We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Old Palace Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Old Palace Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

117 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 108: English reviews
switzerland
Level Contributor
299 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 176 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

we loved this place! we were 3 girlfriends on a 3day w-end and wanted to be close to the sea and town. ideal situation here, with several restaurants, attractions, hop on bus and the beach all within minutes. the hotel is an old town house, so obviously not modern - the age is starting to show, but the room was... More 

Helpful?
Thank serena99
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We stayed here during Pride weekend so I fully appreciate that prices are raised. however £200 B&B a night was too much! The double room (top floor, no lift) was small and the shower tiny, though hot water was plentiful. We had to go next door for a breakfast which was not very exciting. The coffee and tea especially were... More 

Helpful?
Thank iwan t
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2016 via mobile

Very nice and polite staff. Rooms clean and tidy and very close to water front. Only thing to point is that they should have the WiFi password somewhere by the door or on the rooms because if you get to the hotel quite late no one will be around. Apart from that, lovely

Helpful?
1 Thank ECastroC
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2016

This place is by no means the Ritz. I booked in here mainly for the price. I was greeted first by Lauwra (not sure the spelling, sorry) very pleasant and courteous, helped me with my luggage and explained breakfast arrangements. The room was very small and basic, but fine for my needs. The view from the window is a courtyard,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 11ses
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2016 via mobile

I stayed here from the 30th-31st with my younger sister and brother in the triple room. It was fantastic value for the money with sea view and I was pleasantly surprised to have a double bed and two singles. Very comfy beds! Small bathroom and shower but perfect for a short stay! Very friendly and kept our case before check... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank cs10dpage1
Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016

my two friends and I stayed here in downstairs triple for two nights.It had lovely fresh sheets and comfy bed.It wasn't at all noisy.The property is dated but we could not fault the staff,Noemi, Borja, Bayse,Sara and Metin who took care of our needs and all with a smile!Breakfast was scrummy too.Ideal location.Will definitely be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank southamptonsunshine
Southampton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2016

My two friends and I stayed here in downstairs triple for two nights.It had lovely fresh sheets and comfy bed.It wasn't at all noisy!property is dated but we could not fault the staff Noemi, Borja,Bayse,,Sara and Metin who took care of our needs and all with a smile!breakfast was scrummy too!Ideal location so will definitely be back

Helpful?
2 Thank Jean K
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 24, 2016

Myself and 2 friends stayed here for the weekend. We were in the first room by the front door. We must of had a better experience than the previous reviewer as we didn't find it particularly noisy and didn't feel any drafts. The beds were really comfy. Staff were really friendly very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. We... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Tina R
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2016 via mobile

The Guest House was well priced and in a good location. We just found it very loud at night. We were by the front door, therefore it was very cold , as there was a constant draft, and very loud, as you could hear people talking outside our room at night. There was also an odd dripping noise coming from... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sarah B
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2015 via mobile

This place is a dirty dive more like a hostel than a b and b. Tiny bathroom and worn out furniture. Stains on the bed.the breakfast was served next door and was very poor quality. Please don't stay in this dump

Helpful?
8 Thank 629robert
oldpalace a, Manager at Old Palace Guest House, responded to this review

I dont know if you have stayed in this guest house or somewhere else but you are so harsh with your review i couldn't believe what i read and my staff told me we didnt have any complain. I can assure you we are one of the cleanest guest houses in Brighton. We have a decent guest house with lovely... More 

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (6)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Istanbul EV Guest House
Istanbul EV Guest House
#68 of 98 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 stars 69 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#38 of 98 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Westbourne Hotel
Westbourne Hotel
#50 of 98 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
New Steine Hotel
New Steine Hotel
#45 of 98 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 579 reviews
0.1 mi away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#29 of 98 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 290 reviews
0.0 mi away
Grand Pier Guest House
Grand Pier Guest House
#42 of 98 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 242 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Airport Transportation

Additional Information about Old Palace Guest House

Address: 7 Madeira Place, Brighton BN2 1TN, England (Formerly Budgies Guest House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: $85 - $153 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Palace Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Old Palace Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budgies Guest House Hotel Brighton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay