We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Courtlands Hotel

19-27 The Drive, Brighton BN3 3JE, England
Hotel amenities
Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Courtlands Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

452 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 432: English reviews
Berkhamsted, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

Visited this hotel with my boyfriend. On arrival, the outside of the building looked quite nice and the reception area was clean and respectable. The receptionist was very friendly and efficient. We were allocated a room on the 3rd floor as I had requested the top floor. When we emerged from the lift the carpet in the corridor was very... More 

Helpful?
Thank coralreef59
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

In thanking you for visiting us from Hertfordshire we were pleased overall that your stay hit the right notes. However there were some areas which you felt detracted from your overall experience and we appreciate your feedback here The Courtlands history spans three centuries and as such there is an ongoing program of works - both in terms of general... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Very expensive £142 per night. I have never stayed in a hotel this run down in my life. Not worth the money. I had family staying in the next room to me who were very noisy and also room was run down, paint peeling off from the bath and doors. Next day the staff did give me another room which... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tahir-Kashmiri
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

It is unlikely that this guest - who was in attendance at an important conference event - paid the bill themselves so it is not really their place to comment; furthermore, as best as we can tell, the staff made strenuous efforts to find a good alternative to the initial room allocation - seemingly and sadly this was not enough... More 

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Devon
2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I stayed at this hotel for 2 nights and whilst the staff were friendly and helpful the rooms my friends and I were given were clean but very basic, for example no electric shaver points. The metal windows were broken and we looked out upon an abandoned extension. The carpets and furnishings were old as was the room decoration. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank Ken E
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

Complimentary parking is provided to those guests booking direct with the hotel; in any event given the acute shortage of parking in the City, we hope the tariff you paid was more than fair Positively, the Courtlands is the subject of ongoing maintenance and refurbishment works and we are naturally sorry your stay did not hit all the right notes More 

Coventry, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2016

For the second year running our group of 100 motorcyclists were welcomed most warmly by the friendly staff at the Courtlands Hotel in Hove. All of our group were dealt with in a most cordial manner as Hotel personnel ran a seamless booking in system. Dinner for all 100 members was served on time and piping hot in the well... More 

Helpful?
Thank Robert B
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for such a super review. We relish looking after your group each year and are so pleased you have booked again for 2017. Seeing such magnificent machines is also a treat and we are glad this year's event was such a success Nik and his team extend their warmest regards and please accept our renewed thanks for your... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016

Baths with paint peeling off, cracked wash hand basin, windows with paint flaking off. Breakfast, streaky bacon, tinned mushrooms, and bread obviously cheapest, thinnest supermarket special. I haven't stayed in a hotel this run down for many years. Not worth the money. Only redeeming feature, the staff!

Helpful?
1 Thank mbrycestafford
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

This is clearly a mixed review and we were sorry you encountered issues with your room - with no details given we have not been able to learn more; also it is not clear if you asked for a different room? Our breakfast chef of over 30 years is most disheartened, more so as we have fresh vegetables delivered daily... More 

Maidstone, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 28, 2016

The hotel was clean comfortable and friendly in a pleasant road close to the sea. Our room was large and sunny, the bed was huge, the pillows just right, and everything we needed was provided. There was plenty of hot water and the bath was generously sized! We ate in the hotel restaurant and were not disappointed. Our parking was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Iris W
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

What a super review and thank you for visiting us from Kent. We too are looking forward to seeing you again as you were delightful guests More 

Frisco, Texas
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 24, 2016

we made a reservation at booking.com. when I arrived at the hotel, the front desk refused to take the reservation. And insisted to charge me at 23% higher rate (their walk-in rate! Surprised to see this hotel to breached the contract--

Helpful?
Thank weiweiji2009
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

This guest makes no comment about the hotel but merely some alleged administrative issue which I am sure, given the passage of time/the lateness of this review appearing, has been addressed, to the extent that it needed addressing With no room details we are totally in the dark and hopefully one can reach out through the good offices of TripAdvisor More 

Thame, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2016 via mobile

Clean smart and friendly. Plenty of towels in bathroom as there was 4 staying in a family room. Some decor a bit dated but then we was only here for the beer and somewhere to crash. 13 of in in total and the hotel suited our needs with free car parking. Overall happy and would use again.

Helpful?
Thank Mike N
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for this super review and for visiting us from Oxfordshire. Brighton and beer sounds a winning combination so we hope you had a great time and can see you again before too long More 

Boston, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2016

What a joke. We arrived and we're looking forward to the afternoon tea - beautifully pictured on the website. Large pot of tea with one teabag making for cups of hot milk, and when we asked if there were pastries or cake, were told no, but they may have biscuits. Out came a plate of (Tesco's?) finest. Next - the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah G
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

Sadly it has not been possible to trace this booking so we are left with the hope of reaching out to these guests through the good offices of TripAdvisor It is clear that whatever the hotel had done it was unlikely to find favour with these guests and as we have said before and will say again now, it is... More 

Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
52 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2016

My wife and I make regular pilgrimages to the County Cricket Ground at Hove, and always stay at The Courtlands or its sister hotel, The Imperial which are both very close to the County Ground. Admittedly, both hotels are a bit in need of minor refurbishment, but the hotels are undoubtedly being refurbished bit by bit. I have reviewed both... More 

Helpful?
Thank David H
SteveT258Hove, Manager at The Courtlands Hotel, responded to this review

What a fantastic review and thank you so much, both for your loyal custom and being such a delightful guest. We are blessed with our location, so close to a number of great amenties with the County Ground being one of them As you have been kind enough to mention we are making fairly major investments in both properties both... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

68 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (57)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Room/Suite (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (27)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (11)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brighton
0.2 mi away
Langfords Hotel
Langfords Hotel
#30 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 stars 395 reviews
0.3 mi away
Imperial
Imperial
#28 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 stars 479 reviews
0.8 mi away
Britannia Study Hotel
Britannia Study Hotel
#22 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 stars 181 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
West Beach Hotel
West Beach Hotel
#35 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kings Hotel
Kings Hotel
#25 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 stars 1,270 reviews
0.9 mi away
Beach Hotel
Beach Hotel
#31 of 44 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 stars 187 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
  • Restaurant
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Restaurant
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Banquet Room
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
More than a hotel; The Courtlands is an iconic piece of Hove's history, stretched contentedly along a prestigious tree-lined avenue within a short walk of the famous promenade and shingle seafront. Quietly grand by nature, this is understated splendour and restful style, with friendly and professional service. We offer comfortable accommodation with style; each of our sixty-three en suite rooms are different – some traditional, with an eclectic mix of beautiful and authentic antique furniture, some contemporary with chic and minimal style – whether old or new, each room has complimentary wifi... ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Courtlands Hotel

Address: 19-27 The Drive, Brighton BN3 3JE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: $101 - $323 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Courtlands Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 60
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your The Courtlands Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtlands Hotel Brighton
Hotel Style:
#18 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay