We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Town Hall Lodge

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Town Hall Lodge
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel"},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

199 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 198: English reviews
Edinburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

A warm welcome, with a clean, bright and airy room gave us an excellent start. Brilliant breakfasts (including fresh scones & cream on a couple of mornings) were supplemented with excellent local advice. We very happily stayed for a whole week and would return without hesitation.

Helpful?
Thank jumpingjen
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed for a week and had a lovely stay in this centrally located bijou B&B. Very nice room complete with home made biscuits, excellent breakfast, informative and helpful hosts. Whole heartedly recommended.

Helpful?
Thank David K
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We stayed here for 2 days at the end of July and had a lovely stay. The room was lovely with a very comfortable bed and covers/pillows which for us is key when away. One thing I will mention is that the room had everything you need which is hard to come by. All toiletries needed (even in posh hotels... More 

Helpful?
Thank Victoria O
Poole, Dorset
Level Contributor
32 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 19, 2016

We only had one night at Town Hall Lodge but would've been happy to stay longer. The room was very comfortable with a compact and very clean shower room. Breakfast was very good, in a pleasant room, with lots of choice. The owners are very friendly and helpful. We hope to return and wish them all the best!

Helpful?
Thank JaneRj
Telford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2016

My colleague and I were staying overnight due to a meeting in the local area. We arrived later than planned due to traffic, just let the owner know and they met us when we arrived. The owners were welcoming and helpful without being intrusive. The room I stayed in was a good size, the bed was very comfortable and it... More 

Helpful?
Thank Kim A
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2016

Having booked 2 rooms one of my party's mother became dangerously ill and I had to cancel the booking, more than a week before. No refund. I decided that my partner and I would take one room. I was told we would have to pay again. In converstation with the owner, it was clear his only interest was to get... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Tim R
Judie-Clive, Owner at Town Hall Lodge, responded to this review

We sell our rooms on a Advance-Purchase (non-refundable) basis. This is an industry-standard approach clearly stated wherever you book. It means we do not have to judge the truth, or otherwise, of the reasons we are given for cancellation and we do not give refunds because none are due. So far as re-booking goes we would generally be flexible if... More 

England
Level Contributor
17 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2016 via mobile

Another snap decision for a weekend away and we found the Town Hall Lodge on booking.com. Not the cheapest place available but the quality of this B&B is worth the little extra. My essentials for a good B&B are: comfortable bed with good linen - tick; good shower - tick: fresh milk for morning tea - tick; excellent breakfast -... More 

Helpful?
Thank AndyMac12
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2016

Great room in the old police station separate access to come and go as you please Judie and Clive excellent hosts easy access to the town and steam railway station car parking a short walk away an enjoyable stay in lovely Swanage

Helpful?
Thank Grace B
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 30, 2016 via mobile

Perfect location, the room was ideal for our needs and lovely hosts who were very helpful with ideas of where to go and where to eat etc. Made for a great weekend stay in Swanage and we got really lucky with the weather as well. Highly recommended for a weekend stay.

Helpful?
Thank Dan C
Basel, Switzerland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2016

Nice B&B with comfortable room. Central and quiet location. Friendly hosts. Amazing breakfast with big choice of quality cereals and fruits. Separate entrance for access to rooms. No drinking water in bedrooms.

Helpful?
Thank Sab J
Judie-Clive, Owner at Town Hall Lodge, responded to this review

Bottled drinking water is placed in all rooms and there there is an effectively unlimited supply outside the rooms for guests to help themselves to. The tap water won't kill you either. Wasn't mentioned as a problem whilst the guest were staying, not sure why it's worthy of comment now. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

23 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (14)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (3)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Swanage hotels
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Swanage
Grand Hotel Swanage
#1 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 stars 776 reviews
0.0 mi away
Purbeck House Hotel & Louisa Lodge
0.9 mi away
The Pines Hotel
The Pines Hotel
#3 of 5 in Swanage
4.0 of 5 stars 360 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Swanage Haven
The Swanage Haven
#1 of 55 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 stars 545 reviews
0.2 mi away
Clare House
Clare House
#6 of 55 in Swanage
5.0 of 5 stars 467 reviews
0.3 mi away
A Great Escape Guest House
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Breakfast
  • Beachfront
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Beachfront
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Breakfast
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Town Hall Lodge B&B in Swanage provides high-quality accommodation and good food in calm civilized surroundings. Situated centrally, our accommodation in Swanage is only a couple of minutes walk from the beach, restaurants, bars, bus and train station - yet hidden away down a little lane looking out over a courtyard we are at a distance from the bustle of the High Street. We are now an adult-only establishment. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Town Hall Lodge

Address: Town Hall Lodge Town Hall Lane, Swanage BH19 1EX, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Isle of Purbeck > Swanage
Price Range: $111 - $193 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Town Hall Lodge 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Hotwire, Travelocity and Booking.com so you can book your Town Hall Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Town Hall Lodge Swanage, Dorset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay