We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Berkeley House

#1 of 7 Hotels in Lewes
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Lewes
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
Management photos
Berkeley House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

78 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 76: English reviews
Suffolk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Owned and run by a very friendly couple. Very tasty breakfast cooked to order. Comfortable and pleasant room spotlessly clean. We stayed on the first floor with a small but perfectly adequate bathroom opposite. This is the only room on that floor so no one else uses this bathroom and robes are provided for guest use. There is an attractive... More 

Helpful?
Thank lizzys224
Amanda D, Owner at Berkeley House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review - it's much appreciated. I'm pleased you enjoyed your stay with us in our Green room, and of course your visit to Glyndebourne. We'd love to see you again whenever you are back in Lewes. All the best, Amanda More 

Glos
Level Contributor
56 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

....so when I see a place that has overwhelmingly positive feedback as this does I tend to think that it must be subscribed by friends of the owner. Well more fool me....I had never met Amanda Deadman before (though I hope I will again) but I have to say that the plaudits are totally deserved, and then some! Staying at... More 

Helpful?
Thank elaine4648
Amanda D, Owner at Berkeley House, responded to this review

Wow - now that's the sort of review that dreams are made of!! I'm truly overwhelmed and grateful that you have taken the time to report back on your stay with us. One of the best things about running a B&B is that you get to meet such interesting people. It's a great joy to be able to look after... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed for three nights in the Yellow room. Everything is so comfortable and pretty. The garden and rooftop terrace were lovely places to relax after a day out. Amanda is very charming and helpful and her breakfasts are second to none. Hope we can come back soon.

Helpful?
Thank Patricia E
Amanda D, Owner at Berkeley House, responded to this review

Thanks Patricia - it was lovely to have you both to stay and I'm glad the terrace provided some much-needed relaxation after your very busy days. It would be great to see you again, perhaps with more time to explore the delights of Lewes and the coast - that could keep you going for days! By the way, although our... More 

Westbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We selected Berkeley House because of the rave reviews it had. We weren't disappointed. The whole place is beautifully decorated with colour themed rooms. Ours was yellow with a Glynbourne sub theme. The ensuite bathroom was immaculately clean, as was our room. Special touches were the lovely soaps etc.; the selection of teas and coffees and the attractive crockery. We... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kazmomorris
Amanda D, Owner at Berkeley House, responded to this review

So glad you were happy with your stay at Berkeley House. We love it when our guests appreciate all the little touches we put into ensuring you have a comfortable (or better still, luxurious) time - so important when you are away from home and looking for some R&R! The Yellow room is one of my favourites, but then each... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

We found Berkeley House through the local tourist info office. It's central in Lewes but quiet. Amanda was friendly and extremley helpful. The building is nicely restored, bright and clean with a lovely walled garden at the back. Breakfast is cooked for you there and then to your requirements and was delicious. The bedroom was comfy with all you would... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Geoffrey W
Amanda D, Owner at Berkeley House, responded to this review

I say well done to the Tourist Office for finding us such nice guests! Thanks so much for taking the time to write a review - it is very much appreciated and of course we're delighted you enjoyed your stay with us. Hope to see you back in this area again. All the best, Amanda More 

Edinburgh, Scotland
Level Contributor
115 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 250 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

What a fantastic find. We were looking for an alternative Pelham House (gotten very expensive & very average) for our visits to Glyndebourne this year. Up popped Berkley House. Myself & partner have stayed twice so far and are back later this month. It's a lovely, small Georgian House in a great location. The rooms are small but perfectly formed... More 

Helpful?
Thank georgewalker
Amanda D, Owner at Berkeley House, responded to this review

Thank you George, for your glowing report. It's very much appreciated! I'm so glad you've enjoyed your stays with us this year for Glyndebourne. It's been an absolute pleasure to have you with us - we are looking forward to next year already. All the very best, Amanda. More 

Dubai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed twice as a family and always look forward to staying. Amanda does an amazing breakfast and is a great host. We have only stayed in the basement bedroom, which comes with a living room and kitchenette which is ideal. Parking options are available in the nearby public car parks only minutes walk away.

Helpful?
Thank PhilipDubai
Amanda D, Owner at Berkeley House, responded to this review

Hi Philip. Thank you so much for your lovely review - it's much appreciated! Sorry the dates haven't quite worked out this year, but if plans change, don't hesitate to call - we'd love to see you again and meet your new arrival too! All the very best, Amanda More 

Kingston upon Thames, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Upmarket Georgian townhouse B&B ... does just what it says on the tin! Warm welcome from Amanda, lovely room, very comfortable bed, smart shower, delicious breakfast. We got there quite late, after Glyndebourne, and it was perfect.

Helpful?
Thank PeterNowlan
Amanda D, Owner at Berkeley House, responded to this review

Hi Peter! Thank you so much for your great review. It was an absolute pleasure to have you to stay and I'm glad you found everything to your liking. We'll look forward to a return visit next year, hopefully! All the best, Amanda More 

Sutton in Ashfield
Level Contributor
53 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Absolutely everything about Berkeley House impressed me, from the warm welcome, the well appointed comfortable room and how helpful they were to me during my stay. The place is absolutely spotless and nothing is too much trouble for Amanda and if I'm in the area again I wouldn't hesitate to stay here.

Helpful?
Thank Ashover
Amanda D, Owner at Berkeley House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your great review. I'm so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us and that it helped you on your way. Congratulations on completing your epic walk! All the best, Amanda More 

Amersham, England
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016

Amanda gives you a warm welcome and is a very helpful host. The rooms, although not large, are immaculately presented, and attractively decorated with good quality, contemporary touches. Breakfast is cooked to order and extremely good. Parking is slightly tricky, but we've never encountered a major problem, while Berkeley House is centrally located in the interesting and historic town of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank HMAAmersham_England
Amanda D, Owner at Berkeley House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your kind review and for taking the time to write it. I'm so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and, despite the inevitable parking restrictions in the town centre, had a good time visiting Lewes. It's a great town! Best regards, Amanda. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

29 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (20)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.2 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#2 of 7 in Lewes
4.0 of 5 stars 593 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Shelleys
The Shelleys
#4 of 7 in Lewes
4.0 of 5 stars 328 reviews
0.1 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#5 of 7 in Lewes
3.0 of 5 stars 805 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#3 of 7 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel
7.9 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Recently refurbished and under new management from July 2013, we offer a high standard of accommodation in our elegant Grade II Listed Georgian townhouse, situated in the centre of the historic town of Lewes. We have a twin and a double room on the second floor, with excellent executive-style en-suite facilities. We have a further twin/double room on the first floor with separate private shower facilities. We also offer a self-contained apartment on our lower ground floor, comprising a double bedroom, shower room, sitting room and small kitchen where you can prepare a light breakfast or join us for breakfast upstairs.You can enjoy our quiet courtyard garden or perhaps take a break on our sunny roof terrace whilst enjoying views over the town. We aim to make your stay as comfortable as possible and offer a variety of breakfast options using fresh, locally-sourced ingredients whenever possible. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Berkeley House

Address: 2 Albion Street, Lewes BN7 2ND, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Price Range: $85 - $171 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Berkeley Hotel Lewes
Berkeley House Lewes, East Sussex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing