We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

New Steine Hotel

10-11 New Steine | Kemp Town, East Sussex, Brighton BN2 1PB, England
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
New Steine Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

566 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 530: English reviews
Margate, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We had booked for two nights, just to see the sights of Brighton.We arrived to scaffolding outside, which was OK but would like to have been told when making the booking. We had booked for dinner bed and breakfast for two days. The first evening we ordered from a pretty sparse menu and decided on steaks and were quickly told... More 

Helpful?
Thank FredMorris42
Warwick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Scaffolding at front of hotel. Parking a nightmare. Carpets absolutely filthy. Breakfast awful. Kettle in room needs de scaling...or binning. Room needed decorating and updating. Walls and doors dirty. Tiles need replacing in bathroom as either missing or dirty grouting. Windows need replacing as black and mouldy. Windows not been cleaned for ages. Toilet brush a health hazard. Thick dust... More 

Helpful?
Thank 626Sheila
NewSteine, General Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear 626Sheila, We are very sorry to hear that you were so unsatisfied with your recent stay with us and whilst we appreciate all retrospective feedback, it is a pity that we were not aware of these issues at the time as we would have been more able to both assess and address them for you. Nonetheless we are sincerely... More 

Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

The hotel had scaffolding up when me & family visited, which was not stated when booked. Of course this blocks any sea view you might've had... Staff were very friendly & the service from them was good. Breakfast was very nice, can't fault it.The noise at night was terrible & you can hear doors shutting, some type of boiler going?... More 

Helpful?
Thank Starr O
NewSteine, General Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Starr O, Thank you for your recent visit and for taking the time to provide feedback regarding your experience. Whilst we are delighted to hear that our staff made you feel welcome and that you enjoyed our award winning breakfast, we are sorry to hear that some elements of your stay were left wanting. We do apologise if the... More 

Alsager, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Excellent hospitality & exceptionally friendly and welcoming staff. Booked via smart phone through Late Rooms.com literally 15 minutes before arrival. In our case an unexpected complimentary welcome drink on arrival while we checked in. Shown to our room and although room and en-suite were quite small it was clean and comfortable and plenty adequate for our short stay. Full English... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mercman2014
NewSteine, General Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mercman2014, Thank you for staying with us recently and for taking the time to share your experience here with others. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay and that our staff were able to make you feel welcome and at home. Client satisfaction is of the utmost importance to us and so it is always a pleasure when... More 

Stroud, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 2 nights with my partner and our two teenage daughters ,did Race for life so needed somewhere nice to stay to visit Brighton and family . Arrived at the b & b,didn't recognise it at first as had ugly scaffolding covering the front ...we had to get vouchers for parking ,so brought one at the front desk.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rachel C
NewSteine, General Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Rachel C, Thank you for choosing the New Steine Hotel as your place of residence during your visit to Brighton and for taking the time to provide feedback on your experience. We do apologise for any disappointment caused by the scaffolding outside the building. Unfortunately the bad weather in June instigated a necessity for us to conduct some unexpected... More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Clean and friendly hotel, staff were very helpful. Rooms were okay if unspectacular. Very well placed; some very good independent restaurants and musical bars very close by; central gardens outside and close to the beach and pier. Free motorcycle parking around the square which is a nice bonus. Thoroughly enjoyable weekend.

Helpful?
Thank Chris W
NewSteine, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Chris W, Thank you very much for you feedback. We are delighted to know that the rooms met your needs and that our staff were there to help you when required. We are allocated in a very nice area where you always find something to do and we are happy that you enjoyed this. Kind Regards, Angela Cea More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2016

I decided to take the kids away for a midweek break for half term as they hadn't been and wanted to visit! After the original hotel had to be cancelled due to building work and the offered hotel wasn't really up to scratch, we found this one. We had a triple room, of 3 single beds. They can be a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank solidbond67
NewSteine, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear solidbond67, Thank you very much for your review. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay despite the allocation of the room. Our staff try their best and we are really happy to know that they provided you with a good service. It will be our pleasure to welcoming you again and please if you decide to do it... More 

Abuja, Nigeria
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2016

I stayed at this hotel for one night during the recent bank holiday weekend. The location is really good: just up from the sea, on New Steine, which has a little bit of peace in the middle, and near the restaurants and pubs of Kemptown. It is about five minutes from central Brighton. The place itself was friendly: the staff... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Nigel H
NewSteine, General Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nigel H, Thank you very much for staying with us recently and for your detailed feedback. We are happy to hear that our staff succeeded in making you feel welcome and that you enjoyed our award winning breakfast. Indeed our budget double room is compact in size, however we hope this is reflected in the price as it is... More 

Worcs, England
Level Contributor
37 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2016

Handily situated in Kemp Town, a short walk from most of Brighton's main attractions. Rooms are a bit above average for this type of accommodation and the staff try really hard to make you comfortable and welcome. Very good breakfast.

Helpful?
Thank wychemike
NewSteine, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Wychemike Thank you very much for staying with us and of course for your positive feedback. I am glad you enjoyed our award winning breakfast all made with local products and that you appreciated how hard our staff work. We will be happy to welcoming you again in a future. Kind Regards More 

Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2016

Lovely friendly hotel , breakfast very good .staff helpful .great location and very good value .the only down side is the rooms are quite small an if like us the people next door leave the fan on in their bathroom at night it will ruin your sleep as its really noisy .

Helpful?
Thank nellie m
NewSteine, Manager at New Steine Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Nellie M, Thank you very much for you kind comments, we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay despite the small issue with the noise from the other room for which we are truly sorry. As a note for the future please note that we have a 24 hours reception that can sort out this kind of... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

108 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (80)
Viewed
Room/Suite (15)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (12)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (5)
Viewed
Other (36)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (28)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Other (18)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Gullivers Hotel
Gullivers Hotel
#62 of 98 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 stars 252 reviews
0.0 mi away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#28 of 98 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 274 reviews
0.0 mi away
Sea Spray Boutique Hotel
Sea Spray Boutique Hotel
#23 of 98 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 755 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Five Hotel
Five Hotel
#41 of 98 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 stars 209 reviews
0.9 mi away
The Oriental
The Oriental
#12 of 98 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 stars 618 reviews
0.3 mi away
Brighton Inn Boutique Guest Accommodation
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Beachfront
  • Room Service
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The New Steine Hotel is an elegant and fashionable five-storey Georgian Townhouse in central Brighton. With a modern design of hotel that exudes warmth and style, a cheap boutique hotel right in the heart of Brighton city centre, with a hint of French influence, the New Steine Hotel offers exceptional value and cheap rates comparable to most hotels but retains the same level of service as any more expensive hotel in Brighton. New Steine Hotel's facilities and budget are suited to both business travelers and tourists alike who want a hotel in Brighton at the right price.New Steine Hotel is a boutique hotel right in the cultural centre of Brighton. Within a short walk of the hotel are the Royal Pavilion, the Brighton Museum and of course, Brighton Pier and Beach. We would class ourselves as a boutique hotel. Why boutique? Well, we are a small hotel with a difference, offering a personal service at reasonable prices. Contemporary, with lasting appeal, a statement in design that exudes warmth and style, delicious French food, wines and drinks, impeccable service 24 hours a day and original art all around you - The New Steine Hotel is all these things, and more.From the moment you walk through the door to our boutique hotel you are pampered and welcomed. Upon check-in your assistant walks you to your room and explains all the facilities your room has to offer. Throughout your stay staff are on hand to assist with any query you may have, and on check-out (after a hearty breakfast, of course), we will ensure you an efficient and memorable departure, wishing you a pleasant journey and hoping you return again soon. A personalised concierge service is at the guests' disposal 24 hours a day for all requirements and needs and each of the bedrooms has been designed to incorporate comfort with modern needs. ... more   less 

Additional Information about New Steine Hotel

Address: 10-11 New Steine | Kemp Town, East Sussex, Brighton BN2 1PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: $81 - $196 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — New Steine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, Odigeo, Hotwire, Travelocity, SpeedyBooker.com and Agoda so you can book your New Steine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay