We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Gullivers Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Gullivers Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"]},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

265 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 255: English reviews
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

This hotel The Gullivers hotel New Steine road Brighton is without doubt one of the biggest dumps I have ever stayed in!!! At a half price September rate of £125 for two nights for two persons I brought my mum here for a pre 70th birthday treat. On the plus side. The beds are nice the room is decorated nicely... More 

Helpful?
Thank dogboarder
Brighton, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed in a Deluxe Double (room 309) but like other reviewers I'm not sure how you could describe this room as 'Deluxe'. The staff were friendly and helpful when we checked in. When we first entered the room the bed looked lovely and huge, but on closer inspection it was made up of two singles pushed together, so we... More 

Helpful?
Thank spyr088
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear spyr088, Thank you very much for staying with us recently and for your detailed feedback. Guest feedback both positive and negative are a vital means for us to continue upholding standards and expectations and so we appreciate you taking the time to elaborate. Your notes have been passed directly onto senior management and we hope to be able to... More 

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

The Netherlands
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My husband and I went to Brighton for a short break leaving the kids at home and we chose the Gullivers hotel because of the location and also because it had very competitive rates. We were not expecting much, but we were very surprised when we got there, the service is kind and friendly from the start. The receptionist advised... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anna J
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Anna J, Thank you for your lovely review are delighted to hear that you enjoyed the services in both of our properties during your visit. We hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you again int he future, perhaps next time with the kids as we have some lovely family rooms in our sister hotel. And please don't... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

My wife, my son and I stayed in a triple room for one night to go to our daughter's graduation. It was a nice and big room on the top of the building so it was very quiet and we had a good rest ! We needed to have the room a little bit earlier than check-in, but we called... More 

Helpful?
Thank BobNigel12
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear thebignaine54, Thank you very much for staying with us recently and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit. We are so happy to see that you found our facilities and services to be welcoming and relaxing and we hope to welcome you and your family back again in the near future. Likewise please don't hesitate to... More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Not sure how this hotel got 4 stars. OUr room was a twin deluxe no.309 don't know what was deluxe apart from maybe the sea view. On the upside the bed was very comfortable and the room was clean. Bathroom, especially shower very small. Spent one night awake due to i assume drunks and worse in the green in front... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ann O
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Ann O, Thank you for choosing the Gulliver's Hotel during your recent visit to Brighton and for taking the time to comment on your stay. We are very sorry if there was disturbance from outside the hotel during your visit. Unfortunately we are in a very popular and busy part of town and so it is possible that weekend... More 

Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Stayed in a family room on the top floor, the room was a decent size and the staff were lovely. We got there early but they still let us check in after making sure room was ready. There were no towels but they remedied that by the time we returned. However, once we got a proper look round it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kazbah
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Kazbah, Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your visit. We are happy to hear that your were made to feel welcome by our reception staff and that small issues were efficiently remedied upon your arrival. However I am very sorry to hear that there were oversights on behalf of... More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2016

I booked Gullivers for myself and 4 others for a 2 night trip to brighton for a friends birthday. I booked a double room and a triple room a few months in advance of our arrival. When we arrived we were told that they were going to take 20% off the triple room as there had been a "small leak"... More 

Helpful?
Thank GaynorF22
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear GaynorF22, Thank you for choosing the Gulliver's Hotel for your group visit to Brighton and we are very sorry that you were not satisfied with the level of service offered during your visit. Please rest assured that this incident was indeed a rare and unanticipated event and not a longstanding issue. We do apologise that you were not contacted... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2016

The reason this hotel is cheaper than most is probably the reason that you feel slightly disappointed. I think management ought to be challenged when advertising a room with "private bathroom facilities". It's only when you have booked and cannot get a refund that you realise that the "private facilities" are along the corridor, down a few steps and locked... More 

Helpful?
Thank robmarshall33
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear robmarshall33, Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to share your experience. We are very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your room during your visit. Unfortunately as we are situated in an Old Georgian building, the layout of the rooms and facilities prevents us from being able to offer en... More 

New York
Level Contributor
218 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2016

I stayed for Brighton Pride weekend so I was expecting loud, but the windows are double pane so with them shut it was remarkably quiet. The windows were small but there were two on adjacent walls so a cross breeze was possible. With the windows open it was indeed loud. But you are in Kemptown, in Brighton. Want quiet? Try... More 

Helpful?
Thank stevinazo
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear stevinazo, Thank you very much for staying with us recently and for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your experience. We are delighted to hear that for the most part, you were satisfied with your visit. We have taken under advisement your recommendations regarding the breakfast service and will take measures to improve our training standards. With regards... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2016

Upon arrival, we had to wait 10 minutes to be let into the hotel despite ringing the bell and phoning them countless times. Then, even though we booked online were told it was going to cost £20 more than we were originally told. We were already paying £75 for one night so to have travelled all the way for my... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lellie C
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lellie C, Thank you very much for choosing the Gulliver's Hotel and for taking the time to share your experience. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and will do our utmost to address your concerns here. With regards to the £20.00 surcharge for the inclusive breakfast, please be aware that this is... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (41)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.9 mi away
Britannia Study Hotel
Britannia Study Hotel
#18 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
0.0 mi away
New Steine Hotel
New Steine Hotel
#45 of 98 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 586 reviews
0.0 mi away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#28 of 98 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Istanbul EV Guest House
Istanbul EV Guest House
#72 of 98 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
0.0 mi away
Five Hotel
Five Hotel
#39 of 98 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 stars 222 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paskins Town House
Paskins Town House
#16 of 98 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 stars 463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Gulliver's Hotel and B&B, Brighton is a charming, elegant and tranquil Georgian Townhouse, offering cheap accommodation in central Brighton. Recently refurbished, Gulliver's Hotel Bed and Breakfast offers cheap accommodation comparable to most B&Bs bed and breaksfasts, but still It also offers a mix of baroque and contemporary design and the most personal and friendly of service.From the moment you arrive to your departure, you will be truly looked after. During check-in you can take in the relaxing surroundings of our Gulliver's Hotel Lounge and Hallways - surrounded by original artwork and caricature murals - you will be personally shown to your bedroom and all the facilities your room has to offer will be explained. Throughout your stay staff are on hand to assist with any query you may have, and on check-out (after a hearty breakfast, of course), we will ensure you an efficient and memorable departure, wishing you a pleasant journey and hoping you return again soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gullivers Hotel

Address: 12A New Steine, Brighton BN2 1PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: $75 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gullivers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Budget Places, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Gullivers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay