Table is seen and a PRACTICE GREEN served by the enthusiastic and helpful Josh before off to the FIRST HOLE around Winchester. To begin we need to register for our MATCH PLAY EVENT at reception. Anthony graciously receives the guest with a DOUBLE EAGLE style. In assistance the delightful charming Milly expert in delivering BIRDIES and the flamboyant Kian so helpful and knowledgeable even a SNOWMAN would be happy. Winchester’s course is so unique full of gems as we go around the COURSE. The magnificent Cathedral stands proud along side the first HOLE FAIRWAY, mind the BUNKERS to the various museums including the main one, Westgate, the Treasury within the stunning Winchester College, famous market cross, majestic Alfred the Great Satue , Jane Austin House, numerous walks along the river, St Giles Hill, the delightful working Watermill, the vast array of photogenic almshouses, look our for the very old and ornate doors and atmospheric public houses dating well back to 1500s On return Naz our Housekeeping Manager has been at work to ensure our rooms are spick and span. The bed LINEN is fresh and clean and he is on PAR to speak to his guests. Dominic a local lad is very enthusiastic and is a dab hand at making a perfect bed TEEDED up for a good night sleep. Before retiring a visit to the restaurant is a good choice to meet the lovely Bex the Restaurant Manager with a delightful persona. The SLICE cakes are lovely and create a delicious BACK SPIN tastes in the mouth. She is ably assisted by the ever friendly and happy Joelle who is certainly a HOT, FLYER. When morning arrives breakfast is a sheer delight. Chef Mario from the lovely country of Portugal is such a joy wishing to be happy and pleasing his guests. Watch out for those knock out Veggie sausages very addictive. He is helped by Michael who also has a unique charm and grace ensuring the guest is so special. Thank you all who I have not individually mentioned. A very special hotel and accompanying golf course.!
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
Response from Eric-Enno Snel, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Responded yesterday
Thanks so much for taking the time to share your kind comments again. That’ll put a smile on my face for the rest of the day! It was a pleasure to have you. The staff and I are so happy we could make your stay so wonderful. We very much appreciate the feedback and we hope to see you again soon.
Read more
Tracey R wrote a review Jan 16
20 contributions6 helpful votes
Just back from a one night stay at this hotel. The hotel itself is excellent in terms of location and parking is £12 for the one night stay which for the price of parking in Winchester was reasonable. Check in was easy with no problems and the room itself was okay, clean. Minor complaint was that we did come back to the hotel in the evening ( about 9), and was going to have a night cap in the bar but ended up just going up to our room as there was no one to be seen anywhere in the bar or reception. Overall thought the hotel was ok, Nothing special but had no complaints about it in general and would be happy to stay again although I would argue it’s 4 star status.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2022Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Eric-Enno Snel, General Manager at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
I’m very grateful that you could take time to leave us your thoughts and write a review. I’m so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to see you again in the very near future.
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$61 - $119 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
mercure wessex winchester hotel winchester, accor wessex winchester, mercure winchester
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHampshireWinchester
NUMBER OF ROOMS
94
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel?
Nearby attractions include ClueCapers Limited (0.1 miles), Incognito (0.1 miles), and Winchester College (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and breakfast buffet.
What food & drink options are available at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, complimentary tea, and free instant coffee during their stay.
Is parking available at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel?
Yes, paid private parking on-site, paid private parking nearby, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Bangkok Bistro, Shoal, and Kyoto Kitchen.
Is Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.4 miles away from the center of Winchester.
Are any cleaning services offered at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, French, German, Italian, and Hungarian.
Are there any historical sites close to Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Hospital of St Cross (1.0 miles), Winchester Cathedral (0.1 miles), and Winchester City Mill (0.2 miles).