We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ellenborough Park

avatar-imageavatar-imageavatar-image
Traveler (1479)
360
Panoramas (5)
Room & Suite (201)
What is Travelers’ Choice?
Tripadvisor gives a Travelers’ Choice award to accommodations, attractions and restaurants that consistently earn great reviews from travelers and are ranked within the top 10% of properties on Tripadvisor.

View prices for your travel dates

Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.

About

#11 of 26 hotels in Cheltenham
Location
4.7
Cleanliness
4.8
Service
4.5
Value
4.1
Travelers' Choice
Ellenborough Park, nestled within rolling hills on the gateway to the Cotswolds, where history, elegance and nature combine. Steeped in history and boasting 5 stars with a 90-acre estate, Ellenborough Park is settled between the Cotswolds’ highest point and the gallops of Cheltenham Racecourse. A sumptuous Cotswold manor house with 61 unique rooms and suites, the main house of the estate dates back to the 15th Century. Ellenborough Park has been restored to contemporary glory in recent years, elevated to five-star appeal with casual & contemporary restaurants, including our stylish Horse Box Brasserie, and historic Restaurant. The Spa is a capsule of serenity and wellbeing, complete with enticing treatments, a sauna, steam room, Jacuzzi, outdoor heated pool and gym. The finishing touch is a private track leading from Ellenborough Park to Cheltenham Racecourse, offering luxurious and convenient transfers during racing seasons.
Read more
Suggest edits to improve what we show.Improve this listing
Property amenities
Valet parking
Shallow end in pool
Kids' meals
Bicycles available
Hiking
Books, DVDs, music for children
Highchairs available
Manicure
Outdoor dining area
Board games / puzzles
Pedicure
Outdoor furniture
Sun loungers / beach chairs
First aid kit
Umbrella
24-hour check-in
Express check-in / check-out
Show more
Room features
Bathrobes
Desk
Interconnected rooms available
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Bottled water
Bath / shower
Complimentary toiletries
Private bathrooms
Hair dryer
Show more
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Great View
Green
4.5
2,204 reviews
Reviews Summary
This summary was created by AI, based on recent reviews.
Powered by AI
Ellenborough Park Hotel presents a blend of experiences, with its prime location earning praise for scenic vistas and easy access to the Cotswolds. While many guests find the spa and grounds enchanting and the rooms comfortable, some have called out issues with room cleanliness and maintenance. Opinions on service vary, with reports of both attentiveness and sluggishness. Despite the historic and cozy atmosphere, there's a sentiment that certain areas could benefit from updates. Moreover, concerns about value are noted, with some travelers finding services overpriced.
Location
Picturesque
Atmosphere
Inconsistent
Rooms
Comfortable
Value
Expensive
Cleanliness
Mixed
Service
Inconsistent
Amenities
Relaxing
Was this helpful?
Tripadvisor is not responsible for this summary or any opinions in it. Please read full traveler reviews for more details and information.
2204Reviews32Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,426
  • 367
  • 227
  • 108
  • 77
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Sort by:
Most Recent
avatar-image
Richard T wrote a review Yesterday
3 contributions
This is our 4th visit to Ellenborough Park and the standards have remained luxuriously high. All the staff are all very hospitable, friendly and helpful. Our dog friendly room was very well appointed with private garden. A dog bed, a bowl of water and a bowl of treats awaited him. First class all round. A lovely four day visit.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ellenborough Park, Guest Services / Front Office at Ellenborough Park
Responded yesterday
Dear Richard, thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us. We are so glad to hear that you have enjoyed your visit, and we hope to welcome you again in the future for another delightful experience with us. Kind Regards, Veronica Noble, Guest Relations Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
fluggy2017 wrote a review Feb 16
3 contributions
A huge disappointment. We drove for two hours in order to take a family member out for Sunday lunch in the restaurant. We booked two weeks in advance and received a confirmation email the day before, specifying our booking in the restaurant. When we arrived, I was immediately underwhelmed - there had been no greeting at the door and I had to approach the (very unwelcoming) receptionist in order to ask where the restaurant was. The piped (radio?) music in the lobby did not give the atmosphere of a five star hotel. I discovered that we had been directed to the Horse Box - effectively a bar with an adjoining area with tables - and was informed that the restaurant was shut. It was too late for us to go elsewhere so we had lunch there. The food was fine, although I really do not feel that two minute pieces of cured salmon, which I had chosen as my starter, really merited a price tag of £16. No bread was offered, despite having side plates on the table and the table was far too small for a civilised Sunday lunch for three. I feel very misled by the hotel. The manager of the bar apologised and we were given a free glass of champagne, but it was NOT the experience I had booked. We would have had a better time in an utmospheric country pub. I had not booked a bar area with a flat screen tv and piped music for a special lunch. I was also interested to note that there was no manager on site. I cannot believed that the AA has given this hotel 5 stars.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ellenborough Park, Guest Services / Front Office at Ellenborough Park
Responded 3 days ago
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are sorry to hear that your visit did not meet your expectations. We take your feedback and our guests experiences very seriously, and will be addressing the issues detailed in your review. Please do contact me to discuss further via veronica.noble@ellenboroughpark.com. We hope to improve on these aspects and welcome you in the future for more positive and enjoyable visit. Kind Regards, Veronica Noble, Guest Relations Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
A lot to digest? Read a summary of these reviews, created with our new AI-powered tool.
avatar-image
chris b wrote a review Feb 14
London, United Kingdom11 contributions
Disappointing and awkward evening in the main restaurant. Food was not up to scratch and the ambiance was stuffy and far too cramped. The tables were far too close together, could write a novel on the goings on of my table neighbours, just felt very awkward! The table was on such a slant that my glass kept making a run for the edge and needed constant monitoring to keep things off the floor. The very loud lady across the room shouting about her sister’s breast feeding antics whilst people are trying to eat was icing on the cake. We ordered the chateaubriand and were told we can’t have it rare as they only do it medium rare?? For a restaurant which has certificates up on the window sills making a statement of how good their food is, to either not have a chef confident enough to cook a prime cut rare or a manager that should take it off the menu. I will say that the starters and deserts were good and the waiting staff were very pleasant and polite. It’s in no way a criticism of the service. But they need to address the proximity of customers to each other it was very awkward. I try not to make bad reviews as normally I can see it’s an off day or just an unlucky dish I have ordered but I think a manager needs to look at the layout and food offerings. Hotel is a lovely building in a great setting, I have been to the spa a few times before and always had good treatments so I don’t think it’s all bad at all just worth knowing before you go that the restaurant is probably not worth it.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid the steak if you like it cooked rare. Ask for table to be away from others not cramped in...
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ellenborough Park, Guest Services / Front Office at Ellenborough Park
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Christopher, thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We are sorry to hear that your visit did not meet your expectations. We take your feedback and our guests experiences very seriously, and will be addressing the issues detailed in your review. Please do contact me to discuss further via veronica.noble@ellenboroughpark.com. We hope to improve on these aspects and welcome you in the future for more positive and enjoyable visit. Kind Regards, Veronica Noble, Guest Relations Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Connor F wrote a review Feb 12
13 contributions
My wife, dog and I have just returned for a wonder stay at Ellenborough Park. We’d wanted to stay here for a long time and it lived up to expectations. A stunning building, with exceptional grounds and lovely walks over fields surrounding & up to the edge of the racecourse. We look forward to returning!
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ellenborough Park, Guest Services / Front Office at Ellenborough Park
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Connor, thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us. We are so glad to hear that you have enjoyed your visit, and we hope to welcome you again in the future for another delightful experience with us. Kind Regards, Veronica Noble, Guest Relations Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Alex C wrote a review Feb 10
Swindon, United Kingdom15 contributions
Very friend,luxury experience. The traditional rooms are spacious with good amenities. The food is delicious, although slightly pricey but the service was excellent. Good spa although a shame to have to pay extra for the garden spa, and the pool is a little walk away from the rest of the spa. Interesting history.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ellenborough Park, Guest Services / Front Office at Ellenborough Park
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Guest, thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us. We are so glad to hear that you have enjoyed your visit, and we hope to welcome you again in the future for another delightful experience with us. Kind Regards, Veronica Noble, Guest Relations Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Elizabeth W wrote a review Feb 9
Maidstone, United Kingdom23 contributions
+1
Very disappointing and overpriced. We stayed at the hotel (room 16) for one night. Was extremely disappointed with the quality of the hotel room. The mattress on the bed sunk to the right which meant you were falling out of bed. The room needed to be cleaned far better due to copious amounts of dust on the bedside cabinet next the bed / top of the TV unit and the picture on the stairs. The shower ceiling had mould on it. Dirt marks on the walls going up the stairs and also by the unit under the window. We had light lunch but was 2 sandwiches / water / Diet Coke and 2 coffees worth £52.00 - I don’t think so. Dinner was in the main restaurant. Staff very good but again very over priced. Menu extremely limited so we had 2 drinks / 2 burgers / salad and 1 ice cream and it came to over £100. Would we stay here again - no definitely not.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
avatar-image
Gary S wrote a review Feb 5
5 contributions
+1
The experience that I had at Ellenborough Park was mixed, some staff members are clearly so much better with their customer service levels than others. On the day of arrival the guy behind the desk wouldn’t engage with me at all, he just kept starring at my missus even when I struck conversation with him he looked at my missus and responded to her which I found very bizarre, I started to feel as though I was a ghost (or just a very rude man). Laura who was on reception Monday morning had superb customer service skills engaged with us both and gave us maps for things we might like to do. Keeping on the topic of the first man he booked a taxi for us to get to our restaurant in the night time, first of all the guy was late and second of all he charged us £19 both ways for a restaurant that was 5 minutes away in the car. The hotel did deal with this though when we arrived back so I applaud them on that, but people should be careful as they clearly see people from out of town and think they can make a pretty penny!! The hotel itself is a beautiful building but it could do with some refurbishment, the carpets are outdated and they’re many stains. The breakfast buffet and food for breakfast was lovely no complaints there, but the last thing I will say is the cleanliness of the pool was disgusting I’ve taken photos of cotton pads that were floating in the heated pool surely for a 5 star you would expect the place to be immaculate.. this sadly wasn’t the case.
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Room Tip: Avoid using taxi services if possible.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ellenborough Park, Guest Services / Front Office at Ellenborough Park
Responded 1 week ago
Dear Gary, thank you for taking the time to write a review for us. We appreciate your comments and have taken your feedback on board, as discussed on the phone yesterday with our Reservations Manager. We hope to welcome you for another visit in the future, and provide a more enjoyable experience. Kind Regards, Veronica Noble, Guest Relations Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Heidi H wrote a review Feb 5
1 contribution
+1
Just lovely wish we had booked two nights, beautiful grounds, beautiful food, fantastic service beautiful rooms lovely spa. The only little downside was amount of time between courses but it was worth the weight. The breakfast was outstanding the best we’ve ever had
Read more
Date of stay: February 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ellenborough Park, Guest Services / Front Office at Ellenborough Park
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Heidi, thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us. We are so glad to hear that you have enjoyed your visit, and we hope to welcome you again in the future for another delightful experience with us. Kind Regards, Veronica Noble, Guest Relations Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Tom D wrote a review Jan 2024
Canada2 contributions
We arrived at the hotel very early around 12 o’clock are room wasn’t ready so we went to have some lunch down in the bar area we where greeted by a lovely member of staff couldn’t remember he’s name but he served us lunch and dinner we had lunch in the brassiere what amazing setting and then we had dinner in the main restaurant. We ordered some amazing cocktails my wife had the New Delhi with an early grey tea infusion and that was so cool to see the smoke I then ordered an old fashioned which was amazing as well. We then went to check in again and then we was taken to are room by a lovely porter called Spencer he was showing us the spa on the way to are room and everything. Then it was coming up to 7:30 when we had are dinner reservation in the main restaurant the setting back with all the history was amazing. We was then greeted by a lovely lady called yovi she was amazing. She’s a pleasure to your hotel I give her 10 stars not just 5 *. We was looking at the menu so much to choose from so my wife and I went with a few nibbles like the king prawns and calamari and sausages. Then we both had the duck which was beautiful melt in the mouth so delicious. We wanted a bottle of wine I’m not the best with wine so I asked yovi and she said give me just a second I can find the young sommelier that’s training to be a sommelier. So he came over with the wine list and asked what we was having for dinner we said the duck he said I give you a choice of 3 wines that compare really well with it 1 of them being cheatue musar from Lebanon 2nd one being piont noir from USA and then the 3rd one being chainti classco from Italy he was such a lovely chap. He’s wine skills are very impressive I would never know what wine to go for he says cheatue musar goes best with duck so we thought we would go with his recommendation. He then bought the wine over to the table and I tasted it and wow that wine is amazing best wine I’ve ever had then I let my wife try it a little and she said wow as well so we went with it I think he’s name was Alfie or Archie sorry we couldn’t remember your name but your fantastic very polite a key to the hotel not many hotels we have been too have sommeliers and Archie or Alfie you was great. Thank you then we had desserts my wife had the cheesecake and I had the cheese and that was beautiful. We then asked for the bill the bill was about £200 but we had dinner bed and breakfast so we was a bit confused but was or sorted out on check out. We then decided we would have some drinks in the lounge area by the fire was amazing we met a lovely chap at the bar called angus he was amazing as well made us some amazing cocktails and the details was amazing Thank you. Breakfast the next morning was so delicious so many choices. Then sadly we had to check out and leave we loved or the staff here. Thank you very much we will be back and be telling are friends to come visit here.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024Trip type: Traveled as a couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ellenborough Park, Guest Services / Front Office at Ellenborough Park
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Tom, thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us. We are so glad to hear that you have enjoyed your visit, and we hope to welcome you again in the future for another delightful experience with us. Kind Regards, Veronica Noble, Guest Relations Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
avatar-image
Mark C wrote a review Jan 2024
1 contribution
Wow just got back from amazing 5* experience we was taken to are room and the room was amazing we wanted a drink so we decided to go to the bar and then we met this really lovely and friendly bartender called Archie we stayed for 2 nights and he always was just amazing. So my wife had a egg allergy but wanted a pink lady but unfortunately it had egg white in it but Archie said he won’t use egg white he would use pineapple juice instead. He is just fantastic we will definitely be back we thinking of planning are wedding here as well thank you all my credits go to Archie tho many thanks Mark and Stephan.
Read more
Date of stay: January 2024
Value
Location
Service
Trip type: Traveled with friends
Room Tip: Definitely go to the bar and get cocktails.
See more room tips
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Helpful
Share
Response from Ellenborough Park, Guest Services / Front Office at Ellenborough Park
Responded 4 weeks ago
Dear Mark, thank you for taking the time to write such a lovely review for us. We are so glad to hear that you have enjoyed your visit, and we hope to welcome you again in the future for another delightful experience with us. Kind Regards, Veronica Noble, Guest Relations Manager.
Read more
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
Previous
123456
Not the right property for you?
There are more places to choose from in the Cheltenham area.
PRICE RANGE
$252 - $344 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
ellenborough park hotel cheltenham
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandCotswoldsCheltenham
NUMBER OF ROOMS
61
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing

ELLENBOROUGH PARK - Updated 2024 Prices & Hotel Reviews (Cheltenham, England)

Frequently Asked Questions about Ellenborough Park
Which popular attractions are close to Ellenborough Park?
Nearby attractions include Walks With Hawks (3.5 miles), Escape Rooms Cheltenham (3.5 miles), and Ian Coley Shooting School (4.5 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Ellenborough Park?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include bicycles available for guest use, books, DVDs and music available for children, and express check-in and check-out.
What food & drink options are available at Ellenborough Park?
Guests can enjoy an outdoor dining area during their stay.
Is parking available at Ellenborough Park?
Yes, valet parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to Ellenborough Park?
Conveniently located restaurants include Restaurant Journey, The Mahal, and L'Artisan.
Are there any historical sites close to Ellenborough Park?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Belas Knap (3.0 miles), Cheltenham Town Hall (2.6 miles), and Whittington Court (3.9 miles).
Does Ellenborough Park have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the park view available here.