We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

The Winter Dene

Certificate of Excellence
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
The Winter Dene
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

92 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 90: English reviews
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Just returned from another visit to the Winter Dene which has many spacious bedrooms all maintained to a very high standard. You are always made so welcome from this family run hotel. A great selection is provided at breakfast. The hotel is in a quiet location and only a short walk from the town. I will be visiting again soon.

Helpful?
1 Thank Heather G
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Well the reviews are true - a delightful full of character building with home from home comforts, and beautiful gardens for the guests to enjoy. We were welcomed by the owner Heather who showed us to a lovely large room overlooking that garden at the rear. (Room number 11) The room was spotless with a large comfy bed, and a... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Sue L
Mansfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Just returned from a 7 night stay at this lovely hotel. We had a large double en suite room with both a shower room and seperate bathroom. Room was nice and clean and was cleaned daily, we also had tv and free wifi and tea coffee milk and biscuits were left daily. Breakfast was good with a full english, fruit,... More 

Helpful?
Thank phil1362
Luxembourg, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

The Winter Dene is a grand old house that has been beautifully renovated and decorated with character. It is well located, 10-15 minutes from the town centre and within easy reach of the beach. The spacious, comfortable and airy room was on the 2nd floor, under the eaves, which added to the charm. I enjoyed waking every morning to the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank FizzyJazzle
Croydon, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
110 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Everything was good here, the room was lovely, bathroom looked new and very fresh. Nice and quiet,we were at the top of the house. Lots of choice at breakfast and freely replenished. I must say, contrary to a previous comment, that we found the host made the breakfast experience, his humour livened it up. This is very near excellent, and... More 

Helpful?
Thank nursecsb
Burton upon Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

just had a nice five days at winter dean hotel great breakfast to start the day rooms are great.very close to the beach just a walk down the chine .and it is a good location for buses into town and poole. we will be back

Helpful?
Thank oge12365
herefordshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2016 via mobile

Just stayed one night as I was working in Bournemouth. I chose the hotel from the reviews and was not disappointed! Friendly hotel very clean! Lovely comfortable beds and clean sheets. Breakfast was freshly cooked and excellent selection. Will definitely stay again! Well done to the owners it was a pleasure!

Helpful?
Thank binnie-7
rompipalla, Owner at The Winter Dene, responded to this review

Thank you for taking the time to write a comment and we are delighted you enjoyed your stay here and hope to welcome you again. More 

Staffordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 5, 2016

Just spent 3 excellent evenings at the Winter Dene. A lovely Victorian building 10 mins walk from the beach and clifftop walks. Close enough to the town to walk to but far enough away from the hustle and bustle. The hotel owners were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was very nice with a good selection of food to choose from. The... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank spikeynorm
rompipalla, Owner at The Winter Dene, responded to this review

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a nice review - it has done wonders for our morale! More 

Maynooth, Ireland
Level Contributor
19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2016

Renzo is of not asset to this hotel especially with his smart comment of "Good Afternoon" when we arrived at breakfast at 9.05am. This kind of humour does not work for me maybe in Como it might.. As soon as you put any cutlery down he clears the plate away with seconds.. how they achieved Excellent Breakfast is beyond us.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank mallie6666
rompipalla, Owner at The Winter Dene, responded to this review

We are extremely sorry you took offence at Renzo's comment it was meant light heartedly. With regard your other points: Our guests are usually grateful that they do not have to sit for prolonged periods of time with a dirty plate in front of them. We have the Breakfast Award because we provide an excellent choice and well cooked fresh... More 

1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2016

The location was excellent, less than 10 mins walk to the beach and the city centre. We had a large and beautiful room with tv and fully equipped bathroom. Lovley garden and living room. Excellent breakfast!. Friendly and helpful owners. They made us feel welcome

Helpful?
Thank Natalia H
rompipalla, Owner at The Winter Dene, responded to this review

Thank you for your taking time to write a comment and we hope to welcome you again sometime. More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

22 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (9)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (4)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (13)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Riviera
Hotel Riviera
#17 of 78 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 229 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Chocolate Box Hotel
The Chocolate Box Hotel
#6 of 144 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 stars 604 reviews
0.3 mi away
Bamboo Guesthouse
Bamboo Guesthouse
#27 of 144 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 198 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Washington House Hotel
Washington House Hotel
#33 of 144 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 98 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Cremona Hotel
The Cremona Hotel
#62 of 144 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 302 reviews
0.2 mi away
Shirley Hotel
Shirley Hotel
#54 of 144 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 227 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Breakfast
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Visit Britain 4 Star Guest Accommodation with Silver Award and Breakfast Award. An elegant Victorian villa which has been lovingly refurbished to offer comfortable surroundings for your holidays. Situated in a quiet area of the West Cliff, just 5 minutes walk from beach and 10 minutes walk to Bournemouth International Centre and town centre, pier, etc. All rooms are en-suite with bath and/or shower, TV with freeview/radio, hairdryer, safe and tea/coffee making facilities. Superior doubles and family rooms have king size or superkingsize beds. Large car park within hotel garden. Refrigerator for guest use and ice. Free WIFI. Bed and Breakfast. ... more   less 

Additional Information about The Winter Dene

Address: 11 Durley Road South | West Cliff, Bournemouth BH2 5JH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range: $122 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Winter Dene 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Winter Dene reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay