We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Imperial Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Imperial Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

172 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 165: English reviews
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I decided to stay here to try the Thai food, but was disappointed to be told the restaurant was closed on a Monday on checking in. I have revisited the website and found under a list of items that they do confirm this, but a pity it was not highlighted better, also unusual for a hotel to not offer food...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank AdmiralGant
Staines, United Kingdom
Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Stayed for one night B&B and we were pleasantly surprised by the size and standard of our room. Very clean and comfortable. We raised a few queries with the staff who were very helpful. Breakfast was cooked well and nicely presented. Car park is quite small but we had no problem finding a space.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank SupperNorm
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

If you're in the car, there's only approx 10 spaces in the Free car park, so be aware - there's ample space in the (charging) adjacent station car park though. Good, clean hotel with pleasant helpful staff. Breakfast A1. A bit dated in design, but that's Stroud for you 😃

 Report
Helpful?
Thank d1verchris
Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I booked 3 nights last week as I was visiting some relatives in the area of Stroud. I wasn't sure whether to book this hotel or Premier Inn. I called the hotel and the lady in reservations offered me a 10% off from the normal rate for the 3 nights including breakfast. I thought it was a good deal and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ml2015
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Friendly staff who remember you! Charming clear rooms. I love the rooms overlooking the railway station with a view of the hills and windows that open wide for fresh air. Always enjoy my stay and will return again.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Farida S
Stroud, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

This is the first time I use this place for a birthday party. Everything went a s planned. We booked 3 rooms for some of our relatives who live outside Gloucestershire. We saw he rooms and they were very clean and spacious. The management gave us a great rate for our three course Thai meal for 30 persons. Room hire...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Visitor G
Burslem
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stopped at this hotel 1 one night booked double room £89 . We were not happy with the room as owner agread with us it was the smallest room in the hotel . After a discussion on payment we all agread on £75 charge for the room. Charge for single room. We paid CASH and a receipt was issued ,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Ian V
Lakshman G, Front Office Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ian V, We know that you are the same person who wrote the previous review under ppviggars. We offered you a discount as a gesture of goodwill since you never complained during your stay about anything. You know that there were no reasons to issue a refund. We were only informed at check out about your dissatisfaction with the...

stoke on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Disgusting. Arrived to find nowhere to park first off, to be charged 1.75 an hour on the road. Apparently first come first serviced with the hotel carpark if you can call it that. Our room was on the top floor, very small when we entered to find a small bed with one side up against the wall two pillows in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ppviggars
Lakshman G, Manager at The Imperial Hotel, responded to this review

Dear PPviggars, We are very disappointed after reading your review about my hotel which does not reflect at all the way we conduct our business. It is clearly advertised in every online agency that our car park is on a first come, first served basis. You booked via booking.com and this information is on their website. It is not "apparently"....

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

The hotel is efficient and clean with friendly staff. Our breakfast was good (we had the full vegetarian). The bedroom was amply furnished and the showers and en suite bathroom were fantastic. The bar and lounge downstairs is very good to entertain guests and friends. I'd also recommend staying here if you're on a budget.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mr_M_Shields
Coventry, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

a nice welcome on arrival check in is in the bar area being an old coaching inn no lift a nice room comfy bed the usual plenty tea coffee etc good bathroom with shower. the restaurant was nice menu of Thai cuisine was very nice for me as first time eaten was very filling breakfast was just as good

 Report
Helpful?
Thank happy59traveller
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

45 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (22)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (4)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (23)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Stroud
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Stroud Hotel
1.6 mi away
Bear of Rodborough Hotel
3.1 mi away
Stonehouse Court
Stonehouse Court
#1 of 2 in Stonehouse
570 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Egypt Mill Hotel & Restaurant
2.3 mi away
Burleigh Court Hotel
Burleigh Court Hotel
#1 of 1 in Minchinhampton
232 reviews
8.4 mi away
The New County Hotel
The New County Hotel
#20 of 21 in Gloucester
325 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
Food & drink at the hotel
Thai Royal Orchid
Thai Royal Orchid
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Imperial Hotel is situated in the centre of the Cotswold town of Stroud amidst beautiful countryside views. Recently renovated with bright, modern furnishing, The Imperial Hotel was once a coaching inn and was built over 300 years ago. It still retains many period features throughout the hotel. All 21 rooms at The Imperial Hotel feature private en suite bathrooms, TVs, hairdryers, and tea and coffee-making facilities. Full English breakfasts are available to guests each morning. The Imperial Hotel Thai Royal Orchid Restaurant serves a traditional Thai menu. The hotel also offers a range of wines, real ales and single malt whiskies. Stroud is situated in the Cotswolds surrounded by beautiful countryside, rivers, streams and wooded valleys. Stroud Railway Station is immediately next to The Imperial, and the nearby M4 motorway is easily accessible. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Imperial Hotel

Address: Station Road, Stroud GL5 3AP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Stroud
Price Range: $88 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Imperial Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, SpeedyBooker.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Imperial Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Stroud
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Imperial Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Ask for a room not on the railway side if a light sleeper”
 of 5 bubbles AdmiralGant, 2 days ago | Read review
“Ask for rooms with views. I love baths and always get a room with a bath and a window that opens.”
 of 5 bubbles 779faridas, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“No comment”
 of 5 bubbles MickF511, Aug 19, 2016 | Read review
“I don't know what other rooms and floors are like so cant comment ,as I always stay on first floor ,and sleep through anything ..LOL”
 of 5 bubbles merryweather6213, Jun 2, 2016 | Read review
“Corner rooms eg 106 have four Windows so although on the north side it's a light room.”
 of 5 bubbles jaybea68, Feb 9, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay