We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Imperial

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Imperial
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

500 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 480: English reviews
Haslemere, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Plus point - It is close to the sea front. The hotel is over priced. Interior is shabby, a pile of old curtains dumped and lying in the main bar. Wallpaper in our room peeling off, mix matched and cracked tiles in the bathroom, furniture stained. Felt understaffed, service slow. Bar closed and locked by 11pm. The view from our... More 

Helpful?
Thank JMBrazier
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Booked this hotel via booking.com. Has a good location. The receptionist was friendly and helpful. The rooms are big with high ceiling with lots of character but a bit dated . The bed was not so comfortable . The hotel has very limited parking spaces . When they all gone you can park in front of the hotel on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank tjorgji
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

We really appreciate this no-nonsense review and thank you for choosing the Imperial With many of the major external and 'behind the scenes' works complete, we can now spend more time further improving the bedrooms, so hopefully you will notice further improvements when you next visit. We were sorry to learn the bed was not as comfortable as you would... More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
127 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We've stayed at The Imperial before and love it's location close to the sea and excellent restaurants on Church Road. Our room was large, very clean but it's time for a refurb now as things are looking tired. The reception staff were polite and welcoming. All in all a lovely restful stay.

Helpful?
Thank caw982016
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

We really appreciate your visiting us again and thank you so much for this positive review Increasingly we will be able to turn our attention to the rooms having spent a considerable sum on the external aspects of the hotel, two new boilers and the replacement of all radiator valves. Not so glamorous but important "engine room" type works nonetheless More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We have stayed here on a regular basis for many a year now. We have always had a lovely stay.....large room, easy parking and friendly staff. The location for both beach and town is perfect. See you in December! Thanks again! Wendy and Rob x

Helpful?
Thank bobbob530
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

Super review and thank you so much. Fantastic and roll on December More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed for 1 night. We were on the 2nd floor & had a very large room with a sea view. Although the hotel is tired it was very clean and bed was comfortable. Location was good, took us about 25 mins to walk down to the town/pier. Staff were very helpful and we had no trouble parking outside the hotel.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Michelle G
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

What a super review and thank you so much and for staying with us The Imperial sits comfortably along First Avenue, with excellent sea views and is only a short walk from the busy thoroughfare of central Hove. A little further along is the magnificent brand new i360 and of course central Brighton We continue to spend heavily on this... More 

Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Paid for a double room but was given a triple due to lack of availability. Staff have always been polite. Room tidy and spacious. Nice sized bathroom and bath. Its a 20 minute walk to Brighton so not the most central but makes up for it with cost. I always feel comfortable coming back to stay at this hotel, ive... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jared E
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

Super review from a delightful guest; Alvis and his team are over the moon about this and are very much looking forward to seeing you again. Guests like you are what makes the job worthwhile. As you say, the Imperial is well located in Hove and what better than on your way into central Brighton to take a pit stop... More 

London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Friendly staff member, clean and tidy, close to beach. Disappointed that there was no restaurant as it said on the website there was. My stay would have been much nicer if not for the other guests slamming doors all night but not the hotels fault.

Helpful?
Thank Blackhorselane40
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

In thanking you for this kind review we were perhaps a little disappointed to only be awarded two stars; naturally we were sorry a very few guests were inconsiderate The Imperial only provides breakfast which was in response to guest feedback; the traditional model of a seaside hotel offering full service just doesn't work when there is so much wonderful... More 

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2016

The hotel is nearer Hove than Brighton. Very nice and clean hotel. we was there for 2 nights and enjoy every minute spending there. close to seafrount. friendly staff, nice breakfast. will go there again.

Helpful?
Thank Olegs G
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

We very much enjoyed looking after you and many thanks for your kind words; we were delighted you would look to come back and hopefully this will be in the near future Meanwhile, renewed thanks More 

Kettering, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2016 via mobile

Ok booked, on line at booking.com, with ratings on 7/10. Some of reviews are mixed. The Imperial hotel is about 2 mins walk from beach. Is more near Hove than Brighton, there is no restaurant only breakfast room, sister hotel has restaurant. Imperial hotel is about 30 min walk from Brighton train station ( about 2 mile). To be fair... More 

Helpful?
Thank dennis w
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

This is a detailed, no nonsense review for which we thank you; we are also grateful of your custom. Room 101 is a quiet room to the rear of the hotel and it very much depends on what the guest is after; next time - when visiting us from Kettering - perhaps we can tempt you with a sea view?... More 

west mids
Level Contributor
35 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2016

The hotel is nearer Hove than Brighton and very near the beach .We were given a large room with 2 twins pushed together ,very combatable .The room was clean enough.Staff were helpful and polite .You can park on first avenue or the next few roads along for £5.20 overnight No complaints would stay here again paid £150 for 2 nights... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank joakki
SteveT258Hove, Manager at Imperial, responded to this review

We appreciated your visiting us from the West Midlands and thank you for this review The Imperial has a super location in Hove and is well placed for both the excellent local cafes and restaurants [including the one that has just opened at the top of First Avenue] while not being too far from central Brighton and our newest attraction,... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

108 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (92)
Viewed
View from Room (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (18)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (23)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (35)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
Langfords Hotel
Langfords Hotel
#32 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 stars 415 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Courtlands Hotel
The Courtlands Hotel
#31 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 stars 459 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#24 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 stars 1,332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 2,046 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Brighton Hotel
The Brighton Hotel
#21 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 stars 1,067 reviews
1.5 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#4 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 stars 661 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Multilingual Staff
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Imperial Hotel in Brighton & Hove mixes tradition and function with a light, fresh airiness. Its ideal position – at the end of the broadest of avenues – with its uncluttered outlook by the sea, is situated alongside Hove Promenade and The Lawns. This functional, exceptionally good value hotel is of the Regency period; its high ceilings and spacious bar and lounge are noticeable, as is its still, calm ambiance. The Imperial provides an excellent level of customer service and its conference facilities, coupled with a smart bar and an attractive restaurant, make it an equally popular venue for a variety of functions. Ample Parking is available on the street and surrounding areas using our low cost residential permit scheme at just £6.00 per day. We also offer spaces on a 'first come first served basis' on our hard standing area at £15 per day. The Imperial Hotel is the perfect choice whether you are visiting for pleasure or business! ... more   less 

Additional Information about Imperial

Address: First Avenue, Brighton BN3 2GU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: $76 - $251 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Imperial 3*
Number of rooms: 76
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Imperial reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Imperial Hotel Brighton
Hotel Style:
#16 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay