We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Cargo

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Cargo
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

200 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 196: English reviews
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

The curtains fell down, the bathroom door handle came off in my hand and when I pulled back the duvet I could see something through the sheets. After pulling back the sheets it was clear that the stain was blood! There was no mattress protector on the bed. I asked if we could change rooms but there were none available... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stan S
atherton, Manchester
Level Contributor
121 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

stayed for one night with the wife as my son was graduating from Southampton uni. great location with lots of restusrants on the same street , car parking 2 minutes walk away and the rooms above the bar / restuarant . mid week it was peaceful but could imagine its busy at the weekend. all the staff were great and... More 

Helpful?
Thank JonathanPaul66
Faucet I, Guest Relations Manager at Cargo, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your kind comments and we are delighted to read we could be so hospitable. We will take the few pointers on board with us. Many thanks Cargo More 

Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2016 via mobile

Had a weekend away with my niece and decided to stay here due to the location... Which is perfect ! It's not a huge hotel and has a personal touch about it. The staff were super helpful... Especially John and Josh! So thank you both! If I go back to Southampton I wouldn't look to stay anywhere else! Perfect!

Helpful?
Thank MoonSid
Faucet I, Guest Relations Manager at Cargo, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your comments. We are pleased to read you had a lovely nights stay. We look forward to seeing you again soon when next in Southampton. Kind regards Cargo More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2016

I stay here very often, the staff are incredibly friendly and theyve made me feel ever so welcome. In a lovely area of the city and the hotel is great! Definitely recommend this for any type of visit, family friendly too.

Helpful?
Thank xavichampion
Faucet I, Guest Relations Manager at Cargo, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for taking the time to comment and pleased to read you enjoyed your stay. We hope to see you again soon. Kindest Cargo More 

Level Contributor
95 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2016 via mobile

Nicely located in the center of Southampton. Frienfly staff and great breakfast and coffee. The rooms ste noisy partly due to the neighbours, partly due to the 'airco' outside. The bar closes early. Check-in and -out is smooth. One cask guest beer is slso nice.

Helpful?
Thank Wim B
Faucet I, Guest Relations Manager at Cargo, responded to this review

Dear Wim, Thank you for taking the time to comment. We apologise for the noisy street - this can get like this from time to time but we are always on hand to help or move your room if need be. We hope to see you again soon. Many thanks Cargo More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2016 via mobile

Stayed for 1 night and from first impressions looked lovely on the outside,great location although it was quit noisy until the early hours due to bars and clubs along the street. Room was a good size (room 2) plenty of amenities, hot chocolate ,biscuits and bottled water but there had been a leek in the room so the ceiling was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laugh31
Faucet I, Guest Relations Manager at Cargo, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your comments and pleased to read you had a pleasant stay. Please be sure to raise any problems with us at the time as we are more than happy to assist best we can. We will take your comments on board with us so we can consistently provide a good service. Many thanks Cargo More 

Level Contributor
45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016 via mobile

Not far from the centre of the city, and ideally situated for great food and an enjoyable nightlife, Cargo is perfectly situated for a great stay. Only a 15min walk from Southampton Central as well makes this a great little stay and the breakfast in the morning is excellent, a huge proper full English breakfast with black pudding and hash... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael C
Faucet I, Guest Relations Manager at Cargo, responded to this review

Dear Michael, Thank you for taking the time to comment and we are delighted you had a very nice stay with us! We hope to see you again soon. Many thanks Cargo More 

Roanoke, Virginia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016

The boutique hotel was on a great street, Oxford. The street was quaint and had several restaurants to choose from. The Cargo restaurant and bar area has a nice decor, was clean and very cozy. The room was just big enough for a bed and had a small bathroom. There was no air conditioning but there was a floor fan... More 

Helpful?
Thank doupnikka
Faucet I, Guest Relations Manager at Cargo, responded to this review

Hi, Thank you for your feedback regarding your stay. We apologise for the lack of hot water as Cargo is an Old townhouse and these things do happen from time to time. We are working on upgrading our boilers. Many thanks Cargo More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016

I stayed here for one night prior to a cruise. Good location for restaurants etc. The superior room was way over priced, a couple of hangers in the wardrobe, no soap in the bathroom and no bin. The room was so noisy from bar below and other guests, paper thin walls and no double glazing. The breakfast was like a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank LOL011
Leicester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2016

My wife and I stayed for our tenth wedding anniversary and we loved the place! Very cool and relaxed vibe with very cool and relaxed staff! Nicely decorated and far better than any of these chain hotels....location was good in a nice trendy area. Ignore the bad reviews on here and stay at Cargo you will love it! I don't... More 

Helpful?
Thank leonvguitar1973
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

20 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (16)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton West Quay Hotel
0.4 mi away
Grand Harbour Hotel
Grand Harbour Hotel
#17 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 stars 1,297 reviews
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Southampton City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Mercure Southampton Centre Dolphin
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Southampton
Holiday Inn Southampton
#16 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 stars 928 reviews
0.9 mi away
Novotel Southampton
Novotel Southampton
#8 of 24 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 stars 1,404 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
  • Babysitting

Additional Information about Cargo

Address: 20-22 Oxford Street, Southampton SO14 3DJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Price Range: $90 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Cargo 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Odigeo, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Cargo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Cargo Hotel Southampton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay