We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Gullivers Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for:1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Gullivers Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

259 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 249: English reviews
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Stayed in a family room on the top floor, the room was a decent size and the staff were lovely. We got there early but they still let us check in after making sure room was ready. There were no towels but they remedied that by the time we returned. However, once we got a proper look round it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kazbah
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The reason this hotel is cheaper than most is probably the reason that you feel slightly disappointed. I think management ought to be challenged when advertising a room with "private bathroom facilities". It's only when you have booked and cannot get a refund that you realise that the "private facilities" are along the corridor, down a few steps and locked... More 

Helpful?
Thank robmarshall33
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear robmarshall33, Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to share your experience. We are very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with your room during your visit. Unfortunately as we are situated in an Old Georgian building, the layout of the rooms and facilities prevents us from being able to offer en... More 

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

New York
Level Contributor
218 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

I stayed for Brighton Pride weekend so I was expecting loud, but the windows are double pane so with them shut it was remarkably quiet. The windows were small but there were two on adjacent walls so a cross breeze was possible. With the windows open it was indeed loud. But you are in Kemptown, in Brighton. Want quiet? Try... More 

Helpful?
Thank stevinazo
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear stevinazo, Thank you very much for staying with us recently and for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your experience. We are delighted to hear that for the most part, you were satisfied with your visit. We have taken under advisement your recommendations regarding the breakfast service and will take measures to improve our training standards. With regards... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Upon arrival, we had to wait 10 minutes to be let into the hotel despite ringing the bell and phoning them countless times. Then, even though we booked online were told it was going to cost £20 more than we were originally told. We were already paying £75 for one night so to have travelled all the way for my... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Lellie C
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Lellie C, Thank you very much for choosing the Gulliver's Hotel and for taking the time to share your experience. We are very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay and will do our utmost to address your concerns here. With regards to the £20.00 surcharge for the inclusive breakfast, please be aware that this is... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The shower room in the family room was pretty shocking, not only it's really small, it's VERY dark inside even with the lights on! The water pressure of the shower was really weak and the door of the shower cabin could not close, we couldn't wash ourselves properly during our stay. The floor in the room was uneven and the... More 

Helpful?
Thank JustMeChilling
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear JustMeChilling, Thank you for taking the time to provide feedback on your recent stay with us and we are sorry that you encountered some issues in your room. Please rest assured that we have staff onsite 24 hours who are able to assist with all queries and it is a great pity that we were not aware of these... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Good location five minutes walk from the pier. The room itself was absolutely tiny with a couple of miniscule windows, the duvet felt dirty (hairs, dust etc), the TV only worked when it wanted to (10% of the time) and the bathroom door would not lock, which lead to a lovely blend of bathroom smells in the bedroom. Do not... More 

Helpful?
Thank Alex B
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Alex B, Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent stay with us and we are very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with the quality of your accommodation. It is regretful that we were not made aware of these issues whilst you were still with us, as not only I am confident that we could helped... More 

Dunstable, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

'Gullivers Hotel' just goes to prove that staying at Brighton doesn't have to be mega-expensive like a lot of other hotels at that resort. It boasts an excellent location (less than 10 minutes on foot to the pier/'Sea World'); comfortable and spacious rooms for the money; nice English breakfasts; and very friendly staff. If I have to be negative (and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Stan T
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Stan T, Thank you very much for staying with us this summer and we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your visit! We have taken note of your comments regarding breakfast and will ensure to be more vigilant in the future - thank you for drawing our attention to this! We hope to see you again soon and... More 

Gray, Maine
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 26, 2016

This location is tricky because there is no dedicated parking. Our room was right at the top, which was nice as there was no noise from the hotel. It was quite warm in our room and we could not adjust the temp so we opened the windows...as a first night in England after arrival from the states that morning, we... More 

Helpful?
Thank ElizaRLW
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear ElizaRLW, Thank you for staying with us recently and for providing feedback on your experience. We are sorry to hear that you suffered some disturbance from outside the hotel during your visit. Please don't hesitate to contact the reception if situations such as this occur again. Our reception is 24 hours and exists not only for the security of... More 

Level Contributor
23 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2016

I was two days in this b & b. Upon arrival I was welcomed by a young man. After payment I wonder the internet password and I start in the room (top floor, totally separate bathroom outside the room). I had booked a room with private bathroom (which indicates 99% of cases NOT COMMUNICATING WITH OTHER ROOMS to my interpretation... More 

Helpful?
Thank assalto118
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear assalto118, Thank you for staying with us this year and for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your visit. We are very sorry to hear that you were not satisfied with our services. Please be assured that all of our rooms that are non-en suite, mean that the facilities are private to the occupier of the room for... More 

Gravesend, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2016

Attractive hotel set on a pretty garden square ( unfortunately drunks quite like it there ). Polite staff, clean rooms. Comfy bed and nice bedding. Toiletries, hairdryer, tea & coffee making stuff supplied. I expected the single rooms to be small, my sons was small but had enough room to move around in and make tea and I felt it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sandra C
NewSteine, General Manager at Gullivers Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Sandra C, Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience and we are happy to hear that you enjoyed certain elements of your visit. We do apologise if you found certain differences between the rooms that you and your son occupied. The hotel is situated in a lovely Regency... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (41)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (25)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
New Steine Hotel
New Steine Hotel
#44 of 98 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 575 reviews
0.0 mi away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#29 of 98 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 290 reviews
0.1 mi away
Istanbul EV Guest House
Istanbul EV Guest House
#67 of 98 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 stars 68 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Westbourne Hotel
Westbourne Hotel
#51 of 98 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Sea Breeze Brighton
Sea Breeze Brighton
#23 of 98 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
0.2 mi away
Paskins Town House
Paskins Town House
#16 of 98 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 stars 458 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Gulliver's Hotel and B&B, Brighton is a charming, elegant and tranquil Georgian Townhouse, offering cheap accommodation in central Brighton. Recently refurbished, Gulliver's Hotel Bed and Breakfast offers cheap accommodation comparable to most B&Bs bed and breaksfasts, but still It also offers a mix of baroque and contemporary design and the most personal and friendly of service.From the moment you arrive to your departure, you will be truly looked after. During check-in you can take in the relaxing surroundings of our Gulliver's Hotel Lounge and Hallways - surrounded by original artwork and caricature murals - you will be personally shown to your bedroom and all the facilities your room has to offer will be explained. Throughout your stay staff are on hand to assist with any query you may have, and on check-out (after a hearty breakfast, of course), we will ensure you an efficient and memorable departure, wishing you a pleasant journey and hoping you return again soon. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Gullivers Hotel

Address: 12A New Steine, Brighton BN2 1PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: $76 - $184 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Gullivers Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Priceline and Budget Places so you can book your Gullivers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay