We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mayview Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mayview Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

17 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 15: English reviews
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Would recommend, great location, good value and love the Gary Neville tribute. Better than some of the top hotels in Poland. Being a frequent visitor to Southampton I have found this to be one of the best guest hotels out there.

Helpful?
Thank RevenueAnalyst1
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

I stayed here for two nights in August whilst visiting friends. As soon as I walked in I felt completely at home. The manager offered me a cup of tea and we chatted for about an hour. The place is spotless, the staff are friendly and the rooms are all brand new. Also i liked the fact I could access... More 

Helpful?
Thank Worrawarun
Leicester, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I've stayed in a couple of the guesthouses in this area in Southampton and this one is good value for what you get. At £40 a night I was a bit concerned but the room was a good size the bed was comfy and the staff were friendly. Breakfast was fine, only thing though I prefer filtered coffee and only... More 

Helpful?
Thank Will C
Ashby de la Zouch
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Fab guest house in the middle of the city centre. I was a bit worried after reading the reviews, but I was pleasantly surprised. All the guest house has now been renovated, so the manager told me, and our rooms were really nice, there is a lovely little court yard at the rear where you can sit, with views of... More 

Helpful?
Thank lee2424
winslow
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We booked The Mayview for one night on the 21st of July through Hotels.com and paid £67.50 for the night. What a mistake! The first impression is that of very run down tatty old house, well that’s exactly what it is, first impressions were right. The outside canopy says everything about the place! The entrance hall is scruffy. I was... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank maryellen1210

Travelers are raving about these Southampton hotels

Worstead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016 via mobile

Yes the linen & towels were clean & staff were present but my room was awful, maybe some others have been renovated? The stud walls had holes, one of which had been filled but not painted & someone had then added graffiti. The room was tiny and you could hear the people in adjoining rooms. OK it is a budget... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Simon G
China, Maine
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 6, 2016

Stayed one night on a stopover to the Isle of wight. Great little place, reasonably priced and very friendly. The rooms have all been renovated recently and it shows. Would definitely stay again.......

Helpful?
1 Thank Sal I
Gosport, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2016

Having arrived early in Southampton by train, as our check in was 1400 and it was only 1100 I rang the hotel to ask if we could drop our bag off; to our pleasant surprise, I was told that we could check in straight away as our room was ready. We dropped our bags off in the room and were... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Neil G
Lee F, Owner at Mayview Guest House, responded to this review

Hi Neil, Thank you for the feedback on the hotel. We're sorry you didn't enjoy your stay with us. We have recently taken over the guesthouse and have an extensive refurbishment planned for the premise including installing a full bathroom suite in your room and soundproofing throughout the premises. Once we have finished the renovations we would like to invite... More 

Chepstow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2016 via mobile

Booked as couldn't get in anywhere else. £38 for b&b so can't grumble about that. Room single shared facilities on top floor. Room was tiny and in the eaves. Low headroom! Room clean with nice TV and good wifi. But heating not working, freezing room so had to sleep fully clothed. Tepid water in shower too. Breakfast fine. Nice proprietor... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Shot2
Lee F, Owner at Mayview Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your feedback. Appologies for the heating problems we had whilst you we're staying we have now fixed the issue and the hotel is nice and warm. Best Lee More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2016 via mobile

Was unsure what to expect for £30 a night and at first glance outside was unsure but once i got in i was pleasantly surprised nice tidy rooms only downside was the shared bathroom but otherwise great owner was pleasant and helpfull

Helpful?
Thank Gareth M
Lee F, Manager at Mayview Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, we try and provide the best quality we can at budget prices. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (7)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Southampton hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Southampton Centre
0.1 mi away
Polygon Villas Guest House
Polygon Villas Guest House
#32 of 43 in Southampton
3.0 of 5 stars 71 reviews
0.1 mi away
City Park Guest House
City Park Guest House
#15 of 43 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 stars 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Landguard House
Landguard House
#14 of 43 in Southampton
4.5 of 5 stars 39 reviews
0.0 mi away
Abbey Lodge
Abbey Lodge
#36 of 43 in Southampton
3.0 of 5 stars 22 reviews
0.4 mi away
Fenland Guest House
Fenland Guest House
#22 of 43 in Southampton
4.0 of 5 stars 67 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )

Additional Information about Mayview Guest House

Address: 30 The Polygon, Southampton SO15 2BN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Southampton
Price Range: $59 - $150 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mayview Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Book Direct Rooms, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, Orbitz, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your Mayview Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay