We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Holiday Inn Southampton

Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Southampton
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

931 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 903: English reviews
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The staff were attentive and helpful, the hotel was clean and modern. There is a swimming pool, spa and gym. Breakfast was plentiful, you had a big selection and again I was surprised how nice and helpful the staff were. Check out is at 12noon so plenty of time before you gave to leave. Good value for a short stay.

Helpful?
Thank MBTruty
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

We were heading out on a Celebrity Cruise and needed a place to stay for the night before the cruise.The Holiday Inn Southampton provided the perfect location. It's located in a couple of hundred yards from the cruise dock and so when it was time to board it was an easy walk from the hotel with our bags to the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DakotasDad
Sam I, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel.  I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We hope you will visit us again. More 

Texas
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We spent two nights prior to leaving on a cruise from Southampton. We stayed at the Holiday Inn in one of the newly renovated 'Executive' rooms. The room was quite comfortable and clean with an excellent view of the Cruise Port. It was fun to see the ships arriving and departing out of our window. The best reason to stay... More 

Helpful?
Thank sweetolebill
Sam I, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel.  I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. It's something our staff takes great pride in, so we value your feedback. We do hope to have a new menu coming at the end of this year and our chefs are working towards the daily specials menus to give... More 

San Antonio
Level Contributor
163 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed one night before boarding a cruise ship. The hotel is about a half mile from the cruise ship port and next to the old town, an easy less than 5 minute walk. The hotel has been remodeled recently from what I can see. The room has only a shower. The rooms are rather large with a flat screen... More 

Helpful?
Thank satxdiver
Sam I, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel.  I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Our team at the hotel will be very pleased to read your comments. We hope you will visit us again. More 

Georgia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We stayed here before a cruise. The hotel was a welcome site after a long flight from the States. The staff were SO kind and really went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable. Our room was clean and cozy and the bed was just awesome! We ordered room service at dinner, and were very impressed with the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Stephanie W
Sam I, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments about your stay, the staff will be pleased to hear you had a great experience with us. We do hope to see you again in the future More 

Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Easy to find - plenty of parking on the hotel site for 7 quid per day. Spacious clean rooms - good views of the Cruiser terminal and the upper Solent. Bar with restaurant, nibbles and SKY. Located in Southampton and a short walk from the shops or the night life - whatever floats your boat....

Helpful?
Thank Tony G
Sam I, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your comments about your stay, the staff will be pleased to hear you had a great experience with us. We do hope to see you again in the future More 

Ashford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We are a family and staying in Southampton overnight. We were very disappointed with this hotel. The reception and bar area on the ground floor is quite modern and fresh but the rest of the hotel needs a total refresh. The rooms are dated from the decor to the furniture. The bathroom is small and very dated, I have never... More 

Helpful?
Thank Andy J
Sam I, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent visit at our hotel and please accept our sincerest apologies for the shortfalls you have experienced during your stay due to the room conditions. Your comments will be looked into and passed on to to ensure we continue to develop the hotel for our guest. We value your comments and welcome the... More 

Travelers are raving about these Southampton hotels

Haz-Zebbug, Malta
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Recently renovated, nice room, efficient friendly check - in, restaurant staff also friendly and efficient, but what a let - down in the restaurant for dinner! Uncontrolled children running around shouting constantly. Near miss with waiter carrying hot food. Didn't bother with dessert or coffee, we just wanted to leave asap! Have stayed in Holiday Inns all over Europe for... More 

Helpful?
Thank John R
Sam I, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments regarding the hotel and we very much appreciate the positive mentions about our staff. I am very sorry to hear your comments regarding children in the hotel and i can assure you that we value all guests equally and i am sorry for your experience at dinner. During the summer holidays we can... More 

Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We booked the 'rail and sail' option, arriving into Southampton Central by train. Things didn't get off to a great start when as part of this package the taxi the hotel had booked didn't turn up and we had to wait around 30 minutes to be collected. As we approached the hotel, I must admit to having a few misgivings... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank adefieldhouse
Sam I, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review. Firstly may i apologise for the Taxi issue, and for your understanding in this matter. I am happy to read our team took ownership and dealt with this to your satisfaction. Your comments regarding the hotel are fantastic to read and i will ensure these are shared with the team to motivate them... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A really friendly welcome upon my arrival ,this was my last overnight stay in the week before going home for the weekend, and the first time I slept soundly all week.The room was as expected clean ,tidy with a great view, a nice comfortable bed is always a must and this was great.Given where it is located I could understand... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark S
Sam I, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Southampton, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your review of our hotel. I am pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us.  Our housekeeping team will be excited to read your comments about the room and i am very happy your enjoyed a peaceful night sleep. We hope you will visit us again. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

269 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (193)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Room/Suite (63)
Viewed
View from Room (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (27)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
Other (48)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (76)
Viewed
Room/Suite (29)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (4)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (19)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.1 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#17 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 stars 1,303 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#7 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 stars 1,413 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
0.3 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
0.4 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#9 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 stars 826 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Pool
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Pool
  • Hot Tub
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Southampton is situated in the heart of Southampton City Centre, with views over the waterfront and close to the M3 and M27 motorwaysThe Holiday Inn Southampton is located next to all Major Cruise Terminals making it the prime hotel for your Pre Cruise Stay. A pre cruise package rate is available which includes Breakfast, Car Parking and Transfer to the TerminalDuring your stay you can take advantage of West Quay Shopping Centre, day trips to the Isle of Wight, New Forest, and Paulton's ParkThe Holiday Inn Southampton is host to the PSP Southampton Boat Show. The hotel is centred in the heart of the show ground making it the ideal location to stay. Package rates available direct at the hotel.The hotel consists of 130 en-suite, air conditioned bedrooms with high speed Internet access, Spirit Health Club, Conference Centre, Restaurant, Bar and LoungeOur facilities also include 24 hour Room Service and free use for our residents to the Spirit Health Club which includes an indoor swimming pool, gym and sauna.The Holiday Inn Southampton has 5 Meeting Rooms and can accommodate up to 180 delegates, ideal for meetings and all special occassions. All rooms have air conditioning, wireless Internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffeeAccessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free(Terms and Conditions Apply) ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Southampton

Address: Herbert Walker Avenue, Southampton SO15 1HJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Price Range: $122 - $320 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Southampton 3*
Number of rooms: 235
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, IHG, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Southampton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Southampton Hotel Southampton
Southampton Holiday Inn
Hotel Style:
#6 Family Hotel in Southampton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay