We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Pelham House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Pelham House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

658 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 651: English reviews
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

The room was freezing cold when we came in, windows open and radiators turned off, only to find that the window was broken and couldn't shut and one of the two radiators wouldn't turn on. This meant that the room barely warmed up at all. The shower wouldn't drain so you could have a one minute shower and wait for... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Marcia M
Tony G, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, I am indeed sorry that you felt that you had to post your comments ,particularly when we were in contact . When we spoke yesterday i did explain that i had left a message. I am sorry that you felt that we had not addressed your comments,there was no implication that you were lying, purely the fact that... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago

Our experience was the same as other peoples. General shabbiness, poorly trained - if trained - staff, very poor standard of cleanliness in the bathroom which needs someone to get on their hands and knees and scrub the floor and the shower. Marks on furniture, marks on carpets. All obvious, not searched for! The only good thing was I didn't... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Janet D
Tony G, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments, I am sorry that we had ran out of the seafood items.We buy all our fish in fresh each day and we did on that particular day, have an unusual amount of orders for our fish dishes that were on the menu. Alternatives were offered and i apologise... More 

Travelers are raving about these Lewes hotels

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Not sure where to start!! Car parking was a nightmare, the reservation wasn't confirmed so we had to wait for the hotel to find it (only 36 bedrooms), then the bar was unmanned so we had to find staff to serve us, got no sleep at all due to noise in the bar, breakfast was the highlight and going home... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Berni P
Tony G, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. I am indeed sorry that your stay at Pelham House was met with dissapointment. Please call myself so that we can understand the area in which the noise was coming from as we have no rooms above the bar,and would want to resolve the issue if possible to... More 

Bristol
Level Contributor
57 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The bed was hard. Parking was disorganised. The carpet and bed cover in our room were stained and the landing area outside the room smelt of stale sweat and was used for storing dirty laundry. The shower did not drain effectively. We stayed here several years ago and happened to have the same room. Unfortunately it didn't seem to have... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank alpinahed
Tony G, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to post your comments. The rooms have been redecorated only last year I apologise for you finding that the bed was hard; all our mattereses are Seally which are known for there quality,and are widly used in hotels, we will however monitor guests comments going forward. We have now brought trollies to... More 

Level Contributor
81 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We checked in at 5pm on a Sunday afternoon. Nice looking hotel, limited car parking space, but we knew that so I had booked this in advance. Extra charge of £6.00 not an issue. The lady at reception Eni took my money and car key as their policy is they move cars around due to the very limited space. All... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Savagemushrooms
Wiltshire
Level Contributor
42 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We book a night at Pelham House with some trepidation having read some earlier negative reviews. What a great decision! From start to finish we could not fault the hotel, it's staff or the food/drink. Check in was efficient once our booking was located and the good news was we had been upgraded to the Bridle Suite!! so our opinion... More 

Helpful?
Thank Graham51
Matlock, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Went here with a group for afternoon tea, a nice setting but felt the tea was expensive at £15 per head, would have been nice to have had top up with drinks. Had to wait a while to be served, nice big room.

Helpful?
Thank Michelle D
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Short break for bonfire celebrations . Staff were lovely, helpful and friendly. A comfy bed and nice room over looking gardens . Parking is very limited and is worth paying for reservation but keys need to be left at reception because cars are blocking each other in. Food was good not large portions but sufficient. Good choice for breakfast. Great... More 

Helpful?
Thank mazza501
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Lovely hotel, room was quiet and comfortable. Staff were very friendly. Breakfast was tasty, though missed the baked beans. The decor in the main hotel was amazing. Looking forward to staying next year.

Helpful?
Thank QSpeed
East Sussex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A comfortable large room with a good view over the garden and friendly staff. The location is close to the high street and handy for exploring Lewis. There was a slight problem when ordering the evening meal where the kitchen lost our order and the waitress had to come and ask us again 40 minutes later what we ordered and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 1garryt2016
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

141 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (120)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (15)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:59
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.3 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#5 of 7 in Lewes
348 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lewes
852 reviews
1.4 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#4 of 7 in Lewes
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
0.3 mi away
Premier Inn Lewes Town Centre
6.3 mi away
Horsted Place
Horsted Place
#2 of 2 in Little Horsted
194 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Food & drink at the hotel
Pelham House Restaurant
Pelham House Restaurant
Cuisines: European, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Pelham house offers 31 individually designed bedrooms that blend the best of modern fittings and comfort whilst preserving many original historic features of the building. All rooms are fitted with contemporary handmade oak furniture, remote controlled TVs, phones and high speed data points and have en-suite baths or luxury showers, a range of natural toiletries and comfortable beds with crisp white linen. Most bedrooms overlook our pretty south facing garden, framed by views towards the South Downs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pelham House

Address: St. Andrews Lane, Lewes BN7 1UW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Price Range: $69 - $269 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelham House 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your Pelham House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelham House Hotel Lewes
Pelham Hotel Lewes
Pelham House Lewes, East Sussex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Pelham House staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Southampton, United Kingdom
7 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Pelham House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“the better rooms overlook the garden and are on the lower floors. There is a very steep staircase up to the top floor rooms and no lift.”
 of 5 bubbles alpinahed, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“South facing in the main part - but we didn't see other areas so ???”
 of 5 bubbles Graham51, 3 weeks ago | Read review
“Make sure you book an executive room at the rear overlooking the garden. We had room 5.”
 of 5 bubbles 1garryt2016, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Room 7 is fine”
 of 5 bubbles Joofsh, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Take ear plugs!”
 of 5 bubbles baroquenroll, 4 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay