We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Coach and Horses

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Coach and Horses
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

158 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 157: English reviews
Start your review of The Coach and Horses
 Click to rate
Oakham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Went for a roast dinner, had staters and a main of roast beef. Food was fine, did a job and filled us up. Good gravy and veg selection, meat was a little chewy and wasn't the warmest. Had to wait 40minutes for starters which wasn't ideal but mains followed quickly after. Staff were lovely, nice atmosphere and liked that dogs...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kathryn2702
oxford
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here six of us for my father in law's 83rd birthday, from the moment we arrived we new we would love it here. The staff were so kind letting us check in well before check in time. We settled in for a nice drink then decided to wander into bourton on the water it took us about 20min....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank luke00
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

First time to Cotswolds and won't be the last, loved the pub and staff, room was spacious and warm, breakfast was first class, on the outskirts of bourton on the water but we enjoyed the walk in to the village also across the road for the start of the walk to the slaughters

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Handbag26
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my boys arrived at The Coach and Horses and we were welcomed by a lovely lady who welcomed us like family took us to our room and let us do our "stuff" Dinner reached my standards and Made us welcome, Sleep was okay Me and my husband Slept in a warm comfy bed while my son slept in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lisa G
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Great room in a great area. The pub sells lovely food and has a great atmosphere. Towels, tea and coffee all provided. Only downside would be the kettle was a bit old and white bits came out of it when pouring the water (in Broadway room).

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sally C
Exeter, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 5, 2017

Lovely old coaching house, nice atmosphere, friendly staff, we stayed 3 nights and ate in the restuarant each night, the food was very good, the breakfasts lovely (nice sausages). Our room for the 3 nights was spacious and clean with the tea making kit replenished each day, (no biscuits though). then only 2 things I would moan about are the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mike E
England
Reviewed January 1, 2017 via mobile

Lovely pub, great service! Log fire burning on New Year's Day, sat here with our dog enjoying a good local ale and perfect surroundings... Staying in the bilbury, a comfortable family room with a Juliet balcony looking out onto the glorious views. Can't wait to come back!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank boden85
Willersey, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 15, 2016

Thought we would try somewhere new, nice friendly welcome. Menu looked good nothing too flash. Mixed fish starter platter was on the greasy side, but hunger made that acceptable. Burger arrived, unfortunately it was overcooked but cold, onion rings greasy. Returned to kitchen and it came back hot but now I could play a game of squash with it (rubbery)....

 Report
Helpful?
Thank David H
South G, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this review

Very sorry you had a bad experience sadly we have been struck with staff sickness, I will look into your complaint again very sorry

Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 13, 2016

We ordered veg soup and roast beef Sunday lunch after waiting 45minutes the soup was served, the soup was quite tasty and hot. Half an hour later our lunch was served and unfortunately it was all cold, the waitress took our plates away and returned them some time later after rewarming them in the microwave, the dish of vegetables were...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank jilldeanna
South G, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this review

Very sorry you had a bad experience sadly we have been struck with staff sickness, I will look into your complaint again very sorry

Croydon, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 11, 2016 via mobile

We didn't book but arrived towards the end of the main lunch period. Asked for table availability and one was available for our group of 4 so all good, to start with. Then came the wait, of over an hour. We only ordered main courses. No communication about the delay, nothing. The staff were friendly enough but there was no...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Phil S
South G, Owner at The Coach and Horses, responded to this review

Very sorry you had a bad experience sadly we have been struck with staff sickness, I will look into your complaint again very sorry

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

43 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (39)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Dining (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bourton-on-the-Water
0.7 mi away
Dial House Hotel
Dial House Hotel
#2 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
500 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,038 reviews
0.7 mi away
Chester House Hotel
Chester House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Bourton-on-the-Water
651 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
Wyck Hill House Hotel & Spa
#3 of 8 in Stow-on-the-Wold
1,335 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Slaughters Manor House
The Slaughters Manor House
#2 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
493 reviews
0.8 mi away
Old Manse Hotel
Old Manse Hotel
#14 of 27 in Bourton-on-the-Water
621 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Coach and Horses Inn is a superb 400 year old family orientated coaching house set in the heart of the Cotswolds, in the very beautiful picturesque village of Bourton-on-the-Water. Redecorated in 2014, and further improvements made in 2016, look forward to seeing you through 2016 Kind Regards Coach & Horses ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Coach and Horses

Address: Stow Road, Bourton-on-the-Water GL54 2HN, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bourton-on-the-Water
Price Range: $92 - $175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Coach and Horses 4*
Number of rooms: 5
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your The Coach and Horses reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coach And Horses Hotel Bourton-On-The-Water
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Coach and Horses staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Coach and Horses staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Sit by the fire in the bar, not in the restaurant,(cold)”
 of 5 bubbles davidhS1397QG, Dec 15, 2016 | Read review
“Difficult because on a busy main road !”
 of 5 bubbles 847sandied, Nov 5, 2016 | Read review
“If you don't want noise from above, ask for an upstairs room!”
 of 5 bubbles 482marilyne, Nov 2, 2016 | Read review
“If you were upstairs you wouldn't be kept awake by people walking around above you.”
 of 5 bubbles elleHampshire, Oct 20, 2016 | Read review
“Just be aware if you have a dog...the 2 rooms upstairs are up a steep outside staircase..”
 of 5 bubbles peterjd2014, Oct 15, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question