We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ullswater Hotel

West Cliff Gardens, Bournemouth BH2 5HW, England
Hotel amenities
Book on
TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with getaroom to make your booking as easy as possible.
1 room 1 adult
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ullswater Hotel
View Map
Add Photo Write a Review

131 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Portsmouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2015

We stayed at the Ullswater for 3 nights and I'm glad it wasn't any longer the reasons being,shower was dirty with mould and very small,no room for toiletries inside the shower,room was not hoovered all the time we were there,food was cooked in advance and kept warm,which made it very dry and the cheapest food going was used.The only good... More 

Helpful?
4 Thank TRACY p
CliveBournemouth, Owner at Ullswater Hotel, responded to this review

We are sorry you and girlfriend did not enjoy your stay. However, may we say that all our food is freshly cooked/ made rather than bought in from catering suppliers unlike other establishments who buy in ready made catering meals. May be it is the "home cooking" you were not used to-apologies With regards your room being serviced, we do... More 

Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 26, 2015

Brilliant Christmas break. Spotlessly clean, friendly staff that couldn't have been more helpful. Lovely extra touches that made the stay special.... and the food, well cooked, plentiful and varied. And as for the Christmas Day buffet, it was exceptional. Fresh cooked Salmon, whole Ham, 5 rib standing Roast Beef, Turkey and lots to go with it. Well done Clive and... More 

Helpful?
Thank exhoteliers
CliveBournemouth, Owner at Ullswater Hotel, responded to this review

Many thanks for your kind informative review. As ex hoteliers we very much appreciate this positive feedback from ex hoteliers who appreciate the hard work that goes into looking after guests many needs,but often only get the negatives. Our staff strive to make our guests stay very enjoyable for the price paid ( which is not 4/5 star prices) and... More 

Brackley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2015

The rooms need updating, the breakfast was lots of cheap cereals & poor quality orange juice , the English breakfast was good & the waiter service was excellent . The man on the front desk likes to shut up the bar at 11:30pm so if you fancy a few night caps best stay in town !

Helpful?
1 Thank jakelily
Essex, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2015

We stayed here whilst attending a conference at nearby BIC. Perfectly adequate for our purpose. Coach parties came and went. Breakfast was good although only serving from 8.30-9.30am. Front door closed at 11 but with only one key you had to make sure you both returned to the hotel together.

Helpful?
Thank Jude D
Swindon Wilts
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2015

Spent three nights at Ullswater and was pleased with whole experience, my room was clean and bedding inc mattress and protector immaculate! I had read a couple of reviews which seemed very negative and I was a little apprehensive however I had no complaints at all. I was with a group of people (organised trip) and I didn't hear one... More 

Helpful?
Thank Maureen G
CliveBournemouth, Owner at Ullswater Hotel, responded to this review

Dear Reviewer Many thanks for your positive and realistic review. We always strive to give excellent service and provide value for money . We hope to see you again when you visit Bournemouth More 

London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2015

This Hotel is fine if you don't have breakfast in the morning. The cooked breakfast was lukewarm and there was a very limited choice on a sparse buffet. No water, yogurt or fruit.The room was ok but a bit dated like the whole hotel, the hairdryer didn't work and the shower water pressure was a bit weak. The Hotel bar... More 

Helpful?
Thank HolbrookeTravellers
London, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2015

The staff was very friendly I have to say it was mostly the conditions in my room that I have to complain about. I wasn't expecting a big room since I booked a single room although I must say I wouldn't come back to this. The hair dryer was passed its due date of inspection by like 5 years! So... More 

Helpful?
Thank Vania G
Cardiff, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2015

Average hotel ,clean rooms if a bit dated ,small bathroom and shower.Exceptional staff in the dinning room especially laura and marcus,very pleasant and obliging.Good food but dinning room cramped .Entertainment in the dinning room which was off putting and lacked atmosphere ,also no entertainment on certain nights though you could go to the hotel across the road which we did.

Helpful?
Thank teresa t
Essex
Level Contributor
96 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2015

We visited the Ullswater Hotel for 5 days on a David Urquhart break. This is a very clean, very comfortable hotel with very helpful and friendly staff. We stayed in room 19 which is a large comfortable room with everything you could need, the ensuite is very small but you do only use it to shower etc. There are mirrors... More 

Helpful?
Thank OlddearEssex
cardiff
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2015

Fabulous hotel,friendly staff,especially Laura and Marcus,good food,clean rooms,will be back next year!Great location,close to beach,even a snooker room to boot!We took over the lounge area and were given the freedom of the hotel,left well happy!

Helpful?
Thank CardiffSusan
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

9 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (7)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (1)
Viewed
Other (5)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (2)
Viewed
Dining (1)
Viewed
Other (1)
Check In Check Out
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
1.0 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.1 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#10 of 76 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 2,619 reviews
0.1 mi away
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
TravelRest Hotel Bournemouth
#49 of 76 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 stars 356 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Tower House Hotel
Tower House Hotel
#14 of 76 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 185 reviews
0.1 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS The Connaught Hotel
0.1 mi away
West Cliff Inn
West Cliff Inn
#48 of 76 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 stars 345 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay
#