We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Holiday Inn Portsmouth
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

840 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 810: English reviews
warwickshire
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

location a good 15 min walk to centre but not a problem good facilities.Portsmouth Docks worth visiting it appears to be expensive per entrance but there is lots to do & the ticket lasts for a year plus boat trips. Spinaker Tower ..shops

Helpful?
Thank sofysmum
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I only stayed in this hotel for one night whilst I was down in Portsmouth for work. I was impressed with the location and size of the rooms, however the smell of paint in a lot of corridors was a little frustrating. The gym and pool was lovely and very needed after a long day. I ate at Gunwharf Quays... More 

Helpful?
Thank RyanP26
Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Arrival appeared to run smoothly but reception were slow to register the arrival meaning that going to our room and trying to log on to the internet wouldn't work. So unpacked went down for a drink and even there we weren't registered to our room so staff had too chase reception to sort their act out. The accommodation is average... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kevin C
Billericay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This Holiday Inn is in the process of refurbishment. Parking is limited but street parking is outside. Staff weren't too great when I arrived as English wasn't their first language, their instructions were a little confusing. Breakfast as you would expect from Holiday Inn. Within walking distance of Gunn Wharf etc. Still a pleasant stay

Helpful?
Thank iggyt_ricay
HR Manager H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear iggyt_ricay, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. Customer satisfaction is of utmost importance to us so thank you for this feedback with regards to Reception. The rooms are currently undergoing refurbishments but we are expecting these to be finished very soon. Thank you again for your time and we look forward... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

After reading a few reviews on trip adviser, was a bit worried about what to expect. My husband was not planning to leave the hotel room due to his health, so really needed the room to be welcoming and comfortable for him. We were lucky to get a sea view room. The room was a good size for 2 adults... More 

Helpful?
Thank Radhika S
HR Manager H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Radhika S, Thankyou for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. I'm delighted you enjoyed your recent stay with us and thankyou for all of your positive feedback. Customer service is of utmost importance to us so to hear that the staff were a delight makes all of our hard work worthwhile and I will... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked the holiday inn as it is a well known company as i was sharing a twin room thought it would have been bigger, the hotel itself felt a bit run down. The breakfast was fine, parking is limited so if you cant get a space in the carpark see the staff and get a ticket to park across the... More 

Helpful?
Thank smudge1295
HR Manager H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Smudge1295, Thank you for taking your time to review the Holiday Inn Portsmouth. Your feedback is very important to us as without it we couldn't continually improve our standards. Thank you for your positive comments about the breakfast The hotel was built in the 1970's so the rooms are all of a similar size, sadly on the smaller side,... More 

Nuneaton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Choose somewhere else for less grief! Grubby hotel, even though there are signs of renovation. Had to dodge decorators and renovators throughout. Paint over the carpet and dirty towels left in the corridor. Breakfast is a scrum, although the food is not too bad. They kept running out of hot water for tea, so lots of people looking rather lost... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lynda C
HR Manager H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Lynda C, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. I am so sorry to hear about the problems you encountered during your recent stay with us. Your feedback is very important to us and I will be speaking to the Reception Manager about the problems you mention. If you would like to... More 

Travelers are raving about these Portsmouth hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Our friends booked this hotel for one a one night stay as we were heading to France early next morning. On checking in we told the receptionist the we had parked in the shopping maul car park and had not used the hotel entrance, to which she confirmed that we re park. So we payed our parking drove out and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Barry A
HR Manager H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Barry A, Thank you for taking your time to review your stay at The Holiday Inn Portsmouth. However I do believe this review could be for Holiday Inn Express at Gunwharf Quays? We are located on Southsea seafront approximately a 15 minutes walk from Gunwharf Quays which has the car park attached to the shopping centre. Kind Regards Rachel... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

it's a Holiday Inn! a it of a tired hotel but looks like it's being renovated at the moment. Don't eat in the hotel, you'll get much better for a similar price elsewhere! the drinks are a reasonable price. The rooms are comfortable, but a bit hot so turn on the aircon!

Helpful?
Thank alister g
HR Manager H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Alister G, Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with Holiday Inn Portsmouth. Thank you for all of your feedback, without it we wouldn't be able to continually improve our standards. I'm pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay and thank you for your positive comments with regards to value for money and location. Thank... More 

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great location, food was very nice. I have stayed in many other holiday inns, as I am working at the one of the ihg hotels, and can get rooms a bit cheaper, but the food was the best at this hotel!! Staff were friendly, the most helpful was chinese lady (unfortunately, do not remember her name), she was a duty... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lara S
HR Manager H, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Lara S, Thank you for taking you time to review the Holiday Inn Portsmouth. It is great to read you enjoyed your stay, and even more so that you will definitely stay again, we could ask for no greater compliment, thank you. I will pass your kind words on to the team. We look forward to welcoming you back... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

137 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (98)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
View from Room (6)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (26)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
0:41
Videos (2)
Viewed
Other (29)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (13)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
0.5 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
4.0 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#16 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 1,003 reviews
4.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
Premier Inn Southsea Hotel
#15 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 621 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Clarence Hotel
The Clarence Hotel
#1 of 38 in Portsmouth
5.0 of 5 stars 975 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#21 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 stars 1,268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Paid Wifi
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Internet
Services
  • Room Service
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Located near the seafront in Portsmouth in the heart of Hampshire within easy access of the M27 MotorwayOnly a five minute walk from Old Portsmouth where you can spend a nautical day discovering the famous Historic Dockyard and ships HMS Victory, HMS Warrior and the Mary RoseThe leisure and shopping destination Gunwharf Quays near the Spinnaker Tower is set on the waterfront and minutes from the hotel with designer label stores, cinema, bowling alley, comedy club and numerous bars and restaurants. Port Solent is one of the south coast s most impressive marinas with shops, restaurants, bars and a cinemaThe hotel consists of 165 en-suite fully air conditioned bedrooms, Spirit Health Club, Academy Conference Centre, Restaurant, Bar and Lounge AreaThe excellent accommodation has all the comforts you would expect from a first class hotel including interactive TV's with movies and Play Station Games and high speed internet accessThe facilities include Restaurant, 24 hour Room Service, Lounge and Bar Area and complimentary use for residents of the Spirit Health Club with gym, indoor pool, Jacuzzi and sauna. The hotel has 9 conference and training rooms and can accommodate from 2-150 delegates in the fully air-conditioned Academy Conference Centre with wireless internet access and all day tea and Starbucks coffee. Accessible & Family Rooms available. Kids Stay & Eat Free (terms and conditions apply)The hotel has limited onsite parking but can supply permits for in house guest for the ample parking surrounding hotel. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Portsmouth

Address: Pembroke Road, Portsmouth PO1 2TA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range: $116 - $218 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Portsmouth 3*
Number of rooms: 166
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, IHG, Odigeo, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Portsmouth Hotel Portsmouth
Portsmouth Holiday Inn
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay