We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Wingrove House

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Prices from our online travel partners are not available
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Alfriston
Check In Check Out
Show Prices
View Map
Add a photo
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"containerClass":null,"scriptFlags":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

232 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 229: English reviews
Start your review of Wingrove House
 Click to rate
Seaford, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Wanted to take my partner somewhere special on Valentines day. Wingrove House was recommended to me. From start to finish this venue was superb! We were greeted at the front door, and shown to the beautiful lounge with roaring open fire, where we had drinks whilst we chose our food from the menu. The food and service were second to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank andylisa2017
WingroveSJS, Guest Relations Manager at Wingrove House, responded to this review

Dear andylisa2017, thank you for such a lovely review. We're so pleased that we made your evening special.

london
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

First class in every respect - great location - wonderful food - excellent rooms. Alfriston is a very pretty village and great walks from the village into super countryside. Restraunt is excellent with dinner and breakfast a real delight.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank elsdale
WingroveSJS, Guest Relations Manager at Wingrove House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for such a lovely review elsdale. Alfriston really is a beautiful part of the country and the scenery is exquisite. We're so pleased we added to your experience and hope you will come and see us again.

Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

I love the look of Wingrove House. It reminds me of a southern plantation house although the weather in Alfriston in January soon put a stop to that. Inside it's equally gorgeous. I remember a couple of years ago asking to look at the bedrooms and thinking then what a stylish place it was. It still is. The lounge is...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank DubaiSue_11
WingroveSJS, Guest Relations Manager at Wingrove House, responded to this review

Dear DubaiSue, we are pleased your overall experience of Wingrove was a joyous one. You'll be glad to know that the coral isn't real, just a very clever faux! Our menu (and petit four choices) do change regularly, keeping everything seasonal. We very much hope you will come and see us again for lunch on the terrace (soon to be...

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 15, 2016

We went to Eastbourne on business and stayed in Alfriston which is about 15 minutes drive from there. We received a very warm welcome upon arrival and was shown to a very comfortable room which has stunning views. Dinner was excellent as was breakfast. I look forward to going back there soon!

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Andrew C
WingroveSJS, Guest Relations Manager at Wingrove House, responded to this review

Dear Andrew C thank you for such a lovely review. We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to a return visit.

Reviewed December 4, 2016 via mobile

A warm welcome but it went downhill from there. We enjoyed coffee on the verandah outside our room, but were surprised to find the tray still there on returning from the restaurant. Maybe it would be removed when our early morning tea (offered by reception on our arrival) was delivered but this never appeared. The bathroom: three tissues in the...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank IntrepidTrev
WingroveSJS, Guest Relations Manager at Wingrove House, responded to this review

Dear Intrepid Trev, we are so sorry that you were disappointed with your stay with us in September. We are unable to address any of your comments as it was four months ago however you must have caught us on a rare day.

Chichester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 28, 2016

We stayed at Wingrove House a couple of weekends ago and enjoyed the experience very much. We had room 5,a very pleasant room. The bed was king sized and very comfortable. The location was quiet even though on the main village road. The staff were very welcoming on arrival and throughout. We enjoyed the tasty cooked breakfast, home made jam,...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank loxbury
WingroveSJS, Guest Relations Manager at Wingrove House, responded to this review

Dear Loxbury, thank you! Well done for completing the South Downs Way and we're so pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. Do come and see us again for a relaxing stay.

Eastbourne, United Kingdom
Reviewed November 26, 2016 via mobile

We had been recommended the Wingrove and thought we would try it out for dinner with friends We weren't disappointed The food was excellent as were the surroundings. The lounge was very comfortable and there was plenty of room in the restaurant The only mild criticism was that the staff seemed nervous and collected plates without noticing that one person...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kenwbrooks
WingroveSJS, Guest Relations Manager at Wingrove House, responded to this review

Dear kenwbrooks, thank you for your review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed the food and were able to relax in the lounge. We hope your enjoyment wasn't hampered by an over enthusiastic member of waiting staff - it can take a little while to develop the finer skills.

Melbourne, Australia
Reviewed November 22, 2016

We enjoyed our stay at Wingrove House. The room was nice and comfortable though a bit noisy from cars. We like to open our window for fresh air but if you don't mind that, it's very quiet with the windows shut. My review is really to say thank you to Elsie, a member of staff. I think Elsie is one...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank mitzimcnabs
WingroveSJS, Guest Relations Manager at Wingrove House, responded to this review

Dear Mitzimcnabs, Thank you so much for such a lovely review. Elsie is thrilled to be thanked in such a way - yes, she is very special and always happy to wear many hats! We hope to see you again soon.

Reviewed October 17, 2016

Five of us stayed here for 2 nights to celebrate our friend's birthday and had a really lovely weekend. The staff were very friendly and helpful and the breakfasts were terrific - they even served the toast when we like it (ie at the same time as the cooked breakfast and not before!). We had dinner at the hotel on...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Elaine C
WingroveSJS, Guest Relations Manager at Wingrove House, responded to this review

Dear Elaine C, thank you for your review. We're so pleased that you enjoyed your stay - we enjoyed having you here. Here's to the next birthday!

Seaford, United Kingdom
Reviewed October 16, 2016

Friends had asked us if we have been to Wingrove house before and the answer was no. So went on Friday evening for dinner and it was excellent no complaints on the food, service and hospitality 1st class. I have now booked to go back again in December.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank billtrathen
WingroveSJS, Guest Relations Manager at Wingrove House, responded to this review

Dear billtrathen - thank you so much for your lovely review. We are so please that you have discovered the wonders of Wingrove and look forward to seeing you in December.

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

59 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (33)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (5)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Other (16)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (26)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
Other (8)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Alfriston
0.1 mi away
Deans Place, Country Hotel and Restaurant
0.1 mi away
The Star at Alfriston
The Star at Alfriston
#2 of 2 in Alfriston
176 reviews
7.9 mi away
Pelham House
Pelham House
#3 of 7 in Lewes
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
Chalk Farm Hotel
Chalk Farm Hotel
#1 of 1 in Willingdon
58 reviews
6.4 mi away
The View Hotel
The View Hotel
#3 of 42 in Eastbourne
2,545 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Devonshire Park Hotel Eastbourne
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Parking
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Breakfast included
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Suites
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
  • Breakfast Available
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Wingrove House. Originally built as a family home in the mid 19th century, this recently refurbished colonial-style house offers restaurant and rooms within a relaxed and stylish destination in the beautiful and historic village of Alfriston, East Sussex. Run by a small team, offering a personal and friendly service, with airy verandas, candlelit bar and brasserie and pretty rooms, it's a real antidote to the rush and bustle, yet just over an hour from London. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Wingrove House

Address: High Street, Alfriston BN26 5TD, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > East Sussex > Alfriston
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Wingrove House Hotel Alfriston
Wingrove Hotel East Sussex
Wingrove House Alfriston, East Sussex
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Wingrove House staff and other travelers.
2 questions
Ask a question
Calgary, Canada
9 months ago

See all questions (2)

Questions? Get answers from Wingrove House staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“All rooms are good -some have access to a balcony - check the website.”
 of 5 bubbles elsdale, 2 weeks ago | Read review
“We were there for lunch”
 of 5 bubbles lindfieldresident, Oct 9, 2016 | Read review
“Room 3 is not huge but has a king size bed and balcony and is on the lst floor.”
 of 5 bubbles Morgancouple, Aug 11, 2016 | Read review
“Balcony rooms are special; the others are not.”
 of 5 bubbles DouglasT857, Jul 5, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms are excellent, and outstanding value”
 of 5 bubbles johnhH8379YR, Jun 25, 2016 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question