We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Old Ship Hotel

Save
Share
King's Road, Brighton BN1 1NR England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com$121
ZenHotels.com
eDreams$121
Expedia.com$117
Hotels.com$117
Travelocity$117
View all 13 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (1396)
360
Panoramas (7)
Room & Suite (159)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Contactless check-out
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#21 of 45 hotels in Brighton
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
The four-star Old Ship Hotel is a historic Georgian hotel with 154 bedrooms, 49 of which overlook Brighton's famous beach, that also has chargeable onsite parking for up to 50 cars. Just a 5-minute walk from Brighton Pier, The Lanes and the city's bars and restaurants, previous guests have included an array of royalty, aristocracy, artists and musicians, such as Charles II & Paganini. Enjoy classic British dishes in the Steak-on-Sea Restaurant, or private dining in the 400-year-old cellars, and drinks on the Al Fresco Bar Terrace on the promenade, before heading out for top-class entertainment in the theatres and clubs.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Paid private parking on-site
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Billiards
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Parking garage
Wifi
Coffee shop
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Business Center with Internet Access
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
24-hour security
Baggage storage
Concierge
Newspaper
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
Shared lounge / TV area
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Express check-in / check-out
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Housekeeping
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Historic Hotel
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Russian, Spanish and 2 more
3,833Reviews57Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 1,133
  • 1,362
  • 791
  • 318
  • 229
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
Dave B wrote a review Nov 22
Brighton, United Kingdom2 contributions
It is difficult to express in writing how grateful myself and my partner are to all the staff of The Old Ship hotel. This has been a difficult year of all of us, however on the 2nd of September 2020 my partner & I were married, we had the smallest of wedding ceremonies in the Registry Office of Brighton Town Hall, we were allowed one witness each to come inside with us, all others would have to stay socially distanced outside. We had asked only our closest of family and friends to come to Bighton to celebrate our marriage, all our guests stayed at The Old Ship hotel arriving in the afternoon and early evening on the day before the ceremony. Over the two days of our socially distanced and safe celebrations, the staff organised: safe greetings drinks on the front terrace the day our guests arrived, a delicious breakfast for all (including our vegan friends) on the morning before our ceremony and the day after for those who stayed two nights, a lovely afternoon tea and reception for all after our ceremony. The feed back we had from all our family and friends who stayed at The Old Ship included comments like: 'the rooms are spotlessly clean', 'the beds are really comfy and the linen smells lovely and fresh', 'the staff are so friendly and helpful', 'I/We felt safe as the Covid precautions in place were well organised and managed', We had an amazing time, I didn't realise Brighton is such a great city'. All we can say is "THANK YOU".
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Bramwell, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear David It is very humbling for me, as the hotel General Manager, to read a review like yours, as it makes absolutely everything we do worth it. I am delighted you chose to celebrate your marriage with us at The Old Ship and I couldn’t be happier that we played our part in making your day special. Thank you for such kind words. I have shared your post with my entire team and I know that your feedback will lift their spirits as we continue to navigate our way through these most unusual times. I wish you both every happiness and hope we see you here again at The Old Ship Hotel. Kind Regards Jason Bramwell General Manager
Read more
Neil W wrote a review Nov 20
2 contributions
I visited Brighton in October and stayed at the Old Ship; once again I was not disappointed. My room was spotless and the staff where professional at all times. I visited a friend who was staying a different hotel and I'm so please I re-booked this one again after that visit! The room I booked this time had a sea view, which was lovely, Overall, I had a great time. The hotel cleanliness and staff safety measures put me at ease straight away. I will be back! Thanks you to the hotel staff. Keep safe; things will be back to normal one day!
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Cleanliness
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Bramwell, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel
Responded 4 days ago
Thank you for your review of our hotel. It is a joy to read a review such as yours. We strive to be able to offer the best possible stay with every guest staying at The Old Ship Hotel Brighton and as such it is a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. I will be happily sharing your review with the members of our team whom I am sure will be as happy to hear it as I am. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel, should you be planning another visit to Brighton. Kind Regards Jason Bramwell General Manager
Read more
Sarah R wrote a review Nov 18
Norwich, United Kingdom9 contributions2 helpful votes
Visited the Old Ship in September. I have visited before mainly for a specific reason but this time was slightly different, and I was hoping to get a much needed break and escape from the lockdown blues. I was not disappointed. We had a great time from the cosy room, fabulous staff and above all help and advice to make sure we could have a good time and still stay within all the government guidelines. Would definitely come back. Brighton is always a great place to visit and for me, the only place to stay when I do is The Old Ship.
Read more
Date of stay: September 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Bramwell, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel
Responded 5 days ago
Thank you for your review of our hotel. It is a joy to read a review such as yours. We strive to be able to offer the best possible stay with every guest staying at The Old Ship Hotel Brighton and as such it is a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. I will be happily sharing your review with the members of our team whom I am sure will be as happy to hear it as I am. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel, should you be planning another visit to Brighton. Kind Regards Jason Bramwell General Manager
Read more
kerry238 wrote a review Nov 17
london6 contributions4 helpful votes
I’d just like to thank all the staff for being so welcoming and professional during these very uncertain times. We were staying because of building work at home, a clean warm room with a lovely shower💦 Extremely windy day
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Bramwell, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Thank you for your review of our hotel. It is a joy to read a review such as yours. We strive to be able to offer the best possible stay with every guest staying at The Old Ship Hotel Brighton and as such it is a pleasure to receive such positive feedback. I will be happily sharing your review with the members of our team whom I am sure will be as happy to hear it as I am. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel, should you be planning another visit to Brighton. Kind Regards Jason Bramwell General Manager
Read more
Mary B wrote a review Nov 9
11 contributions
+1
The room was awful the only good thing was the view. The room needs shutting down and not used until you sort it out. The pictures on your website do not show this awful room. We thought booking a sea view room it would be one of your best rooms. We have never stayed in a room that everything in it was bad the carpet was a disgusting. The radiator thermostat was broken on the floor. The dressing table and table the tops were all damaged. The complaints of the room are endless. The staff for breakfast were brilliant went way over the top helping in these difficult Covid19 times. I did mention the room to reception but they didn’t seem to be that bothered. We were there for afternoon tea in September that is why we booked it as we had a good experience with your staff. It is a great shame as we were so looking forward to our break as this was the only time we were lucky to get away this year.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Jason Bramwell, General Manager at The Old Ship Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am sorry to see that your stay with us did not meet the high standards we hold ourselves to here at The Old Ship Hotel Brighton. We are constantly working on upgrades to the hotel to address many of the issues that you have raised but thank you very much for raising these to our attention. Your comments will be shared with rest of the Team to ensure improvements can be made. We all hope, that you would change your mind and stay with us again in the future. Kind regards Jason Bramwell General Manager
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$66 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
old ship hotel brighton, barcelo brighton
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandEast SussexBrighton and HoveBrighton
NUMBER OF ROOMS
154
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Old Ship Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Old Ship Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Gustamps (0.09 miles), On The Rocks Bar Crawl (0.2 miles), and Be At One Brighton (0.2 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Old Ship Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Old Ship Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Old Ship Hotel?
Yes, a parking garage, paid private parking on-site, and paid public parking nearby are available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Old Ship Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Chamuyo, Petit Pois Restaurant, and Tinto Taperia.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Old Ship Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to a fitness center during their stay.
Is The Old Ship Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.7 miles away from the center of Brighton.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Old Ship Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at The Old Ship Hotel?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does The Old Ship Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers a business center, meeting rooms, and a banquet room.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Old Ship Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, Italian, Russian, and Polish.