We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Kipps Backpackers Hostel

Certificate of Excellence
Hotel website
76 Grand Parade, Brighton BN29JA, England
Offers & Announcements
Free breakfast with your stay
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Kipps Backpackers Hostel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

145 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 121: English reviews
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

I was stayed at this hostel twice when i was in Brighton. From the outside it's not much to impress me, but inside is awesome. i felt homely, staff were very friendly. You can get breakfast there but have to pay extra. They clean your room everyday even you are staying there multiple days which is not normal for the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Dara S
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016 via mobile

Me and my mate booked a double room here as a place to just crash when we went to Wildlife festival so we didn't expect much but we were both really impressed! I have paid a lot more for hotels and not had the same quality service and value for money. I would definitely recommend it, it's location is spot... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michael H
KippsBrighton, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we exceeded your expectations :) We are happy to read your nice comments, and rating Thanks for taking the time to rate us See you next year ! More 

Clarksville, Tennessee
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2016 via mobile

Extremely lovely place for the price, staff was friendly. Common areas were delightful and rooms were cleaned daily. I stayed in a mixed room, everyone was courteous. Three available bathrooms is a great convenience. Location is excellent, very close to the pier. If you can't climb stairs easily, then it may be difficult for you. Unfortunately staff mistook my personal... More 

Helpful?
Thank worldtravelr21
KippsBrighton, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your nice ratings and comments. Re. Towel. When cleaning the room, your towel was picked up by mistake, but when you came to reception to ask, the receptionist said the towel was in the wash, and if you came back later, it would be ready for you to collect, but you never returned. So we still... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2016 via mobile

I have been there b4,it's a EXCELLENTLY valuable for money+ clinically clean+cosy+quanty!I adore this place!would highly recommend this place!however;I found myself in a quite delicate situation, this time!As the owner/director Mr Lee(a proper Gentlemen+Adorable+Diplomatic+kind+sweet!they do have almost always new staff;this time I encountered 2youngs male (I beleaves; 1from france+other from italy! BothVery kind+devoted+Diplomatic!Exceptional!Now I had encountered also a Mid age... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joeypim
KippsBrighton, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Was nice to have you back staying with us again We will take on board all of your comments and we are sorry to hear that you felt one of the staff was a little off with you, during your stay, I am sure this was not her intention, as we are all very focused on customer service at... More 

Brisbane, Queensland, Australia
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016

I have stayed at Kipps previously and had no hesitation in staying there again. My room, a single, had everything I needed and a lovely view of Brighton. I had a hospitality tray, tv, hairdryer, the bathroom was right next door and the breakfast was delicious. Sadly, the internet would not work in my room despite the friendly staff trying... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kay A
KippsBrighton, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Thanks for the review and rating. Everyone elses internet was working fine, and we all tried connecting on our phones, and everything worked fast and reliable. Maybe the laptop just needs a little update, to improve the wifi connection. Was nice to have you staying with us for a few nights. More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2016 via mobile

We arrived at Kipps on Friday afternoon, check in wasn't until 2 and we were early in but the reception allowed us to store our bags until we came back after lunch and a wander. Upon our return, we were greeted by a friendly lad who gave us a run through of the rules of the hostel and a wee... More 

Helpful?
Thank demolitiongurl22
KippsBrighton, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Glad you enjoyed your stay with us. and your time in Brighton . A nice review, and we will take all your comments on board, even the negative ones :) Thanks More 

Salford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2016 via mobile

Absolutely loved this hostel . We stayed here for a friend's hen do and all the staff have been so friendly and helpful . They always went out of their way to accommodate us and our needs . The communal facilities are fantastic with a lovely modern lounge and balcony : it really added a lovely dimension to our weekend... More 

Helpful?
Thank carly h
KippsBrighton, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hey Glad you and the girls had a great weekend at Kipps and in Brighton Glad the Hen Weekend went well. Thanks for taking the time to write up such a nice review :) More 

Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
67 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2016 via mobile

Located 5 minutes from Brighton Pier and just across Royal Pavilion this very small hotel is a great and cost-efficient option for meeting participants. To Brighton Conference Center is a slow 10-12 minutes walk. Room 1 at second floor has an optimal location because it faces the inner cortyard not the busy street.

Helpful?
Thank Calulag6
KippsBrighton, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Glad you enjoyed the Kipps Experience. Thanks for the lovely rating and comments.... More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2016

We stayed here for our anniversary and thought it was a brilliant little hostel. Our room was small, but then we only needed it for sleeping and it was beautifully decorated. The night we stayed happened to be pancake night! Free pancakes all round! They also had lots of other theme nights throughout the week which seemed brilliant! The staff... More 

Helpful?
Thank Claire R
KippsBrighton, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hi Thank you for your nice comments, we are glad you enjoyed your stay and the nightly events Remember book direct with us next time, and you will get a 10% discount, and we can also upgrade you to our ensuite double room !!! Hopefully see you soon Kipps More 

2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2016 via mobile

Very clean bright and airy rooms with friendly helpful staff. Central location close to everything - shops, pier and restaurants. Breakfast was basic but will definitely stay again. Am already planning my next trip!

Helpful?
Thank Gerri O
KippsBrighton, Manager at Kipps Backpackers Hostel, responded to this review

Hey Glad you loved the place :) Plan your next trip, we are waiting to welcome you back !! Kipps More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

58 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (26)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
0:48
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (15)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (32)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (9)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre
0.5 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#7 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 1,884 reviews
0.2 mi away
Premier Inn Brighton City Centre Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
My Brighton
My Brighton
#10 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 1,957 reviews
0.6 mi away
Britannia Study Hotel
Britannia Study Hotel
#23 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 stars 175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Kitchenette
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Laundry Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Welcome to Kipps Backpackers Brighton We are a small friendly central hostel/backpackers situated opposite the Royal Pavillion/ Gardens and are close to all of Brighton's Main Attractions, including the Brighton Pier, Brighton Wheel The Beach, The Lanes, The Theatres/ Concert Venues and the Gay District. The Train Station and Bus Station are just a few minutes walk away. We offer a very friendly atmosphere, comfortable, budget accommodation with excellent facilities including a licensed bar. We also offer free Wi-Fi Internet throughout and 2x free internet PCs in our games room. Guests can also relax on our terrace or in our lounge area with XBOX/ Wii and Digital TV. We also offer a self catering kitchen. Our Accommodation is available to individuals and group reservations. We have a variety of room types, including - Private Rooms - Single/ Twins to Double Rooms TV, Radio/ CD player, Tea & Coffee making facilities, Shower and Wash basin. We also offer family rooms 3/4 Bedded Rooms. We also offer Dormitory Rooms for larger groups or individuals with ensuite facilities and free security lockers. We have free nightly events at the hostel including pasta nights, pizza nights and XBox Nights. A great way to meet other guests and the staff We look forward to welcoming you to vibrant Brighton and to Kipps Brighton. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Kipps Backpackers Hostel

Address: 76 Grand Parade, Brighton BN29JA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: $32 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kipps Backpackers Hostel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, SpeedyBooker.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com and Odigeo so you can book your Kipps Backpackers Hostel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay