We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

The Running Horse

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Running Horse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

135 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 134: English reviews
Angmering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The Running Horse is situated on a quite residential Lane surrounded by fields, fresh air & quite with easy access to & from the A34 & a drive from Winchester. The Pub & Restaurant area is very well decorated with a country style charm. We stayed for one night in a Superior Double room which are all situated @ the... More 

Helpful?
Thank 61Michael2015
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

3 of us with a small child had lunch here: I would rather have eaten the 2 year old's chicken nuggets. I was charged £8.50 for a burnt bit of toast with a thin covering of welsh rarebit on top and my son and daughter-in-law the same amount each for a couple of chunky sandwiches with very little filling and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Beanie522014
Hemingford Grey, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Clean rooms, a very friendly staff and a decent breakfast at a sensible price (we had planned to stay near Bournemouth but it was the height of summer and prices were nearing £200 for a room!). Easy to find, plenty of parking and we'd use again.

Helpful?
Thank Keith E
Devon
Level Contributor
20 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2016

A warm welcome greeted us on arrival at The Running Horse. we were shown to our room which is one of several chalet style rooms adjoining the Pub. The room itself was quite pleasant being a decent size with on suite,a very large shower with all of the accessories, including Bath robes and slippers, that you would expect in a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Devonboy20
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2016 via mobile

We stayed overnight in the family room at The Running Horse. The room was disappointing and the bathroom in particular was very basic and appeared more like a hospital bathroom than a hotel, the tap for the sink is pretty impractical and you can only get warm water when the tap is turned on full bore which rapidly fills the... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Swindon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2016 via mobile

We visited on Saturday without booking. The staff made space for us and we are glad they did. The duck was to rival any Michelin star restaurant offering and my partners beef was superb. Nice ales on tap coupled with welcoming hosts and locals made this a lovely evening. Will be comming back again and again

Helpful?
1 Thank gavilar
anitapeel, General Manager at The Running Horse, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Gavilar Thank you so much for posting this glowing review of the Running Horse and the fact that every aspect of your evening here was so enjoyable. We certainly hope that you do return again and again! Best wishes Anita Peel More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2016

I was so so disappointed in this pub with rooms. I paid £120 per room (2 rooms) for B & B. We only stayed one night, but the evening meal was expensive and was served cold. The rooms were also cold and in need of a good clean. Staff were friendly but it did not make amends. Would not recommend... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
anitapeel, General Manager at The Running Horse, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Barbara C It is evident from your review that you were disappointed with more than one aspect of your stay here and for that I am truly apologetic. We will certainly take on board the comments that you have made on certain points such as the room temperature and cleanliness. I do hope that you brought this to... More 

Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2016

Stayed for two nights recently and the overall experience was excellent. Situated in a quiet area not too far from Winchester town centre. The staff were pleasant, friendly and approachable. Accommodation and service was possibly more than we expected for the price. The room was clean and spacious with all requirements catered for tea, coffee, biscuits, spring water, toiletries, hairdryer... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cookiejoe26
Andover, Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

Thought we would try somewhere new. Didn't want to travel too far and reviews looked good. We booked a few days in advance. Good amount of available parking, nice greeting, offered a drink before taken to our table. Pub has a rustic look, very nice. Great menu choice. I had the fish which was cooked perfectly. We shared a baked... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kathy O
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016

We wanted to stop over in Winchester for one night and chose this place as it seemed good value relative to other hotels in the centre and had free parking as well. The rooms are all modern chalets round the side from the main building. They are clean, a good size and have all you need, including free WiFi, but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Basilcat14
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
1.0 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#2 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 stars 904 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
#4 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 stars 463 reviews
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#3 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 stars 879 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.2 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 stars 1,497 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Wykeham Arms
The Wykeham Arms
#5 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 stars 597 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A charming and cosy English pub, The Running Horse is nestled in the village of Littleton just outside the historic city of Winchester. Its idyllic countryside setting makes it a destination of choice for fans of country leisure pursuits and touring groups as well as businesses. The 9 stylish bedrooms are equipped with free Wi-Fi, Freeview TV, tea/coffee facilities, as well as private bathrooms or shower rooms. Whatever the season or occasion, The Running Horse makes for a welcoming stop. The locally-brewed Upham ales, wine and champagne lists complement an exciting, seasonal lunch and dinner menu, which are carefully created using locally-sourced ingredients. A choice of three Sunday roasts and a selection of homemade ice creams and sorbets are firm favourites. A full breakfast menu is also available daily. Just 4 miles from the M3 motorway, and a 25 minute drive from the New Forest National Park, The Running Horse is easily accessible and also offers ample free, on-site parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Running Horse

Address: 88 Main Road | Littleton, Winchester SO22 6QS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Price Range: $130 - $189 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Running Horse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Odigeo, Travelocity, LateRooms, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your The Running Horse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay