We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth

Show Prices
GreenLeadersSilver level
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,050 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 941: English reviews
Croydon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I booked a couple of rooms a few months before our trip and got a very reasonable price. We arrived around 9-ish with our loaded car. Ibis have about 6 spaces infront if the hotel so had to park in the overflow across the road... Nothing wrong with that but had to unload the car. Checked in with ease. We... More 

Helpful?
Thank Simon T
Suffolk, UK
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is fine but if parking a luton or camper van, watch out for the poorly signed overhangs of the apartment building next to the car park. These apparently get hit by vehicles frequently but there aren't any warning signs.

Helpful?
Thank pixlink
IbisbudgetPortsmouth, Reception Team Leader at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear pixlink, Thank you for taking the time to write a review and for the information that you've imparted to future guests. I am glad that you were satisfied with what we offer and hope that you will stay again soon. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Agatha Reception Team Leader More 

Abergavenny, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Good, just what I was expecting. Clean, relatively quiet, next to the train station so easy to get to and from town/beach. Breakfast was a bit disappointing and there was a huge games table right next to where you have to prepare your toast, but otherwise good.

Helpful?
Thank kaymarielewis
IbisbudgetPortsmouth, Reception Team Leader at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear kaymarielewis, Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. I am glad that yours was, mostly, a pleasant stay. I am sorry to read that your experience of our breakfast was marred by the Foosball table located in the public area. Your feedback has been noted, with our appreciation. I hope that you will stay... More 

Level Contributor
72 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I have stayed in this hotel for two days as it was one of the cheapest accommodations in town and possibly not too far from the city centre where I had to attend a conference. I think that "budget hotel" is key here. It is really essential,and provides exactly the services it offers. Nothing less,nothing more. Rooms are really clean... More 

Helpful?
Thank MargheZippata
IbisbudgetPortsmouth, Reception Team Leader at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear MargheZippata, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased to read that yours was, on the whole, a positive experience and thank you for both your feedback and your recommendation. We hope that you will stay with us again and look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Agatha Reception Team Leader More 

Garstang, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a short stay at this hotel after arriving from France on our ferry. The staff were friendly at check in and although we couldn't park at the hotel they recommended B&Q which is across the road. The rooms are small and functional and are definitely budget. The bed was comfortable and the shower powerful. The floor just seemed... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sozzle27
IbisbudgetPortsmouth, Reception Team Leader at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Sozzle27, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am sorry to read that yours wasn't an entirely pleasant stay. Your comments have been noted and we will investigate the issues you raise so as to ensure that your next stay is more up to the standards we strive to achieve at the ibis budget Portsmouth.... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
156 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We spent a night here in June, as a family of three. Despite booking very early this was the cheapest we could find in all of Portsmouth, and still it was rather expensive for a tiny room. Overall it's a newish property, with a clean and functional feel. Parking is a bit confusing - it;s very easy to overlook that... More 

Helpful?
Thank MGS44
IbisbudgetPortsmouth, Reception Team Leader at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear MGS44, Thank you for taking the time to let us know about your stay. Your comments regarding the ease with which guests can identify parking spaces have been noted. We will continue to try and make sure that our guests are aware of all the viable parking options in the area. We hope you will stay again soon and... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Great value basic accommodation - small but perfectly formed, clean and fresh. Did not try food, but looked very basic. Good location 10 mins by car from naval museum and outlet shops at GunWharf Quay. Would highly recommend. Limited parking on-site but overflow parking available 400m away in a B&Q parking lot. Seemed open and safe and part of the... More 

Helpful?
Thank walkerwalker1
IbisbudgetPortsmouth, Reception Team Leader at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear walkerwalker1, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased to read that yours was a positive experience and hope that you will give us the opportunity to receive you as a guest again soon. We look forward to making you feel welcome. Kind regards, Agatha Reception Team Leader More 

United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Very clean and friendly hotel. the bed was very comfortable, and the bed linen was crisp and fresh. Most people know what to expect at an IBIS, but if there is a better example of one, then I am yet to stay in it and I have stayed in a lot! The staff could not have been more pleasant and... More 

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank 01Sanddancer
IbisbudgetPortsmouth, Reception Team Leader at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear 01Sanddancer, Thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am pleased to read that you found our beds comfortable and our staff helpful. Doubly so to read that you will stay again. We look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Agatha Reception Team Leader More 

Peterborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Pleasant. What you expect from a budget ibis. Clean, tidy, totally what we needed. However not great having strong 'weed' smell floating down the corridor from other rooms. Especially when I'm staying here with kids.

Helpful?
Thank louisemadhon
IbisbudgetPortsmouth, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Louise, Thank you for sharing your thoughts with us after recent stay and sharing your concern regarding smell in the corridor. I have requested our housekeeping team to be vigilant and report any suspicious activity to local law enforcement authority. I am glad that you found the hotel to be clean and tidy. I hope I will have an... More 

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

First class service from a great budget hotel. Agatha on reception was extremely helpful and welcoming. Huge thank you for taking care of our bikes and the help with car parking. Really appreciate it!

Helpful?
Thank Alison B
IbisbudgetPortsmouth, General Manager at Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth, responded to this review

Dear Alison, Thank you for taking the time to write your review on tripadvisor. I am really happy to see your feedback about our hotel and Agatha. I will also share your feedback with the team as well. I look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us very soon. Many Thanks, Waqas Bin Tahir General Manager More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

88 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (58)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (17)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (30)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (14)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Portsmouth hotels
1.1 mi away
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
Ibis Portsmouth Centre
#21 of 38 in Portsmouth
3.5 of 5 stars 1,268 reviews
3.7 mi away
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
Portsmouth Marriott Hotel
#16 of 38 in Portsmouth
4.0 of 5 stars 1,002 reviews
1.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Royal Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - North
1.1 mi away
Premier Inn Portsmouth City Centre Hotel
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Portsmouth - Gunwharf Quays
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
GreenLeadersSilver level
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Air Conditioning
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
WAQAS BIN TAHIR, the manager of the Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth hotel, would like to welcome you. Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth is a low-cost hotel situated in Fratton, 5 minutes walking distance of Fratton Train Station, close to Pompey FC, Portsmouth City Centre. Great proximity to the beach, shopping and nightlife of the town. All 120 guest rooms are 100% non-smoking and has en-suite shower, air cooling as well as flat screen TV with Freeview. As much as you can eat continental breakfast buffet is served every morning at £5.50. Free Wi-Fi available for all guests. Free offsite parking at B&Q opposite the hotel (permit is required from reception). Limited onsite parking on first come first serve basis. Ferry Terminals, Gunwharf, Guildhall, Spinnaker Tower, D-Day Museum and Historic Dockyards are 10 minutes away by car or taxi for those who would like to explore beautiful Portsmouth. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth

Address: 4 The Pompey Centre Fratton Way | Fratton Way, Portsmouth PO4 8SL, England (Formerly Etap Hotel Portsmouth)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Hampshire > Portsmouth
Price Range: $44 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth 2*
Number of rooms: 120
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, ACCOR, Booking.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Odigeo, Travelocity and Agoda so you can book your Hotel ibis budget Portsmouth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Etap Portsmouth
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Portsmouth
#2 Green Hotel in Portsmouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay