We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Running Horse

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Running Horse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

132 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 131: English reviews
Devon
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A warm welcome greeted us on arrival at The Running Horse. we were shown to our room which is one of several chalet style rooms adjoining the Pub. The room itself was quite pleasant being a decent size with on suite,a very large shower with all of the accessories, including Bath robes and slippers, that you would expect in a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Devonboy20
A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed overnight in the family room at The Running Horse. The room was disappointing and the bathroom in particular was very basic and appeared more like a hospital bathroom than a hotel, the tap for the sink is pretty impractical and you can only get warm water when the tap is turned on full bore which rapidly fills the... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Swindon
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2016 via mobile

We visited on Saturday without booking. The staff made space for us and we are glad they did. The duck was to rival any Michelin star restaurant offering and my partners beef was superb. Nice ales on tap coupled with welcoming hosts and locals made this a lovely evening. Will be comming back again and again

Helpful?
1 Thank gavilar
anitapeel, General Manager at The Running Horse, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Gavilar Thank you so much for posting this glowing review of the Running Horse and the fact that every aspect of your evening here was so enjoyable. We certainly hope that you do return again and again! Best wishes Anita Peel More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 3, 2016

I was so so disappointed in this pub with rooms. I paid £120 per room (2 rooms) for B & B. We only stayed one night, but the evening meal was expensive and was served cold. The rooms were also cold and in need of a good clean. Staff were friendly but it did not make amends. Would not recommend... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barbara C
anitapeel, General Manager at The Running Horse, responded to this review

Good Afternoon Barbara C It is evident from your review that you were disappointed with more than one aspect of your stay here and for that I am truly apologetic. We will certainly take on board the comments that you have made on certain points such as the room temperature and cleanliness. I do hope that you brought this to... More 

Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 30, 2016

Stayed for two nights recently and the overall experience was excellent. Situated in a quiet area not too far from Winchester town centre. The staff were pleasant, friendly and approachable. Accommodation and service was possibly more than we expected for the price. The room was clean and spacious with all requirements catered for tea, coffee, biscuits, spring water, toiletries, hairdryer... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cookiejoe26
Andover, Hampshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
105 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

Thought we would try somewhere new. Didn't want to travel too far and reviews looked good. We booked a few days in advance. Good amount of available parking, nice greeting, offered a drink before taken to our table. Pub has a rustic look, very nice. Great menu choice. I had the fish which was cooked perfectly. We shared a baked... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kathy O
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016

We wanted to stop over in Winchester for one night and chose this place as it seemed good value relative to other hotels in the centre and had free parking as well. The rooms are all modern chalets round the side from the main building. They are clean, a good size and have all you need, including free WiFi, but... More 

Helpful?
Thank Basilcat14
Level Contributor
100 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2016

Stayed a night and loved it, the room as well appointed and tastefully decorated. Lovely rural views and all in all friendly service and a great stay, highly recommended. The restaurant is a bit tricky with a poorly prepared breakfast and expensive lunch and dinner menu.

Helpful?
Thank Tanked2
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 22, 2016

When I first booked this place I thought the rooms would be in the main pub building, it wasn't clear on the website. When we got there we where quickly shown to our room which I'm afraid smelt of filler adhesive. The window was open but later when I tried to shut it I found it wouldn't close properly. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert B
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2016 via mobile

Spent 2 nights at the Running Horse as a base to explore Winchester and the surroundings. Stayed in an annex attached to the pub and restaurant. Clean and basic with a small shower room and free wifi. Room became very warm through the day and difficult to get cool at night. Restaurant frankly tries too hard with their meals -... More 

Helpful?
Thank John T
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

55 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Dining (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
4.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Winchester
Holiday Inn Winchester
#3 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 stars 854 reviews
2.2 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 stars 1,459 reviews
2.6 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#2 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 stars 873 reviews
2.9 mi away
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
#4 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 stars 436 reviews
2.8 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A charming and cosy English pub, The Running Horse is nestled in the village of Littleton just outside the historic city of Winchester. Its idyllic countryside setting makes it a destination of choice for fans of country leisure pursuits and touring groups as well as businesses. The 9 stylish bedrooms are equipped with free Wi-Fi, Freeview TV, tea/coffee facilities, as well as private bathrooms or shower rooms. Whatever the season or occasion, The Running Horse makes for a welcoming stop. The locally-brewed Upham ales, wine and champagne lists complement an exciting, seasonal lunch and dinner menu, which are carefully created using locally-sourced ingredients. A choice of three Sunday roasts and a selection of homemade ice creams and sorbets are firm favourites. A full breakfast menu is also available daily. Just 4 miles from the M3 motorway, and a 25 minute drive from the New Forest National Park, The Running Horse is easily accessible and also offers ample free, on-site parking. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Running Horse

Address: 88 Main Road | Littleton, Winchester SO22 6QS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Price Range: $115 - $183 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Running Horse 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, LateRooms, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your The Running Horse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay