We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Traveler (80)
Room & Suite (9)
Dining (6)
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
Overview
  • Excellent48%
  • Very good27%
  • Average14%
  • Poor8%
  • Terrible3%
Travelers talk about
“the pub”(55 reviews)
“converted barn”(8 reviews)
“faggots”(3 reviews)
AMENITIES
Free Internet
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Non-Smoking Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Pets Allowed
4 Star Hotel
All hotel details
You may also like:
See all
Nearby Hotels
{"containerClass":null,"containerAttributes":null,"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","moduleList":["handlers"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null}
Reviews (219)
There are newer reviews for The Coach and Horses
See the most recent reviews
Filter reviews
217 results
Traveler rating
101
59
31
18
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageEnglish
101
59
31
18
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsthe pubconverted barnfaggotsnew managementbaked camembertlemon tarta busy main roadroad noiseportion sizefull englishbeer gardenpowerful showersunday lunchcreaky floorboardsfish and chipsthe ground floorvisit bourton
FilterEnglish
Updating list...
21 - 25 of 217 reviews
Reviewed October 30, 2017

I made a late booking over the phone to stay at this pub; during the call there was no mention of a cancellation policy. Unfortunately, I had to cancel 2 days later due to a family member having an accident. I rang the pub on...More

Thank Heather N
Response from James1298, Owner at The Coach and HorsesResponded January 25, 2018

Firstly I would like to mention that originally you had booked with Booking.com which have all of our terms and conditions on their website. When you called myself you asked if I could do a better deal for you which I did. Our cancellation policy...More

Reviewed October 10, 2017

This hotel is a gem. Free parking in their grounds and about a 30 min walk from the main town within Bourton on the Water. There is a bus, if you are lucky to see it! We stayed here on the night of the 9th...More

1  Thank Cath G
Response from James1298, Owner at The Coach and HorsesResponded January 25, 2018

Thank you so much for your review.

Reviewed October 3, 2017 via mobile

Stayed here as a halfway house to visit our family. On entering our room we were pleased. Then went into the bathroom to reveal the following. Very dirty skirting boards and terribly mouldy ceiling which had been highlighted previously by other guests and still not...More

Thank woodie59
Response from James1298, Owner at The Coach and HorsesResponded January 25, 2018

Thank you for your review. We have since been renovating the rooms as I'm sure you can appreciate we are an exceptionally busy Inn. I do hope you will come back and visit us again.

Reviewed September 19, 2017 via mobile

Visited as a family a few days ago. Compared with other places nearby we found the food to be average and the service to be below par. Menu is pretty basic, cutlery was old and shabby which was equally disappointing.

1  Thank Bhavin N
Response from James1298, Owner at The Coach and HorsesResponded January 25, 2018

Thank you for your review.

Reviewed September 15, 2017

We have eaten here several times over the past year, the first few times the food, service and general standards of cleanliness were all good, but standards are slipping. The service was slow, the food took quite a while to some.The huge piece of fish...More

1  Thank Josi H
Response from James1298, Owner at The Coach and HorsesResponded January 25, 2018

Thank you for your review Josi. I can assure you our pub is cleaned daily so I'm not really sure why you think standards are slipping. I do hope you will come and visit us again.

View more reviews
Most Booked Properties in Bourton-on-the-Water, United Kingdom
See allSee all
About
Amenities
Top amenities
Free Parking
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Free Internet
Breakfast included
Hotel Amenities
Free Parking
Breakfast included
Things to do
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Details
Price range
$107 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Details
Price range
$107 - $148 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel class
Room types
Non-Smoking Rooms
Add Photo Photos
Traveler (80)
Room & Suite (9)
Dining (6)
Questions & Answers
Ask a question
Leslie C
September 1, 2017|
AnswerShow all 3 answers
Response from timsey | Reviewed this property |
Yes I am sure they were bigger rooms upstairs
1
Vote
Tanya M
December 21, 2016|
AnswerShow all 4 answers
Response from James1298 | Property representative |
Thank you for your email, yes dogs are welcome, please bring own bedding there is a extra charge of £8 to go towards cleaning, kindest regards
0
Votes
edge100
July 6, 2015|
AnswerShow all 2 answers
Response from Dave C | Property representative |
Hello, You would be more than welcome at the Coach & Horses, and we can offer you parking for your bike too. Many thanks
1
Vote
Room Tips
"There were only four rooms."
Read review
"For a quieter room choose one above as you can hear guests moving around being in a lower ground room"
Read review
"If you don't won't to be disturbed by creaky floorboards as for an upstairs room"
Read review
"Rooms on the ground floor willbe able to hear the upper floorwalking around, if you are a light sleeper this..."
Read review
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more. Claim Your Listing