We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Danesfort Guest House

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Danesfort Guest House
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

32 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 32: English reviews
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

Stayed here for 3 nights, myself & wife, at the time of booking all that were available was a twin room, it wasn't cheap so we did expect a 'reasonable standard' for our stay... This expectation wasn't met unfortunately, upon entrance into room we were met with what can only be described as 'dingy' Yes, there were 2 beds, being... More 

Helpful?
Thank Darren R
Hilary A, Owner at Danesfort Guest House, responded to this review

We are very sorry to hear you did not enjoy your stay with us , working in the service industry surely the first thing you would do would be to address these issues at the time with us , to reply to a few of your comments - the sliding door to the bathroom would have been easily fixed if... More 

Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Found this guesthouse by accident but so pleased I did. The owners are very friendly and helpful, breakfasts to set you up for the day and the room I had was spotless and well equipped. Free car parking right outside too. The only downsides are that the water pressure on the upper rooms can drop mid way through a shower... More 

Helpful?
Thank Tim H
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for a couple of nights and it was so lovely. The location is perfect and we were able to park the car and leave it and not have to worry. The owners were great, really helpful and friendly. Breakfast was perfect and all was freshly made. I will definitely return here. Thank you

Helpful?
1 Thank Lollypop73
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2016

My stay here was mainly for sleeping as my coach group were staying at another guest house down the road, and i had my meals with them. But as I said I stayed at this guest house, My room was en-suite very nice with a very comfortable large bed, beverages were included and the owners Mark & Hilary Anderson were... More 

Helpful?
Thank mikeb7r
Hilary A, Owner at Danesfort Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your comments! We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Mark and Hilary. More 

london
Level Contributor
267 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 134 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2015

We stayed here for two nights during the Swanage Blues Festival and loved it. The room was clean with a very comfy bed, towels, a hospitality tea tray and free wi fi. Breakfast is great with a choice of cereals and croissants and then you can have a wonderful freshly cooked breakfast. There is even an honesty bar so if... More 

Helpful?
Thank LondonNefertiti
Hilary A, Owner at Danesfort Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for the lovely review. We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us. Mark and Hilary. More 

Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2015

We stayed as a family of 4 on the top floor. We could not had asked for any more. This was just a perfect stay for me and my wife and our baby and daughter also loved it. We basically had an apartment. Location and facilities are spot on. We will be back that's a promise

Helpful?
Thank Pete Kat and li... j
Hilary A, Owner at Danesfort Guest House, responded to this review

We are so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us in our top floor room, it is perfect for families! Thank you for taking the time to leave such lovely comments. Hope to see you soon! Mark and Hilary. More 

Greater London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2015

Stayed here with three friends whilst doing the SW Coast Path. Whilst only there for a few hours overall had a good stay. The room was large, clean, comfortable and tidy, the breakfast was good with a good selection of options and the hosts were welcoming and helpful - from the time i booked a few weeks beforehand to when... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank MattLodge
Hilary A, Owner at Danesfort Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a great review, we are glad you enjoyed your stay. Hope to see you again soon! Mark and Hilary. More 

sussex england
Level Contributor
63 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2015

Just back from a three night stay & can't fault it. Don't know what Luke H is talking about! The hosts are lovely, the room we had was bright, clean & the beds comfortable. The breakfasts couldn't have been bettered, good choice of cereal, fruit, yogurt, fruit juices etc & a good plate of full English plus toast plus tea... More 

Helpful?
Thank kathySussexEngland
Hilary A, Owner at Danesfort Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you for your lovely comments, we aim to offer a good selection of continental and cooked breakfast options, we are glad you enjoyed it! We agree, the walk along the bay is great especially on a sunny day! 10 mins out of town is just enough to get away from the crowds but still close to the beach. We... More 

Cornwall, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2015 via mobile

The Danesfort was a lovely place to stay for our week away! Very welcoming, from arrival until we left. The food was lovely and we felt right at home! I would definitely recommend, and will be coming back to stay next year. One of the better b&bs I have stayed in! Thank you very much for a pleasant stay.

Helpful?
Thank JLRob114
Hilary A, Owner at Danesfort Guest House, responded to this review

Thank you so much for your comments, we are very happy to hear you felt at home here. Hope to see you again this year! Mark and Hilary. More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2015

clearly prices in Swanage are not cheap but even so, we left with a poor impression. The people were lovely for sure but the breakfast was basic at best, not so much as a bottle of water in the room, and the whole house had an odour that was unpleasant.

Helpful?
1 Thank Luke H
Hilary A, Owner at Danesfort Guest House, responded to this review

We are sorry to hear that you left with a poor impression, had we known before you left we may have been able to rectify any problems you had. We feel that we offer a good selection of breakfast options (a choice of cooked breakfasts, fruit, cereal, yoghurt, fruit juice and pastries and croissants) I am not sure what else... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

7 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (1)
Viewed
Other (1)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Other (6)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.7 mi away
Millbrook Guest House
Millbrook Guest House
#5 of 55 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 stars 286 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Castleton
The Castleton
#12 of 55 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 stars 261 reviews
0.7 mi away
A Great Escape Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Sandhaven Guest House
Sandhaven Guest House
#16 of 55 in Swanage
4.5 of 5 stars 84 reviews
0.8 mi away
Clare House
Clare House
#6 of 55 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 stars 473 reviews
0.5 mi away
Amberlea Guest House
Amberlea Guest House
#26 of 55 in Swanage
4.5 of 5 stars 38 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Danesfort is situated just 100 yards from Swanage's sandy beach and just a short stroll from the town centre. We are a family run guest house, offering traditional bed and breakfast, with good quality en suite accomodation and evening meals by arrangement.What we can offer you - Great location near all amenities - pubs, restaurants, bars, shops and the beach. Licensed premises. Private car parking. Nine en-suite rooms - doubles, twins and a single. Family suite with interconnecting rooms. Flat screen digital TV and radio in room. Free Wifi access. Tea and coffee making facilities ... more   less 

Additional Information about Danesfort Guest House

Address: 3 Highcliffe Road, Swanage BH19 1LW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Price Range: $104 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Danesfort Guest House 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Book Direct Rooms, Orbitz, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Danesfort Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Danesfort Guest House Swanage, Dorset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay