We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

1,548 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 1,459: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Very disappointed, never had a problem with Mercure hotels before. Poor value for money, paid extra for a sea view but the windows were so dirty you couldn't see out of them. The sheets were stained and the decor was shabby. The remote control to the TV didn't work. The female receptionist was extremely friendly and helpful. Wouldnt stay there... More 

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Steve B
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review

many thanks for taking the time out to posy your review. Please accept my apologies that you were disappointed with some elements of your stay. You points have been noted and will be discussed with the team. Iain Lindsay General Manager More 

Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

I have stayed over here for a weekend, so couldn't explore that much in a possible way. It's clean and decent, and you can't expect something beautiful except a beach view room (Only if you are lucky). They have a restaurant but sometimes the foods are not available which is quite funny( & weird too). The staffs are courteous like... More 

Helpful?
Thank Anindya K
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review and I am pleased you found the hotel value for money. When the restaurant is closed food in available in the bar along with room service. Great to read you found the staff courteous. Iain Lindsay General Manager More 

Level Contributor
41 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We went as a couple for a weekend away. The rooms where cheap but I was not expecting the state of the rooms. When we entered the hotel it stank of stale fat but looked clean in the entrance hall. Once we got into the room the light switches had dirt all around them and had not been cleaned for... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cat P
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time out to post your review after your stay with us. I do wish you had asked to speak to us during this time as we would have been able to rectify a number of your concerns if you had made us aware. Please accept my apologies that you were not entirely happy, we would... More 

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
70 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Pricy, ageing but fabulous location... you cannot really go wrong with a hotel holiday in this amazing place. The location is perfect but it can be very costly unless you book well in advance and always worth calling to get a better quote. Rooms have everything you need, some rooms are very old and need upgrading. Staff are over worked... More 

Helpful?
Thank m florence m
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review

many thanks for taking the time out to post your review and sharing your experience with me. Please accept my apologies that you had to queue at some point during your stay. Great to hear that you found the location and the rooms had everything you needed. I look forward to you returning in the future. Iain Lindsay General Manager More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Stayed with my two kids and could have had 5/6 of us in the room. Was very big and was clean and had plenty of sockets and tv was decent. Bathroom ok, not great but ok enough. Restaurant was ok, though windows needed cleaning. Breakfast was good. Location ok, 25 mins wander from the pier that remains. Overall decent enough... More 

Helpful?
Thank abafcb1969
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review

Thanks for taking the time to review the hotel and it is great that you found the room of a good size, well appointed and friendly staff. I hope you and your family will return on your next visit to Brighton. Iain Lindsay General Manager More 

Epsom, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed 1 week ago

We had a seaview room which was a good size. The Nespresso coffee machine meant we could have a decent cup of coffee in the room. The 6ft bed was very comfortable. Tv in the room was a good size and good quality. Wi-fi did not seem to be available unless you logged in via a social media service.

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank coastalfan2016
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for taking the time to post your review. I am pleased we fitted the bill and you enjoyed the coffee machine. I have not heard of anyone having issues with the WIFI but will have this looked into. W We all very much look forward to seeing you back again soon. Iain Lindsay General Manager More 

Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A very average stay in a basic room in need of some refurbishment. Stayed here for a works event and would not rush to rebook, plenty of other rooms available in the area which are better value and in better condition.

Helpful?
Thank Iain198
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review

Please accept my sincere apologies that you were disappointed with you room allocation. Being an older building we have various room type available at various price points depending on your requirements. I am disappointed that you would not rush back as our pricing is competitive within the market. Iain Lindsay General Manager More 

London
Level Contributor
126 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Stayed here overnight when attending an event at the Brighton Centre. Booked with a 'wowcher' deal - so got a reasonably good price. However, I got what I paid for. We were in a room in the old part of the hotel - the room was quite small, no view, no wardrobe, small bathroom. Tea and coffee making facilities available.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Cherub47
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review

Please accept my sincere apologies that you were disappointed with some of the elements of your stay. On the Wowcher deal you can upgrade your booking at the time of booking to a sea view. The hotel being a older building we have various room types and sizes and allocated appropriately. There is no bedrooms within the hotel which do... More 

Wendover, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
34 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 week ago

Unfortunately I was very disappointed with the Mercure Brighton. The check in process was very slow - there was one girl on the desk checking in guests and there was a long queue. She did her best to get everyone checked in but there should have been additional staff on the desk during check in time (it was 2.30 on... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank teabags157
GMBrighton, General Manager at Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel, responded to this review

I am sorry that we did not meet your expectations and that you had a slow check-in when you arrived. The hotel has various room sizes and position within the hotel. The heating is independently control within your room and can be adjusted to suit. If you had spoken to the team they would have arranged supplementary heating to help... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

345 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (311)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (43)
Viewed
Room/Suite (65)
Viewed
View from Room (31)
Viewed
Bathroom (28)
Viewed
Dining (8)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (135)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (34)
Viewed
Room/Suite (12)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (7)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (7)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.9 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
2,168 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilton Brighton Metropole
0.5 mi away
Brighton Harbour Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#14 of 44 in Brighton
1,896 reviews
0.1 mi away
Holiday Inn Brighton - Seafront
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Paid Wifi
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Conference Facilities
  • Room Service
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Business Center with Internet Access
  • Banquet Room
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Location doesn't come much better than this, right on Brighton seafront with fantastic views of the beach and out to sea. Close to the Brighton Centre and the town centre this elegant Regency style hotel is perfectly situated for business and leisure guests. Each of the 116 bedrooms has an en-suite bathroom, flat screen LCD TV featuring in room entertainment and high-speed internet access, hairdryer, trouser press as well as tea and coffee making facilities. The hotel has limited parking on site and this is charged at £25.00 Per car overnight and is payable at check in. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel

Address: 149 Kings Road, Brighton BN1 2PP, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: $66 - $211 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 116
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, HotelTravel.com, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com and ACCOR so you can book your Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Brighton
Brighton Ramada
Hotel Style:
#19 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel staff and other travelers.
8 questions
Ask a question
Liverpool, United Kingdom
3 months ago
London
3 months ago
London, United Kingdom
4 months ago

See all questions (8)

Questions? Get answers from Mercure Brighton Seafront Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Do not choose 200-211 (non sea view side) as that has a bad view and backs onto the function room so is noisy”
  • poorly finished wood
  • Dirty light fittings
  • not painted to the floor
  • Dirty light switches
  • Mould round the window
  • Hole in the carpet
 of 5 bubbles 795catp, 6 days ago | Read review
“Our room was at the back or side of the hotel do was quiet. Windows looked filthy.”
 of 5 bubbles miles-colcheste, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Privilege rooms great !”
 of 5 bubbles Ckatykins, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“Don't bother”
 of 5 bubbles hyundailiz, 4 weeks ago | Read review
“Dated 80s/90s decor. Pokey rooms. Try and find somewhere else.”
 of 5 bubbles tomhA6194XK, 5 weeks ago | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay