We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa

Book on TripAdvisor
in partnership with
Trusted partner. We work with Tingo to make your booking as easy as possible.
Enter dates for best prices
powered by PriceFinder
1 room
Check In Check Out
Please enter your travel dates to continue
Check Availability
Book on
or compare prices from up to 200 sites including:
Professional photos
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa
Panoramas (11)
View Map
{"widget":{"name":"ibex_photo_carousel","template":"ibex_photo_carousel__widget","dust":{"nav_controls":"ibex_photo_carousel__nav_controls"},"divClasses":"prw_rup prw_ibex_photo_carousel","moduleList":["handlers","shims"],"js":{"handlers":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'handlers'))","shims":"(ta.prwidgets.getjs(this,'shims'))"}},"containerClass":null}
Add Photo Write a Review

684 Reviews from our TripAdvisor Community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
Showing 681: English reviews
Level Contributor
3 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW via mobile

Well what can I say excellent service from the staff from managers down. We stayed for 3 nights and the second day was our wedding day on the Sunday. Food was great but drinks a bit expensive. The reception we had there was excellent could not fault anything. The wedding planner Lauren she couldn't have done any more for us... More 

Helpful?
Thank Mark A
Pat G, Group Operations Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Mark, thank you for your fantastic 5 star review. I am delighted you enjoyed the wedding so much and found our food and service excellent. We hope you will visit Ocean Beach again sometime, Patricia Green More 

Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

I stayed here for 2 nights whilst attending a wedding fairly nearby. I found everything to be to a good standard, and have no real complaints at all. The room was clean, bedding fresh, nice size shower and bath, nice bar and outside area and the breakfast was just what I needed. Granted there was small issues, but I booked... More 

Helpful?
Thank Steaklover1990
Pat G, Group Operations Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Steaklover, thank you for your lovely review. Your positive comments are really appreciated and I glad you had a good stay with us. We hope you will return sometime and enjoy our hotel again, Patricia Green More 

Ivybridge, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
52 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

We stayed at the newly named Ocean Beach Hotel for a one stay as we attended a family wedding. First impression was very good, warmly greeted and early check in. The reception area is well lit and very inviting as is the bar and terrace areas. We had a good snack, well presented and tasty. Didn't have much time before... More 

Helpful?
Thank adrianandlois
Pat G, Group Operations Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Adrian, thank you for taking the time to write a review. I am disappointed that you did not enjoy all aspects of you stay and we would welcome the opportunity to put things right for you. I am pleased that Nuno looked after you so well and I do hope that you take him up on his sincere offer... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
1 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

I am disgusted beyond belief with this shack of a room. £105 a night with a miniscule bed that me and my 6ft 7 partner will struggle to sleep on. Dated room with out a safe, so if even a penny goes missing during my stay here, the police will be involved. The bed is uncomfortable and cheap. The room... More 

Helpful?
Thank Amytoria
Pat G, Group Operations Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Amytoria, It is always disappointing when a departed guest chooses to write a very unfair and unjustified and threatening review on this site but I am sure the travelling public will form their own opinion of our property based on our other reviews. What a pity you chose not to mention any of this during your stay and when... More 

Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Changed the name of the hotel after our booking but before we arrived hence a small struggle to find it. Once there the staff were friendly and warming. The room (120) was basic, overlooked the pool and sea view was good. Scaffolding right outside the window led to workmen standing outside our window one morning! A pleasant walk to the... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank DVS1973
Pat G, Group Operations Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear DVS1973, thank you for posting a review. Your comments about workmen are noted and unfortunately, we cannot complete our refurbishment and rebranding without them. I am sorry that you were disturbed by their presence,. We are all very excited about seeing the final product and the launch of our Hotel as Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa. We would love... More 

Cumbernauld, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Hotel situated overlooking beach but a bit far to walk down to the main attractions and very hilly. Hotel very good and food well cooked and a good choice. Rooms spotless and staff very friendly. One drawback was the very small lift only 3 people at a time. For the size of the hotel this was inadequate.

Helpful?
Thank MARION T
Pat G, Group Operations Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Marion, thank you for your review. The Hotel location is on the Clifftop so yes, there will be a downhill walk to the beach however, there is a lift which will bring you back up to the Overcliff. I am really pleased that you enjoyed the food and service and I hope that we will see you again in... More 

Holsworthy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
194 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Great room, great nights sleep. Lovely friendly staff. The food was great. I've never seen such big portions served in any other hotel. Entertainment wasn't all that good apart from a singer with the guitar who was great. Others were more like karaoke singer. One issue, the stairs are very darkly lit and a few people on the tour kept... More 

Helpful?
1 Thank Holidayer164
Pat G, Group Operations Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Holidayer164, thank you for posting such a wonderful 5 star review. we are all delighted you had such a great time with us and hope too see you again sometime in the future Patricia Green More 

Level Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago via mobile

we have been at the hotel for 2 nights. nothing special. location is ok in between both piers. staff attentive and friendly. price/quality very good. change name to ocean beach now. lovely change, you can use the facilities of its sisters hotels.

Helpful?
1 Thank Lara C
Pat G, Group Operations Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Lara, thank you for taking the time to review Ocean Beach, I hope you will return sometime in the future or even try one of the other hotels in our clifftop resort Patricia Green More 

1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Stayed here for Bournemouth dance competitions 8th-10th July a busy weekend with not many places left to stay..having booked almost a year ago I expected a better room. To start with I had to drive around looking for it , to find out the hotel had changed its name on the 1st July .. no confirmation of this to its... More 

Helpful?
Thank Sharon B
Pat G, Group Operations Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Sharon, I am really sorry that you did not enjoy your stay with us. The room you had is actually family room and as we full at the weekend we had no opportunity to move you within the hotel. I wish you had made your comments known to me at the time and I would have done my best... More 

Surrey, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Room small modern clean and comfortable. Need extra plugs. Bed comfy. Staff all exceptionally friendly and helpful. Enjoyed our stay.

Helpful?
Thank cinquemani2
Pat G, group Operations Manager at Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa, responded to this review

Dear Cinqueman, thank you for posting a review and for your great comments. We really hope you will return some time Patricia Green More 

Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

278 photos of this hotel

Traveler photos: See what travelers like you saw

Viewed
All Traveler Photos (101)
Viewed
Room/Suite (20)
Viewed
View from Room (18)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (1)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (15)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (3)
Viewed
Bathroom (3)
Viewed
2:12
Videos (1)
Viewed
Other (40)

TripAdvisor Photos: Professional photos exclusively commissioned by TripAdvisor

Viewed
All TripAdvisor Photos (152)
Viewed
Amenities (19)
Viewed
Beach (4)
Viewed
Pool (11)
Viewed
Dining (37)
Viewed
Standard Double (16)
Viewed
Superior Ocean Front Double (21)
Viewed
Superior Ocean Front Twin (22)
Viewed
The Hotel (22)

Management photos: Courtesy of the property manager

Viewed
All Management Photos (25)
Viewed
Hotel & Grounds (9)
Viewed
Business Center/Function Rooms (4)
Viewed
Dining (7)
Viewed
Pool/Beach Area (1)
Viewed
Other (4)
Check In Check Out
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Bournemouth hotels
0.0 mi away
The Suncliff Hotel
The Suncliff Hotel
#32 of 78 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 1,487 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Cumberland Hotel
The Cumberland Hotel
#12 of 78 in Bournemouth
4.5 of 5 stars 2,889 reviews
0.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
BEST WESTERN Hotel Royale
#13 of 78 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 1,262 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Ocean View Hotel
The Ocean View Hotel
#47 of 78 in Bournemouth
3.5 of 5 stars 330 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hallmark Hotel Bournemouth East Cliff
1.3 mi away
New Westcliff Hotel
New Westcliff Hotel
#50 of 78 in Bournemouth
4.0 of 5 stars 419 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Questions? Get answers from hotel staff and past guests. Ask a question

Amenities

Highlights
  • Restaurant
  • Free Internet
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Beachfront
  • Pool
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Spa
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
About the property
  • Beachfront
  • Wheelchair access
  • Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
  • Non-Smoking Hotel
Things to do
  • Restaurant
  • Bar/Lounge
  • Pool
  • Spa
  • Tennis Court
  • Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room
Room types
  • Non-Smoking Rooms
  • Family Rooms
Internet
  • Free Internet
  • Public Wifi
Services
  • Multilingual Staff
  • Room Service
  • Free Parking
  • Dry Cleaning
  • Meeting Rooms
  • Laundry Service
  • Concierge
  • Banquet Room
  • Conference Facilities
Official Description (provided by the hotel)
Fantastic Bar and Terrace overlooking Bournemouth's beautiful coastline. Superb Swimming Pool with sun loungers and modern outdoor seating. Brilliant new bar menu launched, serving a great selection of Fresh Salads, Light Meals and HOMEMADE BURGERS. An excellent location for a comfortable stress free break in Bournemouth. ... more   less 

Additional Information about Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa

Address: 32 East Overcliff Drive | Seafront, Bournemouth BH1 3AF, England (Formerly The Cliffeside Hotel)
Location: United Kingdom > England > Dorset > Bournemouth
Price Range: $91 - $259 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa 3*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com and Travelocity so you can book your Ocean Beach Hotel and Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Cliffeside Hotel Bournemouth
Cliffside Hotel Bournemouth
Hotel Style:
#9 Spa Hotel in Bournemouth
#15 On the Beach Hotel in Bournemouth
Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?
Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.
Claim Your Listing
Enter dates for best prices
Check In Check Out
Price Your Stay