We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Langfords Hotel

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Langfords Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

395 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 382: English reviews
Chalfont St. Giles, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
73 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

This was a late booking to attend a graduation ceremony. Reserving over the phone was simple and when there was a small query this was dealt with very quickly and noted and referred to upon arrival. Double room was very spacious; single a bit too hot and high up, but they have others lower down if we had booked earlier.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Helen17112013
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

The staff where kind and polite and the WiFi was good. It was nice to see that you had a bar and pool table. The room was ok even though the toilet was loose and the bathroom looked and felt moldy. You should also inform the guest that the mondelo lounge doesn't open before 9. Fpr people that are up... More 

Helpful?
Thank Joakim G
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

We were glad that your stay hit all the right notes and thank you for your feedback which is much appreciated. Hopefully you and your family had a great time in the City and that we can see you again before too long More 

Leipzig, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

appreciated the style and cleanliness of our room (first floor); comfy bed, nice view and close to beach location; got good value for the money paid (rates for this place seem to vary significantly) various eateries right around the corner; staff was helpful and committed; good wifi

Helpful?
Thank EuropeTraveller69
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this stellar, no-nonsense review. It has put Riba and her team on cloud nine as a result and we are very much looking forward to seeing you again - from Germany - when your plans allow. You were a brilliant guest More 

Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Paid £135 for a double room. Room was ok size wise but it smelt horrible, damp, old. Bed wss ok. Mucky carpets, dingy room, bathroom equally so. Seagulls very loud on window cills. Downstairs was ok, there was a bar and pool table.

Helpful?
Thank Kate B
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

We were naturally sorry to learn your stay did not hit all the right notes and hopefully we can reach out to you through the good offices of TripAdvisor Our seagulls are very much part of life in the City and they invariably prompt a reaction The Langfords strives to provide value for money and we believe that £135 for... More 

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Harwich, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

on arrival I was dealt with abruptly told I needed to place a £50pp deposit down - which is standard but that we wouldn't get this back for 2 days! one thing to take my card details incase I damage my room but to actually take my money I didn't find acceptable - but what choice did we have!! I... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mjessex2016
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

Whilst we were pleased that, overall, you recognised the value for money the Langfords strives to provide, by equal measure we were sorry you encountered some issues with your stay. To be clear, there is only one working lift in the hotel [service or otherwise] which services the south part of this great Edwardian building. Love them or hate them,... More 

Margate, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We were there for 3 nights in a double room. Good room size, comfy bed, nice bathroom. Our particular room also had a balcony. The hotel itself was nice enough, bar, pool table, tv showing the football, nice entrance and 24 hour reception service. We needed somewhere to stay near Brighton, and found the buses frequent and easy to hop... More 

Helpful?
Thank xandriana13
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this super review and for visiting us from Margate. Riba and her team are over the moon and very much looking forward to seeing you again The Langfords strives to offer value for money traditional accommodation and for us it is about the right guest choosing the right hotel for their particular needs. However we... More 

A TripAdvisor Member
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Came with a Hen party. Got given a very hot attic room on third floor with no lift. It was a triple room but only given 2 towels. When asked for a third, it was if we had asked for something that was quite a lot of trouble and they said that they would see what the could do! We... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

This is a disappointing critique and has upset our Head Housekeeper who would want all our guests to have a plentiful supply of towels. Our website access statement makes it clear that only the south wing of the hotel is serviced by a lift and we hope the location is made equally clearly. Hove is around 20 minutes from the... More 

Level Contributor
97 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

This is easily the worst hotel I have ever encountered. I am embarrassed to admit the room cost me £115. Looking back, I think they should have paid me. Very tired rooms, ripped carpets, mouldy walls and bathroom. Although the area is nice and quiet, the noise between rooms and the corridor made for a poor nights sleep. STAY AWAY... More 

Helpful?
Thank David H
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

This review is as unhelpful as it is disheartening and typical arm chair fare. If this guest was as disappointed as they are now alleging, the hotel would have done their best to suggest alternatives. This appears to be a highly experienced traveller and contributor so we are at a complete loss. No substantive details of their stay are provided... More 

UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

I paid £90 per night for a single room and was allocated room 302. It was situated at the end of a narrow, maze like corridor and I definitely agree with the previous review. It was certainly dreary and my first impression was just grim. Fine if I was paying £50 in a hostal - the price doesn't include breakfast... More 

Helpful?
Thank sarafdaisy
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

This is clearly a disappointing review. While this patron's stay may not have hit all the right notes; we must however be very clear about the electrical issue, in that all items have been properly "PAT" tested and that the over-arching 'periodic' testing - a key regulatory requirement - is adhered to strictly The hotel is very clear that there... More 

Reading Uk
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016

Needed to find a hotel in Brighton to be near The Hilton for a spa day but The Hilton was full and all the hotels we looked at were booked up on the dates we needed so ended up here. omg it was horrible the only positives were clean sheets on the beds and polite staff at reception. The towels... More 

Helpful?
Thank manager61
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

This review is all about expectations - the guest chose to stay in a value for money hotel then as best as we can tell elected to benchmark it against the Hilton - there would have been plenty of other similar establishments to that well known brand so why not pay more and accessorize the experience? Why not indeed. The... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

54 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (45)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (26)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#28 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 stars 480 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Courtlands Hotel
The Courtlands Hotel
#32 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 stars 451 reviews
0.9 mi away
Britannia Study Hotel
Britannia Study Hotel
#23 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 stars 178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ibis Brighton City Centre
0.9 mi away
West Beach Hotel
West Beach Hotel
#36 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 stars 277 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#26 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 stars 1,260 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Langfords Hotel in Hove is situated on a tree-lined avenue a short stroll from the shingle beach of Brighton and Hove’s historical seafront; only a fifteen minute walk from the bustling centre of the South Coast’s famous seaside resort of ‘kiss-me-quick’ Brighton. Although Brighton retains its cheeky reputation, it has grown up considerably since it merged with its immediate neighbour, Hove – when it became a new British city for the Millennium; a gift from HM The Queen! The combined treat of ‘Brighton & Hove’ officially merging, is that the City has become one of Britain’s most savvy twenty-first century Media Hubs – and The Langfords keeps pace happily, with conference packages to suit corporate delegates or for ‘start-ups’ in need of some space when meeting with clients…The Langfords is a lovely, red-brick Victorian building echoing with old charm and brimming with character. The hotel has 58 very well proportioned bedrooms (all with en-suite facilities), and the spacious lounge bar has direct access to our lawned gardens – perfect for relaxing in on those sunny summer days and warm evenings. We also have eight function suites and a reputation for excellent conference and wedding facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Langfords Hotel

Address: 8 - 16 Third Avenue, Brighton BN3 2PX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: $74 - $283 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Langfords Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Agoda, Expedia, Priceline, Odigeo and Travelocity so you can book your Langfords Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langfords Hotel Brighton
Hotel Style:
#17 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay