We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Holiday Inn Winchester

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Winchester
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

879 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 845: English reviews
Loxley
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed 1 night. Pleasant reception staff both on arrival & departure, and no queues on either occasion. Spacious reception / dining / bar area. Room spacious and furnishings to a good standard as would be expected in a four star hotel. Bathroom was fine, with room containing a comfortable desk chair. Found that room was reasonably cool and so air... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rambler791
sharon a, HR Assistant at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review

Thank you, Rambler791 for your review. I'm pleased you found the Reception staff pleasant at both arrival and departure. It's also good to hear that you liked the spacious reception areas and found the furnishings to be of a good standard. I'm pleased you found the hotel relatively quiet, but disappointed to hear that you had a slight noise disturbance... More 

Wakefield
Level Contributor
106 reviews
86 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Having stayed here previously we chose it for the location and once again found the standard to be really good for a Holiday Inn. Check in was pleasant and our room was nearly the same one as last time. Decent size and very clean and tidy. The window does not open so setting the air conditioning to the right temperature... More 

Helpful?
Thank WakefieldYorkie
sharon a, HR Assistant at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review

Thank you WakefieldYorkie for your recent review. It's good to hear that you like our location, found our standards good and had a pleasant check in. Our windows do not open due to the nature of the building being designed in line with our 'green' policy. If you stay with us again and you experience any difficulties with your aircon,... More 

Hastings, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Looks OK when you get there. Nice big spacious reception but the whole feel of the place is prefabricated. Tiny modular bathrooms with no counter top space to put your things. I'm a bloke so it'd be worse for you ladies with all your make-up. Windows cannot be opened and the a/c was worse than useless - and that was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MDG424
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

2nd stay here on business - lovely hotel, great staff, nice environment. First time I'd ordered room service food though and will be the last. Mixed grill at £20 for 1 sausage, 1 lamb cutlet and 1/2 a ribeye steak is ridiculous, however nice it was! Ordered a side too, £4 for half a ciabatta of garlic bread?! Food was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Essexcouple89
sharon a, HR Assistant at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review

Thank you, Essexcouple89, for your review and I am pleased that you found us a lovely hotel, with great staff in a nice environment. I was disappointed to hear that you found our food overpriced. We are an award winning 2 Rosette restaurant and our food is sourced by quality. Our prices are also competitive with other 4 star hotels... More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The breakfast was superb, didn't expect that from a chain hotel. All the staff were all very approachable and helpful. My wife adored the hot chocolate in the bar. The walnut bread was gorgeous. The black pudding was too, shame we had to ask why there wasn't a note telling us it had to be ordered specially. We missed out... More 

Helpful?
Thank BikerDon_56
sharon a, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review

Thank you, BikerDon_56, for your great review and I am pleased that we exceeded your expectations . I was delighted to hear how much you enjoyed your breakfast and how much your wife enjoyed the hot chocolate! Although we offer many items on our hot/cold buffet, we also offer additional items that are made to order. A menu should have... More 

Nottingham
Level Contributor
26 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Needed an overnight stop outside Winchester with easy access to the city, hotel well situated close to Park & Ride. Free car parking and Wi-Fi, room good size and quiet, staff very helpful, spotlessly clean room and public areas, restaurant well-staffed and varied menu, what's not to like?

Helpful?
Thank TonyBasil
sharon a, HR Assistant at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review

Wow! Thank you, TonyBasil for your great review! I am pleased that you found us a great location for an overnight stop with easy access to Winchester. I was delighted to hear how you liked the free parking, found the room a good size and spotlessly clean and very quiet. It's also good to know that you found the restaurant... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Very nice modern hotel with a good design. Customer service is absolutely excellent. Our evening meal was very good and well presented. Buffet breakfast is quite the reverse. Only one egg available and this did not look very fresh & sausages and bacon quite dry so give the breakfast a miss. Such a shame as everything else, the service and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rod B
sharon a, HR Assistant at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review

Thank you, Rod B, for your recent review and I am pleased that you found us to be a very nice modern hotel with a good design. I was delighted to hear that you found the customer service absolutely excellent and that you really enjoyed the quality and presentation of your evening meal. I was, however, disappointed to hear about... More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed here again as a family in August. Once again we benefited from the great location of the hotel near the motorways and city centre, as we were in-transit to the south, as well as benefiting from the ample free parking on site. The hotel was clean, as with our last visit, but the reception staff seemed somewhat less... More 

Helpful?
Thank Where_2_nextthen?
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review

Thank you, Where_2_nextthen?, for your review and I'm pleased that you find the hotel in a good location for the motorways and city centre and benefitted from the ample, free parking on site. Please accept my apologies that Reception were not quite as efficient as last time. We are in the process of training several new employees, but nevertheless, this... More 

Derbyshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Ok so yes you can't open a window but we're used ri that from travel in the USA. The hotel was very modern and clean. The staff coped well with a four year old rather too excited about going to Peppa Pig world and his two frazzled parents. The restaurant meal was amazing well above the usual hotel standard.

Helpful?
Thank Juls E
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review

Thank you, Juls E, for your wonderful review! I'm so pleased that and your had such an enjoyable stay with us and that you enjoyed your amazing meal with us and found it to be well above the usual hotel standard. I do hope your son enjoyed meeting Peppa Pig and you all had a good time at the Park!... More 

Wiltshire
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The hotel is very easy to find, within walking distance from the Science Centre and a 5 min drive from the park & rides - although there is also a regular bus from the Science Centre into town. The hotel is impressive and the staff were very friendly from the start. The only issue I had was with the guests... More 

Helpful?
Thank Guinness_maiden
siobhanthomasson009, General Manager at Holiday Inn Winchester, responded to this review

Thank you, Guinness_maiden for you lovely review! I'm pleased you found the hotel impressive and the staff friendly from the start. It's good to hear that you found us a good location for visiting the Science Centre and for easily getting into Winchester. I was sorry to hear that you experienced noise from the room above you, which impacted on... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

209 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (122)
Viewed
Room/Suite (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Viewed
Other (47)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (87)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (41)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Other (17)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Winchester hotels
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
Premier Inn Winchester Hotel
#4 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 stars 463 reviews
2.2 mi away
Winchester Royal Hotel, BW Premier Collection
2.4 mi away
The Winchester Hotel & spa
The Winchester Hotel & spa
#7 of 13 in Winchester
4.0 of 5 stars 1,497 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Lainston House Hotel
Lainston House Hotel
#2 of 13 in Winchester
4.5 of 5 stars 904 reviews
2.1 mi away
Mercure Winchester Wessex Hotel
5.1 mi away
Marwell Hotel
Marwell Hotel
#8 of 13 in Winchester
3.5 of 5 stars 1,058 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
GreenLeadersPlatinum level
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The perfect destination for leisure, business or families. Our 141 luxury and contemporary bedrooms offer ultimate comfort and amenities, including: high-speed wi-fi, luxury beds, power showers and luxury toiletries.Enjoy lunch or dinner at the AA Rosette awarded Morn Hill Brasserie, or relax with a drink or light meal in our contemporary lounge bar.Our stunning location on the edge of the South Downs National Park makes the Holiday Inn one of the most spectacular Winchester wedding venues, catering for to 180 guests. We also offer event hire for parties and celebrations.For all things business, the hotel provides excellent accommodation, as well as meeting rooms and conference facilities. There are 8 boardrooms available for hire, which also includes high speed wireless internet and free car parking.With great parking and access by the M3 motorway, train or bus - the hotel is ideally located to explore the historic city of Winchester and surrounding attractions. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Winchester

Address: Telegraph Way | Morn Hill, Winchester SO21 1HZ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Winchester
Price Range: $115 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Holiday Inn Winchester 4*
Number of rooms: 141
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Winchester reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Winchester Hotel Winchester
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Winchester
#2 Business Hotel in Winchester
#3 Luxury Hotel in Winchester
#4 Romantic Hotel in Winchester
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay