We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Argyle Lodge

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Argyle Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

63 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 62: English reviews
South west England
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very good value for money guesthouse. Nice and clean and comfortable. Made very welcome by owners. Good hearty breakfast. Ideal for a one or two night stays if catching ferry or cruise ships. Would use again if ever in Southampton again.

Helpful?
Thank Newinn
Devon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2016

I was travelling on my own, having come to Southampton to visit my son and I arrived here quite late in the evening, after being 'let down' by the hotel I'd originally booked, who'd decided to let my room even after I'd booked it through a well-known web-based accommodation provider! [By the way, thank you for helping me find alternative... More 

Helpful?
Thank paddleboarder
sotongirl2015, Owner at Argyle Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your lovely review. Im glad we were able to help you. Yes most of our bedrooms are en suite but these were all booked on the night you stayed. Im sorry you were unable to access our free wifi as we usually have a very strong signal and nobody else informed me there was a... More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 4, 2016 via mobile

Owner was polite and helpful but unfortunately that wasn't enough for us. We booked a twin en suite which was very snug indeed. Although the rooms were a little dated the beds were clean as was most of the room. There were some pillows and blankets in the wardrobe that didn't look too appealing. The bathroom was in need of... More 

Helpful?
Thank debnsteve
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2016

I booked late in the day and it was fairly late when I arrived. I was handed the keys and left to go to the room on my own. On seeing the room I was unpleasantly surprised for the price and if I could have looked for somewhere else I would have. I'm confused by the positive feedback for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank mal s
sotongirl2015, Owner at Argyle Lodge, responded to this review

This review has been submitted by the partner of the lady who wrote the review titled "wish we,d camped" and seems to be an undeserved personaI attack. I can only repeat my response. I would like to add that it is inappropriate to insult other guests who were staying here at the time. More 

Isle of Wight, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2016

I stayed here with a friend for one night to go to Common People. The landlady was very welcoming on arrival and very attentive and friendly the next morning at breakfast. The room was clean and a good size with en-suite facilities and plenty of tea, coffee and biscuits. There were plenty of choices for breakfast. I considered this room... More 

Helpful?
Thank poatley
sotongirl2015, Owner at Argyle Lodge, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to review us. I,m really pleased you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope your shopping trip was a success and we look forward to seeing you again. More 

Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2016

My friend and I went to Southampton Common People and stayed at Argyle Lodge for two nights. Walking distance from the railway station. Breakfast was fine, normal fry up with a choice of scrambled, fried or poached eggs. Yoghurt, cereals and fruit juices available. Bedroom was clean and tidy, with a comfortable bed. We used the shared bathroom which was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Julie M
judyhiggs, Owner at Argyle Lodge, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay wih us. It was such a lovely weekend for the concert on the common and we hope to see you again next year More 

Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2016 via mobile

It's not the worst place we've stayed in but for £110 a night for the two of us it fell very short of expected quality and value for money. The room was basic, faded and in need of some updating. Cleanliness could also have been improved. The underside of the bed hadn't been vacuumed since the half pence piece went... More 

Helpful?
Thank nix w
judyhiggs, Owner at Argyle Lodge, responded to this review

A very disappointing review. The cost of £110 was because a triple room had been booked on line so the guest had paid for 3 people to stay. If the booking had been made directly we would only have charged the rate for 2 people. The gentleman thanked me for "a lovely breakfast". We were surprised when servicing the room... More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2016

Easy to find lovely people very nice room clean and well stocked with tea coffee hot chocolate and biscuits,clean bathroom nice shower.excellent breakfast with almost too much choice would definatly stay again on our next trip down south

Helpful?
1 Thank Mick G
Brynmawr
Level Contributor
150 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2016 via mobile

Stayed one night waiting for for teip to Isle of Wight. 5 mins from ferry terminal. Easy to find. Friendly family run business. Room was standard double. Nice and clean. Tea and coffee facilities in room. Nice comfy bed. Toilets nice and clea.nn but ahower is very basic. No water pressure and really old fitting. Not in keeping with the... More 

Helpful?
Thank StanBrynmawr
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2015

I came all the way from Italy, had some problems with the cards and couldn't pay, but they waited for me to get it all sorted out and come back. I've been here for 2 nights, slept very well, had a great shower and great breakfast (they have things for every stomach). The place is 20min away on foot from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hannelore Elena L
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

14 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (5)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.1 mi away
Landguard House
Landguard House
#14 of 43 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
0.2 mi away
Fenland Guest House
Fenland Guest House
#23 of 43 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
0.4 mi away
City Park Guest House
City Park Guest House
#15 of 43 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 stars 58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Hunters Lodge
Hunters Lodge
#5 of 43 in Southampton
5.0 of 5 stars 241 reviews
0.0 mi away
Landguard Lodge
Landguard Lodge
#26 of 43 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Regent Guest House
The Regent Guest House
#6 of 43 in Southampton
5.0 of 5 stars 54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Argyle Lodge

Address: 13 Landguard Road | Shirley, Southampton SO15 5DL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Price Range: $76 - $97 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Argyle Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Argyle Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay