We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

907 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 876: English reviews
Newport, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is a hotel which is being renovated so there is some disruption in the carpark as builders are storing building materials this means less parking spaces. The staff are really helpful and the best part of the hotel. The food is very good, however the thing that annoyed me was the wifi. The free wifi as standard is useless....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tonygeot
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

This was our second stay at Holiday Inn Portsmouth and it was fine. What impressed me the most was the helpfulness if the kitchen staff in dealing with my children's allergies. They even made my son dairy free egg free pancakes! A big thank you for that! We stayed in a family room and there are 5 of us and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alicia P
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here on NYE as we attended their NYE Gala so we received a reduced room rate of £58 which included breakfast for two (full English). This was all excellent with fresh fried eggs on tap and plenty of choice if you preferred continental. We found the drinks quite expensive at just under a tenner for two drinks but...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carolyn M
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My son and his new wife celebrated their wedding with a reception here on the 30th December 2016. Our events coordinator Isabella handled our booking and was efficient and professional throughout. The room was beautifully decorated in the style we had requested and looked lovely. The staff were attentive and efficient. We had soup served to the table followed by...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank MAandSBrown
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Myself and my friends celebrated New Years Eve at this Holiday Inn Portsmouth. The theme was fire and ice and we were pleasantly surprised at the way the venue was decorated. There were lots of round tables with crisp white table cloths, a central display ice sculpture, pretty crackers, napkins,little boxes containing party blowers,streamers etc. I emailed in advance to...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Carol B
HR Manager H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Carol B, Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with The Holiday Inn Portsmouth. Thank you for all of your positive feedback regarding our New Years Eve Gala Dinner. Customer satisfaction is extremely important to us so hear these lovely comments makes all our hard work worthwhile. I will pass on your suggestions about more staff...

Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I was visiting the Holiday inn Portsmouth for an out of office conference, I was in the hotel 2 hours and have been given a parking fine, it doesn't clearly state anywhere within the car park that you needed to register your vehicle inside the hotel to qualify for the free parking. I was parked in a disabled bay, there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Charlotte E
HR Manager H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Charlotte E, Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with The Holiday Inn Portsmouth. I am sorry to hear you have recently received a parking fine. We do have many signs around the car park stating that our car park is managed by a company called ParkingEye and you need to register your vehicle at reception....

Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Every year as a family we treat ourselves to a hotel stay and Christmas dinner. As a group of 13 people we spent a lot of money and we completely shocked and disappointed at the quality the service we received and the food you served. I've had better dinners in weatherspoons. The food was really poor quality and completely tasteless,...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank cecook
HR Manager H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear cecook, Thank you for taking the time to review your visit with The Holiday Inn Portsmouth. I am sorry to hear you were disappointed with your recent stay, especially as it was over the Christmas period. We have received a lot of positive feedback from other guests regarding Christmas Day Lunch but I will pass on all of your...

Worthing, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

My wife and I visited the hotel for a weekend away, before Christmas. We were very lucky to be able to park in the hotel car park as there were many Christmas revellers. The receptionist was helpful, pleasant and efficient as we booked in. So we went up to our room, which had been recently refurbished. The room had good...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Pisces232
HR Manager H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Pisces232, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. Thank you for your positive feedback regarding helpful staff and efficient check in. Customer satisfaction is extremely important to us so to hear these lovely comments makes all our hard work worthwhile. I am pleased you enjoyed the seaview in your bedroom but I...

Fareham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a good Christmas party here. The place was heaving but there was enough space for eating around the tables. Considering the numbers being catered for, the food came out hot and was average. We did have to ask for more vegatables as they were a bit stingy with the portions, however, it was a free bar and wine on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank tracyc305
HR Manager H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear tracyc305, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. Thank you for all of your feedback, without it we wouldn't be able to continually improve our standards. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your Christmas Party with us and will certainly pass on all your comments to the Catering Team. Thank...

Bristol, UK
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Our room (229) had been refurbished recently and at first glance it looked good - but on closer inspection it looks like the contractors really rushed the job. There was missing paint on the skirting boards, poorly applied tile grout in the bathroom, paint splashes on the bathroom mirror and chunks of wood missing from the bottom of the bathroom...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Bender_B_Rodriguez
HR Manager H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Bender_B_Rodriguez, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. Thank you for all your positive comments regarding good value for money and location. Please accept my apologies for the issues you have raised regarding your bedroom. I have passed all your feedback on to the Maintenance Manager and General Manager so thank you...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

147 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (108)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (30)
Viewed
Bathroom (21)
Viewed
View from Room (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
0:41
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (32)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
4.0 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#17 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,100 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#20 of 38 in Portsmouth
1,385 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
0.8 mi away
Royal Maritime Club
Royal Maritime Club
#25 of 38 in Portsmouth
457 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Paid Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located near the seafront in Portsmouth in the heart of Hampshire within easy access of the M27 MotorwayOnly a five minute walk from Old Portsmouth where you can spend a nautical day discovering the famous Historic Dockyard and ships HMS Victory, HMS Warrior and the Mary RoseThe leisure and shopping destination Gunwharf Quays near the Spinnaker Tower is set on the waterfront and minutes from the hotel with designer label stores, cinema, bowling alley, comedy club and numerous bars and restaurants. Port Solent is one of the south coast s most impressive marinas with shops, restaurants, bars and a cinemaThe hotel consists of 165 en-suite fully air conditioned bedrooms, Spirit Health Club, Academy Conference Centre, Restaurant, Bar and Lounge AreaThe excellent accommodation has all the comforts you would expect from a first class hotel including interactive TV's with movies and Play Station Games and high speed internet accessThe facilities include Restaurant, 24 hour Room Service, Lounge and Bar Area and complimentary use for residents of the Spirit Health Club with gym, indoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna. The hotel has 9 conference and training rooms and can accommodate from 2-150 delegates in the fully air-conditioned Academy Conference Centre with wireless internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffee. Accessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free (terms and conditions apply)The hotel has limited onsite parking but can supply permits for in house guest for the ample parking surrounding hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Address: Pembroke Road, Portsmouth PO1 2TA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range: $108 - $187 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, IHG and Travelocity so you can book your Holiday Inn Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Holiday Inn Portsmouth staff and other travelers.
3 questions
Ask a question
Nuneaton, United Kingdom
4 months ago
Telford, United Kingdom
over a year ago

See all questions (3)

Questions? Get answers from Holiday Inn Portsmouth staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for a sea view”
  • What the...?
 of 5 bubbles Bender_B_Rodriguez, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Sixth floor for best views and executive room perks.”
 of 5 bubbles marinerCoventry, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“All very standard, go cheap and eat elsewhere.”
 of 5 bubbles Plashfacker, Dec 7, 2016 | Read review
“Park early to get a space, and avoid trees laden with seagulls.”
 of 5 bubbles BerkshireTravelHog, Nov 23, 2016 | Read review
“Try to get a room on the upper floors 429/529 amazing views!”
 of 5 bubbles S8063OQmariaa, Nov 18, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay