We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! You come to us for reviews — now you can book your hotel right here on TripAdvisor.

Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel

Show Prices
Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Management photos
Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

440 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 440: English reviews
Batley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
195 reviews
100 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I stayed here on a Shearings coach holiday, the coach driver and coach company were great. On arrival at the hotel (we were very late as we had traffic issues!) we were immediately given our dinner - the waiting staff had stayed late especially, we were given a complimentary drink and while we ate our luggage was taken to the... More 

Helpful?
Thank haylesbeth
england
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

As a long standing customer of Shearings and having stayed here on numerous occasions before, I must say that that this particular hotel has, in my view, deteriorated since staying last. From the moment of arrival and being met by an unfriendly receptionist mid morning to be told bluntly that although the car park was empty, there were no vacancies... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank teejayengland
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review

Hi teejayengland Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. I am sorry if your booking agent gave you wrong information about parking. We do have 18 spaces here at the hotel and as you say they can be booked when you book your holiday. I am sure if you were told they were all booked when you... More 

Derby
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Had a 4 day,3 night stay here in August.don't expect a luxury hotel,with all the trimmings,but it ticks all the boxes for an inexpensive break.bed was comfy,good shower ,tv, tea and coffee in room.reception gave us a large fan as the weather was boiling.good waiter staff in bar lounge and at meal times.surprisingly good variety on menu and plenty of... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank derbyram55
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review

Hi derbyram55 Fantastic thanks for your review I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and everything met with your expectations. I will pass on your comments to Amanda and the rest of my team.We hope to see you again soon. More 

Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

We liked the Majestic, although there were some issues, but more of that later. For us it was in a great location being just a few minutes walk from the cliff-top walk that takes you into Bournemouth one way (about a 30 minute stroll), and Boscombe the other way (about a 15 minute stroll).If you needed the bus , the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank bow-legs
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review

Hi bow-legs Thanks for your review i am glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us and the hotel met with your expectations. I am however sorry to hear you had a few issues with the food and I will certainly be talking to our chef to see what we can change to ensure this doesn’t happen again. We... More 

doncaster
Level Contributor
23 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Ok positives first, a very efficient check in, and manager on hand to welcome you. The room we had was on the first floor as requested, and was spacious and modern. The towels fluffy and very white. The restaurant was stylish as were the other public rooms, with plenty of seating and relaxing type chairs. The staff were absolutely lovely.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DoncasterKate
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review

Hi DocasterKate Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review, I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and appreciated our fantastic service. I am glad you liked your room and the public areas. I am however sorry to hear your bathroom did not live up to your expectations, We do have an ongoing program... More 

Southern England
Level Contributor
59 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

We returned home today after a weekend at The Majestic. We last visited two years ago. We were allocated a room on a low floor as requested, but unfortunately our room on the first floor was immediately above the ballroom. This meant that if we returned to our room before the entertainment finished at about 11pm, the music could be... More 

Helpful?
3 Thank RainbowDays
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review

Hi RainbowDays Thanks for your review I am glad to see you enjoyed your stay with us. As you say some of the rooms on the 1st floor can hear the entrainment until it stops at around 11pm. The scaffolding will only be here for another couple of weeks while we paint the outside of the building. We are doing... More 

1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2016

This is the 2nd time we have stayed at this hotel and will definitely not be returning!! The staff are very rude, especially Matthew on the main desk, the rooms are very run down and in need of a good refurb! Only attended breakfast once as it was terrible and is now a buffet which is very watery and sloppy... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank Gokhan D
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review

Hi Gokham Thanks for your comments i am a bit surprised to read you did not like our hotel. We offer value for money holidays and have many happy customers. More 

Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 1, 2016

Unfortunately our room was almost above the entertainment and it was loud, every night until 11pm and later. Fine if you are there but not otherwise. Our bathroom was not good with an extremely ineffective shower and faulty cistern. The food was very nicely presented and a good choice as well.

Helpful?
3 Thank barbarasilverwoody
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review

Hi barbarasilverwoody Thanks for your review. As you say we do stop the entrainment each night at around 11pm as the rooms above can hear it. I will look into the problems you mentioned and make sure any action needed is taken to rectify this. We do encourage guests to tell us about things like this as soon as they... More 

West Yorkshire
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2016

Disabled room specifically requested. Disabled room allocated - larger room than most, larger bathroom than most, balcony (but with doorlip, wheelchair can't go over). Bathroom had handrails round the loo, but a normal bath with shower over. Disabled person unable to bathe for a week. Water flow in sink slow, so limited and time consuming "strip wash" in sink. Disabled... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank janingham
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review

Hi janingham Thanks for your review I am sorry to see you had issues getting around with your wheelchair. We do advise in our literature and when you book that this hotel may not be suitable for people with limited mobility due to the fact you cannot get a wheel chair in the lift and you need to go down... More 

Leicestershire, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2016 via mobile

Just returned from a 4 day break with shearings could not falt this hotel we had a great stay food good with plenty of choice staff very plesant and helpfull room was very clean will be back in the future al so a big thank you to our driver mick keep up the good work well done team

Helpful?
5 Thank linda p
tracey_moores, General Manager at Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel, responded to this review

Hi linda p Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us. I will of course pass on your kind words to my team. We look forward to seeing you again soon. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

146 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (132)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (21)
Viewed
Dining (4)
Viewed
Room/Suite (35)
Viewed
View from Room (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (19)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (49)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (14)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Room/Suite (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (8)
Viewed
Family/Play Areas (2)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.4 mi away
The Savoy Hotel
The Savoy Hotel
#37 of 78 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 693 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 78 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 2,956 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#29 of 78 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 1,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Bournemouth Highcliff Marriott Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Chine Hotel
The Chine Hotel
#23 of 78 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 911 reviews
0.3 mi away
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
#40 of 78 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 stars 701 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
About the property
  • Wheelchair access
Things to do
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
Internet
  • Free Internet
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
The Majestic hotel is located on the East Cliff and is just a few minutes' walk from the seven miles of glorious golden sand that is Bournemouth beach. The bay offers beautiful vistas and on a clear day you can easily see the Needles on the Isle of Wight and Old Harry’s Rocks over in the Purbecks. The hotel is just a short walk to the shops and variety of seaside attractions and is set in a great location for you to explore the surrounding area. Dinner can be enjoyed in the comfortable restaurant and guests can also benefit from a snooker room, outside terrace and swimming pool. With a contemporary ballroom and bar, lively entertainment is provided most evenings including music for dancing, visiting cabaret, quizzes and bingo. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel

Address: Derby Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3QE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range: $110 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 69
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LateRooms so you can book your Bay Majestic Bournemouth Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Bournemouth
#24 Romantic Hotel in Bournemouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay