We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

Topaz Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Topaz Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

245 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Showing 239: English reviews
Horsham, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

My children - 12 and 14 - and I really enjoyed our stay here. On arrival, the owner was all smiles, made my children and I feel really welcomed and at home, and he helped me up the stairs with my very heavy baggage! The room was clean and comfortable, and it made a change to stay in a family... More 

Helpful?
Thank Lexilexis
Malta
Level Contributor
9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Very clean guesthouse , with parking, great breakfast, very helpful Hili, very nicely decorated rooms.Its been awhile since we last stayed there, but if you're on a budget holiday, its the place to go. Lovely place and walking distance to centre.

Helpful?
Thank Charmaine C
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Booked the topaz hotel for 3 nights in the school holidays. We stayed in the family room, double bed and two singles with en suite. The room was a good size for us all the kids absolutely loved the room. Tea and coffee replenished every day. The hotel is in a great location at the top of the street there... More 

Helpful?
Thank Rachel H
Bournemouth, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

It was a very amazing so comfortable bed didn't want to leave the bed (ever!) it was cheap and better than expected!!Very comfy!!! And nice staff good staff, really close to town very clean and tidy!! Nice choice of coffee😇😇😇😇😇😇😇😇😇😇😇😇😇😇

Helpful?
Thank elliepersence
East Sussex, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Went to book a two night stay at this hotel for an anneversary trip to bournemouth. No answer from recpetion the first time but got a call back from a very rude man. Said i wanted to book a stay but when i announced i had an already pre-paid voucher he became even RUDER and announced that the hotel was... More 

Helpful?
Thank aspencer266
Portishead, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2016 via mobile

0 out of 5. Booked for 4 nights and checked-out after 1. That bad that I didn't even attempt to secure a refund as i'm not one for flogging a dead horse and it was very clear to me that the proprietor is robbing his customers. The experience is not as advertised. Breakfast is a voucher for a local pub.... More 

Helpful?
Thank Jason_Goddard_303
Anne_and_AK, Owner at Topaz Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Mr. Goddard, First, we would like to thank you for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We sincerely apologize for the negative experience you had. We were very concerned with the unfortunate situation that made us unable to provide you with breakfast on your first day here in the hotel. Unfortunately, the cook had called in sick at the last... More 

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 21, 2016 via mobile

We booked a superior room for two nights for our honeymoon. When we arrived we had to wait 10-15 before door was answered. We then were presented with tickets to go to local pub for breakfast every morning instead of breakfast there. Which we weren't warned about. People coming in and out like a youth hostel one bloke with a... More 

Helpful?
Thank Missjackson1988
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2016

We stayed here for two nights and a very comfortable stay it was. We've visited Bournemouth a few times this year, usually staying in Eastcliffe, but this time we decided to stay in Westcliffe and so glad we did. As per other reviews, the location of this B&B is excellent; short walk to a variety of pubs and restaurants and... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Hendricks14
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 10, 2016

The best thing about the Topaz is the location - in a decent area a short stroll from the beach, pier and surrounded by pubs and restaurants. It's also a short walk to Poole Hill where you can catch buses to the train station and Poole (handy for the various pleasure cruises you can take from there). The Hotel is... More 

Helpful?
Thank lemec79
london
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2016 via mobile

So my partner and I have just spent a long weekend at the Topaz, we were welcomed very warmly by the landlady and shown to our cosy ensuite room Breakfast in the morning was plentiful with loads of variety Good location for exploring Bournemouth and surrounding areas

Helpful?
Thank janinedLondon
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

26 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (20)
Viewed
Room/Suite (10)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (4)
Viewed
View from Room (1)
Viewed
Other (3)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (6)
Viewed
Dining (2)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Room/Suite (2)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
Shirley Hotel
Shirley Hotel
#54 of 144 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 227 reviews
0.0 mi away
Newbury Hotel
Newbury Hotel
#78 of 144 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 138 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Claremont Hotel
The Claremont Hotel
#81 of 144 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 278 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Newark Hotel
The Newark Hotel
#45 of 144 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 191 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Chocolate Box Hotel
The Chocolate Box Hotel
#7 of 144 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 stars 605 reviews
1.8 mi away
The Rosscourt
The Rosscourt
#9 of 144 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 stars 293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
About the property
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Room types
  • Family Rooms
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Ideally situated on Bournemouth's Westcliff, we are within a 5 minute walk of the town centre, Bournemouth International Centre (BIC) & the award winning beaches. The Topaz has recently undergone a full refurbishment, bedrooms are modern "un-chintzy", clean, bright and decorated to a high standard, most rooms have en-suite facilities, all with LCD televisions, hairdryers, tea/coffee making facilities and Free wireless Internet. We offer a high standard of bed & breakfast accommodation with delicious continental, full English and other breakfast options. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Topaz Hotel

Address: 79 St. Michaels Road, Bournemouth BH2 5DR, England (Formerly The Redlands)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range: $82 - $176 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Topaz Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Agoda, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Topaz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay