We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

Nineteen

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Nineteen
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"]},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

143 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 137: English reviews
Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Just got back from a one night stay at nineteen ,great location so much so that six out of the seven rooms taken on the Saturday night were all going to the same show as we were . Mark the host was very friendly and nothing was to much trouble. Room was clean and the bed was very comfortable This...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Shaun B
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

We enjoyed our stay at the guesthouse much. The room was small, but cosy. The staff was very friendly and considerate. (!!!) We tried both options of breakfast (included or for an extra 3 pounds at a nearby cafe) and both was great. The advantage of having the included breakfast was definitely that you were able to enjoy breakfast in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sandra D
Mark M, Owner at Nineteen, responded to this review

Thank you for your positive comments Sandra. It was a pleasure to host you both this week. I'm very sorry that my two emails made you feel uncomfortable. It's just that because we're a very small property, without a permanent reception, it's really important for us to know when guests are intending to arrive with us, so we always ask...

Dymchurch, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 28, 2016 via mobile

We 1st visited nineteen 2 years ago and loved everything about it. For what we found were similar prices to travel lodge this was a much more personal experience inc. breakfast in bed daily! On our 1st visit as our bags were carried upstairs the handle on my suitcase came loose (as it had done for some time now) they...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank PipClintEm
Mark M, Owner at Nineteen, responded to this review

Dear PipClintEm it was lovely to welcome you back to Nineteen this week; thank you very much for posting such a kind review of your stay with us. We're really pleased that you enjoy staying with us and we look forward to seeing you again some time.

Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 13, 2016 via mobile

Our one night stay seemed much longer thanks to the help and advice of the owner. We stayed in the basement Japanese room with lovely courtyard which was immaculate and added to the mini break atmosphere. The very thorough visitor guide he produces for each room has some equally stylish dining and entertainment suggestions.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Honoursmum
Mark M, Owner at Nineteen, responded to this review

Thank you for posting this positive review of your stay at Nineteen Honoursmum. We are pleased we were able to give you things to support a pleasing short break with us.

Reviewed October 10, 2016 via mobile

My partner and I have just spent the weekend here and I have to say that I would struggle to find any negatives. Mark and Arif were the perfect hosts, so welcoming and helpful... nothing too much trouble, they even went out and got me gluten free bread for my allergy! The accommodation was modern, fresh and clean with lovely...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Emma R
Mark M, Owner at Nineteen, responded to this review

Thank you Emma R for staying with us and for posting this kind review. We're really pleased you enjoyed your stay at Nineteen, and that you appreciated the little touches we provide. Best wishes, MARK Proprietor

Lee-on-the-Solent, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 10, 2016

Just back from an amazing weekend in Brighton and a stay at the excellent Nineteen ! Stayed in the Japanese Courtyard room with it's own private and intimate courtyard garden. The room was spotless and had a beautiful breakfast delivered to the room each morning. Mark and Arif were brilliant hosts ! Looking forward to staying here again in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank hughesy4t
Mark M, Owner at Nineteen, responded to this review

Thank you Hughesy4t for taking time out to post this kind review of your stay at Nineteen. It really does make us happy and motivated to learn that our guests were pleased with their stay at Nineteen. We hope to see you again some time.

Liverpool, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 24, 2016

I have just spent the weekend at Nineteen and can't find anything to fault it. The bed was large and comfortable and everywhere was spotless. I had read about the rules, but only saw one comment on the guide and that concerned the fine for smoking and I agreed with it. Breakfast was delivered to the room and was a...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Karonher
Mark M, Owner at Nineteen, responded to this review

Thank you very much Karonher for staying with us last week, and for posting this detailed and positive review. We're really glad you enjoyed staying with us and we would be delighted to see you again.

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 19, 2016 via mobile

A rather nice 2 night stay in a large bright room that was well presented and clean. The bathroom was compact but adequate. Breakfast in the room was healthy and good sized portions. Mark and his partner were both friendly and helpful which made the stay very relaxed.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sheffieldtraveller17
Mark M, Owner at Nineteen, responded to this review

Dear Sheffieldtraveller17, thank you for staying with us and thank you for this kind review. We're delighted that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we hope to welcome you back to Nineteen some day.

A TripAdvisor Member
Level Contributor
37 reviews
9 hotel reviews
13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2016 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights, and was disappointed with the room size as I was sharing with a family member, no air con very stuffy, booking.com charged us more then the actually price nice breakfast which was brought to the room, nice management, but lots of seagulls, nice location easy access to everything, was given stand up fan, but it...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
Mark M, Owner at Nineteen, responded to this review

Thank you for choosing to stay with us. I'm really sorry you were disappointed with some aspects of your stay at Nineteen, but some of this might be due to, dare I say, unrealistic expectations of what you will get in a Guest House. Even 5* The Grand hotel does not have air conditioning; it's just not something the UK...

London
Reviewed September 6, 2016

I spent 2 nights in the Japanese room and really enjoyed my stay here. The outside space is cute and it was nice to open a door for some fresh air - hotel rooms can be stuffy. Room and courtyard is private and was a lovely retreat at the end of the day. Good location, quick walk to the front...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Geri R
Mark M, Owner at Nineteen, responded to this review

Thank you so much Geri R, for staying with us, for posting this review, and for challenging the comments left by one other reviewer. We're so pleased you were able to find some me time during your stay with us.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

82 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (51)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (31)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (8)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
One Broad Street Guesthouse
0.4 mi away
The White House
The White House
#21 of 99 in Brighton
328 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Griffin Guest House
The Griffin Guest House
#16 of 99 in Brighton
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Red Brighton Blue
Red Brighton Blue
#3 of 99 in Brighton
1,171 reviews
0.0 mi away
Guest and the City
Guest and the City
#2 of 99 in Brighton
144 reviews
0.0 mi away
Brightonwave
Brightonwave
#13 of 99 in Brighton
305 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A luxury stylish boutique Guest House close to all Brighton's attractions, with high standards of service. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Nineteen

Address: 19 Broad Street, Brighton BN2 1TJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: $99 - $201 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Nineteen reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel 19
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Nineteen staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Nineteen staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“I had a room at the back of the house and it was quiet and peaceful”
 of 5 bubbles Karonher, Sep 24, 2016 | Read review
“Japanese room has a private courtyard”
 of 5 bubbles MrsCrabb, Sep 6, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are great ... large spacious rooms - a great hotel!”
 of 5 bubbles JaneyK2711, Jul 11, 2016 | Read review
“A higher floor could be better, but there are only seven rooms.”
 of 5 bubbles AMoz, Jul 4, 2016 | Read review
“I stayed on the top floor and it seemed to be a bit quieter despite the vibrant nightlife.”
 of 5 bubbles owecox, Jun 24, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay