We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Running Horse

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Running Horse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

142 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 141: English reviews
Burgess Hill, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This is a lovely pub with very friendly staff. The room we had was a superior and very comfortable with one of the best showers I have ever had. We ate at the pub on the Saturday night and had a very nice meal. However the breakfast in the morning was very disappointing. We both had full English and my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Louloubaggins
Brighouse, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

The temperature outside was minus 1 degrees and on entering the room the radiator was turned off and the room was freezing cold and to be honest the room did not heat up to a comfortable temperature during the rest of the evening so I went to bed at 8pm to warm up. There were nice biscuits and bottled water...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank M R
Stratford-upon-Avon, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 23, 2016

A group of 8 of us stayed here in order to go to a birthday party in the village hall. Rooms were neat and tidy and had everything one wanted. Breakfast was really enjoyable with a seemingly unlimited amount of tea and coffee with very friendly and efficient staff. Would certainly stay there again if I was in the area....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave B
Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 23, 2016 via mobile

We visited today whilst out for a drive and saw that The Running Horse was open for lunch. The decor and ambience made us feel at home from the moment we arrived. The entire team here were lovely and happy to make recommendations when asked. Importantly, most importantly... the food! Wow!! Without doubt the best roast Sunday lunch we have...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ReesF
anitapeel, General Manager at The Running Horse, responded to this review

Hello ReesF What a great review, I am so pleased that you found us and that you can't wait to return, we will see you soon. Best wishes Anita Peel General Manager

Ross-on-Wye, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 13, 2016

We stopped here for a quick meal en route to Portsmouth ferry. There were 6 of us and the restaurant wasn't busy. Drinks were fine, service was fine, but I think the chef must have had a night off because my gnocchi were not only slightly burnt (definitely over cooked) but were incredibly salty. I do have an issue with...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nomeat4me
Wales
Reviewed October 12, 2016

Highly disappointing. Good ingredients ruined. The Gnocchi/squash main was burnt. The fish and chips were ruined by a batter you could have surfaced the M3 with. The chips were potatoes cut in half and deep fried, on my plate there were only FOUR chips. The beef burger was loaded with salt. If we were not in a rush to catch...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank a2457
anitapeel, General Manager at The Running Horse, responded to this review

Dear a2457 It is extremely evident that you did not enjoy any aspect of your experience here at The Running Horse. I appreciate that you did not send the food back, but I am sure that you brought your displeasure to the staff on duty. I would very much like to discuss this situation with you personally, if you would...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 2, 2016 via mobile

I think you have to be careful with this place the rooms are small chalets made from timber at the back of the pub in a garden Nice people good service breakfast was just about ok not much choice We had a rather noisy night so we complained and they gave us £20 of the bill so definitely 3 out...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Dave A
Angmering, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 27, 2016

The Running Horse is situated on a quite residential Lane surrounded by fields, fresh air & quite with easy access to & from the A34 & a drive from Winchester. The Pub & Restaurant area is very well decorated with a country style charm. We stayed for one night in a Superior Double room which are all situated @ the...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank 61Michael2015
anitapeel, General Manager at The Running Horse, responded to this review

Thank you 61Michael2015 for posting a review of The Running Horse. As you describe it is a pub with rooms on the outskirts of Winchester, therefore we do have the advantage of the added space and rural charm. Our 6 newly refurbished rooms have been designed so there is extra touches to them such as the double power shower, robes...

Winchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 27, 2016

3 of us with a small child had lunch here: I would rather have eaten the 2 year old's chicken nuggets. I was charged £8.50 for a burnt bit of toast with a thin covering of welsh rarebit on top and my son and daughter-in-law the same amount each for a couple of chunky sandwiches with very little filling and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Beanie522014
anitapeel, General Manager at The Running Horse, responded to this review

Dear Beanie522014 I am truly apologetic that you clearly did not enjoy your lunch with us here. I would very much like to discuss this with you personally,as my staff can not recall if your displeasure was brought to anyone's attention on the day. If you would be so kind to contact me on 01962880218. Kind Regards Anita Peel

Hemingford Grey, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 27, 2016

Clean rooms, a very friendly staff and a decent breakfast at a sensible price (we had planned to stay near Bournemouth but it was the height of summer and prices were nearing £200 for a room!). Easy to find, plenty of parking and we'd use again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Keith E
anitapeel, General Manager at The Running Horse, responded to this review

Dear Keith E We are pleased that you chose to stay with us and that so many things ticked the boxes for you! We look forward to welcoming you again. Many Thanks Anita Peel

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
2.5 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
4.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#4 of 13 in Winchester
906 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#2 of 13 in Winchester
945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
1,555 reviews
2.8 mi away
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
#5 of 13 in Winchester
523 reviews
2.7 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A charming and cosy English pub, The Running Horse is nestled in the village of Littleton just outside the historic city of Winchester. Its idyllic countryside setting makes it a destination of choice for fans of country leisure pursuits and touring groups as well as businesses. The 9 stylish bedrooms are equipped with free Wi-Fi, Freeview TV, tea/coffee facilities, as well as private bathrooms or shower rooms. Whatever the season or occasion, The Running Horse makes for a welcoming stop. The locally-brewed Upham ales, wine and champagne lists complement an exciting, seasonal lunch and dinner menu, which are carefully created using locally-sourced ingredients. A choice of three Sunday roasts and a selection of homemade ice creams and sorbets are firm favourites. A full breakfast menu is also available daily. Just 4 miles from the M3 motorway, and a 25 minute drive from the New Forest National Park, The Running Horse is easily accessible and also offers ample free, on-site parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Running Horse

Address: 88 Main Road | Littleton, Winchester SO22 6QS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Price Range: $110 - $182 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Running Horse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, LateRooms, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your The Running Horse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Running Horse staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from The Running Horse staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“These comments relate to the restaurant as we had not booked accommodation.”
 of 5 bubbles Nomeat4me, Oct 13, 2016 | Read review
“The Superior Rooms offer a more private frontage & are not viewable from the Pubs Beer Garden.”
 of 5 bubbles 61Michael2015, Sep 27, 2016 | Read review
“Don't be put off by the fact that it's not in the heart of Winchester.”
 of 5 bubbles KeithE731, Aug 27, 2016 | Read review
“Easy accessibility to all rooms”
 of 5 bubbles Cookiejoe26, Jun 30, 2016 | Read review
“All from a looked same to me. Maybe avoid rooms 1-5 if you don't like people walking past your window.”
 of 5 bubbles Basilcat14, Jun 6, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay