We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Panoramas (8)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,136 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,098: English reviews
London, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

Stayed with girls For hen weekend. LUKE and Tim worked hard behind bar and reception. Rooms were lovely and pillows superb. Fab location for everything Only thing was breakfast not so nice as only scrambled egg. Sausage and beans which were not too tasty. Otherwise great

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kim T
exeter
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Turned up and were greeted by Becky on reception, who I have to say was friendly, helpful, polite and a credit to this hotel chain. The rooms are clean and what is expected from Holiday Inn, and the location is excellent.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ash2foz
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

I went for a business trip. I reserved the room through the hotel. The girl on the phone did not send me a confirmation e mail. When I arrived they told me that the room was booked for 1 night and not 2 but thankfully they transferred me to an other holiday inn. Next day I returned back for my...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mina G
Reviewed 1 week ago

Pros: - Location ideal for shopping and for visiting the historic docks (5 minute walk!) - Parking is validated, therefore free as long as you dont go over the limit after validation. - Room is excellent, amazing shower, huge bed and you do get a television too and a hair dryer. Cons: - Breakfast was awful. It contains Beans, Scrambled...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Georgina H
Nairobi, Kenya
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here in July when attending a graduation. The location is great. It is next to all the great restaurants and the rooms though small are quite clean. I was happy with the overall service and the location.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank sandie m
I F, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Dear Sandie M, Thank you for reviewing your stay at our hotel. We are pleased that you had a great time whilst here for a graduation. Hopefully we will welcome you back again soon. Kind regards, Duty Manager

Staffordshire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Standard HIX in a really decent location You've stopped at one HIX and you've kind of stopped in them all Clean room and a car park nearby that you get free for 24 hrs First impression of the lift wasn't good with buttons broken My TV remote didn't work but I'd brought my own radio anyway so wasn't bothered Would...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Gideon B
I F, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Dear Gideon B, Thank you for reviewing your stay with us. We are pleased that you found your stay with us comfortable and that you used our great car park discount with Gunwharf Quays. Regarding the lifts, they occasionally throughout the day reset, so this is when they become tricky to use. We apologise that you tried to use the...

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed overnight with my partner as picking kids up from IoW ferry early following day. Reasonably priced for location & style of hotel: clean, tidy- could have more coffee milk etc- but for one night it was fine. Ideal location, easy to find- parking bit crazy- but it was Xmas holidays! Bar was a bit of a let down- not...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank A TripAdvisor Member
I F, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Dear Valued Guest, Thank you for your review. We are pleased you took advantage of our great location and that you enjoyed your stay. Over Christmas we did experience an unusually high amount of bar customers which did mean that we were low on some drinks for a short time. We apologise for this inconvenience but hope that you would...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed at the hotel in November and we had a lovely time, but unfortunately I left my ted baker makeup/travel bag (full of Mac make up and other expensive bits) in the bathroom when we checked out (my fault I know). I rang the hotel as soon as I got home and was told that there was no record...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Natasha D
I F, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Dear Natasha D, First of all let us apolgise for the situation you experienced when you stayed with us. This is something that we do not really experience in our hotel, as we have the procedure you mentioned in your review. We have a strong team in both the front desk and housekeeping, with a good relationship between both areas,...

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On checking in (I think it was Vicky) we were welcomed and informed of everything that we needed to know. The room was excellent breakfast hit all the spots and the service here is superb, you rarely get such personal service in big companies they tend to be processed but the team here treat everyone as individuals. well done and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank poplarjohn
I F, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Dear poplarjohn, We really appreciate the time that you have taken to review your stay with us. It is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay. It is especially great to hear that you thought our staff were great. We know we are lucky with the team we have here. We make sure that all personalities shine through, so...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I spent 1 night in this hotel with my wife and son. The location is unbeatable. Right next to dozens of restaurants, coffee shops, shops, and landmarks. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The only bad experience was in finding the hotel's car park. Holiday Inn management should add a sign or a statement on their website to let...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Tameem B
I F, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays, responded to this review

Dear Tameem B, Thanks for reviewing your stay with us. It is great to read that you took advantage of our great location and that you enjoyed your stay with us. Regarding the sign for the hotel, this is a council issue that we are trying to resolve. The information about the car park and the charges is on our...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

310 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (123)
Viewed
View from Room (16)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (13)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (6)
Viewed
Other (60)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (108)
Viewed
Accessible Double Room (19)
Viewed
Double Room (17)
Viewed
Double Room with Canal and City View (22)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
The Hotel (15)
Viewed
Twin Room (12)
Viewed
Twin Room with Spinnaker View (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (79)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (26)
Viewed
Dining (17)
Viewed
Room/Suite (19)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (10)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.6 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
#21 of 38 in Portsmouth
908 reviews
1.4 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,029 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
0.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,385 reviews
3.6 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
Services
  • Breakfast included
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth hotel is located within Gunwharf Quays which is a vibrant waterfront development offering a number of attractions, including over 95 designer clothing outlets,over 25 restaurants & bars, a cinema, ten pin bowling, casino and comedy club. The Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth Hotel is ideally located for business or leisure breaks. It comprises 130 en-suite bedrooms and 2 modern meeting rooms, all with comfort cooling, natural daylight and free wifi throughout the hotel. The Great room and lounge area situated on the first floor offers drinks and relaxation in the evening, as well as a free continental breakfast with hot favourites which include scrambled egg, sausages & baked beans in the morning. Undercover secure parking is available in the award winning main Gunwharf Quays car park, all Hotel guests receive discounted rates for car parking in the main Gunwharf Quays car park, first twenty four hours or first exit is free of charge and then second 24 hours or exit and thereafter are charged at £2. Access to trains, buses and ferries are all within walking distance. Southampton International Airport is 22 miles away. Convenient access to all of Portsmouth's many attractions, including the Spinnaker Tower, The Historic Dockyard, Portsmouth Old Town with its cobbled streets and the waterfront, filled with traditional pubs and restaurants are all within walking distance. PLEASE NOTE: THE HOLIDAY INN EXPRESS - PORTSMOUTH GUNWHARF QUAYS HAS DEDICATED DISABLED CAR SPACES OUTSIDE THE HOTEL ENTRANCE, WITH A DROP OFF/PICK UP FACILITY BY THE FRONT DOOR. THERE IS APPROX A 3 MINUTE WALK FROM THE UNDERGROUND CAR PARK TO HOTEL ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays

Address: Gunwharf Quays | Gunwharf Quays, Portsmouth PO1 3FD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range: $108 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays Hotel Portsmouth
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays staff and other travelers.
19 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (19)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Call the hotel and make sure you understand the car park arrangements”
 of 5 bubbles TameemB, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“ask for a room overlooking the Gunwharf Quay rather than the rear of the hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles B4416HCmarkc, Nov 28, 2016 | Read review
“Depends if the lift is working!”
 of 5 bubbles SarahW42, Nov 6, 2016 | Read review
“Best views from upper floors”
 of 5 bubbles Mikko66, Nov 6, 2016 | Read review
“Third floor rooms are probably quieter and have better views”
 of 5 bubbles angela186370, Nov 5, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay