We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Pelham House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Pelham House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

626 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 619: English reviews
Sussex
Level Contributor
83 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We went for lunch twice this week after hard labour chopping trees. Pelham House do a very very good 'special' 2-courses at an incredibly low price. On both occasions the whole meal was superb - they have a terrific chef! The chicken terrine was lovely, and the wild mushroom risotto was the best, with very subtle hints of truffle, vermouth... More 

Helpful?
Thank AnnaCrab
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
170 reviews
133 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I spent three nights at this establishment, and enjoyed myself despite the limitations during a heat wave in September. I was first put in a room in the attic, (up many different convoluted flights of stairs) and then shifted to a much nicer -- though equally warm -- room on the second floor. Pelham House boasts a total of 36... More 

Helpful?
Thank worldtravelertrainer
Heathfield
Level Contributor
86 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We booked for our wedding anniversary meal, having had some good meals here in the past. When presented with a short menu - 4 starters, 4 mains - we asked for the a la carte, only to be told there was a problem with the kitchen. The neighbouring table had been told about this in advance - we weren't. A... More 

Helpful?
Thank Paula N
Lewes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Having had a good experience last year with an afternoon tea for 4, we were really disappointed today when we popped in. We waited a fair while for anyone to come to us, so I went in and asked for a drinks menu and was given a wine list. Then when the waitress came over I asked her what soft... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank sueK3441MR
Tony G, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your comments. I apologise that you were not given the customer service that we strive to achieve. You should not have had to wait and ask two people for beverages. Please contact myself at the hotel so that we can resolve the matter and hopefuly get you to use Pelham House in the future.... More 

Travelers are raving about these Lewes hotels

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Me and my husband stayed here for three nights , and i have to say would never stay again ,could not believe it is a 4 star hotel, which I had to double check. The staff was rude, cleanliness was shocking, food was disgusting which on the third day we went else where. The room for the money we paid... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lorraine H
Tony G, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for posting your comments. I apologise that your stay was not as enjoyable as it it should have been. If only we would have spoken to us while you were at the hotel we would have been able to resolve any issues. Please call myself so that i can discuss the shortfalls in standards and service... More 

Waterlooville, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Dreadful Management. Need training on how to use the systems and how to apologise as one was not given. Cutting long story short, I was invited to a wedding evening reception at this hotel. Arriving after 1.5 hours driving, I was duly informed 'No room at the Inn'. Our names were on their computer having been given it under our... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Harrywood2014
Tony G, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this review

dear Guest, Thank you for your post. I apologise that we did not have a room for you at the hotel,as was explained at the time you were on the list, however the bridal party cancelled your room,when you looked at our screen you saw your name,all our bookings are colour coded, cancelled bookings remain, but are coloured white.I did... More 

Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
94 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I have to be honest I was slightly concerned about the prospect of staying at this hotel due to the reviews on tripadviser. We were upgraded at no extra cost to an executive room with amazing views of The Downs and the hotel gardens. Our room was spacious with a huge bed which was very comfortable. The shower room was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rebecca S
Tony G, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your post. Its great to see that we were able to provide a relaxing rest bite on your walking Holiday, and that you enjoyed your stay ,leaving having enjoyed a hearty breakfast to set off on the days walk . we hope that when walking in the area again that we can welcome you back... More 

2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

The grounds and general standard of our room were lovely, but the staff (minus one lady at reception) were rude, our dinner was awful; not cooked properly or lukewarm, and they forgot to bring out half our order, despite me reminding the waiter twice. The restaurant wasn't even that busy, so god knows how they cope for weddings etc. For... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Andrew P
Tony G, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. I am indeed sorry that our Team were rude, we will take this up with the team. This is not the customer service values that we strive for and will set out a plan to address this issue. Please get in touch so that we can arrange for yourselves to come back to... More 

GB
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Staff were friendly and helpful, but then there were a few things we needed help with. Lights didn't work, not enough plugs. Silly little things really which a good housekeeper could easily fix. Breakfast was also disappointing and cold. I think the poached eggs are cooked and reheated to order, except they are then not hot. We were there for... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Liviaugusta
Tony G, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your comments. Its great to see that you found the team friendly and helpful and i will pass on your comments to them. I will speak to the kitchen team regarding your breakfast as this should hot and are all freshly cooked and i apologise that this was not to our usually high standard. kind... More 

Isfield, East Sussex
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have eaten at the Pelham House restaurant twice this year - and it has been really excellent quality - and reasonable prices. We have recommended it to many of our friends accordingly. We visited last evening with friends - not only has the "high dining" menu changed to " standard bar and grill" - the food was very indifferent,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Ross S
Tony G, General Manager at Pelham House, responded to this review

Dear Guest, Thank you for your post. I am indeed sorry that you did not enjoy evening as much as you have on the previous occasions. you will be please to know that we have re done the menus and moved back to a similar offering to previously due to customer comments. please call myself so that we can welcome... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

132 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (111)
Viewed
Bathroom (14)
Viewed
View from Room (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
Dining (19)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
1:59
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (21)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (21)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (15)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.2 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#5 of 7 in Lewes
4.0 of 5 stars 342 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lewes
3.0 of 5 stars 836 reviews
1.4 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#4 of 7 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.9 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
6.2 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
4.0 of 5 stars 975 reviews
6.0 mi away
Horsted Place
Horsted Place
#2 of 2 in Little Horsted
4.5 of 5 stars 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Food & drink at the hotel
Pelham House Restaurant
Pelham House Restaurant
Cuisines: European, British
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Room Service
  • Free Breakfast
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Pelham house offers 31 individually designed bedrooms that blend the best of modern fittings and comfort whilst preserving many original historic features of the building. All rooms are fitted with contemporary handmade oak furniture, remote controlled TVs, phones and high speed data points and have en-suite baths or luxury showers, a range of natural toiletries and comfortable beds with crisp white linen. Most bedrooms overlook our pretty south facing garden, framed by views towards the South Downs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Pelham House

Address: St. Andrews Lane, Lewes BN7 1UW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Price Range: $133 - $360 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Pelham House 4*
Number of rooms: 31
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Pelham House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pelham House Hotel Lewes
Pelham Hotel Lewes
Pelham House Lewes, East Sussex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay