We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Imperial

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Imperial
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

491 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 473: English reviews
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

The hotel is nearer Hove than Brighton. Very nice and clean hotel. we was there for 2 nights and enjoy every minute spending there. close to seafrount. friendly staff, nice breakfast. will go there again.

Helpful?
Thank Olegs G
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

We very much enjoyed looking after you and many thanks for your kind words; we were delighted you would look to come back and hopefully this will be in the near future Meanwhile, renewed thanks More 

Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Ok booked, on line at booking.com, with ratings on 7/10. Some of reviews are mixed. The Imperial hotel is about 2 mins walk from beach. Is more near Hove than Brighton, there is no restaurant only breakfast room, sister hotel has restaurant. Imperial hotel is about 30 min walk from Brighton train station ( about 2 mile). To be fair... More 

Helpful?
Thank dennis w
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

This is a detailed, no nonsense review for which we thank you; we are also grateful of your custom. Room 101 is a quiet room to the rear of the hotel and it very much depends on what the guest is after; next time - when visiting us from Kettering - perhaps we can tempt you with a sea view?... More 

west mids
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The hotel is nearer Hove than Brighton and very near the beach .We were given a large room with 2 twins pushed together ,very combatable .The room was clean enough.Staff were helpful and polite .You can park on first avenue or the next few roads along for £5.20 overnight No complaints would stay here again paid £150 for 2 nights... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank joakki
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

We appreciated your visiting us from the West Midlands and thank you for this review The Imperial has a super location in Hove and is well placed for both the excellent local cafes and restaurants [including the one that has just opened at the top of First Avenue] while not being too far from central Brighton and our newest attraction,... More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

I extended my visit to Brighton to bring my 15 year old son along for a day out. The twin room was basic and rather tired, but it wasn't expensive and served our needs. The main disappointment was that the shower pressure (4th floor) was non existent and meant that showering was difficult to say the least. The reception staff,... More 

Helpful?
Thank Martin D
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

This is a disappointing review, more so as an excellent price was achieved for this booking being just £70 on Pride weekend. The water pressure on all floors is normally excellent but, typically on a busy weekend, one of our calorifiers chose to work intermittently. While this problem was swiftly addressed, it did affect the pressure in some rooms though... More 

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Level Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stay here each year for the Pride Weekend and the Imperial ticks all the boxes for us. Ideal location, a stones throw from the seafront, tidy enough large spacious rooms (with large windows which actually fully open!), cheery friendly staff, easy on-street parking and a very big special thank you for accommodating our early check-in request. We were in... More 

Helpful?
Thank AndreaBlush
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

What a lovely review and thank you so much. Pride is surely the highlight of the year and guests like you make it all the more worthwhile...in fact there can be no higher honour for a hotelier than that of a returning guest We are very much looking forward to seeing you again next year and maybe your plans will... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I booked this hotel for my partner's 40th birthday and wasn't disappointed although I wasn't wowed either. It's clean, bright and functional. Had no issues with the staff although the fire alarm tests were irritating and being informed in advance would have avoided guests milling around on the stairs unsure if something was going on or not. Good location near... More 

Helpful?
Thank Eric G
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

What a fun reason to visit Brighton and we hope you and your partner celebrated in some style. I passed the big Four O some time ago and it always worth marking these important milestones special. We are glad the Imperial could play her part Your assessment of the hotel is fair and much appreciated as result; sadly we had... More 

Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We booked this hotel at the last min very good price for a Sat night and the room we had was very big bed very comfortable and room very clean a small sofa in the room we could see the sea from the window no Aircon in room large bathroom with a lovely shower free wifi and worked well. As... More 

Helpful?
Thank Caravan3
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

Thank you so much for this super review and for visiting us from lovely Cambridge - your kind words mean all the more given that you are such an experienced TripAdvisor contributor The Imperial endeavours to do "what it says on the tin" and we are so pleased that we could be there for you - in fact Alvis and... More 

St Albans
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

My friend had booked a triple room (3 single ladies of a certain age) for one night on 22 July. On arrival, the receptionist advised us that the room had a double and one single and there was nothing she could do. In fact, she was wrong. It did have three single beds but each of differing size (one queen... More 

Helpful?
Thank Verity J
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

This is a disappointing review but having revisited the room in question the configuration seems fine to me and, more importantly, has exceeded the majority of our guests expectations. I mean what could be better than instead of three single beds there is more choice and by definition comfort. Probably the same reaction from someone on a long haul flight... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Those who dont research will find the Hotel is not Brighton but Hove..with excellent location on the beach and super service all round a hidden gem of a historical segnificance.. dating back to over 100 yrs and every part of Hotel with a story to tell..something mainstreet hotels will lack..recomend and best prices in town when booked direct

Helpful?
Thank Alvis G
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

There was no messing about with this review and thank you very much - the Imperial has been looking after guests for many good years now and has seen it all; we like to think of her as the Grande Dame of First Avenue. She has more to give however and hopefully we can welcome you back before too long More 

Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Booked into this hotel and as soon as we saw the shabby outside alarm bells rang. The room that we had booked (which was by no means cheap) was dated, had wallpaper and plaster hanging off the wall (I have pictures to prove it) and the bed was rock hard. Without even unpacking we went back to reception and voiced... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 516simoner26
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

This review has outraged us as did the abusive behaviour from these so called guests who, sadly, elected to bring their own problems into the hotel. They were offered two superior rooms - both of which are very popular with our regulars - yet rejected both then stormed out the hotel and, in front of other guests, threw their key... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

105 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (89)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Room/Suite (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brighton
0.2 mi away
Langfords Hotel
Langfords Hotel
#32 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 stars 410 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Courtlands Hotel
The Courtlands Hotel
#30 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 stars 454 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#24 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 stars 1,304 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Brighton Hotel
The Brighton Hotel
#19 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 stars 1,044 reviews
1.5 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#5 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 stars 650 reviews
0.7 mi away
Britannia Study Hotel
Britannia Study Hotel
#20 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Imperial Hotel in Brighton & Hove mixes tradition and function with a light, fresh airiness. Its ideal position – at the end of the broadest of avenues – with its uncluttered outlook by the sea, is situated alongside Hove Promenade and The Lawns. This functional, exceptionally good value hotel is of the Regency period; its high ceilings and spacious bar and lounge are noticeable, as is its still, calm ambiance. The Imperial provides an excellent level of customer service and its conference facilities, coupled with a smart bar and an attractive restaurant, make it an equally popular venue for a variety of functions. Ample Parking is available on the street and surrounding areas using our low cost residential permit scheme at just £6.00 per day. We also offer spaces on a 'first come first served basis' on our hard standing area at £15 per day. The Imperial Hotel is the perfect choice whether you are visiting for pleasure or business! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Imperial

Address: First Avenue, Brighton BN3 2GU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: $79 - $305 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Agoda so you can book your Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Brighton
Hotel Style:
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay