We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Old Palace Guest House

Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Best prices for your stay
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Old Palace Guest House
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

115 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 106: English reviews
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Very nice and polite staff. Rooms clean and tidy and very close to water front. Only thing to point is that they should have the WiFi password somewhere by the door or on the rooms because if you get to the hotel quite late no one will be around. Apart from that, lovely

Helpful?
1 Thank ECastroC
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2016

This place is by no means the Ritz. I booked in here mainly for the price. I was greeted first by Lauwra (not sure the spelling, sorry) very pleasant and courteous, helped me with my luggage and explained breakfast arrangements. The room was very small and basic, but fine for my needs. The view from the window is a courtyard,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 11ses
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2016 via mobile

I stayed here from the 30th-31st with my younger sister and brother in the triple room. It was fantastic value for the money with sea view and I was pleasantly surprised to have a double bed and two singles. Very comfy beds! Small bathroom and shower but perfect for a short stay! Very friendly and kept our case before check... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank cs10dpage1
Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016

my two friends and I stayed here in downstairs triple for two nights.It had lovely fresh sheets and comfy bed.It wasn't at all noisy.The property is dated but we could not fault the staff,Noemi, Borja, Bayse,Sara and Metin who took care of our needs and all with a smile!Breakfast was scrummy too.Ideal location.Will definitely be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank southamptonsunshine
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2016

My two friends and I stayed here in downstairs triple for two nights.It had lovely fresh sheets and comfy bed.It wasn't at all noisy!property is dated but we could not fault the staff Noemi, Borja,Bayse,,Sara and Metin who took care of our needs and all with a smile!breakfast was scrummy too!Ideal location so will definitely be back

Helpful?
2 Thank Jean K
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2016

Myself and 2 friends stayed here for the weekend. We were in the first room by the front door. We must of had a better experience than the previous reviewer as we didn't find it particularly noisy and didn't feel any drafts. The beds were really comfy. Staff were really friendly very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. We... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Tina R
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2016 via mobile

The Guest House was well priced and in a good location. We just found it very loud at night. We were by the front door, therefore it was very cold , as there was a constant draft, and very loud, as you could hear people talking outside our room at night. There was also an odd dripping noise coming from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2015 via mobile

This place is a dirty dive more like a hostel than a b and b. Tiny bathroom and worn out furniture. Stains on the bed.the breakfast was served next door and was very poor quality. Please don't stay in this dump

Helpful?
7 Thank 629robert
oldpalace a, Manager at Old Palace Guest House, responded to this review

I dont know if you have stayed in this guest house or somewhere else but you are so harsh with your review i couldn't believe what i read and my staff told me we didnt have any complain. I can assure you we are one of the cleanest guest houses in Brighton. We have a decent guest house with lovely... More 

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2015

When being taken to my room in which I was sharing with my partner, it was clean, all looked ok and the mattress was comfy. So we then headed out for the day, coming back to no hot water, we waited until the morning and still it had not been sorted. They said they were sorting it and to give... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank summer11x
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2015 via mobile

The staff was friendly and even helped us to carry our heavy luggages to our room. The room was quite big but the toilet was quite small and sometimes there was no hot water at all, so we had to shower using cold water. Even so, there was free breakfast everyday so it was a good thing. On top of... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank SharonTMY
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Istanbul EV Guest House
Istanbul EV Guest House
#67 of 98 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 stars 66 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#35 of 98 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 122 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Kelvin
The Kelvin
#48 of 98 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Westbourne Hotel
Westbourne Hotel
#51 of 98 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 68 reviews
0.1 mi away
Five Hotel
Five Hotel
#42 of 98 in Brighton
4.5 of 5 stars 210 reviews
0.7 mi away
Cecil House Hotel
Cecil House Hotel
#69 of 98 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 stars 100 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Airport Transportation
  • Free Breakfast

Additional Information about Old Palace Guest House

Address: 7 Madeira Place, Brighton BN2 1TN, England (Formerly Budgies Guest House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: $88 - $158 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Palace Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Old Palace Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budgies Guest House Hotel Brighton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay