We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

The Shelleys

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Shelleys
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

348 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 343: English reviews
Sussex
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

In future we shall make a point of reading the ‘Terrible’ category comments made on the TripAdvisor website before making a hotel reservation and thereby hope to avoid the disappointment we experienced at The Shelleys in Lewes where we had booked a ‘superior room’ for two nights at the beginning of November. As a result of our experience we can... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank Sussexwanderers1234
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review

This review is self-serving and constitutes little more than writing for the file. These guests did not stay, they did not pay any money to the hotel and as such we have little idea what they are talking about. Furthermore making trite references to long forgotten BBC sitcoms says more about the author than the hard working and loyal team... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I loved the Shelleys with its old school charm. My husband brought me here for a relaxing weekend. It's a lovely old building with lots of character. You can really get a sense of its history. Our room was clean and spacious. En suite was clean with nice old sink and taps. Shower was powerful. Nice view over the garden.... More 

Helpful?
Thank PankieRose
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review

Thank you for this delightful review and for your kind words; as we have said many times before it is about the right guest choosing the right hotel for their particular needs Certainly your views on the breakfast are most welcome; we do use local suppliers wherever possible and perhaps we should be more explicit about this - for example... More 

Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed October 24, 2016

We had a nice stay at the Shelleys, staying in room 20. This was a large room with a comfortable bed. The only improvements i could suggest would be as per the previous review. The patio area outside the room would give a completely different impression if pebbles covered the black lining preventing weeds from growing. The white marks on... More 

Helpful?
Thank Colleen S
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review

Thank you for this lovely review and your kind feedback. Mateusz who heads up our maintenance team has been passed your comments for what you are saying makes great sense The team at Shelleys are really heartened by your comments and are very much looking forward to seeing you again from Norwich. Hopefully the wedding was a great success More 

Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
60 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2016 via mobile

A group of 6 of us stayed at the beginning of October for a wedding nearby. As a few other people have raised, rooms are not ready until after 2pm so put in an early request if you'd like to try and book in earlier. When we booked in we had an issue as we had requested a twin room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review

This thoughtful review is much appreciated and thank you for visiting Lewes and The Shelleys. Hopefully the wedding celebrations went well We are working diligently to improve further the hotel and in this regard your comments can only assist this labour of love. Naturally we were sorry to learn there was an element of iteration when you arrived in terms... More 

St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed October 17, 2016 via mobile

I stayed here last week for one night, on business. The charge was taken care of, so I'm not sure how much it was. The best I can really say is that's it's satisfactory, but could use a bit of TLC. Wouldn't take much, but it's definitely needed.

Helpful?
Thank Tony C
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review

This guest can rest assured that the room was secured for an excellent rate and we of course welcome all our business customers. They are in good hands Works are ongoing at the hotel and we are delighted to confirm that the central heating system has just been extensively refurbished including new radiator valves which should make a huge difference... More 

St. Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2016 via mobile

The Shelleys is an interesting hotel in a handsome building. The location within central Lewes and free on-site parking are a boon. I enjoyed staying there as a base for touring around the local area. My room was comfortable, well-equipped, quiet and had a pleasant outlook over the garden. The bathroom wallpaper could do with some attention but everything was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Angela D
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review

What a lovely review and thank you so much for visiting us from Hertfordshire. Shelleys are over the moon with your comments and whilst the hotel will always strive to do better, it is about the right guest in the right hotel with some of the recent reviews far from fair. Still that is the business we are in with... More 

Charlwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 22, 2016

The hotel was good but we were charged for a changing room. We arrived early for a wedding and our room was not ready. We asked if there was a room we could change in and were told there would be a £10 charge! Unacceptable.

Helpful?
Thank Alison C
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review

Whilst we are sorry to learn the very modest charge detailed here impacted on this guests overall experience, the "changing" room would have required servicing afterwards. In fairness to the hotel, if a guest arrives early the team will do their very best to have the room ready but this will not always be possible. Here they offered a solution... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed September 20, 2016

My wife and I booked to stay at the Shelleys for one night on the 27th August. the purpose for the stay was for a friends wedding in the local area. It was quite expensive and after a number of moments of deliberation, we decided to treat ourselves to a more expensive hotel for the night as we do not... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank JDJJ88
Allegra-Sussex, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review

We were both sorry and disheartened to read such a disappointing review; clearly this patron's stay did not hit all the right notes. Hopefully we can reach out to them through the good offices of Trip Advisor as it is not entirely clear - on this bank holiday weekend - which room they were enjoying More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2016 via mobile

We stayed in the Shelley for one night, and we found it very expensive and extremely disappointing When we booked in at 12.00 we were asked to pay for our stay straight away (something unheard of) plus £10.00 an hour for checking into our room 2 hours early When we walked into our room we noticed that 3 bulbs weren't... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Cosetta Z
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review

Regrettably it has not been possible to trace this booking from the "handle" used here so we can only hope of reaching out to this dear lady through the good offices of TripAdvisor to find out more about there stay, their room and what troubled them However we need to get serious about one fundamental point - unless a pre-approved... More 

Cheshire
Level Contributor
95 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed September 5, 2016

We all like cosy well worn country house hotels but Shelleys is tired and suffering from neglect. We stayed three nights: on arrival we were asked to settle our bill; the restaurant was 'full' but only serving about 14 covers, surprising for a hotel with 19 rooms; the blind in our bathroom, that was overlooked, was torn and permanently down;... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank randjcheshire
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Shelleys, responded to this review

We are unaware of any hotel that does not require payment or pre-authorisation of a valid payment card on arrival; as experienced TripAdvisor contributors and having used a well known online booking agent this would have been known to these patrons From what is being said, it would appear the hotel bent over backwards to help this guest by invoking... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

85 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (70)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Bathroom (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (23)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Other (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (10)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (3)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Lewes
0.3 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 7 in Lewes
658 reviews
0.3 mi away
White Hart Hotel
White Hart Hotel
#6 of 7 in Lewes
852 reviews
1.2 mi away
Newmarket Inn
Newmarket Inn
#4 of 7 in Lewes
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Horsted Place
Horsted Place
#2 of 2 in Little Horsted
194 reviews
0.5 mi away
Premier Inn Lewes Town Centre
5.7 mi away
Premier Inn Newhaven Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Step off the historic High Street in the beautiful county town of Lewes and into the peaceful tranquility of The Shelleys; an elegantly sublime 17th Century, family-run, country house hotel. The Shelleys offers discreet service, with high standards, within a uniquely calm ambience, with friendly staff who anticipate your every need. With nineteen luxury boutique rooms, all en-suite, each designed and decorated to reflect our Georgian origins and fitted with a television and Wi-Fi access; The Shelleys perfectly combines English tradition with contemporary luxury. Dating back to 1588, The Shelleys is a grade II* listed property – falling into the 4% bracket viewed as a “particularly important building of more than special interest” by English Heritage… Located close to Brighton and Eastbourne, this East Sussex hotel is the perfect venue for a change of scene. Whether it’s a weekend of rest and relaxation, a romantic break, or a base from which to explore the surrounding historical town and South Downs, you’ll find your every need is anticipated at The Shelleys. The a la carte lunch and dinner menu is available in the stylish award-winning Apostrophe Restaurant or on the brick-paved terrace overlooking our beautiful gardens. Morning Coffee & Afternoon Tea, Drinks and Bar Lunches are also available throughout the day. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Shelleys

Address: 135 High Street, Lewes BN7 1XS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Lewes
Price Range: $126 - $310 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Shelleys 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your The Shelleys reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Shelleys Hotel Lewes
Shelleys Hotel Lewes
Hotel Shelleys
The Shelleys Lewes, East Sussex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from The Shelleys staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Questions? Get answers from The Shelleys staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Avoid ALL rooms”
 of 5 bubbles I9147DCdavidn, Aug 29, 2016 | Read review
“I would not recommend this hotel. The best thing were two chocolate biscuits, wrapped in clingfilm, which we found on the table in our room.”
  • window in the bedroom
  • window in the bedroom
  • bottom view of the sash window in the bathroom
  • cracked sink
 of 5 bubbles Carla046, Aug 23, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for garden view”
 of 5 bubbles TravelBuffLondon, May 18, 2016 | Read review
“Ask for the larger room overlooking the High St - it's double glazed and Lewes is quiet at nights so there's nothing to disturb you.”
 of 5 bubbles kjp805, Apr 11, 2016 | Read review
“Do not accept room 11 unless you like being woken by the industrial fan”
 of 5 bubbles RSTfull72, Apr 3, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay