We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

The Coppleridge Inn

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Enter dates for lowest prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
We check 200+ sites to find the latest and lowest prices.
Professional photos
The Coppleridge Inn
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

141 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 141: English reviews
Start your review of The Coppleridge Inn
 Click to rate
Jersey, United Kingdom
Reviewed 1 week ago

Surrounded by some of Dorset's finest countryside, the Coppleridge Inn sits in its own 15 acres of woodland and meadows with views over Blackmoore Vale and is a great place to base yourself for a weekend or longer stay. The Coppleridge is a pub, with a fine restaurant, well actually four rooms with their own log fires, offering relaxed dining...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Sally E
Wincanton, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 15, 2017

The Coppleridge is spacious pub in the back lanes of Dorset, nice pub with separate dinning room. I had the roast lamb, came with roast potatoes, Yorkshire pudding, cauliflower cheese, French beans and red cabbage, the meal was hot and well cooked. For desert I had Black current cheesecake with cream. Nice friendly pub with good service

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Mutleythedog
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed January 5, 2017

Rather than face 2-3 more hours of a very foggy A303 we were fortunate in coming across this wonderful place to stop for the night and continue our journey the next day. Great room, slept well, great breakfast, thoroughly recommend and happy to stay there again. Dog-friendly +++

 Report
Helpful?
Thank NickTheobald
London, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 26, 2016 via mobile

Booked a room last minute and glad I went. The rooms were clean and beautiful. Had 2 great night of sleep. Super comfortable and peaceful. We had Christmas Eve dinner and Christmas lunch at their restaurant which was all delightful. Food was impeccable, well presented and tasteful. Staff were super friendly and very accommodating. And as a plus we had...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Jlonga
Shaftesbury, United Kingdom
Reviewed December 21, 2016 via mobile

I booked our Work's Christmas party here & we were not disappointed. We were in the marquee which was decorated elegantly & the temperature inside was warm. Very professional service & the food was excellent and afterwards we all danced the night away at the disco which was all included. Merry Christmas to you all.

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Anstee3
thecoppleridgeinn, Owner at The Coppleridge Inn, responded to this review

So pleased you all enjoyed yourselves. Why not book for next year and beat the rush. Ho ho! Happy Christmas Chris

Reviewed November 15, 2016

As a group of friends from the 1960s, we have just spent a wonderfully relaxing few days at The Coppleridge Inn. The stresses of our everyday lives fell away in the beautiful country surroundings. Our rooms were all large and well-appointed, and we were able to fit in an 11 year-old grandchild and large pet dog. Nothing was too much...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Chris H
Camberley
Reviewed October 30, 2016

We visited the venue based on previous reviews on Tripadvisor, and we were not disappointed. My wife and I decided on the roasts (beef and lamb), but not before starters and then desserts to follow (completely unnecessary but the food was so good we couldn't resist the sticky toffee pudding with ice-cream). The staff were attentive but not intrusive. We...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Millsy1
thecoppleridgeinn, Owner at The Coppleridge Inn, responded to this review

I'm so pleased you enjoyed your lunch. I hope we will see you again in the future. Kind regards, Chris Goodinge

Aylesbury
Reviewed October 29, 2016

We booked three rooms to stay with family. All rooms were very spacious and had views across open farmland. Rooms were well furnished and clean although there were a few areas where décor wa starting to get tired. We mentioned this when checking out and were advised thay were going to shortly start refurbishing rooms- If they do then I...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Nick G
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
Reviewed September 15, 2016

This was the best Sunday lunch by a mile I've had for years! In fact, I'm loathe to tell people about it because it's so good. We went in actually not wanting a trad roast, but on Sundays that is all you get, apart from a sandwich, and we wanted a little more than that. The girls that work there...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank kjb1801
seattle
Reviewed September 9, 2016 via mobile

The drive from Heathrow to Newquay? Awful! We got to drive by Stonhenge but not go in! We were getting fussy in our Fiat 500. We started at 2 and got here at 6 pm. Here being Coppleridge! This is our number 1 charming Inn in England! We just wandered down the path and oh my gosh. Peaceful! Coming from...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank windycross
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

47 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (33)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (3)
Viewed
View from Room (2)
Viewed
Bathroom (1)
Viewed
Other (17)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Dining (6)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Shaftesbury
1.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN The Royal Chase Hotel
1.1 mi away
The Grosvenor Arms
The Grosvenor Arms
#1 of 2 in Shaftesbury
374 reviews
3.7 mi away
The Grove Arms
The Grove Arms
#1 of 1 in Ludwell
176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.4 mi away
The Crown Inn
The Crown Inn
#1 of 4 in Sturminster Newton
117 reviews
1.1 mi away
3 Ivy Cross
3 Ivy Cross
#1 of 24 in Shaftesbury
105 reviews
1.0 mi away
La Fleur de Lys
La Fleur de Lys
#4 of 24 in Shaftesbury
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Room Service
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Tennis Court
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Accessible rooms
  • Family Rooms
In your room
  • Refrigerator in room
Services
  • Free Parking
  • Laundry Service
  • Banquet Room
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly)
  • Room Service
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Conference Facilities
  • Babysitting
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
A family run inn set in 15 acres of woodland & meadow overlooking Hardy's Blackmore Vale. We have a candlelit log fired restaurant where our chefs provide a wonderful selection of innovative and traditional dishes. These meals are also available in the bar & garden room and gardens in the summer. We are a very popular wedding venue with couples being able to get married in our 17c barn, The Garden Room and also our Woodland Wedding venue. We have our own marquee which can seat up to 150 for receptions, parties, dinners, conferences and many other purposes. Our ten large comfortable bedrooms look out over the grounds and contain all the amenities you would expect. Our bar offers Real ales, a comprehensive wine list and lots of chattern with the locals. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Coppleridge Inn

Address: Motcombe | Shaftesbury, Shaftesbury SP7 9HW, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Shaftesbury
Price Range: $106 - $125 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Coppleridge Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your The Coppleridge Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Coppleridge Hotel Shaftesbury
The Coppleridge Inn Shaftesbury, Dorset
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Questions? Get answers from The Coppleridge Inn staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Have the Sunday lunch in the pub!”
 of 5 bubbles kjb1801, Sep 15, 2016 | Read review
“All rooms set around a courtyard ,so easy access.”
 of 5 bubbles Harbornite, Apr 12, 2016 | Read review
“Pick the appropriate room for your party.”
 of 5 bubbles yakhochudevushky, Oct 24, 2015 | Read review
“Ask for views looking over the fields”
 of 5 bubbles 566vich, Oct 15, 2015 | Read review
“Don't forget to pack your camera...”
 of 5 bubbles Kimmie204, Jul 2, 2015 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question