We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea

Show Prices
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 114: English reviews
Surrey, United Kingdom
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed for one night. Paid £120 for the room which was quite basic. No AC or fan and a tiny window so quite stuffy. Firm mattress, poor shower pressure but enough for one nights sleep over for a friends wedding. Clean enough with friendly staff. Paid for late check out but were still woken by housekeeping banging on the door.... More 

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank 721waynet
Oakley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

so glad we came , the property was well located even with the window open at night it was quiet and a very peiceful stay. The staff could not be more helpful . The place was clean tidy infact we enjoyed the location and the freindlyness that we even booked an extra night

Helpful?
Thank denewicks
Level Contributor
68 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

If you want a cheap hotel after rolling off the Portsmouth Ferry from France then this is just the job. Only a 5 minute drive from the ferry port. The hotel is very average: tired on the outside - needs some paint. There is no air conditioning and we had a hot night! The room stank of smoke and we... More 

Helpful?
Thank kernowreviewer
London, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice and quiet stay enjoyed it very comfortable beds with good sized rooms shower abit dodgy but ok for one night other then that very good standard comfortable night stay and had a good sleep would recommend

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank chrislU2875VJ
Windsor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Was booked into the Southsea Travelodge for convenience to ferry port, but they had a flood (apparently) and booked me into Hilsea with promises of paying for taxis. Promises were broken and the room I had was unclean and hot. Avoid this hotel if at all possible, and Travelodge should be ashamed of their service, so avoid brand until they... More 

Helpful?
Thank Grimaudiere
TravelodgeUK, Nicolas from the Social Media team at Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We are really sorry to hear that you had many issues during your stay with us. We strive to offer the best service possible for our guests so please accept our apologies that we did not succeed in doing so on this occasion. We have passed on your feedback to... More 

Travelers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The staff were very welcoming and the rooms, although very basic, were nice and clean. When we ran out of shower/hair gel the staff were quick to replace it without any fuss. We did have issues with some of the other guests making a lot of loud noise till very late and our children couldn't get to sleep. However, the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kirsty B
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea, responded to this review

We're concerned to hear of your recent experience at our Portsmouth Hilsea Travelodge and we appreciate you taking the time to leave us your review. We strive to offer our guests a good night’s sleep and an enjoyable experience whilst staying with us. That is why we are sorry to hear that you were not positively impressed by your last... More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

only stayed 1 night before catching ferry early next morning but everything was fine staff were very good.Would reccomend as value better than the cabin booked on the ferry, ideally placed for ferry to Caen

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank stephendV4662HU
Millac
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

The room looked very nice until you tried to sleep the people in the rooms next door come back from the bar next door shouting and fooling around at midnight had to go to reception and ask them to go to the room and tell them to keep the noise down the walls are so thin you could hear the... More 

Helpful?
Thank johnomillac
TravelodgeUK, shannon from the Social Media Team at Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea, responded to this review

We apologise for the issues you experienced during your stay with us and we would like to look into this further for you. Thank you for your review, first of all I would like to apologise for the inconvenience and please may I suggest you contact our Customer Services team so they can look into this in more detail. More 

Chester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Handy place to stay before catching ferry to Cherbourg. Staff very friendly and helpful. We arrived quite late after driving down from Cheshire and were allocated room 114. When we went in, we were immediately greeted by the chemical, musty pong of wet carpet. Yes the complete carpet was sopping wet. We went straight back to reception to point this... More 

Helpful?
Thank gmb1947
TravelodgeUK, Charlotte from The Social Media Team at Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea, responded to this review

We're pleased to learn our hotel team did their best to resolve the issues experienced at our Portsmouth Hilsea Travelodge, however we would like to sincerely apologise for the experience you received. We will be sure to pass your helpful comments on to the hotel team and we do hope you stay with us again. More 

Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Pleasant hotel and staff. The 'comfortable king size bed' wasn't comfortable at all!!. Room a good size, shower pressure poor. All in all a decent nights sleep in a good priced hotel. It is what it is.

Review collected in partnership with Travelodge

Helpful?
Thank susancT8687ZK
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

24 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (9)
Viewed
Other (9)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.4 mi away
Travelodge Portsmouth
Travelodge Portsmouth
#22 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 stars 630 reviews
1.6 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth North Harbour Hotel
6.5 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth (Horndean) Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Farmhouse & Innlodge
Farmhouse & Innlodge
#32 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.0 of 5 stars 357 reviews
2.4 mi away
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking

Additional Information about Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea

Address: Copnor Road | Hilsea, Portsmouth PO3 5HS, England (Formerly Innkeeper's Lodge Portsmouth)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range: $81 - $186 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea 1*
Number of rooms: 33
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotel.de and Travelocity so you can book your Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Travelodge Portsmouth Hilsea Hotel Portsmouth
Innkeepers Hotel Portsmouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay