We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Somerset House Boutique Hotel

Traveler (110)
360
Panoramas (11)
Room & Suite (191)
Certificate of Excellence

About

#9 of 41 hotels in Portsmouth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Certificate of Excellence
The Somerset House Hotel has been restored to the original splendour of its Edwardian roots. It offers boutique rooms with free Wi-FI, just a 5-minute walk from Southsea Beach. The stylish bedrooms all feature satellite TVs and comfortable beds are adorned with Egyptian cotton sheets. The hotel is close to Southsea Common and Southsea Castle. Southsea Hovercraft Port is about 1 mile away, and is a quick way to reach the Isle of Wight. Our very popular Boutique Gastro Pub The Florence Arms is just next door
Read more
Property amenities
Free parking
Room service
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Breakfast included
Dry Cleaning
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Public Wifi
Show more
Room features
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Residential Neighborhood
Charming

Location

Full view
82Good for walkers
Grade: 82 out of 100
14Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
4Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
409Reviews
0Q+A
100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 286
  • 84
  • 23
  • 14
  • 2
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More languages
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Our stay at the Somerset Boutique Hotel was wonderful, the staff were very attentive and helpful. The room was beautifully appointed and decorated. We thoroughly enjoyed our breakfast.. it was freshly cooked for us from an impressive Menu and was lovely. The Breakfast area was
Read more
We’ve stayed in a lot of hotels over the years together but this was up there as one of our least favourites. It gets good reviews but our room must have been the worst one! It was next to the entrance to our building we were staying in and although it’s a old building you
Read more
Response from Reception1113, Director of Sales at Somerset House Boutique Hotel
Responded 3 weeks ago
Thank you for taking the time to review the hotel. We were very disappointed that you did not enjoy your time with us and wish we had known sooner so we could have helped. It certainly sounds as though the majority of the disruption experienced was from noisy guests - you mention noise late at night and hearing noise across the hall and disruption from above which is not normal. The building is old but you should not experience this. Had we known our night porter would have been happy to talk to the guests disturbing you and put things right. We wanted to reassure you that we have also passed on regarding the damp smell to our Housekeeping Manager to resolve quickly. I am glad you enjoyed the fresh breakfast and found the hotel clean. It's such a shame that this aspect of the stay addressed above could not be put right so you could relax and enjoy the stay a little more. As you note - our reviews are generally good and we wish you could have enjoyed a similar stay. Please call us when you are next in the area and we would be delighted to welcome you. Kind regards Reservations
Read more
First time at Mercer Collection and had a great stay.From when we checked in at reception to when we keft the service from all the staff was so helpful.Room was lovely with so much room even with sofa bed in use.We ate at the Gastro pub and food was great.Breakfast was also
Read more
A very nice well located hotel, part of the Mercer Hotels, well appointed. We chose the B&B package which was great! The breakfast choice was good and the waitress, Jasmine, was excellent. They had limited off road parking or on street parking permits available. Great staff who
Read more
“Beautifully individually appointed rooms, sublimely comfortable and so quiet and peaceful. Everything we asked for was thoughtfully and efficiently provided without any fuss. Would have liked to have tried breakfast as the dining room looked so lovely and inviting but had no
Read more
Response from Reception1113, Manager at Somerset House Boutique Hotel
Responded Mar 24, 2019
Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a lovely review. We are pleased that you enjoyed your stay with your chihuahua - it is our pleasure to welcome human and canine guests alike! We look forward to having you stay with us again - remember to book directly for the best price!
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$95 - $236 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
somerset hotel portsmouth
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandPortsmouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
7
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing