We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Mayview Guest House

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mayview Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

13 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 11: English reviews
winslow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We booked The Mayview for one night on the 21st of July through Hotels.com and paid £67.50 for the night. What a mistake! The first impression is that of very run down tatty old house, well that’s exactly what it is, first impressions were right. The outside canopy says everything about the place! The entrance hall is scruffy. I was... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank maryellen1210
Worstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016 via mobile

Yes the linen & towels were clean & staff were present but my room was awful, maybe some others have been renovated? The stud walls had holes, one of which had been filled but not painted & someone had then added graffiti. The room was tiny and you could hear the people in adjoining rooms. OK it is a budget... More 

Helpful?
Thank Simon G

Travelers are raving about these Southampton hotels

China, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2016

Stayed one night on a stopover to the Isle of wight. Great little place, reasonably priced and very friendly. The rooms have all been renovated recently and it shows. Would definitely stay again.......

Helpful?
1 Thank Sal I
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2016

Having arrived early in Southampton by train, as our check in was 1400 and it was only 1100 I rang the hotel to ask if we could drop our bag off; to our pleasant surprise, I was told that we could check in straight away as our room was ready. We dropped our bags off in the room and were... More 

Helpful?
Thank Neil G
Lee F, Owner at Mayview Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Neil, Thank you for the feedback on the hotel. We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We have recently taken over the guesthouse and have an extensive refurbishment planned for the premise including installing a full bathroom suite in your room and soundproofing throughout the premises. Once we have finished the renovations we would like to invite... More 

Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2016 via mobile

Booked as couldn't get in anywhere else. £38 for b&b so can't grumble about that. Room single shared facilities on top floor. Room was tiny and in the eaves. Low headroom! Room clean with nice TV and good wifi. But heating not working, freezing room so had to sleep fully clothed. Tepid water in shower too. Breakfast fine. Nice proprietor... More 

Helpful?
Thank Shot2
Lee F, Owner at Mayview Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Appologies for the heating problems we had whilst you we're staying we have now fixed the issue and the hotel is nice and warm. Best Lee More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2016 via mobile

Was unsure what to expect for £30 a night and at first glance outside was unsure but once i got in i was pleasantly surprised nice tidy rooms only downside was the shared bathroom but otherwise great owner was pleasant and helpfull

Helpful?
Thank Gareth M
Lee F, Manager at Mayview Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, we try and provide the best quality we can at budget prices. More 

Ammanford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
36 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 20, 2015

Only stayed one night and found it to be spotlessly clean with very friendly and helpful owners. Room was small but spotless and breakfast was very good. Ideal for people going on a cruise. Although checkout was 9.00 am, bags could be left until nearer boarding time. When I arrived I was told that I had been refunded £3 as... More 

Helpful?
Thank Elfed H
Lee F, Manager at Mayview Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind feedback. We hope you enjoyed your time in the cruise and will think off us again when you next come to vist Southampton. More 

Newport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2015 via mobile

We arrived at the b@b and we hadnt even taken our coats off and they asked us to pay without us even looking at the room. I wish we hadnt payed until we had left.the room had a damp smell. And wasnt realy worth the money. Also when we returned back that eve late. the room was freezing radiator wasnt... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jennifer P
Lee F, Manager at Mayview Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Jennifer, Thank you for your review, we did have some issues with the heating during your stay with us and have now fixed them. Appologies if your room was cold. Kind Regards Lee Firetto More 

Fife, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
217 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2015

This is a very small place, the staff is friendly and very helpful, the room was good, small but clean, with all facilities (although it was not en-suite) and cozy, breakfast is very good, they cook it to your liking, there are cereals, fruit, etc They have facilities to do tea, give you biscuits, nice towels, soap and disposable glasses... More 

Helpful?
Thank LadyMalfoy
Lee F, Owner at Mayview Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for you review. We're very pleased you enjotyed your breakfast with us. Appologies for the noise, Saturday nights are a little lively around the area. More 

Granada, Spain
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2015

Our welcome was lovely and we were given a cup of tea. Our room was a very small ground floor twin with ensuite shower pod but apparently the owners have plans to rearrange the ground floor to make the two bedrooms more spacious. The hotel is clean and the beds comfortable. The breakfast is good and the guest house is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Otteraswas
Lee F, Manager at Mayview Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words. We took over the premises a few months ago and are currently in the process of renewing, remodeling and updating all the rooms. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Southampton Centre
Ibis Southampton Centre
#9 of 24 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 stars 808 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
0.0 mi away
Polygon Villas Guest House
Polygon Villas Guest House
#32 of 43 in Southampton
3.0 of 5 stars 65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
City Park Guest House
City Park Guest House
#14 of 43 in Southampton
3.5 of 5 stars 57 reviews
0.5 mi away
Landguard House
Landguard House
#15 of 43 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 stars 36 reviews
0.0 mi away
Abbey Lodge
Abbey Lodge
#37 of 43 in Southampton
3.0 of 5 stars 20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Mayview Guest House

Address: 30 The Polygon, Southampton SO15 2BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Price Range: $63 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayview Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Mayview Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay