We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Shelleys

135 High Street, Lewes BN7 1XS, England
Hotel amenities
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Shelleys
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

328 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 323: English reviews
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed at this hotel as there were no rooms available in Brighton. The only thing left in town was a bunk bed in a 12 person mixed dormitory. Whilst this would have sounded fun a few years ago, it didn't so much. I booked the room via booking.com. I called the hotel very late around 2300 and Colin the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mose72
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review

We appreciate your visiting us from Bonnie Scotland and are really pleased the Shelleys could be there for you. Demand for bedrooms in and around Brighton has been high, with the mini-heatwave playing its part. Positively the lack of capacity in the City gave you the perfect excuse to visit our beautiful market town Hopefully we can look forward to... More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

No 5 is a generously sized room, with an enormous bathroom. Undoubtedly it's a hotel that needs a little updating but I can assure future guests that our room was clean, with a large and extremely comfortable bed and pristine white linen. There is also tea making facilities in the room. The staff were very accommodating and it was no... More 

Helpful?
Thank liz c
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review

Thank you for such a super review and for choosing the Shelleys - we were so pleased we could complement the time you spent at Glyndebourne; truly one of the highlights of the year Hopefully your plans will allow you to visit again before too long. Meanwhile, renewed thanks More 

Level Contributor
59 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I've been staying at Shelley's for decades. Mr Coles was an excellent manager and Jackie extremely reliable. Kast year I wrote a negative review and I regrettably submit another. The hotel is short of staff. There was only one waiter in the breakfast room. One morning, one of two breakfast chefs didn't show up. Our requested twin bed room was... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank Harvey T
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review

This is an upsetting review for all stakeholders and we are truly sorry that your expectations were not met on this occasion Shelleys as you say has a great heritage and Jacque in our view is the equivalent of a national treasure We are painfully aware that there is further money to be invested in the hotel and our guests... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2016 via mobile

Having stayed here many times and having held a wedding here I am very unhappy at how this hotel has fallen. Consider this: Taos that do not work Dirty rooms Surly staff Poor service standards Locked out at 10 pm Pathetic breakfast in terms of choice The over night tariff of £220 is akin to Central London prices and should... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Richard B
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review

This is clearly a disheartening review and we are truly sorry your stay did not meet your expectations. You were kind enough to make us aware of the problems with the initial room allocated and were moved accordingly. Even so it is clear that issues remained for you and we have asked that the hotel management reviews your critique in... More 

Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2016

Myself and my husband met up with our daughter and her partner on a Saturday as it was halfway between our respective locations. Free parking directly by the hotel - a bonus in Lewes. The hotel is located in the high street but a little further out than we thought - I would say a 5-10 minute leisurely walk into... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mr and Mrs M
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review

This is a really detailed and helpful review and is much appreciated as a result. You were delightful guests and we greatly appreciated your custom. The Shelleys team love the hotel and try really hard to delight their patrons. Chef Harry is over the moon with your feedback and we cannot wait to see you again, perhaps with a haunting... More 

London
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2016

Stayed two nights in a double room which was very pleasant with a good view over their lovely garden. Bed comfortable, room clean, bathroom fine, breakfast excellent, residents' lounge spacious, plenty of parking. What more could you want?

Helpful?
Thank TravelBuffLondon
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review

Well we certainly couldn't want for a better review so thank you so much. You were a delightful guest and we are very much looking forward to hosting you again, especially as London is not that far away for a getaway to lovely Lewes Renewed thanks meanwhile More 

Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2016

Have stayed overnight several times in the last year at this lovely hotel and each time we have been delighted with the charm of the building, with the traditional comfort of our room and with the attentiveness of the staff on reception and in the breakfast room. This is a rare hotel combining professionalism with genuine personality. Our one quibble... More 

Helpful?
Thank EevieD
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review

Thank you for such a stellar review. We always look forward to welcoming you back from Bath and are very much looking forward to your next visit Shelleys is a super property with the tesm there really making an effort - it is guests like you that make it all worthwhile so hearty renewed thanks More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 11, 2016

We spent four nights at Shelley's in early April. Our room was spacious, comfortable and warm with a stunning tiled bathroom. It's a lovely period hotel with modern facilities which manages to retain an historic feel. One of the real advantages is the car park as hotels with parking in central Lewes are hard to find. The staff too were... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank kjp805
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review

What a super review and thank you so much for visiting us from Robin Hood country The team at Shelleys are over the moon and are very much looking forward to seeing you again as you were delightful guests More 

Hampshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2016

Just returned from a weekend spent at this hotel. We went with two friends. I am at a bit of a loss at how to put into words how bad this place is. I've joined trip advisor for the purpose of reviewing this and letting others know not to go there. Firstly, our room was right above an extractor fan... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Ryan S
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review

This is clearly a disheartening review and very much against the run of play so we are at something of a loss. Hopefully we will be able to reach out to this patron through Trip Advisor to learn more about their experience More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
29 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 24, 2016

THIS is my kind of hotel. Steeped in history, the place is private, quiet and to a certain extent, whafts a bit of 'old school' but in the best way. The rooms are divine, pretty, the sort that make you gasp, just as you would at some of the National Trust bedrooms. By far my favourite hotel in Lewes. Yes,... More 

Helpful?
Thank tiredbunny2002
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such for this stellar review; we are truly humbled by your kind words and comparing us to the much loved National Trust The team at Shelleys really do try hard and are so thrilled to have made your stay memorable. Needless to say they are excited about seeing you again and hopefully this will be... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

74 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (59)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Bathroom (10)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.2 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#2 of 7 in Lewes
4.0 of 5 stars 589 reviews
0.2 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#5 of 7 in Lewes
3.0 of 5 stars 803 reviews
1.5 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#3 of 7 in Lewes
3.5 of 5 stars 201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
5.6 mi away
Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel
6.4 mi away
East Sussex National
East Sussex National
#1 of 2 in Little Horsted
4.0 of 5 stars 929 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Step off the historic High Street in the beautiful county town of Lewes and into the peaceful tranquility of The Shelleys; an elegantly sublime 17th Century, family-run, country house hotel. The Shelleys offers discreet service, with high standards, within a uniquely calm ambience, with friendly staff who anticipate your every need. With nineteen luxury boutique rooms, all en-suite, each designed and decorated to reflect our Georgian origins and fitted with a television and Wi-Fi access; The Shelleys perfectly combines English tradition with contemporary luxury. Dating back to 1588, The Shelleys is a grade II* listed property – falling into the 4% bracket viewed as a “particularly important building of more than special interest” by English Heritage… Located close to Brighton and Eastbourne, this East Sussex hotel is the perfect venue for a change of scene. Whether it’s a weekend of rest and relaxation, a romantic break, or a base from which to explore the surrounding historical town and South Downs, you’ll find your every need is anticipated at The Shelleys. The a la carte lunch and dinner menu is available in the stylish award-winning Apostrophe Restaurant or on the brick-paved terrace overlooking our beautiful gardens. Morning Coffee & Afternoon Tea, Drinks and Bar Lunches are also available throughout the day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Shelleys

Address: 135 High Street, Lewes BN7 1XS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Price Range: $135 - $307 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Shelleys 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Shelleys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shelleys Hotel Lewes
Shelleys Hotel Lewes
Hotel Shelleys
The Shelleys Lewes, East Sussex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay