We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Newmarket Inn

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Newmarket Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

210 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 207: English reviews
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

I needed a room for one night after bringing my daughter back to uni. This was ideal as i didn't want to pay too much. Well priced and a nice, clean ensuite room. Staff friendly and helpful, room small but all I needed. Good ensuite. Lovely breakfast with hot and cold on offer. I ate there in the evening and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sue B
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW via mobile

I arrived quite late. The staff are really lovely and friendly and checked me in very efficiently to my room. £79 for B&B so reasonable for the area. But then I realised why! Whilst the bed linen was clean and bathroom was ensuite in Room 1, there were huge stains on the carpet (where it looked like someone had previously... More 

Helpful?
Thank Smileysonia
managernmi, Manager at Newmarket Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry your stay with us wasn't an enjoyable one. If the milk in your room wasn't to your liking we would have gladly replaced it had we been aware of this, also the hairdryer we could have supplied you with a portable one we keep as spares but again unless we are aware of the situation we are... More 

Travelers are raving about these Lewes hotels

St Austell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Easy enough to find, large car park, check in at the bar very friendly staff checked us in and went through keys, access, etc and the escorted us to our room. Beautifully decorated, spacious with a feature bed. Good use of space nice en suite. Evening meal in the restaurant was well cooked, well presented and served by pleasant staff.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Teresa F
managernmi, Manager at Newmarket Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a lovely review about us here at The Newmarket we are always very appreciative of this. We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us as this means our aim to make every guests stay a pleasurable one was reached with yourselves . It was our pleasure to... More 

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Popped in on the way home.. the worst carvery ive had... stuffing wasnt cooked, yorkies was frozen in the middle and it was all Stone cold just to add to it, when i said too the staff he said we have only had a few people moan today

Helpful?
Thank Courtneyhp
managernmi, Manager at Newmarket Inn, responded to this review

We are sorry you didn't enjoy your food but as other media sites etc show we are renowned for our food. With all due respect you did make yourself known to us as being from a nearby establishment and did warn us you would be writing on TripAdvisor and the review wouldn't be a good one, Once again we are... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The Newmarket Inn is a very good place to stay. The food was great. The rooms are very nice. There is free wifi. The staff are helpful. The only bad thing is it is on the A27 so there is some noise from the traffic but it's not to bad. Everything else is great though. Thank you.

Helpful?
Thank Joel S
managernmi, Manager at Newmarket Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for your kind review about The Newmarket. We are so glad everything was to your liking. It always pleases us when guests enjoy their stay as this is always our aim. Thank you again kindest regards More 

Hampshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Granted,looks are not this Inn's best features. But if you're on the SDW and need a really good stop off, stay here. The rooms are modern clean and well appointed as are the en suites.The beds are nice and comfortable. All rooms could be affected by noise from the adjacent A27 but the Double glazing helps and it calms down... More 

Helpful?
Thank FoodandWinelover3
managernmi, Manager at Newmarket Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind remarks about The Newmarket . We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that everything was to your liking. Making our guests happy is always our aim. Thank you again kindest regards More 

Christchurch
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Just returned from our 1 night stay The staff are really friendly and helpful and very welcoming to the hotel We was taken to our room which was clean and had everything we needed.. We was in room 1 and I did say to my husband maybe it will be noisy in night being so close to the main road..we... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jo4nne7
managernmi, Manager at Newmarket Inn, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a nice review about The Newmarket. It was a pleasure to have you stay with us and we are glad you enjoyed your stay as this is always what we strive to achieve with all our guests an enjoyable stay. Hopefully one day it will be our pleasure to... More 

Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2016

We went there on a Sunday afternoon hoping for a late Sunday lunch as all their roadside advertising says FOOD. The place looked deserted. My husband went inside and was told: yeah, we have food, but only for residents. It appears this is a hotel masquerading as a restaurant. We were really fed up so we drove back into Brighton... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rhiannon True-b... D
managernmi, Manager at Newmarket Inn, responded to this review

We advertise our carvery on a Sunday for 12-5 after this we serve food until 7 . The comment about being told it was only for residents a feel is a little strange as we have quite a few customers who come to dine with us on Sunday evenings. We are a hotel and we do have residents but there... More 

Sutton Coldfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2016

Stayed for 1 night while working at the Amex stadium, the place looked a little tired from the outside, the reception is situated in the bar, staff freindly enough, surprised to discover I couldnt book drinks / food to the room, albeit a seperate tab could be opened. The room was well apointed and clean, as the room faced the... More 

Helpful?
Thank dennisgwynne
managernmi, General Manager at Newmarket Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a review. Here at The Newmarket accommodation ,food and drinks are all different concerns this is why we are unable to add them to your check in payment.Many thanks again More 

Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 26, 2016 via mobile

A nice little pub on the road between Lewes and Brighton. The rooms are double glazed (no traffic noise) and very neat and clean. The meals at the pub were great as was the breakfast. Staff were friendly and car parking abundant. Recommend this as a good value place to stay.

Helpful?
Thank Dean M
managernmi, General Manager at Newmarket Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write and review The Newmarket and for the very kind remarks. We are so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us as this is always our aim to make all our guests stays enjoyable . Thank you again More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

19 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (19)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (9)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
1.4 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 7 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 stars 626 reviews
1.5 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lewes
3.0 of 5 stars 836 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#5 of 7 in Lewes
4.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.0 mi away
Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel
7.4 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
4.0 of 5 stars 973 reviews
5.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 2,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Food & drink at the hotel
Newmarket Inn Restaurant
Newmarket Inn Restaurant
Cuisines: British, Vegetarian Friendly
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Free Breakfast
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)

Additional Information about Newmarket Inn

Address: Old Brighton Road | Ashcombe, Lewes BN7 3JJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Price Range: $93 - $157 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Newmarket Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Newmarket Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Newmarket Hotel Lewes
Newmarket Inn Lewes, East Sussex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay