We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

Topaz Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Topaz Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"},"template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

248 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 241: English reviews
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Would not recommend this 'hotel'. To start with we were ignored when we rang the bell to check in. We were 10 mins early so fair enough we waited. After finally being let in we were welcomed by a rude gentlemen which I assume is the manager. We got our key and made our way to our room on the... More 

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

I had a great stay at the Topaz. It is situated less than 8 minutes from the beach. There is a convenience store less than a couple of minutes away. There are lots of pubs and restaurants to choose from. Even though I shared my bathroom it was clean. I thoroughly enjoyed my stay, and would definitely stay again.

Helpful?
Thank lyndebeer
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

On our arrival at the Topaz we were checked in by the owner who came across quite stern and serious but overall was a good host, parking on offer was an advantage however was quite narrow although this can't always be helped. We stayed in the family room which was very well presented and spacious, the facilities and cleanliness was... More 

Helpful?
2 Thank James F
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2016

My children - 12 and 14 - and I really enjoyed our stay here. On arrival, the owner was all smiles, made my children and I feel really welcomed and at home, and he helped me up the stairs with my very heavy baggage! The room was clean and comfortable, and it made a change to stay in a family... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lexilexis
Malta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2016 via mobile

Very clean guesthouse , with parking, great breakfast, very helpful Hili, very nicely decorated rooms.Its been awhile since we last stayed there, but if you're on a budget holiday, its the place to go. Lovely place and walking distance to centre.

Helpful?
Thank Charmaine C
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2016

Booked the topaz hotel for 3 nights in the school holidays. We stayed in the family room, double bed and two singles with en suite. The room was a good size for us all the kids absolutely loved the room. Tea and coffee replenished every day. The hotel is in a great location at the top of the street there... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2016 via mobile

It was a very amazing so comfortable bed didn't want to leave the bed (ever!) it was cheap and better than expected!!Very comfy!!! And nice staff good staff, really close to town very clean and tidy!! Nice choice of coffee😇😇😇😇😇😇😇😇😇😇😇😇😇😇

Helpful?
Thank elliepersence
East Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 27, 2016

Went to book a two night stay at this hotel for an anneversary trip to bournemouth. No answer from recpetion the first time but got a call back from a very rude man. Said i wanted to book a stay but when i announced i had an already pre-paid voucher he became even RUDER and announced that the hotel was... More 

Helpful?
Thank aspencer266
Portishead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2016 via mobile

0 out of 5. Booked for 4 nights and checked-out after 1. That bad that I didn't even attempt to secure a refund as i'm not one for flogging a dead horse and it was very clear to me that the proprietor is robbing his customers. The experience is not as advertised. Breakfast is a voucher for a local pub.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jason_Goddard_303
Anne_and_AK, Owner at Topaz Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Goddard, First, we would like to thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We sincerely apologize for the negative experience you had. We were very concerned with the unfortunate situation that made us unable to provide you with breakfast on your first day here in the hotel. Unfortunately, the cook had called in sick at the last... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2016 via mobile

We booked a superior room for two nights for our honeymoon. When we arrived we had to wait 10-15 before door was answered. We then were presented with tickets to go to local pub for breakfast every morning instead of breakfast there. Which we weren't warned about. People coming in and out like a youth hostel one bloke with a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Missjackson1988
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#89 of 144 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 279 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shirley Hotel
Shirley Hotel
#55 of 144 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 231 reviews
0.0 mi away
Newbury Hotel
Newbury Hotel
#78 of 144 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
The Balincourt
The Balincourt
#17 of 144 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 179 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Newark Hotel
The Newark Hotel
#47 of 144 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Whitehall Hotel
The Whitehall Hotel
#22 of 144 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 270 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Free Parking
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ideally situated on Bournemouth's Westcliff, we are within a 5 minute walk of the town centre, Bournemouth International Centre (BIC) & the award winning beaches. The Topaz has recently undergone a full refurbishment, bedrooms are modern "un-chintzy", clean, bright and decorated to a high standard, most rooms have en-suite facilities, all with LCD televisions, hairdryers, tea/coffee making facilities and Free wireless Internet. We offer a high standard of bed & breakfast accommodation with delicious continental, full English and other breakfast options. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Topaz Hotel

Address: 79 St. Michaels Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DR, England (Formerly The Redlands)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range: $77 - $161 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Topaz Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda, LateRooms, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Topaz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay