We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Swan Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Swan Hotel
The Swan Hotel
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

843 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 791: English reviews
Start your review of The Swan Hotel
 Click to rate
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Lots of Cotswold charm in here. A buzzing bar area in the early afternoon. Modern style and comfortable. Lots of great looking food being eaten at tables around us. We only sampled coffee and biscuits but would happily eat here. The gardens outside would be lovely in summer. We contented ourselves getting out of the cold and damp by sitting...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank sheila r
Cotswoldinns, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted you enjoyed the hospitality of our bar and we look forward to your return in the Spring to enjoy our gardens and local, seasonal menu. Kind regards, Kate.

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

stopped in the lovely village of Bibury and after visiting the local trout farm stopped in this fabulous pub. staff were very pleasant, along with some of the locals and the scones were large and value for money. I was impressed with the décor and the restaurant. will be going back for sure.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Graham A
Cotswoldinns, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

In Bibury we do love a traditional English afternoon tea and we are delighted you enjoyed it too! We look forward to welcoming you back soon. Kind regards, Kate

Reviewed 1 week ago

I was not a guest however my vehicle broke down nearby and the staff were outstanding The reception manager Mr Jones took no hesitation in allowing my family and I to wait inside have a cup of tea and make ourselves comfortable after quite an already frustrating ordeal the politeness and professionalism of every member of staff who we seen...

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank Shaun C
Cotswoldinns, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

All our staff take great pleasure in providing excellent service to all our guests, even if they do happen upon us by accident. We are delighted you were able to continue your onwards journey and your lovely comments have been passed on to the staff and Mr Jones. We look forward to welcoming you for a break one day Kind...

Oxford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely hotel in a lovely location,receptionist David was so helpful on the phone when I explained our table of four had increased to six including a baby,I was so excited when I arrived for my Birthday lunch,I provisionally booked a table of 29 for my Ruby wedding party in November,however that was before lunch,I have never had such awful service...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jaymo54
Cotswoldinns, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback. All our staff take pride in providing excellent service and I can only apologise that on this occasion it was not the case. I can assure you a full investigation has taken place to ensure this does not occur again. Kind regards, Kate

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

My hubby booked us a night away for valentines this weekend in the whopper cottage with hot tub Wow!!! Absolutely beautiful. We dined in the brasserie and food was amazing and so was the service Can't wait to return to such a beautiful place

 Report
Helpful?
2Thank millie3123
Cotswoldinns, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave such a lovely review. Whooper is always a popular choice for a romantic break and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and look forward to welcoming you back. Kind regards, Kate

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We stumbled across here when we were driving through Arlington. The staff were very welcoming and there were options to have snacks or afternoon tea in the bar area or a sit down meal in the restaurant. We choose the afternoon tea and had a seat in front of a log fire which warmed us up after a chilly walk....

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank christina7_86
Cotswoldinns, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

We could not agree more, what could be finer on a chilly winter walk than afternoon tea by our roaring fire? :) We look forward to welcoming you back soon! Kate

cirencester
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We visited on a week day just before mid day, and having visited many times before, were keen for a hot chocolate. We wanted to sit outside as we had arrived on horseback, but were told they could not bring the hot chocolate outside as they 'didn't do takeaways'. Sadly for us and other local people, I think this could...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank lmthatch
Cotswoldinns, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Whilst we do not do takeaways we do always strive to welcome all our guests from near and far. Unfortunately we cannot serve hot drinks outside unless in our own courtyard garden - we are sorry that this didn't meet you needs on this occasion, but glad to hear you enjoyed a hot drink at the trout farm next door....

Witney, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We booked a room and a table in the restaurant for dinner three weeks in advance of our stay. On arrival the booking for the room was there but the table for dinner had not been booked, the receptionist was helpful and booked us in for 20:00. When we arrived for dinner they still didn't know we were booked in...

 Report
Helpful?
3Thank Martin R
Cotswoldinns, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to give us your feedback regarding your recent stay at The Swan Hotel at Bibury. We certainly do not expect our guests to experience these issues and have therefore launched a full investigation to ensure your problems are not repeated.

Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We had sunday lunch yesterday. We had travelled 40 miles to meet friends. The bar area was cold ( the fire had been lit but it had gone out). The brasserie was also cold we mentioned it to staff. We sat in our coats. Food was good, but plates were cold. We have been before, but in the summer. It...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank marie P
Cotswoldinns, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

We are delighted you enjoyed your food, but please accept our sincere apologies that you and your guests were not comfortable. Our staff take the comfort of all our guests very seriously and I can assure you steps have been taken to ensure this is not repeated.

Thames Valley
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

First time we have eaten here and we weren't disappointed. Food was lovely and well presented. Staff were very welcoming and pleasant. The bar area was cosy and relaxed. They also allowed dogs which is a plus for us

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Linda W
Cotswoldinns, General Manager at The Swan Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, we are delighted you enjoyed your fist visit to the Swan Hotel at Bibury. As a country hotel our four-legged friends are always welcome in the Bar and we look forward to welcoming you all back to the Cotswolds.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

484 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (270)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (61)
Viewed
Room/Suite (38)
Viewed
Dining (25)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
View from Room (8)
Viewed
Other (124)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (182)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Golden Eye - Excellent Double or Twin (26)
Viewed
Dining (36)
Viewed
The Hotel (39)
Viewed
Water Wagtail with Double or Queen Bed (25)
Viewed
Whistling Cottage Suite (37)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (26)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bibury
10.2 mi away
The Slaughters Country Inn
The Slaughters Country Inn
#1 of 2 in Lower Slaughter
1,043 reviews
20.2 mi away
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
Cotswold House Hotel & Spa
#2 of 3 in Chipping Campden
971 reviews
14.5 mi away
Ellenborough Park
Ellenborough Park
#2 of 22 in Cheltenham
1,189 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
16.7 mi away
The Manor House Hotel
The Manor House Hotel
#2 of 3 in Moreton-in-Marsh
989 reviews
18.2 mi away
Buckland Manor Country House Hotel
6.4 mi away
Kings Head Hotel
Kings Head Hotel
#2 of 8 in Cirencester
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Suites
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
  • Breakfast included
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
History surrounds you at The Swan Hotel, located in the picturesque village of Bibury, described as the 'prettiest village in England' by William Morris. The Hotel offers you a relaxing stay in comfortable surroundings, featuring cosy lounges, roaring log fires, antique furnishing and rich decor. Our dining room is home to great English cusine and a fine wine selection. In our Bar meals are served all day.The tranquil Swan Gardens offer residents the delights of the outdoors. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Swan Hotel

Address: on the B4425, Bibury GL7 5NW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cotswolds > Bibury
Price Range: $135 - $409 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Swan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your The Swan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Swan Hotel Bibury
The Swan Hotel Bibury, England
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Swan Hotel staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from The Swan Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“We booked room number one, very nice and quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles richardbM1998JX, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“All the rooms we saw were lovely.”
 of 5 bubbles lmcm61, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“It is worth the extra money to spoil yourselves. We were going to go for normal no frills booking. And got the suite retreat package instead”
 of 5 bubbles NateZebra, Jan 3, 2017 | Read review
“They have four cottages attached which offer more privacy and also accept dogs. which is excellent”
 of 5 bubbles tobyj2017, Jan 1, 2017 | Read review
“The swan, room 12”
 of 5 bubbles SusanG504, Dec 11, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question