We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Want the lowest hotel prices? You're in the right place. We check 200+ sites for you.

Chelsea Hotel

Show Prices
Book on TripAdvisor
Trusted partner. We work with to make your booking as easy as possible.
Secure payments. We use industry-leading practices to keep your information secure.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
Check In Check Out
1 room 2 adults 0 children
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Chelsea Hotel
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))"}},"scriptFlags":null,"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

165 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 162: English reviews
Kent, England
Reviewed December 11, 2016 via mobile

Odd.. Christine Or what ever her nam is Was shouted at from downstairs behind a grill.. Got sat down and told how it is" damage this and that" Must of been desensitised over the years but it's a cheap hotel and your going to get boys and girls using it for a cheap weekend stay over for nights out in...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Kickboxingboo
ChrissyBeere, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

This review I'm not sure about. The last stag party of the season was in the middle of September and has taken 4 months to write, and it doesn't sound like your party at all? Also I'm called Chrissy there is no where on my site that calls me Christine? I don't do invoices so how can I mess anything...

Reviewed October 30, 2016 via mobile

On arrival we were told we had to pay a refundable 20 quid deposit in quite an abrupt manor which it then took us 45 minutes to wait for a parking space to become available. The room was very small and hadn't been hoovered for I don't know how long. There was a guy in the room next to us...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jess14tom
ChrissyBeere, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

I don't mind people putting a review about the Hotel if what they write is all true, in this case only halve is true. this couple came late at night and asked about parking, I said "you can have one of our permits to park on the road in front of the Hotel but we have to take a refundable...

Reviewed September 25, 2016 via mobile

I stayed at The Chelsea Hotel in May 2015. I was in a three bed bedroom, with my disabled mother. Due to current living circumstances we were placed in the care of Chrissie. We stayed at the hotel for a week, but were soon moved as it was insufficient to our needs. The area is not the nicest most wholesome...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank MikaylaClements
ChrissyBeere, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words, it makes a difference to both the housekeeper's and myself.

Kettering, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 28, 2016 via mobile

Came here on a hen do with 20 girls, we'd pre booked rooms and had allocated to people who new each other, on arrival she told us she'd sold out our rooms twice and now we've been all squashed together in half the amount of rooms we booked the rooms were tiny tiny and so claustrophobic !!! 6 people to...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Beth C
BeereA, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review but you haven't quite told the truth. I DID NOT say at all that your rooms were sold and I had to squash in into a tiny rooms. You came through an agency who charge you more for the rooms than I do if you had come direct. Room allocations are not done until the...

West Sussex, United Kingdom
Reviewed August 26, 2016

Friendly hotel, clean. I stayed at this hotel twice, but have to say preferred the second stay as it was a different room. The room at the top of the building I didn't enjoy , due to its size and having to leave the room to go to a bathroom, even though it was for my sole use. But all...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank BeachQueenoftheocean
BeereA, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review.

Reviewed August 11, 2016

Just stopped one night as was visiting friends as a swift stay before my onward destination. This place had the triple C....clean, comfortable and convenient! Being a previous resident of Bournemouth I know the hotel is 5mins walk to Eastcliff and sea views, same distance to the train/bus station and merely steps into town. The owner/staff were very welcoming and...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Lea M
BeereA, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review

Reviewed August 8, 2016

I should start by saying, in the interest of fairness, that this hotel is close to the station and that is where the compliments end. Almost everything else that the hotel claims on its website, based on the experience myself and my friends had this weekend, is utterly untrue. To highlight two passages in particular: 1) Chelsea Hotel welcomes large...

 Report
Helpful?
1Thank Joshua P
BeereA, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

Well you did tell me that you were going to put in a very bad review. Now let me tell my side of the story. My housekeeper who was on duty, called me to the Reception desk which is downstairs in the basement where the bar and the breakfasts are served, as soon as she came in, A couple were...

london
Reviewed July 27, 2016

Lovely place we were made very welcome as soon as we got there rooms are very clean tea and coffee facility's in room flat screen TVs was very comftable people very friendly couldn't do enough for us I'm hoping to go back in August if not fully booked have a bar there I will definatly go back

 Report
Helpful?
Thank teddy22london
BeereA, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words.

Birmingham, United Kingdom
Reviewed July 17, 2016 via mobile

What a weekend. Thank you for accommodating us all. We had 6 rooms ensuite, good room sizes and bar on site. Staff/owner very helpful and polite. Would definitely recommend for anyone looking for value accommodation in Bournemouth area. We where down on my stag weekend, but would happily stay again for other occasions.

 Report
Helpful?
Thank ltbatey
BeereA, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words.

London, United Kingdom
Reviewed June 16, 2016 via mobile

I stayed here for one night whilst in Bournemouth on business. I chose it for the £35 rate and central location (it's very close to the train station). As I would be at an evening meeting and gone by 7.30am, I really just needed a place to get my head down. This was on a Wednesday night. I arrived at...

 Report
Helpful?
Thank Jess M
BeereA, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

The young girl in question was my granddaughter who is quicker than me at 66 years of age, these days to get to the intercom to let people in for me. The bell at the front door is not smashed in as you put it, but the strip that you put a name into was missing and has been for...

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

30 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (15)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (2)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/Suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.1 mi away
Elstead Hotel
Elstead Hotel
#19 of 69 in Bournemouth
544 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
Ramada Encore Bournemouth
#16 of 69 in Bournemouth
1,289 reviews
0.3 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#17 of 69 in Bournemouth
1,391 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Lea Hurst Hotel
Lea Hurst Hotel
#24 of 144 in Bournemouth
141 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kantara Guest House
Kantara Guest House
#74 of 144 in Bournemouth
39 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#101 of 144 in Bournemouth
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Free Parking
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Things to do
  • Bar/Lounge
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
  • Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Services
  • Free Parking
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Chelsea Hotel is ideally situated only a three minute walk from the Bournemouth train & coach station, and the bus stop, and eleven minutes to the cliff top with its fabulous views across the bay, the cliff lift and Zig Zag path to the famous nine miles of sandy beaches.All rooms are fresh and clean, and constantly upgrading. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Chelsea Hotel

Address: 32 St. Swithuns Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3RH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range: $42 - $86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Chelsea Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing

Questions & Answers

Here's what travelers have asked, with answers from Chelsea Hotel staff and other travelers.
1 question
Ask a question

See all questions (1)

Questions? Get answers from Chelsea Hotel staff and past guests.
Posting guidelines
Typical questions asked:
  • Can tickets for local attractions be purchased at the front desk?
  • Do you have to pay extra for a mini-fridge?
  • At what time does the pool open each day?

See which rooms travelers prefer

“Dont stay here!”
 of 5 bubbles GeorgeVeys, Dec 16, 2015 | Read review
“room one good size for groups”
 of 5 bubbles christopherrS7231YQ, Jul 28, 2015 | Read review
“Look for another hotel.”
 of 5 bubbles 18Phill79, Oct 6, 2014 | Read review
“Rooms at rear are quieter. Occasional passing traffic and pedestrians at front.”
 of 5 bubbles 595DaveH595, Sep 8, 2014 | Read review
“Ground floor rooms are cooler in the summer.”
 of 5 bubbles debcoath, Aug 9, 2014 | Read review
5 of 5
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay