We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Mayfair Guest House

Save
Share
11 Landguard Road Shirley, Southampton SO15 5DL England
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Snaptravel
Travelocity
Orbitz.com
Booking.com
View all 8 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (87)
Room & Suite (45)
Dining (9)

About

#1 of 49 B&Bs / Inns in Southampton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The Mayfair Guest House is a small, family run establishment offering high quality, award winning 4 star "self catering" accommodation in Southampton, Hampshire. All of our 8 rooms are spacious and comfortable and are equipped with remote controlled flat screen digital televisions (with integrated DVD players), alarm clock, hairdryer,refreshment tray, bottled water, luggage racks, central heating and free wi-fi. Ironing facilities are also available. Most rooms include en-suite facilities and we offer a choice of single, double, twin, triple, superking and family rooms. A fully equipped kitchen is available for guests to use in addition to a laundry facility, smart lounge and dining room.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free parking
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast available
Books, DVDs, music for children
Fax / photocopying
Baggage storage
Non-smoking hotel
Private check-in / check-out
Street parking
Wifi
Special diet menus
Shared lounge / TV area
Self-serve laundry
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Bottled water
Microwave
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Non-smoking rooms
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Charming

Location

Full view
72Somewhat walkable
Grade: 72 out of 100
208Restaurantswithin 0.75 miles
58Attractionswithin 0.75 miles
836Reviews7Q+A100Room tips

Reviews

Write a review and earn more badges
Traveler rating
  • 760
  • 71
  • 4
  • 0
  • 1
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
chris holliday wrote a review Jun 2020
Newcastle Upon Tyne, United Kingdom3 contributions
WOW .Where do i start we sent two nights at the mayfair guest house the room was spotless and really nicely furnished the owner has taken there time to present the rooms in great style and comfort. the kitchen and dining area too are spotless and applied with everything you could possibly need to make your stay easy . Overall i would highly recommend the guest house and with easy walking distance to the train station/ port area and the town centre making it well suitable for Southampton city centre and surrounding areas .
Read more
Date of stay: June 2020
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Room Tip: All rooms are spot on at a great price
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Claire wrote a review Mar 2020
1 contribution
This was a true delight of a guest house. For the princly sum of £35 i was pleasantly surprised to find that my room was beautifully decorated to a high standard, complimentary tea and coffee available, tv, top quality toiletries on tap for my use and the room was comfortable, warm and absolutely spotless. The house didn't provide breakfast but it provided all the facilities for guests to bring their own or, as in my case, I preferred to eat out. I would certainly highly recommend this little gem of a guest house and will gladly book again the next time I'm on a course in Southampton.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
Helpful
Share
RDC2509 wrote a review Jan 2020
Cambridge, United Kingdom6 contributions1 helpful vote
We are repeat customers of the Mayfair and have seen this guest house go from strength to strength over the years. Nothing is too much trouble, it is immaculate and comfortable. The big named hotels do not even get a look in with us in Southampton as we wont take our business anywhere else. Honestly this is the best place with the loveliest owners and you will not be disappointed.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2019
Location
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
TouringDuo wrote a review Sep 2019
Ottawa, Canada35 contributions26 helpful votes
We booked a Norwegian Fjord cruise for our 20th wedding anniversary. We decided to do a pre and post cruise say at a traditional British Guest House. Mayfair had great reviews so we made reservations. Mark was quick to reply and everything seemed to be in order. Our pre cruise stay for 2 nights was great, as expected per our reservation. While Mayfair Guest House is nicely presented, clean and in good repair, we were very disappointed to return post cruise and find that the super king room that we had reserved several months earlier, and reconfirmed weeks prior to our travel, and was confirmed by Mark, was no longer available. As a result we ended up being downgraded to their king room which in Canada is equivalent to a queen bed. When we asked why the room wasn’t available, since it was confirmed by them just weeks prior to our travel they informed us that someone else was in the room for 2 weeks.... We came back to our room on the 4th night to find an envelope slipped under our door with a small refund for the difference in the room rate, but not an apology for giving away our room. So while the house is beautiful, if you show up and your reservation is gone what does the rest matter. As for location, it’s close to the train station which was excellent for day trips but to get to the old town and harbour front there’s a foot bridge over the train tracks which is 30 steps one side and 32 the other. About 20 minute walk to the beginning of the old town, 30 minutes to the harbour. If you go around to avoid the steps, about 40 minute walk to the old town.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2019
Rooms
Location
Service
Room Tip: Wish I could help but since they didn’t honour our reservation.........
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Mark W, Owner at The Mayfair Guest House
Responded Sep 16, 2019
This review is not factually correct. Firstly, we did apologise for the room error at the time and offered you a second, super king room for the second night of your stay which you declined. We refunded you the difference (which is £4 per night) as a gesture and placed it under your room door as we knocked, and you were not in. What you neglected to say was that your attitude through all this was quite simply, TERRIBLE. In fact, you continued to blatantly ignore the both of us for the remainder of your stay. Maybe I should have downgraded you to the family room instead where your childish behaviour would have been more suited? Our first “average” review in years amongst 757 with “excellent” ratings hardly confirms your story of events. Regards, The Mayfair guest house
Read more
HDCambridgeshire wrote a review Aug 2019
Cambridgeshire44 contributions32 helpful votes
I'd read about the Mayfair on Facebook when I joined a cruise list and knew it would be the place to stay. We were not disappointed. The house is lovely and spotlessly clean. Great welcome on arrival and so ready to help. Many thanks, a great way to start a holiday. We will be back!
Read more
Date of stay: July 2019
Rooms
Cleanliness
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Justsay what you want and they will do their best.
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$69 - $92 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandHampshireSouthampton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
8
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Mayfair Guest House
Which popular attractions are close to The Mayfair Guest House?
Nearby attractions include Elusion Rooms (0.3 miles), Bring & Mix (0.5 miles), and 1932 (0.6 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Mayfair Guest House?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, free parking, and self serve laundry.
What food & drink options are available at The Mayfair Guest House?
Guests can enjoy breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Mayfair Guest House?
Yes, free parking and street parking are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Mayfair Guest House?
Conveniently located restaurants include Tim's Bistro, Blue Island, and POPSI'S.
Are there any historical sites close to The Mayfair Guest House?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Tudor House and Garden (1.0 miles), Bargate (0.9 miles), and Holy Rood Church (1.1 miles).