We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa - OCEANA COLLECTION

Save
Share
32 East Overcliff Drive Seafront, Bournemouth BH1 3AF England
Update from hotel: This property has indicated that they are taking safety precautions against COVID-19.Read more
Lowest prices for your stay
Snaptravel
$95
View Deal
eDreams
$95
$89
View Deal
SAVE $6
Expedia.com
$95
$89
View Deal
SAVE $6
Hotels.com$89
Booking.com$89
Travelocity$89
View all 15 deals
Prices are the average nightly price provided by our partners and may not include all taxes and fees. Taxes and fees that are shown are estimates only. Please see our partners for more details.
Traveler (317)
360
Panoramas (11)
Room & Suite (156)
Travel safe during COVID-19
A note from Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa - OCEANA COLLECTION
Updated 06/15/20

About

#32 of 66 hotels in Bournemouth
Location
Cleanliness
Service
Value
Fantastic Bar and Terrace overlooking Bournemouth's beautiful coastline. Superb Swimming Pool with sun loungers and modern outdoor seating. Serving a great selection of Fresh Pastas, Light Meals and HOMEMADE PIZZA. An excellent location for a comfortable stress free break in Bournemouth.
Read more
Full view
Property amenities
Free High Speed Internet (WiFi)
Pool
Fitness / spa locker rooms
Bar / lounge
Beach
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Taxi service
Conference facilities
Wifi
Outdoor pool
Restaurant
Breakfast available
Breakfast buffet
Complimentary tea
Banquet room
Meeting rooms
Spa
Facial treatments
Head massage
Massage
Non-smoking hotel
24-hour front desk
Dry cleaning
Laundry service
Show more
Room features
Room service
Flatscreen TV
Room types
Ocean view
Non-smoking rooms
Suites
See more room details
Good to know
HOTEL CLASS
HOTEL STYLE
Ocean View
Bay View

Location

Full view
86Good for walkers
Grade: 86 out of 100
21Restaurantswithin 0.3 miles
2Attractionswithin 0.3 miles
613Reviews27Q+A94Room tips
Traveler rating
  • 275
  • 160
  • 87
  • 51
  • 40
Time of year
Traveler type
Language
  • More
Selected filters
  • Filter
  • English
Popular mentions
zvsf wrote a review Nov 15
St. Albans, United Kingdom64 contributions44 helpful votes
Great location on seafront especially if you pay/ get a sea facing view. Room bit small. Good value deal however as Booked x2 doubles as a Groupon deal which included the room with breakfast/ a 3 course dinner on 1st night and bottle of wine in room/ tea and cake on day 1. Enjoyed the breakfast. Service from the waiters/ waitresses was attentive and friendly , especially from the 2 Asian male waiters. Had a disabled badge. Got a parking ticket when we got home ,even after having displayed the badge in their car park on dashboard. Paris P the manager sorted it out immediately and he got it waived from Parking Eye who manage the parking on site. Thank you Paris. Too few places available for the number of cars so one would need to park on seafront and pay if you’re unlucky as it’s first come first serve. Reception friendly but unaware disabled t and c on seafront. Wanted to use the spa but they had no availability on the day requested. Really enjoyed our trips to Durdle Door and Great Harry Rocks based at this hotel.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
1 Helpful vote
Helpful
Share
Clare S wrote a review Nov 7
Aldershot, United Kingdom4 contributions5 helpful votes
We were due to travel on the Tuesday 3rd November but ended up going on the 2nd November instead due to lockdown restrictions being imposed by the government so we were transferred to the Cumberland Hotel, this was absolutely fantastic staff really friendly and extremely helpful,treated ourselves to a three course meal at a very reasonable £20.00 each this was honestly the best meal I have eaten in ages and the breakfast excelled itself too Tuesday we decided to venture into Bournemouth and decided to take a trip on the big wheel this was a complete rip off £6.00 each for a three minute ride the worst thing was that we were put into a car which had not been cleaned or disinfected people got out and we got in and we only went round twice All in all apart from that we would go again and definitely stay at the Cumberland again
Read more
Date of stay: November 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from P P, General Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa - OCEANA COLLECTION
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear 169clares, thank you so much for your lovely review here on TripAdvisor. I am so happy you enjoyed your stay and your time in Bournemouth. i will pass on your compliments to all our staff and we are looking forward on welcoming you you again in our hotel. Kind regards Paris Panagopoulos
Read more
Yvonne H wrote a review Nov 4
Buckinghamshire, United Kingdom16 contributions4 helpful votes
We booked a break for an end of half term treat and were very disappointed with the hotel. Our family room wasn’t big enough to swing a cat in. Sea view room, I think not! It was on the ground floor with a few of rubbish. Staff smoked under the window & a man working in this little shed had a perfect view into our room. There was no where to store anything. The bathroom was a disabled bathroom so just a shower curtain between the shower & toilet. After one shower the bathroom was completely flooded. The sink was on a slope so you couldn’t put anything on it as it fell off! Mold in bathroom & the list would go on. I complained & was advised there wasn’t another family room available. This wasn’t acceptable and they needed to sort something out. It was a choice of moving hotels altogether or having two double rooms. We went for this option as they were on the 4th floor and did have lovely see views. Even in this room the shower was broken! I can’t fault the staff but the hotel needs updating and definitely a lick of paint. Sadly I wouldn’t choose to stay there again.
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from P P, General Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa - OCEANA COLLECTION
Responded 2 weeks ago
Dear Yvonne, thank you for posting your review on TA and providing us with your feedback. i am very sorry to hear your experience didn't meet your expectations. Please feel free to contact me directly in the hotel should you wish to discuss further. Kind regards
Read more
Julie B wrote a review Oct 2020
Eastbourne, United Kingdom39 contributions28 helpful votes
We arrived here quite nice hotel but unfortunately food not . On both occasions for breakfast stone cold.with evenings meals dreadful sent back couldn't even eat it I did complain got a drink and bottle of wine to apologise but happened again next night not sure if it's the right job for your chef as very poor food. Staff rude need alot of training waiting for food and drinks a long time . Really disappointed and you lost a few customers there as my family member and a friend asked if I would recommend and I said no not until the staff are trained . Apart from the reception staff very polite and helpful couldn't do enough.wont be returning ruined my break away .
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled with family
Helpful
Share
Response from P P, General Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa - OCEANA COLLECTION
Responded 5 weeks ago
Dear juliebD2988IF, thank you for your review and your feedback. I am ever so sorry to read about your experience. Please feel free to contact me at the Ocean Beach in order to discuss further and possibly find a solution for that..? it is such a shame this was never brought to my attention during your stay and you checked out with a bitter taste in your mouth. looking forward to speak to you Kind regards Paris Panagopoulos
Read more
Locika wrote a review Oct 2020
2 contributions
My friend booked this hotel as surprise for my bday. No problems with check in room etc, I'm not fussy at all as soon I got bed to sleep I'm happy. Check in , room, pool, dinner was good I had really great time. All disaster happen next morning. We had spa (relaxing massage) booked for 10am, therefore I requested wake up call for 8am. Never happened so we overslept, got for breakfast only after 9 am. My friend hurt her ankle by wearing high heels and didn't have any flat shoes, so she came for breakfast in her socks and been brutally attacked by waitress that she can't be in restaurant without shoes. HOTEL DOESN'T provide slippers and she didn't have flats! The way waiter addressed that was absolutely rude! I received coffee without asking would I like any milk, would I like any toast or any cold drink. It's standard questions! Bare in mind is Tuesday and in restaurant was only 4 tables and I get that is end of breakfast but we were still in time!! And deserve service we paid for. Food , food was terrible. Raw mushrooms, dry sausages, cold bacon, harsh brown and beans were ok. Waitress never came to refill drinks, thy just disappeared. We sat next to jug of juice so my friend helped herself, where got attacked by waitress again. It was just disaster as she was abused and morning was just ruined. We went back to the room to get ready for our spa treatment when fire alarm went tested, for ages! Literally for an HR on and off. We called spa to cancel treatment coz how can you relax when fire alarm going on and off for ages. Lady were threatening that she will take 50% from my card for not show. Then we tried to sleep for last hour before long driving. No luck I left hotel absolutely exhausted. After check out we sat in bar for about 40 min before somebody got us drinks. Sea view, room, swimming pool was lovely I enjoyed it. Dinner food was nice. Only 3 options but nice I ate it. My main issue is staff. I didn't feel welcome, reception, bar and restaurant staff absolutely effortless. They just doing this job coz they have to, no customer service at all, even basic. No 0. Staff need training and appreciate they got job while we going thru pandemic. For me staff is most important thing in hotel, staff make stay so important and change whole atmosphere. I use to work for Holiday Inn myself and I know how important to give your best service to customers and how big change can make smile and polite attitude. Team meeting and staff training is overdue. I wouldn't be bothered if it's only one person, but staff break whole vibe in such nice beautiful hotel
Read more
Date of stay: October 2020Trip type: Traveled with friends
Helpful
Share
Response from P P, General Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa - OCEANA COLLECTION
Responded Oct 23, 2020
Dear Locika, thank you very much for your review and your feedback. I am sorry to read we failed to provide you with a good service. please feel free to contact me in the hotel and discuss about your experience. looking forward to hear from you Kind regards Paris Panagopoulos
Read more
Previous
PRICE RANGE
$54 - $192 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
ALSO KNOWN AS
the cliffeside hotel bournemouth, cliffside hotel bournemouth
FORMERLY KNOWN AS
The Cliffeside Hotel
LOCATION
United KingdomEnglandDorsetBournemouth
NUMBER OF ROOMS
64
Is This Your Tripadvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Frequently Asked Questions about Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa - OCEANA COLLECTION
Which popular attractions are close to Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa - OCEANA COLLECTION?
Nearby attractions include Rubyz (0.3 miles) and Bournemouth Natural Science Society (0.3 miles).
What are some of the property amenities at Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa - OCEANA COLLECTION?
Some of the more popular amenities offered include free wifi, a pool, and an on-site restaurant.
What food & drink options are available at Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa - OCEANA COLLECTION?
Guests can enjoy an on-site restaurant, a lounge, and breakfast during their stay.
What are some restaurants close to Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa - OCEANA COLLECTION?
Conveniently located restaurants include Ventana Grand Cafe, The Escoffier Restaurant, and Naked Coffee.
Are there opportunities to exercise at Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa - OCEANA COLLECTION?
Yes, guests have access to a pool and locker rooms available in the fitness center during their stay.
Are any cleaning services offered at Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa - OCEANA COLLECTION?
Yes, dry cleaning and laundry service are offered to guests.
Are pets allowed at Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa - OCEANA COLLECTION?
Yes, pets are typically allowed, but it's always best to call ahead to confirm.
Does Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa - OCEANA COLLECTION offer any business services?
Yes, it conveniently offers meeting rooms, a banquet room, and conference facilities.
Are there any historical sites close to Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa - OCEANA COLLECTION?
Many travelers enjoy visiting Russell-Cotes Art Gallery & Museum (0.5 miles), Christchurch Priory Church (3.8 miles), and Red House Museum & Gardens (3.8 miles).
Does Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa - OCEANA COLLECTION have any great views?
Yes, guests often enjoy the ocean view available here.
Is Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa - OCEANA COLLECTION accessible?
Yes, it offers wheelchair access. For specific inquiries, we recommend calling ahead to confirm.