We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,302 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,242: English reviews
Berkshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 214 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The reception staff were lovely. The rooms clean. The place apparently dates from the 14th century, but it seems to have been totally renovated in the 1980s. The halls are dark and although it might appeal to those seeking something different from a bland hotel, the rooms were so small I felt claustrophobic. To be fair, a flight cancellation brought... More 

Helpful?
Thank BiancaC
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

We stopped at this hotel before our cruise. Food is excellent but the room and bed leaves a lot to be desired. Bed was very hard and uncomfortable subsequent both myself and my husband woke up in a lot of pain with our backs and the room was very stuffy

Helpful?
Thank Sweetness0902
Mauritius
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

Although we only spent one night, I found this hotel and its staff very pleasant. The rooms are basic but clean and comfortable. The location is great and the car parking is good. We had a good sleep and we're ready for the journey ahead. All the staff were great but one in particular was very good, I unfortunately didn't... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sheryl G
sheffield
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed in room 102. Taps move. Plug sockets move. Plaster coming off the walls. Paint all over the Windows. Dirty in corners. All in all a bad room and I would image is typical of the rest of the hotel. Asked for duty manager who came to the room and advised me this was a perfect room and same as... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank mhuntington

Travelers are raving about these Southampton hotels

London
Level Contributor
71 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Didn't get off to a great start as it was so difficult to find the car park (I drove round the one way system three times to find it!) Not at all clear why they have blocked off the entrance from the High Street. I had a room on the ground floor and had to walk through a stairwell which... More 

Helpful?
Thank DJguapa
Sutton in Ashfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed in this hotel the night before our cruise. Our bedroom was horrible but the bathroom was so bad I made a complaint through P&O as it was they who had made the booking on our behalf. The reply from the hotel says it is a grade 2 listed hotel and it doesn't suit everyone. I am appalled. I... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank JillNotts
Ed C, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear JillNotts, Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us. As mentioned in our reply our 500 year old, Grade II Listed building may not appeal to everyone however others appreciate its history. Kind Regards, Ed C More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hotel was right on High Street, so didn't need car to explore city centre....Had a room out the back, separate from main hotel, quiet, clean and roomy, but this was a privileged room.....drinks in mini bar included, robes and slippers to use, very clean throughout.

Helpful?
1 Thank Sally H
Ed C, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Sally H, Thank you very much for your review. We're delighted you found your bedroom to be clean, quiet and roomy. Plus you were able to explore our fantastic City on foot! Possibly even saw a few Zebras! I'm glad you enjoyed the added benefits of our Privilege Rooms too. We hope to see you again in the future.... More 

Andover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is in a great location and the staff are very polite and friendly. The only downside the hotel is very tired it is in desperate need of some tlc. They also need to sack stevie wonder as their cleaner!

Helpful?
1 Thank Sue T
Ed C, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Sue T, Thank you for your recent review. I am delighted to hear your praise for our friendly and polite staff. Our location does make a great base for visits to the theatre plus shopping and much more! Our Maintenance and Housekeeping Teams work extremely hard maintaining our historic hotel , constantly giving it TLC. Kind Regards, Ed C More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Food average / bar staff ok / tired / dated / not even clean / managers response appalling - actually it's non existent!!! No one is bothered if you complain! Car parking is an absolute joke, easier to pay to park in the proper car park, they are constantly asking guests to move their cars - seems they take payment... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Nicky B
Preston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 94 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Shocked. 4 star really. Accor visit this inn. Worst I have stayed in. Really needs lots of TLC. Across road from a lap dance bar nice. Breakfast good. Bathroom has shower in bath?. Room tiny and tired. Could only lie on bed from one side. Bed was lumpy. Not impressed for a four star.

Helpful?
1 Thank Travellers2608
Ed C, General Manager at Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin, responded to this review

Dear Travellers2608, Thank you for your review. I am pleased to read you enjoyed our breakfast but very sorry to hear you felt your bedroom was small and the bed was lumpy. We have many different sized bedrooms within the hotel some being larger or smaller than others. Kind Regards, Ed C More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

280 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (253)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (22)
Viewed
Room/Suite (65)
Viewed
Bathroom (29)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (123)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (27)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.6 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#7 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 stars 1,410 reviews
0.2 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#17 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 stars 1,303 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 stars 930 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#9 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 stars 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin hotel is a stunning Grade II listed 4 star hotel located in the heart of Southampton - offering a modern and contemporary feel, while maintaining its traditional appeal. Perfectly located to explore the historic old town and walls, extensive shopping centre within walking distance and the perfect place to stay before and after your cruise with park and cruise packages available.Free Wifi available throughout the hotel.Privilege rooms now available. On site car parking available however there is a charge for this service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin

Address: The Dolphin 34-35 High Street, Southampton SO14 2HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Price Range: $84 - $199 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin 4*
Number of rooms: 99
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin Hotel Southampton
Southampton Dolphin Hotel
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Southampton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay