We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Gullivers Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Gullivers Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"moduleList":["handlers"],"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

271 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 261: English reviews
Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Booked a room to accommodate my mum and my nephew as I live nearby. They were very friendly and helpful as I ask for a room on the lowest floor possible with my mum being an OAP. Although there is no lift, the stairs are very manageable. Room was at the back (but then price in midst of summer for...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Alain D
Essex, United Kingdom
Reviewed 4 days ago NEWvia mobile

I booked this Hotel through LateRooms, the hotel itself had a 'Good' Rating with 4/6. The room was cheap at £60 a night, so I booked after looking through the photos. The hotel is split into two buildings situated a couple of doors away from each other on the same street. The rooms seemed Ok, but it's evident that they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kate M
Reviewed 5 days ago NEWvia mobile

we had the misfortune of staying there the night on the 13-15th January 2017, we occupied 2 separate room and found a range of issues On arriving At the hotel we found that overall hygiene in rooms were nothing better than poor, finding dirty carpets bed throws and cushions along side stained sinks, items left from previous occupants and shower...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Aron W
Sitges, Catalonia, Spain
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

On reading some of the bad reviews on here, I find it hard to believe that they all stayed in the same hotel as me! It is what it says it is. A seaside hotel with comfortable rooms, great breakfast and friendly staff, Parking is available nearby and the hotel have Parking vouchers. Tea and coffee in the room, hot...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank LadyDiamondS
Reviewed October 30, 2016 via mobile

Me and my mum stayed in the hotel for a night to visit my brother who lives in Brighton. The room was sufficient for a nights sleep but we wouldn't recommend staying there for more than one night. The decor was very dated and the pictures online gave a much more modern look than what you get. The bathroom ensuite...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jasmine A
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Jasmin A, Thank you very much for staying with us recently and for your feedback. We have a very exciting refurbishment plan in place for the hotel over the winter months and hope to be able to address many of your observations. We are happy to hear nonetheless that you enjoyed your visit to Brighton and would be delighted...

Reviewed October 13, 2016

Booked in here Monday to Friday, arrived Monday to a very shabby room, uucomfortable beds and not even tea and coffee. Tuesday husband taken ill and we spent data at hospital. Informed staff we were returning home next day but we're told we could not have a refund. Manager never even got in touch with us. Returned home so husband...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank liverpooleq
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear liverpooleq, Thank you for staying with us last month and we are sorry that your visit was cut short. Unfortunately we do operate a strict cancellation policy, however usually when mitigating circumstances are involved we do make every attempt to be flexible e.g. attempt to resell the room perhaps, so that we can relinquish some of the penalty charges...

Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 12, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for one night last minute. Small room and friendly staff. Room a bit dated but good price. However made the mistake of not reading the room description carefully enough when booking. I had a room without an en suite bathroom or toilet. Hate that but my mistake. Great location near the sea front and St James Street.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Christopher B
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Christopher B, Thank you very much for staying with us recently and we are sorry that you were disappointed with your room. Unfortunately it is true that our single rooms are non-en suite and whilst we do make every effort to ensure that this is clearly described on all booking sites, we understand that mistakes can happen. If you...

Reading, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 8, 2016

I wish I'd heeded the feedback from spyr088. We stayed in 309 and it's all very down at heel; I'm not sure how this qualifies as a boutique hotel - the fixtures and furnishings are old, grubby and just need updating. Breakfast was a ramshackle affair and they 'ran out' of bacon at 9.30am on a Saturday morning! I considered...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mary R
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mary R, Thank you for your recent custom and we are sorry to hear that there were a few misgivings during your stay. Your concerns have been reported directly onto our heads of department do that they can be followed up and we can ensure standards are improved for the future. Kind Regards.

Swindon, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 15, 2016 via mobile

This hotel The Gullivers hotel New Steine road Brighton is without doubt one of the biggest dumps I have ever stayed in!!! At a half price September rate of £125 for two nights for two persons I brought my mum here for a pre 70th birthday treat. On the plus side. The beds are nice the room is decorated nicely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank dogboarder
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear dogboarder, Thank you for you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to share your experience here with others. We are very sorry to hear about the numerous issues encountered throughout your visit and your notes have been passed onto all our heads of department so that they can be followed up and we can ensure...

Brighton, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 3, 2016

We stayed in a Deluxe Double (room 309) but like other reviewers I'm not sure how you could describe this room as 'Deluxe'. The staff were friendly and helpful when we checked in. When we first entered the room the bed looked lovely and huge, but on closer inspection it was made up of two singles pushed together, so we...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank spyr088
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear spyr088, Thank you very much for staying with us recently and for your detailed feedback. Guest feedback both positive and negative are a vital means for us to continue upholding standards and expectations and so we appreciate you taking the time to elaborate. Your notes have been passed directly onto senior management and we hope to be able to...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

57 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (51)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,237 reviews
0.0 mi away
New Steine Hotel
New Steine Hotel
#46 of 98 in Brighton
604 reviews
0.0 mi away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#26 of 98 in Brighton
336 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Kempfield House
Kempfield House
#32 of 98 in Brighton
307 reviews
0.1 mi away
Istanbul EV Guest House
Istanbul EV Guest House
#66 of 98 in Brighton
77 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sea Spray Boutique Hotel
Sea Spray Boutique Hotel
#23 of 98 in Brighton
812 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Gulliver's Hotel and B&B, Brighton is a charming, elegant and tranquil Georgian Townhouse, offering cheap accommodation in central Brighton. Recently refurbished, Gulliver's Hotel Bed and Breakfast offers cheap accommodation comparable to most B&Bs bed and breaksfasts, but still It also offers a mix of baroque and contemporary design and the most personal and friendly of service.From the moment you arrive to your departure, you will be truly looked after. During check-in you can take in the relaxing surroundings of our Gulliver's Hotel Lounge and Hallways - surrounded by original artwork and caricature murals - you will be personally shown to your bedroom and all the facilities your room has to offer will be explained. Throughout your stay staff are on hand to assist with any query you may have, and on check-out (after a hearty breakfast, of course), we will ensure you an efficient and memorable departure, wishing you a pleasant journey and hoping you return again soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gullivers Hotel

Address: 12A New Steine, Brighton BN2 1PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: $58 - $133 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gullivers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Gullivers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Gullivers Hotel staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question
Brighton, United Kingdom
7 months ago

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Gullivers Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Front rooms can have sea views. Lower floors can suffer from noise from bar and people coming in and out but less street noise at back.”
 of 5 bubbles , 4 days ago | Read review
“Go to a Travelodge instead”
 of 5 bubbles spyr088, Sep 3, 2016 | Read review
“We were in the front and very noisy.”
 of 5 bubbles anno787, Aug 25, 2016 | Read review
“Find an ibis hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles Kazbah, Aug 22, 2016 | Read review
“307 is in the back and is up 3 flights of small stairs.”
 of 5 bubbles stevinazo, Aug 10, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay