We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Tripadvisor
Save money. We search 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices.

The Suncliff Hotel

Save
Share
29 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AG England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Orbitz.com
FindHotel
$72
View deal
eDreams
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com$86
View all 16 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (851)
360
Panoramas (18)
Room & Suite (432)
Travel safe during COVID-19
Visit our Travel Safe hub to see how we're helping you make more informed travel decisions during COVID-19.
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Daily temperature and symptom checks for staff
Read more
Updated 07/18/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Suncliff Hotel
Updated 07/18/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#39 of 67 hotels in Bournemouth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Mission Statement: The Suncliff hotel situated on the East cliff of Bournemouth five minutes from seven miles of sandy beach is a traditional English seaside hotel which has achieved a high AA 3 star rating of 75%. We offer comfortable and versatile bedrooms, as well as indoor leisure facilities. Boasting various bars and lounges where we provide live entertainment most evenings and a restaurant known for its scrumptious food and excellent service. Our friendly customer service is exceptional and with our ‘can do’ attitude we are happy to go the extra mile to make sure every guest enjoys their time with us.
Read more
Property amenities
Parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Evening entertainment
Conference facilities
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Happy hour
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Private balcony
Room service
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Private bathrooms
Coffee / tea maker
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Bay View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 4 more

Location

Full view
87Good for walkers
Grade: 87 out of 100
24Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
2Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
2700Reviews51Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 890
  • 917
  • 497
  • 208
  • 188
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
XFJaguar wrote a review Jan 11
Essex21 contributions6 helpful votes
We chose the sun cliff hotel because the new year package was advertised as very good and certainly was not cheap. We paid extra for a sea view but the windows were ‘blown’ and full of condensation so no sea views.we had to move dirty laundry and rubbish bins to access our room,there was no room service and we had to go to reception for loo rolls and tea bags. New Year’s Eve was a disaster there was no atmosphere or entertainment there were many people complaining at reception. The entertainment eventually tuned up late but was so bad everyone was leaving we left at about 10.30 we thought we would watch the new year on tv but no that didn’t work either This was the worst new year we have ever had.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Cleanliness
Service
Room Tip: Sea view rooms would be good if you could sea out of them
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Pat Green, Other at The Suncliff Hotel
Responded 1 week ago
Dear XFJaguar, I am really sorry that you did not enjoy your New Year Break with us. What you describe is not our usual standard of great food, service and entertainment. Please contact our General Manager Rui Teles directly and he will be happy to discuss further with you, Kind regards Pat Green Group Operations Director
Read more
Mullen1516 wrote a review Jan 3
London, United Kingdom101 contributions44 helpful votes
We were part of a larger coach party attending the Suncliff for a three day New Year's celebration stay. Whilst the staff in general were very helpful, check in was delayed because rooms were not available, but after 30 minutes we were allocated a sea view room. Whilst a small, but functional room, this was fine for our needs ( even though the shower over the bath did not work). Obviously the hotel was open for other quests but the main complaint was the quality of the food that was on offer. The "GALA" dinner on New Year's eve was very frugal and the main course of beef was of poor quality- only three courses and not very gala at all. We were allocated a start time of 6pm so we were ushered out of the dining room at 7-15pm and by that time there was little availability in the entertainment area as other quests ( not dining) had filled the best positions. We are on an annex overspill with no view of the stage. The "entertainment" did not arrive until 9-15 so we had already been waiting for two hours. The trio called "Retro" were absolutely dire- completely unsuitable for the audience and for the most part out of tune - one set lasted 50 minutes, a break of 30 minutes and then the lead up to midnight. The hotel must has noticed just how poor the group was because at 11pm there was only 15 people left in the lounge !!! The count down to the new year was presented on the tv screen from the BBC- the band carried on- but to probably a few people. The worst new year's celebration ever.
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021
Value
Rooms
Service
Room Tip: Ask for a sea view room -
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Pat Green, Other at The Suncliff Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Mullen1516, Thank you for your review. Your comments are noted and will be discussed with the team. I am really sorry that the entertainment was not to your taste and that you did not have the best seat. We do take guest feedback very seriously and your comments will be discussed at our post Xmas and New Year de-brief and action taken in our planning for next year. Once again thank you for giving us your opinion, Kind regards Pat Green Group Operations Director
Read more
Ruth M wrote a review Jan 1
Bournemouth, United Kingdom22 contributions7 helpful votes
Up until a couple of months ago, I would've given 5 stars. After a parking situation and the lies and lack of communication from the Manager. We will never go back to this hotel again. We got married here so I am absolutely gutted we have been treated so appallingly.
Read more
Date of stay: June 2021Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from Pat Green, Other at The Suncliff Hotel
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear 922rutham, Thank you for your review. It is unclear from your comments why you are so disappointed. If you would like to call us we will happily discuss your issues further. Kind regards Patricia Green
Read more
Kev wrote a review Dec 2021
Paignton, United Kingdom12 contributions2 helpful votes
+1
Myself, my partner our 4 year old son and my parents have just returned from a fantastic stay at The Suncliff Hotel. The manager Rui and his team work extremely hard to assure everyone's stay is an enjoyable, relaxing, memorable one. The facilities are fantastic with nightly live entertainment suitable for the whole family. The newly refurbished restaurant is great with lovely food offered. We stayed in one of the Penthouse suites, whixu was clean and comfortable and also has spectacular sea views. This isn't our first time staying here and will not be our last, we are already arranging to book for the New Year and are looking forward to it. A massive thank you to all the staff at the Suncliff for making our stay very enjoyable 😁
Read more
Date of stay: December 2021Trip type: Traveled with family
Room Tip: Parking is available in any of the 3 Oceana Hotels along the seafront throughout your stay
See more room tips
Helpful
Share
Response from Pat Green, Other at The Suncliff Hotel
Responded Dec 16, 2021
Dear kwells87, Thank you for sharing your lovely feedback and we are so pleased you had such a great time with us. We hope we will see you again in 2022 and wish you a very Happy Christmas and a safe and healthy New Year. Kind regards Pat
Read more
Kevin Ward wrote a review Nov 2021
Tonbridge, United Kingdom5 contributions
The hotel is in serious need of a makeover. There are water stains all over the walls and paint flaking everywhere. Our room however, number 102, seems to have had a make up but was very small, we had a terrace which again was in serious need of some TLC, if you book room only as we did, do not expect to be able to book either of the two restaurants if you want to dine at the hotel, you will not be allowed to, we were turned away from both restaurants. All in all I would give this hotel no more than a 4 out of 10, would I stay here again? Definitely not
Read more
Date of stay: November 2021
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Helpful
Share
Response from Pat Green, Other at The Suncliff Hotel
Responded Nov 23, 2021
Dear swiff0, Thank you for your feedback. It is a real shame that you did not discuss any of this disappointment with the team whilst you were staying with us as we would have welcomed the opportunity to put things right for you. Pre-booking Dinner is always recommended as there is very high demand at the moment and we still have to be very careful managing our capacity as Covid is not over yet and we take our responsibility for out guest safety and well being very seriously. Pat Green
Read more
Previous
123456
PRICE RANGE
$56 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
suncliff hotel bournemouth, suncliff bournemouth
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDorsetBournemouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
114
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Suncliff Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Suncliff Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Rubyz (0.3 miles) and Bournemouth Natural Science Society (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Suncliff Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Suncliff Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Suncliff Hotel?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Suncliff Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ventana Grand Cafe, The Escoffier Restaurant, and Naked Coffee.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Suncliff Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Suncliff Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Suncliff Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Suncliff Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Greek.
Are there any historical sites close to The Suncliff Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Russell-Cotes Art Gallery & Museum (0.5 miles), Christchurch Priory Church (3.8 miles), and Red House Museum & Gardens (3.8 miles).
Does The Suncliff Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.