We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Langfords Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Langfords Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

415 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 401: English reviews
Cotswolds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Room was basic but clean. But in need of some repairs... I was surprised an additional £50 deposit was requested at the time if check in.... You'd expect girl to be pristine in this case!!! There was a tile missing from bathroom.. bedside lamps were tatty and broken. Paintwork and decor a bit tired. I booked last minute to visit... More 

Helpful?
Thank jme1967e
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

This dear lady made a non-refundable booking through a well known on-line travel agent. From that site it is clear that the hotel does not offer breakfast - our guests were telling us this was not a key service - far more important was fast reliable and free WIFI Whilst we were of course sorry this patron's stay did not... More 

Vancouver, Canada
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

A beautiful old building on a nice street by the water, very poorly kept up- dingy, dirty, don't think the carpets get vacuumed ever. For the price it should be a LOT cleaner. The throw pillows on the bed were disgustingly dirty. Desk staff not very friendly. The plumbing leaks. It's still a great location and a nice building but... More 

Helpful?
Thank hilaryprongs
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

We were naturally sorry to read this review and while there were positives, clearly your stay did not hit all the right notes. I have asked my management team to review urgently as a result. Although you do not say which room you were staying in, hopefully we will be able to discover this information Coincidentally, I was in Vancouver... More 

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

The Netherlands
Level Contributor
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Parking - it says no parking in list of facilities. There is parking in certain bays on the street outside for up to 11 hours. (Parking restriction 9am - 8pm.) However you can only pay for 2 hours at a time at the machine... So would have to return to pay every 2 hours. We arrived at the hotel at... More 

Helpful?
Thank Hayley D
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

This is clearly something of a mixed review and we were sorry to learn sleep was disrupted because of the inconsiderate behaviour of other guests; ideally one should let reception know so they can take direct action Street parking is not the hotel's responsibility and while we cannot therefore comment on the situation you describe with the meters, what is... More 

london
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Family stay with 2 kids. Positives - staff were friendly, location is decent (it is in Hove); 5 mins from beach; £7 taxi or 20min walk to Brighton, parking no problem (only £7/day), evenings are calm and quiet. Negatives - everything in the hotel looks tired and it could do with a 1/2million pound make over! There is lots of... More 

Helpful?
Thank amit p
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this detailed critique and for your various suggestions; we appreciate your interest. We had a large delivery of beds and mattresses earlier than planned/just before the Bank Holiday which is of course great news for our guests [once deployed] but left us with a short term logistical issue - they are not easy to hide As you... More 

Northamptonshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

A shabby budget hotel set in a pleasant road in Hove. One member of staff was so abusive you would think she was doing it for a bet. Take my advice, pay the extra and stay somewhere nice instead - I wish I had!

Helpful?
1 Thank yipyip2014
Allegra-Sussex, Guest Relations Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

With no details of when this guest might have stayed and/or the room involved, I am at a total loss in terms of trying to reach out to them and discover what may have happened. We can only hope that they contact the hotel proactively However what is being said does sound rather far fetched - I mean why would... More 

Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2016 via mobile

Start with the positives; room was clean. The rest unfortunately did not live up to the price tag. Upon checking in, and the hotel taking full payment from me, I was informed i could not get a receipt showing full balance paid until check out. Pretty useless when claiming expenses on a 5 night trip. Check in lady was blunt... More 

Helpful?
Thank lulucane
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

This is clearly a disappointing review and we were sorry to learn there were issues with your stay, with in turn impacted on your overall enjoyment of the Langfords. Until a guest physically checks out, we cannot issue an invoice [this would also be the case with hotels which pre-authorise a card on arrival] but a pro-forma or similar could... More 

Worcestershire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2016

I have stayed at Langfords for about 14/16 weeks while working in the area, staying for 2,3,or 4 nights per week. Beds always have nice clean white sheets & pillars and bathroom towels the same which are changed regular. Rooms are always clean and tidy however, general painting decorating on some rooms needs attention. The hotel is very convenient for... More 

Helpful?
Thank mikeB8395LC
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

This is a super review, fair and much appreciated as a result. You are an honorary member of Team Langfords now and Riba and her team are over the moon as a result Our works in the rooms are an ongoing so your comments are timely Hopefully when your works eventually finish you will be able to then visit us... More 

Stansted Mountfitchet, null, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2016

Excellent stay for 3 nights for Brighton Pride. Quiet hotel room, comfy bed. Lovely staff on reception. Always greeted with a smile. Excellent location on a leafy lane. Nice garden out the back to have a gin and tonic in the sunshine. Will defiantly stay here again

Helpful?
Thank Colin M
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

What a lovely review and thank you so much. Pride is surely the highlight of the year and guests like you make it all the more worthwhile...a cheeky G&T before heading out sounds perfect More 

Amiens, France
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2016

Large,comfy twin beds, clean and spacious bathroom, but filthy windows and noise from some kind of machinery that kept switching itself on and off. Apart from that, well situated and easy to find a (expensive) parking space nearby.

Helpful?
Thank janebrothwell
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

We appreciate this review and your visiting us from France Whilst heartened that overall your stay was good, equally the dirty windows have irritated us - in a positive way - in that we recently commissioned all the upper floor windows to be cleaned so we need to investigate - thank you for mentioning this. As to the mechanical issue,... More 

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2016 via mobile

We stayed at Langfords Hotel in Brighton for 5 days and we had a really good stay. The staff were excellent and our room was perfect and excatly what we wanted and asked for. We definately be coming back again.

Helpful?
Thank Sefu12
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Langfords Hotel, responded to this review

What a super review and thank you so much for your kind words and custom We are very much looking forward to seeing you again; Riba and her team are well and truly over the moon More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

61 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (52)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (4)
Viewed
Other (33)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#28 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 stars 499 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Courtlands Hotel
The Courtlands Hotel
#31 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 stars 459 reviews
0.9 mi away
West Beach Hotel
West Beach Hotel
#34 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 stars 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#4 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 stars 660 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#24 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 stars 1,332 reviews
0.9 mi away
Britannia Study Hotel
Britannia Study Hotel
#18 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 stars 206 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Meeting Rooms
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Langfords Hotel in Hove is situated on a tree-lined avenue a short stroll from the shingle beach of Brighton and Hove’s historical seafront; only a fifteen minute walk from the bustling centre of the South Coast’s famous seaside resort of ‘kiss-me-quick’ Brighton. Although Brighton retains its cheeky reputation, it has grown up considerably since it merged with its immediate neighbour, Hove – when it became a new British city for the Millennium; a gift from HM The Queen! The combined treat of ‘Brighton & Hove’ officially merging, is that the City has become one of Britain’s most savvy twenty-first century Media Hubs – and The Langfords keeps pace happily, with conference packages to suit corporate delegates or for ‘start-ups’ in need of some space when meeting with clients…The Langfords is a lovely, red-brick Victorian building echoing with old charm and brimming with character. The hotel has 58 very well proportioned bedrooms (all with en-suite facilities), and the spacious lounge bar has direct access to our lawned gardens – perfect for relaxing in on those sunny summer days and warm evenings. We also have eight function suites and a reputation for excellent conference and wedding facilities. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Langfords Hotel

Address: 8-16 Third Avenue, Brighton BN3 2PX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: $71 - $208 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Langfords Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 55
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Langfords Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Langfords Hotel Brighton
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay