We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Orchid Hotel

Save
Share
34 Gervis Road, Bournemouth BH1 3DH England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
$163
$125
View deal
SAVE $38
Expedia.com
Hotels.com
Priceline
Hurb$139
Prestigia.com$163
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (407)
Dining (70)
Room & Suite (29)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Floors marked for social distancing
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
Updated 07/25/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
Updated 07/25/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#4 of 66 hotels in Bournemouth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Travelers' Choice
Refreshed, revitalised and revived.... Back in the day, a trailblazing boutique hotel for Bournemouth, the Orchid has completed a dramatic transformation with bedrooms refurbished, lounges, function rooms and public areas re-imagined; the whole hotel re-born. More than a mere makeover, it's an evolutionary change for the Orchid, setting it apart as the only hotel of its kind in Bournemouth- offering a unique blend of contemporary comfort, informal elegance and charm. Our New Restaurant, No 34 opened its doors just a few months ago, offering informal elegant dining emphasizing on simplicity using locally sourced ingredients. Freshly cooked breakfast with ample choice, beautifully designed bedrooms with power showers, air conditioning and crisp white linen....At the Orchid you will find an effortless blend of home comforts, contemporary sophistication and exceptional service designed to put you at ease from the moment you arrive
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Street parking
Free internet
Bar / lounge
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Banquet room
Baggage storage
Newspaper
Wifi
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Complimentary tea
Kids' meals
Special diet menus
Meeting rooms
Non-smoking hotel
Outdoor furniture
24-hour front desk
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Air conditioning
Housekeeping
Safe
Bottled water
Flatscreen TV
Hair dryer
Room types
Bridal suite
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Business
Boutique
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, Italian
1,302Reviews27Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 709
  • 313
  • 135
  • 85
  • 60
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
jack m wrote a review Mar 2021
1 contribution1 helpful vote
I booked a room with yourselves for the 13th Nov 2020 until 16th Nov 2020 for the rate of £191 via booking.com. The booking was cancelled due to COVID-19 and I spoke to a manager on the phone as well as booking.com customer service and I was promised a refund. I never received that refund and have not been able to get hold of yourselves via the phone number since. Please could you come to a resolution of how and when I will receive my refund as £191 is not a small amount of money too lose, especially for a booking I did not get to attend. Kind regards,
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from natalie jordan, General Manager at The Orchid Hotel
Responded Mar 3, 2021
Thank you for taking the time to leave your comments regarding your issue. We appreciate how frustrating this has been for many customers. Having only received a direct message from you yesterday the matter was resolved within 24 hours. The issue I’m afraid as explained when we spoke was not from our side. When booking with a third party you are contacted with them and there terms. After speaking with you I personally went to the hotel to see what correspondence we had for you and booking.com and we only had a request to cancel back in November which we accepted and agreed to waiver charges for that. As you had booked a non refundable stay it’s down to us the hotel to say if we will accept this as we still get charged a fee for this. Regardless of Covid when making a booking via booking.com then terms the set out is the terms you are bound by. We don’t make these rules and this would be something for them to deal with. On a prepaid booking like yours all hotels cannot physically take any form of payment until you have physically stayed onsite and on the day of checkout. This was a change made by booking.com to stop property’s taking payment during the pandemic which of course is a great idea. One of the frustrating things for a hotel is being the middle person on a booking. The orchid hotel has gone above and beyond to resolve this issue for you within 24 hours and you yourself have said the service you have received from us has been good. It’s very disappointing when I see a review like this which I do understand is posted in frustration but is not at all correct in the service given by the hotel. I know you had also tried to remove the review but had no luck. But in a way people can read this and my comments and hope in future this may give guests information on the process. I know your hoping to visit us at some point in the future Jack and we look forward to seeing you both when you can finally see what the orchid has to really offer.
Read more
Kash wrote a review Dec 2020
Hayes, United Kingdom1 contribution1 helpful vote
We researched hotels in Bournemouth and noted the Orchid is rated very highly on Tripadvisor. We booked over the phone and were reassured by the booking staff that the room we reserved (304) was suitable for two adults and two small children. On arrival, we found the room to be very small (unsuitable for 4) and there was an unpleasant odour in the room which we had to air out by opening the windows. The plaster around the bay window, were the junior bed was placed, had large cracks and the room was dusty. As the kids have dust mite allergies and we could see the room was below expected standards, we made a complaint at the front desk and requested a transfer but unfortunately we were told all rooms were fully booked and a transfer was not possible. As a kind gesture, complementary breakfast was provided. We appreciated the gesture but it did not adequately compensate for a very unpleasant nights sleep. It’s not often that we make a formal compliant, but we feel on this occasion it was warranted, as the room was such a disappointment. It really ruined our holiday. It made matters worse that the entrance to the room next door was directly next to ours. The room entrances are so close together (very odd) - we could hear the occupants coming and going throughout the night and banging on their door several times. We can only assume that other rooms in the hotel are much better, both in terms of configuration, size and cleanliness, which may explain the Tripadvisor reviews and high ratings. Room 304 was certainly not worth £200 per night. We raised these issues with the management team after our stay although nothing can really compensate for such a terrible experience.
Read more
Date of stay: August 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from natalie jordan, General Manager at The Orchid Hotel
Responded Dec 21, 2020
Thank you for taking the time to leave us a review. Whilst we are very sorry that you feel you had an unpleasant stay with us! However room 304 is a king room and is not a family room as explained to you. On booking you where told a king room can accommodate one z bed if needed. Indeed some of our kings can have 2 as all room layouts are different and we can take furniture out to make room. This will limited floor space naturally as explained. The room types are there for a reason and over the summer months we had many bookings where the children where not even stated on the booking and we did all we could to accommodate this. August is also peak season in any seaside town and prices are premium at that time! In regards to cleanliness we have extremely high standards in all areas especially at this time and this is not something we have issues with in general and a matter when raised I fully investigate. I was made aware of your issues i was on duty in the morning and actually helped you and your family with your breakfast and recommended days out for your family. We had chatted about your stay and visit to Bournemouth. Once you had checked out I was extremely surprised to hear that it was the same couple who had complained as I was waiting to be called to speak with you personally to resolve the situation. We take all feedback seriously and always aim to make improvements where needed.
Read more
D Len wrote a review Dec 2020
London, United Kingdom14 contributions33 helpful votes
Super friendly staff, great breakfast room and cute garden area. Our bedroom has a really beautiful bathroom with large bath AND shower! Really impressed overall - thank you very much for the enjoyable stay.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from natalie jordan, General Manager at The Orchid Hotel
Responded Dec 21, 2020
Thank you for your review We are so pleased to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. Was a pleasure to welcome you in these strange times. We hope to welcome you again in the future
Read more
Tolu A wrote a review Oct 2020
United Kingdom7 contributions
We arrived late on a Friday night, with on-site parking, and were checked in quickly and smoothly. The bed was so comfortable, and the room was very clean. Both the bedroom and the bathroom was spacious. Whenever we requested anything from reception it was delivered to our door quickly and maintaining social distancing. The inside of the bath could do with the silicone being re done, as it is going black. But we really enjoyed our experience, and would love to come again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Rooms
Service
Sleep Quality
Helpful
Share
Response from natalie jordan, General Manager at The Orchid Hotel
Responded Oct 27, 2020
Thank you for your review! We are glad you found the hotel to be clean and comfortable. We take your comments on board Look forward to welcoming you soon
Read more
les h wrote a review Oct 2020
London, United Kingdom2 contributions
very nice hotel comfortable clean room and amasing staff coulnt do enough for us , convieneint location fortraveling to day trips around the area.would stay here again if in the area. cant say enogh possitive thigns aboit the hotel. restaurant nice too.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from natalie jordan, General Manager at The Orchid Hotel
Responded Oct 22, 2020
Thank you for your kind review We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed the food! We hope to see you again soon
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$108 - $953 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDorsetBournemouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
31
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Orchid Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Orchid Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Rubyz (0.04 miles), Russell-Cotes Art Gallery & Museum (0.2 miles), and Laser Quest Bournemouth (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Orchid Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include a lounge, breakfast buffet, and meeting rooms.
What food & drink options are available at The Orchid Hotel?
Guests can enjoy a lounge, breakfast, and complimentary tea during their stay.
Is parking available at The Orchid Hotel?
Yes, street parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Orchid Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include El Murrino, Revolution, and Agora Restaurant.
Is The Orchid Hotel located near the city center?
Yes, it is 0.8 miles away from the center of Bournemouth.
Does The Orchid Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Orchid Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, and Italian.
Are there any historical sites close to The Orchid Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Russell-Cotes Art Gallery & Museum (0.2 miles), Christchurch Priory Church (4.1 miles), and Red House Museum & Gardens (4.1 miles).
Is The Orchid Hotel accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access and reduced mobility rooms. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.