We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

YHA Swanage

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
YHA Swanage
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

95 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 92: English reviews
Bexhill-on-Sea, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Lovely, peaceful hostel ideally situated overlooking Swanage bay. Service by staff couldn't be more helpful and rooms clean and tidy. An additional service provided this year was having bed-linen fitted and ready for use! - a real bonus considering my previous struggles with duvet covers. Thanks for this. Fantastic Breakfast as always and really appreciated the recently installed new modern... More 

Review collected in partnership with YHA (England & Wales)

Helpful?
Thank tennplay123
220Garry, Manager at YHA Swanage, responded to this review

Thank you for your really nice review, it is very much appreciated by all the staff. We are so pleased that you had another great stay with us and look forward to welcoming you again soon. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

We had a one night here and were pleased with our stay. The staff were helpful and kindly let us check in early. The rooms are a little tired but are clean. Very impressed with the cleanliness of the bathroom facilities. Breakfast was good value so would definitely recommend. The hostel is just a short walk into the town but... More 

Helpful?
Thank hjk121
220Garry, Manager at YHA Swanage, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write us a review. We are pleased to read you had an enjoyable time and very much look forward to seeing you again in the future. Unfortunately there is not much we can do in terms of the hill but at least due to our elevation we have great views over Swanage Bay. More 

manchester
Level Contributor
59 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

A cheap overnight stopover whilst travelling. Instantly recognisable as a YHA by branded bedding and decor. The room was a little more tired than other YHA's we have recently been in though it was clean and serviceable. Only one roof window opened (not the main window) so it was a little stuffy in the heat. The ladies loos were being... More 

Helpful?
Thank aj1965
220Garry, Manager at YHA Swanage, responded to this review

Thank you for your review. For H&S reasons our window are restricted on how much they open, however I hope it did not effect your stay to much. YHA Swanage is an old building and as you mentioned we are doing our best to keep on top of things by redecorating as and when we get the opportunity. Breakfast at... More 

South East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

I stayed here with a young family and we had a wonderful time. The house and grounds are set up on a hill overlooking the sea - one down side is that the walk back from the beach is very uphill! There is ample free parking and the hostel is in a quiet area. The staff were so welcoming and... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rosie401
220Garry, Manager at YHA Swanage, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write us a review. It is fantastic to read that you had a great time, it's just a shame it was only for 1 night. You make a very important point in that it is best to book through our own website. You will always get family rooms cheaper via the YHA website than... More 

Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2016

We visited the south of England within two weeks with a family of four and stayed mainly in hostels by the YHA. This hostel was the hostel with the most spectacular views (not so often, that you can enjoy your breakfast looking at the sea!) in a Victorian villa, situated in a nice and very British seaside town. The clean... More 

Helpful?
Thank erichter129
220Garry, Manager at YHA Swanage, responded to this review

Thanks you for your review and it is very pleasing to see that you all had an enjoyable stay at YHA Swanage. I hope you are able to come and stay with us again soon. More 

Salisbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2016

Paid for a private room. Comfortable bunk beds and room was clean. Good showers, couple of nice communal rooms and good eating area. Breakfast was very good value for money. Good location for exploring Swanage and surrounding area, free ample parking. Long time since I've stayed in a hostel and I'd stay again. Only slight downside is that it's a... More 

Helpful?
Thank debzo2015
220Garry, Manager at YHA Swanage, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write us a review and welcome back you discovering YHA. It is also pleasing to read that you had an enjoyable stay, but sorry to see that your sleep was slightly disturbed. We look forward to welcoming you back to YHA Swanage in the near future. More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
106 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2016 via mobile

Basically a good YH, but some things could be remedied. Like many YHA places now, there is no provision for backpackers and cyclists needing to do a few items of laundry each day. There is a washing machine and a tumble dryer, but no large sink, the washer cannot be set to spin only, and no outside drying line or... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jonathan G
220Garry, Manager at YHA Swanage, responded to this review

Thanks you for taking time to write a review and your comments have been noted & forwarded for consideration. Take care and we look forward to welcoming you again in the near future. More 

Portsmouth
Level Contributor
42 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 19, 2016 via mobile

I'm not a big hostel fan, given the choice I'll either go more basic as in camping or a hotel. As I'm on a bit of a budget at the moment I decided to try hosteling again. I've done quite a few in the past but not in the last 10 years. So Swanage was my choice for a one... More 

Helpful?
Thank kushty500
220Garry, Manager at YHA Swanage, responded to this review

It is great to read that overall you have a fantastic experience at YHA Swanage. You will be pleased to know that as of today (22nd August) we have the Cloud, which gives us a much bigger footprint of WiFi availability. I have also noted the issue with sockets in the rooms. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Rotherham
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2016

Good value. Wood panelled lounge. Views of sea. Must have been beautiful home, has interesting history.Friendly. Room smelled of dog (old carpet?) play room smelled sweaty but has good wifi! Cooking smells up to top floor. Food average. Top of steep hill. But all in all couldn't beat it for price.

Helpful?
Thank Jane G
220Garry, Manager at YHA Swanage, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review. I am sorry to learn the carpet smelled, especially of dog as we have a no dog policy. Which room did you stay in so we can make sure the carpet gets an industrial clean. Our WiFi coverage has just got better with the fitting of the Cloud. Overall it reads... More 

Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2016 via mobile

We stayed here for 3 nights whilst in Swanage for a friend's wedding. It's a really nice youth hostel with great facilities, friendly staff & served a lovely breakfast. Would definitely recommend & if we find ourselves in Swanage again this will be our first choice to stay!

Helpful?
Thank Jenny E
220Garry, Manager at YHA Swanage, responded to this review

Thank you for taking time to write a review. It is very pleasing to read that you had a great weekend and enjoyed your stay with us. We very much look forward to welcoming you again when you visit Swanage. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

82 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (16)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (10)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (66)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (3)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (3)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (52)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Swanage
0.9 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 stars 795 reviews
0.2 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
1.1 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 stars 370 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Mortons House Hotel
Mortons House Hotel
#1 of 2 in Corfe Castle
4.5 of 5 stars 823 reviews
1.0 mi away
The Swanage Haven
The Swanage Haven
#3 of 55 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 stars 565 reviews
0.1 mi away
Clare House
Clare House
#6 of 55 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 stars 473 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Free Parking
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Self-Serve Laundry
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
This large, sea facing, Victorian villa is situated 5 minutes walking distance from the blue flag awarded beach of Swanage. Our hilltop location gives the front facing room's spectacular panoramic views of Swanage town and bay. Swanage town often holds music festivals, Art weeks and the Swanage Carnival every year. The town is a classic British sea side resort, and the gateway to the Jurassic coast, a world heritage site. ... more   less 

Additional Information about YHA Swanage

Address: 20 Cluny Crescent, Swanage BH19 2BS, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Price Range: $32 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Swanage 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your YHA Swanage reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Swanage Dorset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay