We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

119 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 118: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Not a modern Travel Lodge, more of a converted farm house and cottages, but all the rooms were modern travel lodge size and standard. All the staff were very friendly and helpful. Nice pub with huge beer garden next door that does breakfast from 8am. Negatives; but not in a bad way. It's not close to the city centre, but... More 

Helpful?
Thank JandA714
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your helpful review of our Portsmouth Hilsea Travelodge, we appreciate the time you have taken to share your positive experience with us. We encourage our hotel to work hard towards providing the best experience possible for our guests, so we are delighted to hear that our team member was able to make your stay more enjoyable.... More 

East Dereham, Norfolk.
Level Contributor
123 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is a budget hotel and there are +ve as well as -ve features. We chose this location primarily for easy access to Portsmouth Port (about 2 miles away), for an early morning Channel crossing. The proximity to the Port probably accounts for the price, but for £144 for a double room I considered this rather excessive. Also there is... More 

Helpful?
Thank Norfolktraveller77
Level Contributor
112 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We checked in and was welcomed by a very helpful young man, who helped us with information about the local area, bus and trains etc. Had a spot of lunch next door at the Toby carvery, great value and choice. Free car parking. Lovely clean room, very comfortable beds and good sized room, which was very quiet, even on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stephsutton
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for two nights. The room was very clean, fresh towels and bed sheets. Happy staff that were very nice and we'll presented. I would gladly stay here again. It was warm weather outside but when we walked into our room it was nice and cool for us

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank DanielleP1992
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed for one night. Paid £120 for the room which was quite basic. No AC or fan and a tiny window so quite stuffy. Firm mattress, poor shower pressure but enough for one nights sleep over for a friends wedding. Clean enough with friendly staff. Paid for late check out but were still woken by housekeeping banging on the door.... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank 721waynet
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea, responded to this review

Thank you for sharing your experience. Feedback is really important to us and detailed comments like yours will help us in improving our services. We will ensure our hotel team receive a copy of your review and we do apologise for any disappointment that has been caused on this occasion. We hope that there will be another occasion to welcome... More 

Oakley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

so glad we came , the property was well located even with the window open at night it was quiet and a very peiceful stay. The staff could not be more helpful . The place was clean tidy infact we enjoyed the location and the freindlyness that we even booked an extra night

Helpful?
Thank denewicks
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

If you want a cheap hotel after rolling off the Portsmouth Ferry from France then this is just the job. Only a 5 minute drive from the ferry port. The hotel is very average: tired on the outside - needs some paint. There is no air conditioning and we had a hot night! The room stank of smoke and we... More 

Helpful?
Thank kernowreviewer
TravelodgeUK, Niki from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. We are so pleased to learn that you were happy with the service provided by the staff during your stay and that you found the location to be ideal for your need.. We strive to give customers an enjoyable stay and we are happy to see that this has been... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2016

Nice and quiet stay enjoyed it very comfortable beds with good sized rooms shower abit dodgy but ok for one night other then that very good standard comfortable night stay and had a good sleep would recommend

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank chrislU2875VJ
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2016 via mobile

Was booked into the Southsea Travelodge for convenience to ferry port, but they had a flood (apparently) and booked me into Hilsea with promises of paying for taxis. Promises were broken and the room I had was unclean and hot. Avoid this hotel if at all possible, and Travelodge should be ashamed of their service, so avoid brand until they... More 

Helpful?
Thank Grimaudiere
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are really sorry to hear that you had many issues during your stay with us. We strive to offer the best service possible for our guests so please accept our apologies that we did not succeed in doing so on this occasion. We have passed on your feedback to... More 

Travelers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2016 via mobile

The staff were very welcoming and the rooms, although very basic, were nice and clean. When we ran out of shower/hair gel the staff were quick to replace it without any fuss. We did have issues with some of the other guests making a lot of loud noise till very late and our children couldn't get to sleep. However, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kirsty B
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea, responded to this review

We're concerned to hear of your recent experience at our Portsmouth Hilsea Travelodge and we appreciate you taking the time to leave us your review. We strive to offer our guests a good night’s sleep and an enjoyable experience whilst staying with us. That is why we are sorry to hear that you were not positively impressed by your last... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

25 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (10)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Portsmouth
Travelodge Portsmouth
#23 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 stars 648 reviews
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth Port Solent Hotel
2.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
6.5 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel
1.2 mi away
Farmhouse & Innlodge
Farmhouse & Innlodge
#34 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.0 of 5 stars 368 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea

Address: Copnor Road | Hilsea, Portsmouth PO3 5HS, England (Formerly Innkeeper's Lodge Portsmouth)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range: $79 - $151 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea 1*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea Hotel Portsmouth
Innkeepers Hotel Portsmouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay