We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

2,553 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 2,492: English reviews
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

Very basic room.... Bed was not the most comfortable but sleep able. Windows in the room were locked and only opened about 2 inches was a very hot room. Very good location And breakfast was very good. Lots of choice but expensive if not booked with room. Standard

Helpful?
Thank jojolem81
Brighton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW via mobile

My boyfriend and I booked this hotel thinking that it was going to be as nice as we saw in their website. However, when we arrived in the hotel, they took us to the ground-level and they gave us a room in where non of us could even breath (there were not windows at all). We tried to change the... More 

Helpful?
Thank andreag5286

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Oxfordshire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW via mobile

My boyfriend surprised me with a night to the coast away as weather was so hot. Checked in, we were given no info about anything at the hotel. We were given room 27, mouldy walls, no light in bathroom, stains on walls and pillow. Smelt of stale smoke and we were below road level so the window view was a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Emma J
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

We got a lady minute say girl 50.00 and was given an excellent room at the top with a jacuzzi bath amazing view and good service cannot fault apart from price of breakfast is steep and should be included in the price if laying normal rates

Helpful?
Thank otis1508
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

When we arrived there were 3 staff members on reception, yet it still took 30 minutes to check us in. No directions to room or anything about meals. Finally found room, which smelt very musky, curtains were dusty. Room was like rest of hotel in need of a much needed face lift. Went down for dinner to find it was... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lin W
Bury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We were a little concerned after reading the reviews. We had 2 double rooms very clean and up to the usual standard of most Britannia Hotels. We were pleased with the food, only had to wait a few moments once for a table. The usual coach party crowd. They had a very nice balcony overlooking the pier. We did change... More 

Helpful?
Thank WilsonFamilyBury
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

We only booked a one night stay due to the weather being too bad for a camping trip so my review will be a positive one! To be honest I was really concerned about staying here after reading reviews. If I had paid £200 for a night I might have been disappointed but the way I look at it ,you... More 

Helpful?
Thank Helenjjm68
RoyalAlbion715, Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this review

Dear Helen, Thank you for your review and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on our product and service, and it looks like we came up trumps on both aspects for your stay. I hope you get the chance to come stay with us again soon. Kind Regards, The Hotel Management. More 

Pool in Wharfedale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
141 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 90 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My wife and I were thinking of having a couple of nights in the Brighton area, but were quite amazed at the price of the hotels. Even the ' cheaper ' ones were not cheap. Having been with National Holidays a few times, we are on their mailing list, and received at this time, 4 nights in Brighton, with visits... More 

Helpful?
Thank VincenzoFrancisco
RoyalAlbion715, Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this review

Dear VincenzoFrancisco, Thank you for your review and I am so glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We pride ourselves on our product and service, and it looks like we came up trumps on both aspects for your stay. I hope you get the chance to come stay with us again soon. Kind Regards, The Hotel Management. More 

Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Dirty, smelly room, hairs on the bathmat,shabby old furnishings, uncomfortable beds. Air con was portable didn't work , tv didn't work. The bar toilets were filthy. The food was revolting we ate there once but not again. Dining area like a grubby canteen .Basically a rotten experience some staff ok but one was quite rude. Really there are much better... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jane K
RoyalAlbion715, Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this review

Dear Jane, I am very sorry to hear of your bad experience at the Royal Albion Hotel. I am also sorry to hear that you did not enjoy the food at the hotel. We feel that we provide a great range which is enjoyed by the majority of our guests. The tea and coffee facilities are self service for the... More 

Kent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

First the 2 pros: location, literally opposit the pier / massive family room. Cons: dirty, rock hard beds, would not use bath as full of black limescale, needed a good clean everywhere, drunk yobs shouting outside the Windows Til 4am then woke to bongos being played at 5.30am outside. It was the local gathering place for the yobs with cans... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vicki B
RoyalAlbion715, Manager at Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton, responded to this review

Dear Vicki, I am very sorry to hear that your stay was not satisfactory. You have mentioned the rooms are filthy and dirty. There may have been an issue with your particular room but I am sure that the majority of our rooms are not any of these things. I am sorry that you experienced this and that we were... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

1,079 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1005)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (9)
Viewed
Bathroom (94)
Viewed
Room/Suite (251)
Viewed
Dining (12)
Viewed
View from Room (62)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (86)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (1)
Viewed
Other (489)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (70)
Viewed
Amenities (13)
Viewed
Dining (10)
Viewed
Superior Room (Sea View) (25)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.2 mi away
The Old Ship Hotel
The Old Ship Hotel
#15 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 stars 1,764 reviews
0.1 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton Waterfront
0.1 mi away
Queens Hotel
Queens Hotel
#18 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 stars 1,847 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Brighton Hotel
The Brighton Hotel
#19 of 44 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 stars 1,045 reviews
0.2 mi away
Legends Hotel
Legends Hotel
#5 of 44 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 stars 651 reviews
0.7 mi away
Jurys Inn Brighton
Jurys Inn Brighton
#8 of 44 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 1,975 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Beachfront
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Beachfront
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Room Service
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Royal Albion Hotel in Brighton is a Regency Style Hotel built in 1826 which offers a warm and friendly environment in a premier position directly opposite Brighton Pier. So, if you are looking for a seafront hotel in Brighton, you won't get much closer than this. Facing the sea, it's right at the heart of the action. Our Brighton hotel is proud of its reputation as a family hotel. It can be tricky to find hotels in Brighton for families, which is why we make sure that everyone feels welcome staying with us. It's for our hospitality, not to mention our fabulous position, that the Royal Albion Brighton is one of the most popular hotels in Brighton. All of the hotels' 208 bedrooms are en-suite and provide facilities including television, radio, trouser press, telephone and hairdryer. Many of the rooms feature luxury Spa baths and stunning Sea Views. A spa bath facility in your own room means you don't have to leave your room to treat yourself to some fantastic bubbly relaxation.The Royal Albion's Jenny restaurant serves succulent traditional cuisine, the fantastic views out over the English Channel make dining here is an absolute pleasure. The Pavillion Bar and the Bar Rogue Cafe Bar are stylish drinking spots that provide good food and drinks with great music at night. You can be sure of an exciting stay at the Royal Albion Hotel Brighton.Our five Conference, Meeting and Banqueting rooms are elegantly furnished, equally suitable for day or evening events catering for up to 150 delegates. So if you are looking for conference facilities in Brighton, look no further than the Royal Albion Hotel Brighton. WIFI is available FREE throughout the hotel's public areas. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton

Address: 35 Old Steine, Brighton BN1 1NT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: $88 - $255 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton 3*
Number of rooms: 208
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Cancelon so you can book your Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Royal Albion Hotel-Brighton Hotel Brighton
Hotel Style:
#20 On the Beach Hotel in Brighton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay