We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Old Palace Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Old Palace Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

121 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 112: English reviews
Stevenage, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

We stayed here in September 2016, the location was perfect just a few minutes walk from the beach. There were 3 of us and although the bathroom was very small it was fine. Bed was comfortable, breakfast was next door but very tasty and staff very helpful.

Helpful?
Thank Doreen F
2 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

While the Bed is Ok. The rest of it is horrid. The bathroom is tiny and the shower area is even smaller, can barely move in it. the room has feels dated. my room door looks like it has been forced a few times. While the there is tea and coffe facilites in my room i would not use the... More 

Helpful?
Thank Matan D
oldpalace a, Manager at Old Palace Guest House, responded to this review

Dear Matan we have done all we could to make your stay better but we couldn't, you told us you came for the conference so you had the have breakfast early we even made it early for you to make you happy but no, you weren't happy since the beginning. My staff were everywhere, we do check ins and check... More 

Travelers are raving about these Brighton hotels

1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

My partner and I stayed here recently for my birthday but had to leave after one night due to no running cold water and dangerous electrics. Tried to complain but manager became verbally aggressive. Terrible place and very over priced

Helpful?
Thank Lisa R
oldpalace a, Manager at Old Palace Guest House, responded to this review

hi there, your tap was broken which was working before as we use them for cleaning, that was the reason cold water wasn't coming from your tap. but shower was working. i have told you politely with smiling, if you were going out i was going to have a look what was wrong with it and fix it. But you... More 

Level Contributor
43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Triple room was good value with a small en-suite gave us what we needed for the night. Great location to the beach, pier, Kemp Town and the Lanes. Breakfast is actually at the hotel next door, which only has a small room and is only available between 8.45 and 9.45am. We had to wait outside for about 15 minutes for... More 

Helpful?
Thank lachkeira
switzerland
Level Contributor
298 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 175 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2016

we loved this place! we were 3 girlfriends on a 3day w-end and wanted to be close to the sea and town. ideal situation here, with several restaurants, attractions, hop on bus and the beach all within minutes. the hotel is an old town house, so obviously not modern - the age is starting to show, but the room was... More 

Helpful?
Thank serena99
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2016

We stayed here during Pride weekend so I fully appreciate that prices are raised. however £200 B&B a night was too much! The double room (top floor, no lift) was small and the shower tiny, though hot water was plentiful. We had to go next door for a breakfast which was not very exciting. The coffee and tea especially were... More 

Helpful?
Thank iwan t
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2016 via mobile

Very nice and polite staff. Rooms clean and tidy and very close to water front. Only thing to point is that they should have the WiFi password somewhere by the door or on the rooms because if you get to the hotel quite late no one will be around. Apart from that, lovely

Helpful?
1 Thank ECastroC
Haverfordwest, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2016

This place is by no means the Ritz. I booked in here mainly for the price. I was greeted first by Lauwra (not sure the spelling, sorry) very pleasant and courteous, helped me with my luggage and explained breakfast arrangements. The room was very small and basic, but fine for my needs. The view from the window is a courtyard,... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank 11ses
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 1, 2016 via mobile

I stayed here from the 30th-31st with my younger sister and brother in the triple room. It was fantastic value for the money with sea view and I was pleasantly surprised to have a double bed and two singles. Very comfy beds! Small bathroom and shower but perfect for a short stay! Very friendly and kept our case before check... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank cs10dpage1
Hampshire
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2016

my two friends and I stayed here in downstairs triple for two nights.It had lovely fresh sheets and comfy bed.It wasn't at all noisy.The property is dated but we could not fault the staff,Noemi, Borja, Bayse,Sara and Metin who took care of our needs and all with a smile!Breakfast was scrummy too.Ideal location.Will definitely be back.

Helpful?
1 Thank southamptonsunshine
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (11)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (12)
Viewed
Room/Suite (7)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Other (3)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Brighton hotels
0.0 mi away
Istanbul EV Guest House
Istanbul EV Guest House
#72 of 98 in Brighton
3.5 of 5 stars 70 reviews
0.1 mi away
Strawberry Fields
Strawberry Fields
#27 of 98 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 306 reviews
0.0 mi away
Atlantic Hotel
Atlantic Hotel
#40 of 98 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Grand Pier Guest House
Grand Pier Guest House
#41 of 98 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 243 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kempfield House
Kempfield House
#34 of 98 in Brighton
4.0 of 5 stars 297 reviews
0.0 mi away
New Madeira Hotel
New Madeira Hotel
#64 of 98 in Brighton
3.0 of 5 stars 285 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Airport Transportation

Additional Information about Old Palace Guest House

Address: 7 Madeira Place, Brighton BN2 1TN, England (Formerly Budgies Guest House)
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Brighton and Hove > Brighton
Price Range: $83 - $137 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Old Palace Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Old Palace Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Budgies Guest House Hotel Brighton
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay