We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

The Gather Inn

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Gather Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

241 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 238: English reviews
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Overall very clean very friendly and pleasant location very good also for the price paid rooms were of a high standard very clean bathroom and the staff was very helpful in with what we needed would recommend to anyone

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank perrydelaney
swindon
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 23, 2016

very good at the price, few miles from city centre but no problem if you like a walk. off street parking so no problems there either. rooms are clean and tiday cant complain. staff friendly and knowledagble

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank mharri_899192
E Sussex
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016 via mobile

Seasoned traveller and was looking for somewhere in this area for work, so wanted this to work out... In short the majority of reviews are right, and for me the unhelpful staff/owner on reception gave me a bad impression. I'd describe this as a 'minimal' role, and was surprised at this. Unfortunately I felt unwelcome. Positives: location near lagoon. Barstaff.... More 

Helpful?
Thank mrp_eames

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016 via mobile

I wanted to give the Gather Inn a higher rating simply because all the staff were fantastic and nice people but sadly I really didn't sleep well here. Our room was in need of a bit of painting and tiles were broken in the bathroom, I can live with that but the beds were so bad, I could feel the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matt P
Bhubaneswar, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2016 via mobile

Firstly we had issues locating the hotel because it was all under construction and we couldn't see the name plate as we reached arnd 12 at night. But luckily we found it and there was a person waiting for us to allocate us the rooms... unfortunately we got the room in the basement while my friends got on ground floor..... More 

Helpful?
Thank Komal P
Crowborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2016

Good value for money. Would have been nice to have a late bar for residents though. Staff were very knowledgeable about local restaurants and were happy to book taxis for the whole group. Overall, very good value

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Julius M
ladybrighton, Owner at The Gather Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for you kind and honest review - we look forward to welcoming you back soon :) More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2016 via mobile

I booked into this place due to word of mouth by some friends on a previous visit, I was presently surprised by how well mannered and polite they were tending to every need I had, The room was basic but well kept and very clean, a late night request of another pillow was granted by the night porter, I will... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank kitkatlegend
ladybrighton, Manager at The Gather Inn, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write us a lovley and honest review - we look forward to your return on your next business trip! :) More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2016

The owner, Mr. Alan was extremely rude. I was informed when I checked in that no booking was nder my name. I was given only one room but was charged for two rooms. When told him to charge me for one room, he said that I would need to speak to Booking.com. It is their fault to book you in.... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Atitmehta1
ladybrighton, Manager at The Gather Inn, responded to this review

Ah so pleased to hear from you...again, I too have copy and pasted my response to your already posted, slanderous review. You booked the room after hours, at 11pm, despite the website indicating check-in is until 9pm. You arrived at 4am. Staff were woken up but happily gave you the keys to the TWO rooms you had booked. You came... More 

Chatham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2016

A nice place to stay. Rooms clean and tidy, and the beds reasonably comfortable. The food is reasonable and not too expensive. Can be noisy as on the main road, but not overly so. unfortunately was leaving too early to try the breakfast so can't comment.

Helpful?
Thank Andy K
ladybrighton, Manager at The Gather Inn, responded to this review

Thank you for your nice review :-) More 

2 reviews
2 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2016 via mobile

Guest rooms above a pub does not work, unless you are working away from home mid week and want a cheap room. The noise on Friday and Saturday was unbearable. Boom boom boom. It is 1am and no sign of it stopping. So at least i am awake to write this. 16 rooms the majority of which are families with... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steve A
ladybrighton, Manager at The Gather Inn, responded to this review

Hi, I was the lady that checked you in and I advised you all about the parking. We do not advertise a car park, we say we have "free on street parking" which is completely true and very rare in Brighton and Hove. You were also aware that your room was a shared bathroom. You chose that room on booking.com... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (24)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (6)
Viewed
Other (11)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (35)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Dining (18)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Brighton
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN Princes Marine Hotel
2.9 mi away
Istanbul EV Guest House
Istanbul EV Guest House
#67 of 98 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
3.0 mi away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#28 of 98 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
The Moreland
The Moreland
#8 of 98 in Brighton
5.0 of 5 stars 394 reviews
3.1 mi away
Westbourne Hotel
Westbourne Hotel
#51 of 98 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
0.7 mi away
Clifton House Brighton
Clifton House Brighton
#65 of 98 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 stars 5 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A fun and friendly choice on the seafront with free on street parking. The Guest House also has two lovely Bars, both with a full menu. The Gather Inn menu consists of home-made dishes from locally sourced ingredients that are served with a smile. Call direct for best rates. The Sea View Bar is the place to have a meal or sip a drink while admiring the view of the Lagoon and Seafront. Menu options include Steaks, Ribs, Hunters Chickens, Home-made burgers, Fish & chips and beautiful Sunday Roast, to name a few! The well stocked Bar has a Wine List, Cocktails, Real Ale, Craft Beers, Lagers and Ciders. Expect to find Live entertainment some weekends such as acoustic duos/ solo artists, Cocktail evenings, Pub Games, a pool table and friendly, attentive staff. On the lower level, the Lagoon View Bar is open when the weather is nice. The Bar has views over the Lagoon from the raised seating area, a Pool Table, Plasma TVs, a Jukebox, Children's Seating area with Toys and Games and direct access to the Patio Area. The Patio is a pleasant little spot to catch some sun and enjoy "people watching". Guests benefit from a 10% discount off of the Food Menu (T&C's apply, see staff for details). There's a range of different rooms available, from doubles and twins to family and group rooms. There's plasma Freeview TV, shaver points, radio alarm clock and tea and coffee making facilities, the en-suites have showers. There is a Group Wing which up to 15 people can enjoy, complete with a "Getting Ready" area. The room rate is "Room Only", Guests can choose to add breakfast/ evening meals/ sparkling wines/ champagne and other extras to their booking by contacting the Guest House Directly. If you add Breakfast, it is a cooked english, toast and jams, cereals, tea and coffee and orange juice (not available certain holidays - Xmas/ Boxing and New Years Day). Irons and hairdryers are available for hire. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Gather Inn

Address: 330 Kingsway | Hove, Brighton BN3 4LW, England (Formerly Blue Lagoon Bar and B&B)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: $68 - $315 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Gather Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Book Direct Rooms, Agoda, Travelocity and Odigeo so you can book your The Gather Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Blue Lagoon Bar And Bed And Breakfast
Blue Lagoon Bar Hotel Brighton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay