We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Newmarket Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Newmarket Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

215 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 212: English reviews
Odivelas, Portugal
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

I am an person that travel a lot in work and usted to adapt to the conditions in all the countries. This hotel dont have the best conditions but are acceptable. We reserve 3 rooms. 2 rooms had good space but the other was very small (space of 2 beds). But the big issue was not the hotel, was the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joaomac7
The_Newmarket_Inn, Manager at Newmarket Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry that you didnt enjoy your stay but addressing your review we feel that your statement is a little untrue. We feel we treated you very well during your stay and fulfilled all your requests and gave you the best service possible.On check out you did remain in reception and at no time did any member of our... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 16, 2016 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights in October. We had a room facing the main a road. The road noise was no different from the country lane I live on so didn't bother me and the double glazing helped. Twin room very spacious with a good 3 ft round and between beds. TVs have free sat so better than most hotels and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Superboouk
The_Newmarket_Inn, Manager at Newmarket Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write us a lovely review we are always grateful when guests do this. We are so pleases you enjoyed your stay with us as this is always our aim to make everyone's stay enjoyable. Many thanks again kindest regards More 

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2016 via mobile

Stayed one night due to a business meeting in Brighton which is close to the Inn. Staff are friendly and you are welcome with a smile which is always nice after a long drive.Bar area warm and inviting,food served in the evening was nice. Breakfast in the morning was exceptionally. Good traditional English breakfast - 5 star. Rooms seem to... More 

Helpful?
Thank Keb369vol
Worthing, West Sussex
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2016

I've come here on several occasions on a Friday evening for the roast. Always the best choice, everything nicely cooked, and at a very reasonable price. The staff are friendly, and you get a nice pint here too. The restaurant/hotel is situated on a dual carriageway which may necessitate a small detour to get here.

Helpful?
Thank Benn_Tony
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 28, 2016

Warning : this is not the Horse Racing Newmarket, but it's still well worth a visit. Stayed for 2 nights recently. Very comfortable, well equipped bedrooms complete with a welcome tea/coffee tray. My room was pleasantly decorated and spotlessly clean. Bath with shower over, and very quick hot water. Heated towel rail with on/off switch. Double glazing, but the A27... More 

Helpful?
Thank Johnmacnab2014
managernmi, Manager at Newmarket Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write a such a lovely review about us here at The Newmarket. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and it was our pleasure to have you stay here. The papers etc that fly around are swept up on a regular basis but as you mentioned it does... More 

Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed September 25, 2016 via mobile

I needed a room for one night after bringing my daughter back to uni. This was ideal as i didn't want to pay too much. Well priced and a nice, clean ensuite room. Staff friendly and helpful, room small but all I needed. Good ensuite. Lovely breakfast with hot and cold on offer. I ate there in the evening and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sue B
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
54 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 21, 2016 via mobile

I arrived quite late. The staff are really lovely and friendly and checked me in very efficiently to my room. £79 for B&B so reasonable for the area. But then I realised why! Whilst the bed linen was clean and bathroom was ensuite in Room 1, there were huge stains on the carpet (where it looked like someone had previously... More 

Helpful?
Thank Smileysonia
managernmi, Manager at Newmarket Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry your stay with us wasn't an enjoyable one. If the milk in your room wasn't to your liking we would have gladly replaced it had we been aware of this, also the hairdryer we could have supplied you with a portable one we keep as spares but again unless we are aware of the situation we are... More 

Travelers are raving about these Lewes hotels

St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2016 via mobile

Easy enough to find, large car park, check in at the bar very friendly staff checked us in and went through keys, access, etc and the escorted us to our room. Beautifully decorated, spacious with a feature bed. Good use of space nice en suite. Evening meal in the restaurant was well cooked, well presented and served by pleasant staff.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Teresa F
managernmi, Manager at Newmarket Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review about us here at The Newmarket we are always very appreciative of this. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us as this means our aim to make every guests stay a pleasurable one was reached with yourselves . It was our pleasure to... More 

2 reviews
Reviewed September 11, 2016 via mobile

Popped in on the way home.. the worst carvery ive had... stuffing wasnt cooked, yorkies was frozen in the middle and it was all Stone cold just to add to it, when i said too the staff he said we have only had a few people moan today

Helpful?
Thank Courtneyhp
managernmi, Manager at Newmarket Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry you didn't enjoy your food but as other media sites etc show we are renowned for our food. With all due respect you did make yourself known to us as being from a nearby establishment and did warn us you would be writing on TripAdvisor and the review wouldn't be a good one, Once again we are... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2016 via mobile

The Newmarket Inn is a very good place to stay. The food was great. The rooms are very nice. There is free wifi. The staff are helpful. The only bad thing is it is on the A27 so there is some noise from the traffic but it's not to bad. Everything else is great though. Thank you.

Helpful?
Thank Joel S
managernmi, Manager at Newmarket Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review about The Newmarket. We are so glad everything was to your liking. It always pleases us when guests enjoy their stay as this is always our aim. Thank you again kindest regards More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
1.4 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 7 in Lewes
658 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#5 of 7 in Lewes
348 reviews
1.5 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lewes
852 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Premier Inn Lewes Town Centre
6.0 mi away
Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel
5.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Food & drink at the hotel
Newmarket Inn Restaurant
Newmarket Inn Restaurant
Cuisines: British, Bar, Pub
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Newmarket Inn

Address: Old Brighton Road | Ashcombe, Lewes BN7 3JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Price Range: $83 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Newmarket Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Newmarket Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newmarket Hotel Lewes
Newmarket Inn Lewes, East Sussex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Newmarket Inn staff and other travelers.
5 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (5)

Questions? Get answers from Newmarket Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Probably quieter at the back”
 of 5 bubbles Johnmacnab2014, Sep 28, 2016 | Read review
“Rooms to the rear may be slightly quieter.”
 of 5 bubbles FoodandWinelover3, Sep 1, 2016 | Read review
“Double glassed windows. We could not here road traffic. Very quiet.”
 of 5 bubbles andrewlY2599RJ, Jun 29, 2016 | Read review
“Even though it is right on the busy A27. We could not hear the traffic at all.”
 of 5 bubbles 748christineh, May 31, 2016 | Read review
“There were 3 of us and all our rooms were completely different”
 of 5 bubbles Suunytimes, Dec 9, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay