We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

The Suncliff Hotel

Save
Share
29 East Overcliff Drive, Bournemouth BH1 3AG England
COVID-19 update: See the added health and safety measures this property is taking.Read more
Expedia.com
Travelocity
Hotels.com
eDreams
Orbitz.com
Snaptravel
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (808)
360
Panoramas (18)
Room & Suite (404)
Travel safe during COVID-19
What you can expect during your stay
  • All linens sanitized in high-temperature wash
  • Face masks required for staff in public areas
  • Hand sanitizer available to guests & staff
  • Regularly sanitized high-traffic areas
  • Staff required to regularly wash hands
  • Regular temperature checks for staff
Read more
Updated 07/18/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.
A note from The Suncliff Hotel
Updated 07/18/20 Safety precautions are provided by the property and are not checked by Tripadvisor for accuracy.

About

#41 of 66 hotels in Bournemouth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Mission Statement: The Suncliff hotel situated on the East cliff of Bournemouth five minutes from seven miles of sandy beach is a traditional English seaside hotel which has achieved a high AA 3 star rating of 75%. We offer comfortable and versatile bedrooms, as well as indoor leisure facilities. Boasting various bars and lounges where we provide live entertainment most evenings and a restaurant known for its scrumptious food and excellent service. Our friendly customer service is exceptional and with our ‘can do’ attitude we are happy to go the extra mile to make sure every guest enjoys their time with us.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Parking
Free internet
Pool
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Bar / lounge
Beach
Evening entertainment
Conference facilities
Wifi
Pool / beach towels
Indoor pool
Heated pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Sauna
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Breakfast in the room
Complimentary instant cofffee
Happy hour
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour check-in
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Private balcony
Room service
Telephone
Wardrobe / closet
Private bathrooms
Coffee / tea maker
Electric kettle
Flatscreen TV
Wake-up service / alarm clock
Show more
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
Family rooms
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Great View
Languages Spoken
English, French, Spanish, German and 4 more

Location

Full view
87Good for walkers
Grade: 87 out of 100
22Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
2Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
2,644Reviews49Q+A100Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 887
  • 906
  • 480
  • 201
  • 170
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
jackieterry2020 wrote a review Oct 19
Wolverhampton, United Kingdom1 contribution
Had a lovely time,was upgraded free of charge (bonus)Staff were sll polite and friendly. Room was cleaned everyday.We would definitely stay again and try to book direct as then car park free.Thankyou for a lovely time Suncliff.🤩
Read more
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Date of stay: October 2020
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sean Nell, Other at The Suncliff Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear jackieterry2020, Thank you for your review. A fantastic review, and we are all pleased you enjoyed your stay. We do hope to welcome you back in the future, please contact us direct so we can personalize a stay for you. The team will endevour to work out the best rate, matching online rates where possible. Best Regards,
Read more
clairk2014 wrote a review Oct 13
Ware, United Kingdom14 contributions4 helpful votes
+1
A lovely hotel staff friendly and food lovely and happy hour from 5pm to 6.30 buy one get one free and 25% off food until 30 November Sunday to get Wednesday Hotel room lovely they have 4 floors right opposite the beach east cliff beach short walk to beach and buses outside hotel to Poole .
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Response from Sean Nell, Other at The Suncliff Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear clair k, Thank you for your review. We are please your say was enjoyable with your special mention regarding the staff and food. This will be rewarding to the many staff who follow our online reviews. We do hope to welcome you back in the future, so please contact us direct and we can personalize a stay. Our central team will endevour to off your the best available rates. Best Regards,
Read more
Jenny C wrote a review Oct 13
5 contributions4 helpful votes
Sunday lunch was in a dungeon, absolutely appalling. Decor should have been refurbished 30 years ago, The carpet had years and years of spilt gravy on it. Tables were not 2mtrs apart, cutlery dirty. Soggy vegetables, meat tasteless. No point in continuing.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020
Value
Service
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Response from Sean Nell, Other at The Suncliff Hotel
Responded yesterday
Dear I2364KUjennyc, I am sorry that you were disappointed with your Sunday Carvery. I think you will find that the aesthetics of a dungeon and our restaurant are quite far apart, however I get your point that you did not like it. Yes, our house restaurant is located on the lower ground floor. I do understand that the restaurant is currently dated, and we do have a refurbishment plan in place to commence in 2021. Unfortunately 2020 was not feasible. As your experience, as you have described it, I would presume you discussed these issues with the restaurant manager at the time? Contradictory: I have actually received compliments form other patrons regarding the recent Sunday Lunches. I will however investigate your comments and bring to the necessary departmental managers. Best regards,
Read more
Kiril H wrote a review Oct 13
Bournemouth, United Kingdom14 contributions2 helpful votes
I visited the hotel with my girlfriend for the weekend, celebrating anniversary. We’ve been treated very well with a lot of attention. Special thanks to the receptionist Anna who checked us in. We stayed in the room Eugénie Where we had a lovely experience, nice view and brand-new lovely bathroom. where we had a lovely experience, nice view and brand-new lovely bathroom I felt very safe during my stay we will definitely come back
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Helpful
Share
Chloe wrote a review Oct 13
Bournemouth, United Kingdom1 contribution
Exceptional service and friendly staff including the manager Yannis, great location, lovely view, good breakfast, clean room and bathroom, I had a very comfortable night so I would definitely visit again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled solo
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$56 - $200 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
suncliff hotel bournemouth, suncliff bournemouth
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDorsetBournemouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
114
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about The Suncliff Hotel
Which popular attractions are close to The Suncliff Hotel?
Nearby attractions include Rubyz (0.3 miles) and Bournemouth Natural Science Society (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at The Suncliff Hotel?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include an indoor pool, an on-site restaurant, and a lounge.
What food & drink options are available at The Suncliff Hotel?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
Is parking available at The Suncliff Hotel?
Yes, parking is available to guests.
What are some restaurants close to The Suncliff Hotel?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ventana Grand Cafe, The Escoffier Restaurant, and Naked Coffee.
Are there opportunities to exercise at The Suncliff Hotel?
Yes, guests have access to an indoor pool, a fitness center, and a sauna during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at The Suncliff Hotel?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Does The Suncliff Hotel offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Which languages are spoken by the staff at The Suncliff Hotel?
The staff speaks multiple languages, including English, Spanish, French, German, Italian, Portuguese, and Greek.
Are there any historical sites close to The Suncliff Hotel?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Russell-Cotes Art Gallery & Museum (0.5 miles), Christchurch Priory Church (3.8 miles), and Red House Museum & Gardens (3.8 miles).
Does The Suncliff Hotel have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.