We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Chelsea Hotel

32 St. Swithun's Road | East Cliff, Bournemouth BH1 3RH, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Booking.com to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Chelsea Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

153 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

This is not an hotel but a shelter for people as it doesn't meet the minimum standard. The worst is that the owner is so rude with customer. Note You are not allow to receive any visitor what you'll never been told before you'll be put in shame by this rude owner. The funny thing is that she can take... More 

Helpful?
Thank Herve M
ChrissyBeere, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

Mr Kovame you did say that you were going to give me a bad review because I wouldn't let you take a woman back to your room. You had been staying with us for the past three weeks which you got a special reduced price, for this twin room with en suite, as I didn't have any other rooms as... More 

Reading, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2015

The room was very small, the shower was at waist height, and the beds were very uncomfortable. To top it all off the staff were rude, and unhelpful. My advise would be to stay well away! Breakfast is also a rip off - its £5 extra and you get some toast for that.

Helpful?
2 Thank GeorgeVeys
ChrissyBeere, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

Actually you didn't pay for your stay, your company did, and as it was winter they asked for a special rate which I gave them, and it was well below the weekly price. You had the luxury of a twin room for 1 and you had the largest ensuite in the hotel. No they did not ask for breakfast to... More 

Travelers are raving about these Bournemouth hotels

Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2015 via mobile

Stayed this week and was very pleasantly surprised for such a reasonable peice I found it very good value room good size, nice shower. Everything you need for a short stay. Hotel centrally located and 5 minute walk from train station. Can definitely recommend!

Helpful?
1 Thank Angie B
ChrissyBeere, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words More 

Hertfordshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2015 via mobile

First of all, I think some of the reviews on here are unfair, for £35 a night for a last minute booking I don't think the price for the room can be faulted, as a group of 6 visiting football fans a lot of hostels/b'n'bs didn't take us, so was glad to find this hotel. Location of The Chelsea Hotel... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank KTHFC
ChrissyBeere, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your kind words More 

Warwickshire, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2015

The rooms were very clean and well kept. The en suites were clean and of good quality, the staff very friendly and accommodating (especially in the bar) and the locations is perfect for stag/hen parties! Good value for money.

Helpful?
Thank Carl M
ChrissyBeere, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for you review, you were a great group and thank you for your kind words. More 

Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 7, 2015 via mobile

This hotel advertises itself as a stag/hen do hotel, so for those that have posted negative reviews you really should consider what you really expect from a stag/hen do! In my opinion this hotel is ideal. It is a five minute walk from the Inferno bar, from which you can pretty much pub crawl to whichever bar you like. The... More 

Helpful?
Thank ChrisBck
ChrissyBeere, Manager at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review, your comments and suggestions have been taken on board. You were the ideal stag group! Thanks guys it was a pleasure having you here, Regards Chrissy More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2015 via mobile

12 of us just stayed here on my hen weekend 21st-23rd August. Couldn't fault the hotel....our rooms were very clean, Chrissie and the other lady (sorry not sure of her name, but she made us all breakfast) was very friendly and didn't bother us & we could do as we pleased. We all had our own room key. Would defiantly... More 

Helpful?
Thank Laura141185
ChrissyBeere, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you very much girls for your lovely review, and so pleased you had a great time. More 

Kent, England
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2015

We booked this bnb it is NOT a hotel. One of our parties turned up earlier than us, he tried to check in but the lady would not let him into his own room. We have left a deposit so after me calling her she said he would have to wait till we arrived?? On our arrival we were greeted... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Kickboxingboo
ChrissyBeere, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

Im very sorry you did not have a good experience at the Chelsea Hotel. The girls that were booked in the same weekend had a great time, and were pleased that they had nice rooms and clean beds, it seems so we cant please everyone . The rest of your party seemed to have a great time and I got... More 

Newport, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2015 via mobile

11 of us stayed for a stag weekend. Greated on arrival and had to pay £20 deposit for parking permit to park outside hotel. 1 of us had to leave card details for any damage or lost keys but if you don't plan on causing damage what's the problem?? Hotel was clean and tidy, good shower, fridge and kettle in... More 

Helpful?
Thank alex_8089
ChrissyBeere, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, and I'm so pleased that we did all that we say we do. More 

Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2015 via mobile

A nice hotel in a good location for rail station, beaches and town centre. Good road connections too. Very warm welcome to the hotel. Got given keys and explained where things are in the hotel, given a parking pass (deposit of £20) for roadside parking of which there's plenty even in the evening. The rooms were basic, but nicely arranged.... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Patric H
ChrissyBeere, Owner at Chelsea Hotel, responded to this review

Thank you for your review, All carpets throughout the Hotel were cleaned about4 weeks ago. Not sure what room you were in but we are in the process of checking all the feature walls in all rooms, the rest of the walls are painted white so we can paint over when we can no longer just wipe the dirt off.... More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

31 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All traveler photos (16)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (3)
Viewed
Other (8)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All management photos (15)
Viewed
Bathroom (2)
Viewed
Room/suite (5)
Viewed
Hotel & grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (7)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.4 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#10 of 76 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 2,620 reviews
0.7 mi away
Premier Inn Bournemouth Central Hotel
0.0 mi away
Lea Hurst Hotel
Lea Hurst Hotel
#42 of 143 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
The Rosscourt
The Rosscourt
#15 of 143 in Bournemouth
5.0 of 5 stars 266 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Ashleigh
The Ashleigh
#85 of 143 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 110 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kantara Guest House
Kantara Guest House
#63 of 143 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay