We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Black Horse

17 Castle Street, Cirencester GL7 1QD, England
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Cirencester
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
The Black Horse
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

53 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 53: English reviews
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
189 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Stopped here one night for a meal and was not disappointed. The menu gave a good selection and the prices were reasonable A decent place to stop if you are hungry and looking for somewhere to eat. Would visit again.

Helpful?
Thank OzKK
England
Level Contributor
54 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

You get what you pay for. In terms of value for money the two for one menu is reasonable but the food quality is poor. It is probably the cheapest place to eat in Cirencester but not my first choice. Plus points are that the pub sells beer at a reasonable price (less than £4 per pint) compared to other... More 

Helpful?
Thank hillman-avenger
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Visited lunchtime few customer in but not busy as such. Only one staff member behind the bar full of tattoos and totally disinterested in serving customers. When he eventually took my order I asked if there was a delay on food and he said not. 45 minutes later I asked where the food was he didn't even seem aware I... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mike J
kimhampshire, Manager at The Black Horse, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments. We are sorry about your experience with us, and I will be looking into this matter straight away. Please can I ask you to contact me via email on Blackhorse.cirencester@marstons.co.uk or by telephone 01285 653187 so that we can discuss in more detail what exactly happened. Once again I am truely sorry about your recent... More 

Travelers are raving about these Cirencester hotels

Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2016

We live locally and have been to this pub for a meal on many occasions and have always received good service and good food at a sensible price, it is well managed with pleasant staff. We again with our family group went for a meal and once again were very happy with everything we had and would recommend this pub.... More 

Helpful?
Thank John D
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2016

While visiting Cirencester we decided to stop for lunch at the local Marstons as we had had a lovely meal at a previous Marstons. They had a board outside the building saying main meals 2 for price of 1 12pm - 5pm, so we ordered 2 main meals but unfortunately were charged full price for both. The meal was ok... More 

Helpful?
Thank helensV4047KI
kimhampshire, Manager at The Black Horse, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. I am sorry to hear about your experience. We do operate a two for one as you pointed out and you should not have paid full price. Please can you contact me direct by email Blackhorse.cirencester@marstons.co.uk or by phone 01285 653187 and we will either refund you on your credit card or send you vouchers,... More 

Devizes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2016 via mobile

This is an incredibly historic building with a great frontage. The smart signage and lantern outside seriously suggests a quality venue. Really honestly priced food and a broad range of ales, lagers and ciders. The seating in some places was a little cramped and there was a broad range of clientele within, from old geezers propping up the bar, sipping... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steven L
Gloucester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 10, 2016

I enjoyed the happy polite service offered by the bar staff, the quality of the food was good and the location very clean and relaxing. This is a public house and not a hotel in the centre of town close to local amenities in a lovely Cotswold location.

Helpful?
Thank Diana E
Cirencester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2016

Had 2 meals there within 3 days! We was taken out by some of our guests that was staying with us at our Holiday Cottage. The Stratton Mill Cottage and also a Family Meal for 6. Good food, Great Offers and Pleasant Staff. We will keep recommending you to our Holiday Guests!!

Helpful?
Thank suer592
Corsham, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2015

Popping in for a quick lunch with my daughter whilst shopping, and attracted by the board outside which advertised 2 for 1 Main Meals, we were pleasantly surprised. We both chose a chicken breast burger, which came in a nice sesame bun, along with onion rings and chips. Both meals for the princely sum of £6.95! Add drinks and we... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank GailS S
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2015

The Black Horse provides a warm and friendly atmosphere from the minute you arrive. The rooms offer the same comforts at much less cost than the usual chains, the pub grub hits the spot after a long day and the bar staff always pleasant polite and willing to serve. Excelent value for money. All in all a very pleasant stay.... More 

Helpful?
Thank ALAN H
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

6 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Cirencester hotels
0.1 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 7 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 stars 455 reviews
1.0 mi away
Stratton House Hotel
Stratton House Hotel
#6 of 7 in Cirencester
3.5 of 5 stars 344 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Fleece at Cirencester
The Fleece at Cirencester
#4 of 7 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 stars 509 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Riverside House
Riverside House
#7 of 7 in Cirencester
3.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
0.3 mi away
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
Corinium Hotel & Restaurant
#3 of 7 in Cirencester
4.0 of 5 stars 236 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Old Brewhouse
The Old Brewhouse
#5 of 29 in Cirencester
4.5 of 5 stars 183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Accessible rooms

Additional Information about The Black Horse

Address: 17 Castle Street, Cirencester GL7 1QD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Cirencester
Number of rooms: 3
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing